Top 10 Reliable Car Manufacturers in the World

Re: Top 10 Reliable Car Manufacturers in the World

Postby stev » April 3rd, 2012, 2:46 pm

Japanese cars the most reliable in the world

Warranty Direct have held a study of 50,000 cars and the damning news for European cars – they are more likely to fail than Japanese models.
Many petrol heads won’t be shocked by the report, but we found it interesting especially as Warranty Direct used a substantial pool of 50,000 cards to get the results.
Not only are European cars more likely to fail, but they will cost more to fix, when they do.
The Honda Jazz was one of the special success stories in the report, with a tiny eight per cent failure rate, and an average repair bill of £215.21.
The least reliable car was the 02 registered Range Rover, with 56 percent going bad over a single 12 month period. The average repair bill to fix the cars was £517.88. Ouch.
Jaguar Land Rover weren’t very happy with the report, saying “This survey’s results are not representative of either the current product offering or the real progress Land Rover is making in terms of overall quality and reliability.”
Respected maker Honda proved a point – the Japanese cars are clearly the most reliable in the world. Fewer than one in 10 had a problem and Toyota made second place, with only 14 percent having a problem. Another Japanese maker, Suzuki, took the third spot. All top three positions are dominated by the Japanese.

http://www.kitguru.net/channel/generalt ... the-world/

cuz d Japanese knows the way of the samurai.

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » April 3rd, 2012, 3:13 pm

^^^ preach bredda...

Postby hydroep » April 3rd, 2012, 3:25 pm

"Mazda" and "reliability" do not belong in the same sentence...:lol:

Postby Stephon. » April 3rd, 2012, 3:27 pm

hydroep wrote:"Mazda" and "reliability" do not belong in the same sentence...:lol:

Why do you say that?

Inb4 a story about how you never put water or changed oil or filter in your Mazda and it stopped working vs the same step child treatment you gave to a Toyota that still running.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 3rd, 2012, 3:38 pm

Stephon. wrote:
hydroep wrote:"Mazda" and "reliability" do not belong in the same sentence...:lol:

Why do you say that?

Inb4 a story about how you never put water or changed oil or filter in your Mazda and it stopped working vs the same step child treatment you gave to a Toyota that still running.

My mother purchased a Mazda 626 new from Southern Sales and Service Company Limited and that car, while it ran like a beyotch in heat, was a money pit. That car required too many repairs during the warranty period...not big things, but just a lot of little irritating things. After the warranty was up, things still used to need fixing with that car at her expense obviously.

The quality of service at the dealership was also a waste of time. I have dealt with N&M, Mel's, Diamond Motors, Toyota and Southern Sales, and Southern Sales is the worst of the lot.

Postby stev » April 3rd, 2012, 3:50 pm

i know a lot of people with mazda and dey HARDLY complain.

still yet to hear a REAL complain from a toyota, nissan and honda owner....

Postby Stephon. » April 3rd, 2012, 3:53 pm

Not going to lie, I know a lot of Toyota owners and they have no complaints, it's just that the cars are so boring lol.

Postby Bizzare » April 3rd, 2012, 3:55 pm

Stephon. wrote:it's just that the cars are so boring lol.

sounds like a complaint to me, no?

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » April 3rd, 2012, 3:59 pm

Honda and Toyota are the best...people only complain bout them cuz their parts ant cheap...but those same parts last you at least 5-6 years or more. so thats not bad at all

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » April 3rd, 2012, 4:02 pm

COROLLA KID wrote:Honda and Toyota are the best...people only complain bout them cuz their parts ant cheap...but those same parts last you at least 5-6 years or more. so thats not bad at all

u sir have hit the nail on the head......
most ppl say nissan is the best cause it ha parts.....if yuh always in d bamboo wats the point??????

Postby Stephon. » April 3rd, 2012, 4:06 pm

whyteliver wrote:most ppl say nissan is the best cause it ha parts.....if yuh always in d bamboo wats the point??????

I dunno why but I laughed real hard at his comment :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: it's true though.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 3rd, 2012, 4:08 pm

stev wrote:i know a lot of people with mazda and dey HARDLY complain.

The initial capital cost of a Toyota is higher than the other Japanese cars, save Honda. But, its life cycle cost is lower and that is where you end up saving money.

Nissan cars are way over-priced now for the quality of construction. One set of hard plastics that break easily, vinyl covered foam interior trim that cracks and/or swells, low quality fabric/"leather" on the seats, etc. Whereas Hyundai, say, have stepped up the quality of their interiors, Nissan has gone backwards with theirs. This most likely is caused by cost cutting directives received from Renault to help them come out of the financial difficulty they were in recently.

Hondas are well engineered cars, just way over-priced locally. You would swear the people driving Civics behave as if it is a Legend they are driving.

Has anyone here actually calculated the running costs of their cars, that is, how much $/km it costs them? It would be interesting to know these figures to see which car actually gives you value for money.

ryno_sounds

Postby ryno_sounds » April 3rd, 2012, 4:45 pm

whyteliver wrote:
COROLLA KID wrote:Honda and Toyota are the best...people only complain bout them cuz their parts ant cheap...but those same parts last you at least 5-6 years or more. so thats not bad at all

most ppl say nissan is the best cause it ha parts.....if yuh always in d bamboo wats the point??????

So true!!....When ppl hear the price of Honda and Toyota parts they does bawl.....Nissan on the other hand is just cheap they and don't even give you half the service they do.......My neighbor forever changing cradle bushings in his wingroad and its fairly new (roro)....No wonder nissan didn't make the top 10 :lol: :lol:

Postby buzz » April 3rd, 2012, 6:36 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
stev wrote:i know a lot of people with mazda and dey HARDLY complain.

The initial capital cost of a Toyota is higher than the other Japanese cars, save Honda. But, its life cycle cost is lower and that is where you end up saving money.

Nissan cars are way over-priced now for the quality of construction. One set of hard plastics that break easily, vinyl covered foam interior trim that cracks and/or swells, low quality fabric/"leather" on the seats, etc. Whereas Hyundai, say, have stepped up the quality of their interiors, Nissan has gone backwards with theirs. This most likely is caused by cost cutting directives received from Renault to help them come out of the financial difficulty they were in recently.

Hondas are well engineered cars, just way over-priced locally. You would swear the people driving Civics behave as if it is a Legend they are driving.

Has anyone here actually calculated the running costs of their cars, that is, how much $/km it costs them? It would be interesting to know these figures to see which car actually gives you value for money.

alas possibly the best post in this thread so far.

I mean personal stories and testimonials are all well and fine but a huge factor that was overlooked in this thread IMO is maintenance, some vehicle owners maintain their vehicle better than others, simple.

I wouldn't consider it exactly fair to say for example "BMW only ha name" if you drive in every pot hole that can be found and change your engine oil every year.

Also if you bought a used vehicle how can you praise or criticize it when you don't know its history ? :|

but all that aside, corollas are awesome ! but that's just my opinion

Postby cinco » April 3rd, 2012, 11:07 pm

cool stories in here broskis
i bought a new kia rio 8 years ago
done preventative maintenance the only this i changed out of the ordinary was the alternator last month
i changed all the shocks and engine mounts before they needed to be changed just because 8 year old rubber aint no good
and changed the radiator

hayden6025

Postby hayden6025 » April 3rd, 2012, 11:32 pm

Really??......I Googled "Mazda Reliability" & "Nissan Reliability" Take a look at what came up on the first page for the both of them.
http://www.vcars.co.uk/news/mazda/mazda ... gs-69.html

http://townhall-talk.edmunds.com/direct/view/.f13f7e6

Postby Stephon. » April 4th, 2012, 6:04 am

Godza owners remain unfazed

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » April 4th, 2012, 7:28 am

whyteliver wrote:

nissan parts cheap is true and most people like nissan for that ...but when you have to replace the same part constantly that eh make no sense in the long run if you check it up it will cost more to maintained than any other vehicle with expensive parts

Postby SmokeyGTi » April 4th, 2012, 7:32 am

rollingstock wrote:ent b14 still most reliable 15 years after.
is ah conspiracy ah say.

more like dem egg shaped 120y stil reliable what...35 years later?

Postby Stephon. » April 4th, 2012, 7:48 am

COROLLA KID wrote:
whyteliver wrote:

nissan parts cheap is true and most people like nissan for that ...but when you have to replace the same part constantly that eh make no sense in the long run if you check it up it will cost more to maintained than any other vehicle with expensive parts

Looks like b14 is more expensive to maintain than an SUV :lol:

Postby rollingstock » April 4th, 2012, 9:02 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:
rollingstock wrote:ent b14 still most reliable 15 years after.
is ah conspiracy ah say.

more like dem egg shaped 120y stil reliable what...35 years later?

Mih uncle still have an Oxford Morris is pristine condition, daily driven, only trouble that car have is running off teh road when he drunk......well at least he say it's the car's fault :?

Postby crazybalhead » April 4th, 2012, 9:07 am

Stephon. wrote:
COROLLA KID wrote:
whyteliver wrote:

By definition, a B14 IS an SUV, Sir.

Postby Stephon. » April 4th, 2012, 9:35 am

What? :? Reminds me of the time the Kia salesman told me that the soul was an SUV.

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » April 4th, 2012, 10:07 am

Stephon. wrote:
COROLLA KID wrote:
whyteliver wrote:

lol..but then again its all how you drive your car....dont hurt it and it wont hurt your pocket :lol:

Postby Stephon. » April 4th, 2012, 10:11 am

Kinda impossible when you're living in Trinidad.

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » April 4th, 2012, 10:59 am

Stephon. wrote:Kinda impossible when you're living in Trinidad.

fuh real.....i does shame to say we have the biggest pitch lake in the world the way the roads are

Rx

Postby Rx » April 4th, 2012, 10:12 pm

stev wrote:The Warranty Direct Top 100 Most Reliable Used Cars Of The Past Decade

Honda Accord
Subaru Forester
Mazda MX-5
Mitsubishi Carisma
Toyota Yaris
Honda Civic
Nissan Almera
Honda CR-V
Toyota RAV4
Nissan Micra
Lexus IS 200
Mazda 626
Jaguar X-Type
Toyota Landcruiser
Volvo S/V40
MINI (BMW)
Suzuki Vitara
Mazda 323
Toyota Carina E
Saab 9-5
Lexus LS400
Ford Ka
Rover 45
Hyundai Lantra
Mercedes SLK
Citroen Xsara
Ford Cougar
Subaru Impreza
Skoda Octavia
Audi A4
Nissan Primera
Toyota Avensis
Volvo 850
Vauxhall Corsa
Seat Toledo
Volkswagen Golf
Daewoo Lanos
Fiat Brava
Hyundai Coupe
Mitsubishi Shogun
Rover 25
Mercedes CLK
Fiat Marea
Ford Focus
Peugeot 106
MG MG TF
BMW Z3
Hyundai Accent
Volkswagen Polo
Fiat Punto
Vauxhall Zafira
Mercedes C-class
Volvo S60
Toyota MR2
Mazda Xedos 6
Ford Puma
Vauxhall Astra
Vauxhall Omega
Chrysler Neon
Audi A2
Ford Fiesta
Ford Mondeo
Vauxhall Corsa
Citroen Saxo
BMW 3 Series
Vauxhall Vectra
Isuzu Trooper
Mercedes M-Class
Subaru Legacy
Rover 400
Fiat Ulysse
Mercedes E-Class
Renault Clio
Toyota Celica
Peugeot 306
Peugeot 406
Volvo S70
Rover 75
Daewoo Matiz
Peugeot 206
Mazda MX-3
Vauxhall Tigra
Seat Ibiza
Peugeot 106
Renault Megane
Peugeot 406
Saab 9-3
Audi A3
BMW X5
Mercedes S-class
Toyota Corolla
Seat Alhambra
BMW 5-series
Daewoo Nubira
Alfa Romeo 145
Saab 900
Mazda MX-6
Jaguar S-Type
Daewoo Leganza
Porsche Boxster

http://www.gizmag.com/the-100-most-reli ... rder/5657/

inb4fanboys...

Thank you, Sir

webb

Postby webb » April 5th, 2012, 7:23 am

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 5th, 2012, 8:27 am

I agree. I used to think the b14 was the greatest thing since sliced bread until i drove one. The civic is so much fun and parts last like forever you hardly ever have to change parts in civic. I found the b14 suspension to feel upsetting and fake. The Honda dual cradel arm suspension gives you such a pleasent bounce that feels so nice and fun. I found corolla to be the same but better when it comes to pot holes. You really do feel like a civic is ah legend when you own one. My brother 2000 ek3 is hitting 12 years old this year and only thing he ever changed was timing belt and water pump

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 5th, 2012, 8:29 am

Maybe german engineering was best in world war 2?
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on April 5th, 2012, 8:34 am, edited 1 time in total.