TTASA Drag Racing dates at Camden

Re: TTASA Drag Racing dates at Camden

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 16th, 2012, 10:23 am

^ when you go to a football match, do you go into the locker room??

if you allow access for all into the pits, you don't think they would flow over onto the tracks too??

I wasnt there so can't say more but limiting persons in the bit isnt a bad thing.....

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » January 16th, 2012, 10:30 am

thats why there's a pit area and then a track area, but seriously drags do get boring if all you have to do is watch race, it would be nice to go and look at the cars and talk to the racers

Tile Expression Ltd.

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » January 16th, 2012, 10:49 am

COROLLA KID wrote:thats why there's a pit area and then a track area, but seriously drags do get boring if all you have to do is watch race, it would be nice to go and look at the cars and talk to the racers

a pit area is for racers, their cars and their pit crew.

Nowhere in the world you will see spectators just liming in the pit areas of a racing event, its very dangerous.

maybe they should put something in place where spectators can look at cars and speak to racers early before the actual racing competition begins, but once racing start..find yuhself in the spectator area.

at the last event and yesterday, the pit areas were way too overcrowded, people walking all over the place blocking cars as they exit the track, blocking the center lanes where cars lines up..TTASA needs to have more control over the pit area..

link

Postby link » January 16th, 2012, 11:12 am

Tile Expression Ltd. wrote:
COROLLA KID wrote:thats why there's a pit area and then a track area, but seriously drags do get boring if all you have to do is watch race, it would be nice to go and look at the cars and talk to the racers

a pit area is for racers, their cars and their pit crew.

Nowhere in the world you will see spectators just liming in the pit areas of a racing event, its very dangerous.

maybe they should put something in place where spectators can look at cars and speak to racers early before the actual racing competition begins, but once racing start..find yuhself in the spectator area.

at the last event and yesterday, the pit areas were way too overcrowded, people walking all over the place blocking cars as they exit the track, blocking the center lanes where cars lines up..TTASA needs to have more control over the pit area..

100% agree & measures WILL be put in place.
rgds

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » January 16th, 2012, 11:42 am

calm down its not NASCAR people..lol.. the pits dont need to be clear for drags, its not like the cars are rushing in to change tyres,ect.......TTASA and their "rules"...........

TTASA Drag Racing dates at Camden

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 16th, 2012, 12:52 pm

Dude take it down a notch. Pits should always be key persons only

Postby Sinister_Audio » January 16th, 2012, 12:55 pm

COROLLA KID wrote:calm down its not NASCAR people..lol.. the pits dont need to be clear for drags, its not like the cars are rushing in to change tyres,ect.......TTASA and their "rules"...........

ass, marble or beneball?

as a spectator you are aware of the risks on being where you are...

...in the pit, where high powered cars are being worked on, before, after a race, u think nothing can go wrong? have you ever seen, heard or felt a nitrous backfire?
or the random spectators who smoke, will randomly walk around the pits smoking? where there are open fuel cells and easy access to "sheit HAPPENING" ...

...the racers and pit crew IN the pit know what they are doing and are aware of the concequences of what can happen, the rish of putting people who do not know better is way too stupid to even consider.

please think before you post

Postby wagon r » January 16th, 2012, 1:17 pm

..to be honest, i don't see the problem with people in the pit. drag racing is not like other racing sports where teams "race" back to the pit to change tyres and so on.

At NHRA races, the pits are open to all, you see it all the time during the coverage, it's what adds to the appeal of the sport and hence creates loyalty of fan to race team/driver.

Now, with that said, yes some measure of control is always needed, correct me if I'm wrong but smoking in a paid public gathering is against the law now, enforce it. Teams have the tent areas taped off and race marshalls to direct cars to the start line. And of course barriers to prevent all from getting to the start line except Media and race control.

But denyin the public to take part and by extension grow the sport, not a good idea. Just MHO.

link

Postby link » January 16th, 2012, 1:30 pm

there is a best possible scenario which will not compromise the safety aspects of race pits. This will be proactively explored for that first competition event on 22Jan.

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » January 16th, 2012, 1:46 pm

thank you wagon r, thats all im trying to say
let the public enjoy them self, just have security thats all........probably too cheap to hire security, they done eh provide seating, the people have to stand up whole time..

its a spectators sport, and its No Spectacle without Spectators,

zaxxon1

Postby zaxxon1 » January 16th, 2012, 4:22 pm

I was not there but from my experiences at IHRA and NHRA races, the pits are open, but the spectators would only find themselves there when there is a lull in racing or if they taking a break as they usually don't like to miss any races as they come fast and furious. However, the pits are very large so even with lots of people there there is no crowding or blocking or safety issues. Maybe TTASA should widen the pit area to include any parking area close to the road within the fencing. Just a little suggestion.

link

Postby link » January 16th, 2012, 5:27 pm

zaxxon1 wrote:I was not there but from my experiences at IHRA and NHRA races, the pits are open, but the spectators would only find themselves there when there is a lull in racing or if they taking a break as they usually don't like to miss any races as they come fast and furious. However, the pits are very large so even with lots of people there there is no crowding or blocking or safety issues. Maybe TTASA should widen the pit area to include any parking area close to the road within the fencing. Just a little suggestion.

utopian thought...
the security of the fuelling station, control tower & our 'great' neighbour - Dass - makes for doing the best within these limits presently outlined
rgds

tdavies

Postby tdavies » January 16th, 2012, 6:45 pm

Postby X_Factor » January 16th, 2012, 9:35 pm

atleast muh old rims looked decent on the pulsar

legoRB

Postby legoRB » January 16th, 2012, 11:50 pm

Any vids ppl ???????

tdavies

Postby tdavies » January 17th, 2012, 7:09 am

Some More here!!!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 17th, 2012, 10:15 am

Nice photos Anil!

Postby crazybalhead » January 17th, 2012, 10:34 am

Good photo coverage!

tdavies

Postby tdavies » January 17th, 2012, 11:06 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Nice photos Anil!

Thanks!!
Some is the wife as well

legoRB

Postby legoRB » January 17th, 2012, 12:04 pm

Nice pics bro!

^^^ Anybody have an idea the time my pal Lada ran??

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » January 17th, 2012, 2:24 pm

legoRB wrote:Nice pics bro!

^^^ Anybody have an idea the time my pal Lada ran??

meh boy S.C. green Lada wagon run 13.7 secs

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » January 17th, 2012, 2:26 pm

looking for times on the green Lada to drop Sunday

link

Postby link » January 17th, 2012, 3:33 pm

I suspect EVERYBODY'S time will lower at Sunday's blowout... :!: :wink:

legoRB

Postby legoRB » January 17th, 2012, 3:58 pm

roadracer7 wrote:meh boy S.C. green Lada wagon run 13.7 secs

:D Noice for its fuss time...

As link said...Nex Sunday times shud improve for everyone...weather permitting.

I will be present plz God! :mrgreen:

byanymeansbro

Postby byanymeansbro » January 20th, 2012, 12:43 pm

PBE8290 wrote:I wonder what next will they think about charging for? Gonorrhea or Ring worm testing might be mandatory for the next event. So one more way to put money in their pockets? Why pay for FIA when there isn't a race track, its a road with stone, bottle and grass like anyother. Sorry but we deserve better. If the track is prepared right its ok, but this is crazy.

I better leave my car right where it is or cumuto

Ah really feeling this comment , it have some people might disagree with it but trust meh it makes sense.........But ur have to be level headed to understand eh.lol 8-) :lol: