3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Re: Photography Thread... whey allyuh? (Share yuh shots here

Postby RBphoto » December 22nd, 2011, 12:30 pm

50mm f/1.4 Nikon on my Nikon D90 was used for baby. The cross shot is my Canon 50mm f/1.8 on my Canon EOS3. I thought we went over this a few pages back when I said I rented the canon 50mm f/1.4 and it was superb? I used it on a 7D and loved it.

Postby DVSTT » December 22nd, 2011, 12:38 pm

lol, yea we did. sorry...

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » December 23rd, 2011, 3:52 am

The Canon 50mm f/1.4 is ok, but quite soft at wide apertures (which is incidentally why people buy it).
A few months ago, I bought the Sigma 50mm f/1.4 and it's wayyyy better than the Canon.

Here's a shot from a recent studio shoot @ f/2.5
IMG_4004_1.jpg

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » December 23rd, 2011, 4:09 am

vrampersad14 wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:
Tired Accord wrote:Any powershot G12 users in here? Probably too late but was debating between g12 and P7000. Ended up going with the g12 since I was familiar with the controls and was quite impressed with the pics online.
G12 is a great camera. You could have saved some money and get the technically superior [img]S95[/img] though. The G series has better body and mechanics though.

Brilliant shots i've seen by that S95, although my dream P&S is a Leica, this specifically: http://www.amazon.com/Leica-X1-12-2MP-D ... =8-2-spell

Anyone ever used one?

Don't be fooled by the name and price. I use a digital Leica now and then and it's not that great.

Optics are great (as expected), Image stabilisation isn't impressive, colours tend to be saturated, and noise handling is nothing to brag about.

The S95 is a great little thing, I may get one soon, but if you're looking into a small capable camera, then you definitely need to check out the Sony Nex-5n

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/reviews/cameras/sony_nex_5n_field_review.shtml

Postby RBphoto » December 23rd, 2011, 7:14 am

Um sculls, is it just me or the sigma is three times heavier than the canon? I nearly broke a friend's sigma when the front of my camera flopped down on a table!! The canon ballances well. I only took two pictures with it so can't really say much about performance. All I remember about it is being heavy.... but it seems like a competent lens, with great autofocus speed. I dunno about the soft part. I got razor sharp images out of it on a 7D wide open with the canon f/1.4.

Postby DVSTT » December 23rd, 2011, 11:33 am

Notorious Scullman wrote:
vrampersad14 wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:
Tired Accord wrote:Any powershot G12 users in here? Probably too late but was debating between g12 and P7000. Ended up going with the g12 since I was familiar with the controls and was quite impressed with the pics online.
G12 is a great camera. You could have saved some money and get the technically superior [img]S95[/img] though. The G series has better body and mechanics though.

Brilliant shots i've seen by that S95, although my dream P&S is a Leica, this specifically: http://www.amazon.com/Leica-X1-12-2MP-D ... =8-2-spell

Anyone ever used one?

Don't be fooled by the name and price. I use a digital Leica now and then and it's not that great.

Optics are great (as expected), Image stabilisation isn't impressive, colours tend to be saturated, and noise handling is nothing to brag about.

The S95 is a great little thing, I may get one soon, but if you're looking into a small capable camera, then you definitely need to check out the Sony Nex-5n

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/reviews/cameras/sony_nex_5n_field_review.shtml

But some of the reviews on amazon of other sony cameras were horrible so buyer beware since this is a new camera. Don't be foooled by the hype

Postby crazybalhead » December 23rd, 2011, 11:54 am

Look meh nephew!!!! :D :D :D :D

Postby RBphoto » December 23rd, 2011, 1:18 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Look meh nephew!!!! :D :D :D :D

;)

Want me take some pictchas of yours?

Postby DVSTT » December 23rd, 2011, 1:52 pm

Notorious Scullman wrote:The Canon 50mm f/1.4 is ok, but quite soft at wide apertures (which is incidentally why people buy it).
A few months ago, I bought the Sigma 50mm f/1.4 and it's wayyyy better than the Canon.

Here's a shot from a recent studio shoot @ f/2.5

Yea im reading reviews that put the sigma ahead of the canon as well
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6uaOC-q6nP8

Postby Trini Hookah » December 23rd, 2011, 11:21 pm

Good heads up Scullman, I've read up on a few of those Sony DSLR's. But the main drawbacks I've seen on them are poor batt life (extra batt could fix that) and also limited Lenses.

How do these compare to full DSLR's like the T2i etc? Another thing I was wondering about was the availability of external flash for it.

It is a good price though, I must admit.

Postby De Dragon » December 24th, 2011, 12:27 am

MISHI, yuh need ah chess wax...........or yuh could get ah epic chess bun like flipper, and singe 'em orfff!

indie

Postby indie » December 24th, 2011, 12:53 am

Nice pics ppls....

Postby DVSTT » December 25th, 2011, 10:48 am

FELLAS!!!!!!!!! MERRY CHRISTMAS!! HAVE A SAFE AND PROSPEROUS ONE!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 25th, 2011, 12:21 pm

Something to celebrate the Christmas with

Postby DVSTT » December 25th, 2011, 12:32 pm

My christmasy pic on flickr and i cant get it to post here, chk d link
http://www.flickr.com/photos/70684493@N03/6513552773/

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » December 25th, 2011, 11:10 pm

kinda late with this pics

ImprezaDriver

Postby ImprezaDriver » December 27th, 2011, 2:41 am

testing out the pano app on my phone

Postby Trini Hookah » December 27th, 2011, 10:12 am

Hope I get my new cam next year to add some better shots than what I have this year :oops:

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » December 28th, 2011, 12:58 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:Good heads up Scullman, I've read up on a few of those Sony DSLR's. But the main drawbacks I've seen on them are poor batt life (extra batt could fix that) and also limited Lenses.

How do these compare to full DSLR's like the T2i etc? Another thing I was wondering about was the availability of external flash for it.

It is a good price though, I must admit.

Forget about those sony cameras....for that kinda money better you go with a DSLR new or used which ever fits your budget and some cool lenses like the 50 f1.8 or 35 f1.8. If you want to keep it simple and small you can get the canon s90,s95,s100 all of them are great. I love that little camera pictures are very good from them and they have manual controls.

As for which brand to go for....in trinidad canon and nikon are the dominant brands so you can go either way. Just be sure to play around with them before you buy because canon ergonomics and button layout sucks a$$ compared to nikon and their consumer cameras generally are plasticky and less durable than NIKON=FACT

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » December 28th, 2011, 1:21 pm

this was taken with a galaxy s

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » January 1st, 2012, 6:08 pm

Happy New Year everyone.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T3tR97IA1kE

Here's a small selection of photos taken by me and two other photographers over 2011.

Keep shooting!

Bacon

Postby Bacon » January 1st, 2012, 7:02 pm

^Magnificent WorK!!!!

DownesDigital

Postby DownesDigital » January 2nd, 2012, 1:24 am

sup guys, u'll might know me by my video work, but for 2012 i'm coming out in the photography game with a 60D with a 18-200 canon lens......wats your take and advise?

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » January 2nd, 2012, 2:22 am

SlimThug wrote:sup guys, u'll might know me by my video work, but for 2012 i'm coming out in the photography game with a 60D with a 18-200 canon lens......wats your take and advise?

well yuh start bad with a canon :lol:

just joking.
Best advice is to do lots of reading and research...look at videos on youtube for starters but most of all practice, practice, practice.
18-200 covers a wide range of areas so that will be a very good learning lens and all round lens.
my 2cents 8-)

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » January 2nd, 2012, 10:28 pm

Thanks Bacon.

Slim Thug, the 18-200 is an ok starter lens.
What do you intend to shoot? That would help determine your needs.
The UWI open campus photography course is a good place to get started with photography.

Personally for entry-level mega-zooms, I much prefer the Canon 18-135mm IS lens.
The image stabilisation is better than in the 18-200, and image quality is borderline "L" lens standard.

Postby RBphoto » January 3rd, 2012, 12:27 am

SlimThug wrote:sup guys, u'll might know me by my video work, but for 2012 i'm coming out in the photography game with a 60D with a 18-200 canon lens......wats your take and advise?

Mega zooms as a starter lens is a sure way not to learn photography. Get a prime lens and learn to compose your shots. Shoot some film and you will exercise your visualization capabilities, as well as learning to be more careful. Photography classes will help with the mechanics of photography, but they can't teach you to develop an asthetic or a personal style. Only experience will teach you that. I am still a beginner by the way.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 3rd, 2012, 5:55 am

Notorious Scullman wrote:Thanks Bacon.

Slim Thug, the 18-200 is an ok starter lens.
What do you intend to shoot? That would help determine your needs.
The UWI open campus photography course is a good place to get started with photography.

Personally for entry-level mega-zooms, I much prefer the Canon 18-135mm IS lens.
The image stabilisation is better than in the 18-200, and image quality is borderline "L" lens standard.

i have the 28-135 is lens for sale brand new

scully do you have any info on the course at uwi? like contact info etc

tdavies

Postby tdavies » January 3rd, 2012, 9:47 am

18-200 is a great all around lens
frankly I prefer it to the 18-135
I had both and they are both around the same

the extra range is good.
In daylight both lens are good
However they are horrible in low light situations
I like the lock on the 18-200.
as crossdrilled said a prime lens is always a good choice.
My 50mm 1.4 does amazing shots
Last edited by tdavies on January 3rd, 2012, 9:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

tdavies

Postby tdavies » January 3rd, 2012, 9:49 am

Postby RBphoto » January 3rd, 2012, 10:05 am

tdavies wrote:My 50mm 1.4 does amazing shots

Yeah, but I bet every time you use it, you think of the failure rate of the micro USM motor and pray to god it don't die after the next shot :poke: