vrampersad14 wrote:crossdrilled wrote:G12 is a great camera. You could have saved some money and get the technically superior [img]S95[/img] though. The G series has better body and mechanics though.Tired Accord wrote:Any powershot G12 users in here? Probably too late but was debating between g12 and P7000. Ended up going with the g12 since I was familiar with the controls and was quite impressed with the pics online.
Brilliant shots i've seen by that S95, although my dream P&S is a Leica, this specifically: http://www.amazon.com/Leica-X1-12-2MP-D ... =8-2-spell
Anyone ever used one?
Notorious Scullman wrote:vrampersad14 wrote:crossdrilled wrote:G12 is a great camera. You could have saved some money and get the technically superior [img]S95[/img] though. The G series has better body and mechanics though.Tired Accord wrote:Any powershot G12 users in here? Probably too late but was debating between g12 and P7000. Ended up going with the g12 since I was familiar with the controls and was quite impressed with the pics online.
Brilliant shots i've seen by that S95, although my dream P&S is a Leica, this specifically: http://www.amazon.com/Leica-X1-12-2MP-D ... =8-2-spell
Anyone ever used one?
Don't be fooled by the name and price. I use a digital Leica now and then and it's not that great.
Optics are great (as expected), Image stabilisation isn't impressive, colours tend to be saturated, and noise handling is nothing to brag about.
The S95 is a great little thing, I may get one soon, but if you're looking into a small capable camera, then you definitely need to check out the Sony Nex-5n
http://www.luminous-landscape.com/reviews/cameras/sony_nex_5n_field_review.shtml
crazybalhead wrote:Look meh nephew!!!!![]()
Notorious Scullman wrote:The Canon 50mm f/1.4 is ok, but quite soft at wide apertures (which is incidentally why people buy it).
A few months ago, I bought the Sigma 50mm f/1.4 and it's wayyyy better than the Canon.
Here's a shot from a recent studio shoot @ f/2.5
vrampersad14 wrote:Good heads up Scullman, I've read up on a few of those Sony DSLR's. But the main drawbacks I've seen on them are poor batt life (extra batt could fix that) and also limited Lenses.
How do these compare to full DSLR's like the T2i etc? Another thing I was wondering about was the availability of external flash for it.
It is a good price though, I must admit.
SlimThug wrote:sup guys, u'll might know me by my video work, but for 2012 i'm coming out in the photography game with a 60D with a 18-200 canon lens......wats your take and advise?
Notorious Scullman wrote:Thanks Bacon.
Slim Thug, the 18-200 is an ok starter lens.
What do you intend to shoot? That would help determine your needs.
The UWI open campus photography course is a good place to get started with photography.
Personally for entry-level mega-zooms, I much prefer the Canon 18-135mm IS lens.
The image stabilisation is better than in the 18-200, and image quality is borderline "L" lens standard.
tdavies wrote:My 50mm 1.4 does amazing shots