Re: TCL Strike - justified or not justified

Postby Damien » March 14th, 2012, 11:37 pm

Compare the salaries of bp,repsol,ttec,yara,bg and lets see the difference

Postby SR » March 15th, 2012, 6:38 am

why?
does tcl have the profitability of the companies listed above?

i am not saying i agree with the management salaries of the compnay either but lets concentrate on the salaries of the workers who are striking
to try and understand why are you striking..........
based on your present skill set do you think you will attract that salary if you are laid off from tcl?
be honest

which is the highers cost to the company at present
managers salaries or workers salaries
which gives more value for the money(even though the salaries are too high)

it is obvious tcl can operate without its striking workers by importing so the company can be restructured to have less man power and provide the similar output

Postby eliteauto » March 15th, 2012, 6:48 am

^^valid points there SR

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » March 15th, 2012, 7:24 am

this is a perfect example of Unskilled Unknowledgable ignorant workers who believe that they are " entitled" to more than whats fair for them.

Sad thing is the Union causes this and thrives on this dirty behaviour

FIGURES,- now the workers have turned to STONING a TCL MAxi....... this is exactly the mentality i spoke of.

If all you can do in life is shovel, then you should be paid accordingly - shut yuh arse and dont EXPECT and demand to be paid the equalivent of your BOSS.
Last edited by RIPEBREDFRUIT on March 16th, 2012, 7:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » March 15th, 2012, 7:34 am

excellent summary SR.

RBF, I hate to admit it, but I kinda agree with you there too.

achillies

Postby achillies » March 15th, 2012, 8:00 am

All in all, never criticize a man until you have walked a day in his shoes, if you think you are justified in criticizing, you are wrong.

It matters not if they would command a similar salary elsewhere with their qualifications, elsewhere, the conditions may be very different. This mentality "You won't make this money anywhere else with your qualifications so take what you getting now" is justification to take advantage of people.

And answer yourself this, how much money would you work for now knowing that you would have health problems in the future. Money should be equal to the job being done among other factors, qualifications are moot in this particular case, if someone has a degree and is a laborer and someone has just a couple CXC passes and is doing the same job, should the person with the degree get more in this case.

Personally I don't subscribe to qualifications being the only factor in determining a salary, there are other factors that can weigh more than qualifications, but that is a different thread altogether.

I am not supporting the strike, neither am I against it, I am just not into making judgements about a situation from outside the circle

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 15th, 2012, 8:38 am

achillies wrote:All in all, never criticize a man until you have walked a day in his shoes, if you think you are justified in criticizing, you are wrong.

It matters not if they would command a similar salary elsewhere with their qualifications, elsewhere, the conditions may be very different. This mentality "You won't make this money anywhere else with your qualifications so take what you getting now" is justification to take advantage of people.

And answer yourself this, how much money would you work for now knowing that you would have health problems in the future. Money should be equal to the job being done among other factors, qualifications are moot in this particular case, if someone has a degree and is a laborer and someone has just a couple CXC passes and is doing the same job, should the person with the degree get more in this case.

Personally I don't subscribe to qualifications being the only factor in determining a salary, there are other factors that can weigh more than qualifications, but that is a different thread altogether.

I am not supporting the strike, neither am I against it, I am just not into making judgements about a situation from outside the circle

QFT

Postby Damien » March 15th, 2012, 10:50 am

achillies wrote:All in all, never criticize a man until you have walked a day in his shoes, if you think you are justified in criticizing, you are wrong.

well bro you said it best

Postby Damien » March 15th, 2012, 10:59 am

Personally i started working there two yrs ago for basically the same salry but more job security and less responsibility while there i was offered twice the amount to come back but refused, tcl Trinidad makes profit every year, the rest of companies in the group doesn't so tcl Trinidad has to pay the majority of the loans, i personally think the 7% offer is pretty good in these times but that's just me

Postby teems1 » March 15th, 2012, 6:22 pm

Your job is only worth as much as how difficult it is to replace you.

Are there scores of persons, with equal or similar qualifications, out there willing to take your job/salary/benefits, even with the hazardous working environment?

Can those people be trained and brought up to speed to perform the role in a short space of time?

If the answer to those 2 questions are yes, then you should think really really long and hard before you down your tools and pick up placards.

There's a reason no one bats an eyelid when a PC tech or Helpdesk person leaves a company, but when an architect or senior software developer hands in his resignation the higher ups cringe....

Edit: typo

djaggs

Postby djaggs » March 15th, 2012, 6:59 pm

achillies wrote: This mentality "You won't make this money anywhere else with your qualifications so take what you getting now" is justification to take advantage of people.

nobody is being taken advantage of....they are being well friggin paid.....the point is they are greedy beyond reason.

Why does the whole country have to suffer because of the greed of a few. The whole world economy is suffering but here in Trinidad we want to live it up.

This goes for the mangers at TCL too, cuz theyve been raping that company for too long.

Postby SR » March 15th, 2012, 7:22 pm

so any comment on why the transport van was stoned down and damaged when attempting to enter the compound today...............

is this how you strike with physical violence and initmidation....

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 15th, 2012, 7:34 pm

SR wrote:so any comment on why the transport van was stoned down and damaged when attempting to enter the compound today...............

ummm actually...yes :D :lol: :lol: :lol:

I not condoning it but I just saying that's what strikes usually about. You feel people fraid to scab because they will be greeted with flowers at the front gate?

Postby brams112 » March 15th, 2012, 7:37 pm

they stone the maxi because they lost the fight,why dont roget pay the workers their three weeks salary,lets see how much he can really back his hot air,,,,this and all the other strikes are just politics,,,a draughsman who worked in petrotrin said most of the suckers there does nothing for most of the day,,sooo let the workers go for the three months nah let them see who wins,,,,,,tcl already saved a lot in salaries,,,ha ha ha,,,

Postby SR » March 15th, 2012, 7:45 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
SR wrote:so any comment on why the transport van was stoned down and damaged when attempting to enter the compound today...............

I not condoning it but I just saying that's what strikes usually about. You feel people fraid to scab because they will be greeted with flowers at the front gate?

interesting comment

but thats not what strikes are usually about

what if someone retaliates and shoots you claiming slef defence as they were physically attacked

yuh was a good boy ent

Postby Damien » March 15th, 2012, 7:49 pm

this activity is not condoned by the strike camp, alot of the casuals are affected by the strike as well some of them lucky to get two days employment for the week with having little savings put away for the strike, we cant control everyone fools will be fools, someone could have been seriously damaged by this action i really hope this don't happen again

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » March 15th, 2012, 7:49 pm

why dont roget pay the workers their three weeks salary,

So wait wait...men feel dey "union" will pay their lost salary?

Postby brams112 » March 15th, 2012, 7:53 pm

i sure the owner planning a massacare,,,

TCL Strike - justified or not justified

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 15th, 2012, 9:03 pm

SR wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

interesting comment

but thats not what strikes are usually about

what if someone retaliates and shoots you claiming slef defence as they were physically attacked

yuh was a good boy ent

It's not what you usually hear strikes are about. From fire bombing of houses to nails in yuh car tyres to people refusing to work with you after the strike. No one talks about these things but they have happened before.

Alot happens when people genuinely feel threatened.

Postby Damien » March 15th, 2012, 9:09 pm

Roget in the camp at present and he is saying that tcl cut off the water supply to a part of the village hear in claxton bay so the act of violence could be angry villagers

Postby brams112 » March 15th, 2012, 9:12 pm

so why the villagers dont get water from wasa???roget is spite full nasty vengefull and all the other nasty words to describe a stupid cnut,,,,

Postby Damien » March 15th, 2012, 9:22 pm

Rofl relax boy doh beat up

Postby sharkman121 » March 15th, 2012, 9:27 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I'm not in their shoes so I won't judge

kudos, well done..

Postby Team Loco » March 15th, 2012, 9:51 pm

After todays actions, they have lost the battle. Good sense may now prevail as the right thinking population will now see these striking workers as violent party goers. Whatever sympathy they drew has now gone out the window. Watch how they will return to work soon. TCL management will be laughing.

For the record, TCL is one place you lose most of your tools etc. Fellahs, if you are a contract worker in there, when you quote on a job you quietly hide the cost of replacing lost tools. Because you expect to lose a lot of stuff. Everytime we do a job in there, I have to replace spanners, hammers, gas cylinders etc. A lot of thieves for workers in there

Postby Damien » March 16th, 2012, 10:28 am

suppose your workers selling your tools?

Postby pete » March 16th, 2012, 10:54 am

Your workers should really be securing their tools better. When I do work in there I make sure and secure everything, don't leave anything lying around to find legs.

Postby toyolink » March 16th, 2012, 11:53 am

I await a statement from the MSJ strongly denouncing the kind of violence witnessed recently.
When leaders of the trade union movement open their big mouths about how individuals don't support the rights of workers,one wonders if they themselves do not respect the rights of workers to go to work.
These individuals who lead are the former class mates we all had who make the most noise and try to intimidate others by frothing at the mouth whilst articulating positions as if god sent them to save us.
I have always felt that the gifts these people are blessed with are rarely used responsibly and always felt safer staying far from them.
History is littered with examples of leaders who have taken advantage of the weaknesses of their followers which result in mayhem.
These are the same clowns who want crime condition to improve and is everybody-else's fault.
If it don't look good,if it don't smell good ......IT AINT GOOD!

Humes

Postby Humes » March 16th, 2012, 12:07 pm

Humes

Postby Humes » March 16th, 2012, 12:19 pm

Justified or not, one thing I doh ever do is speak out against unions taking industrial actions. Mightn't speak out in support either, but I definitely doh speak out against them.

I doh think people (workers, at least) understand how much they're undermining themselves when they stand against other workers and in solidarity with corporations. That is an age-old tool of the wealthy to divide and control the working class, and to create conditions where workers have no rights and no leverage. Nobody quarreling about how much profit companies can make, or how wealthy the wealthy can get. Read about the countries with no unions or weak unions when yuh get a chance.

Let the workers fight their fight. It might be your turn to fight next, and no matter how hard you workin or how reasonable you think your salary is, it will have some ignorant jealous loudmouth kant who will want to pull yuh down and talk about how yuh doh do nutten so yuh doh deserve nutten.

Postby crazybalhead » March 16th, 2012, 12:21 pm

Elyphant is a boss. Real sarcastic.