[TRAFFIC ALERT] Accident near Chief Brand Product Northbound

Postby M_2NR » December 26th, 2011, 8:12 pm

Warning. Traffic on Northbound and most like Southbound will follow. There is an accident on the Northbound of Uriah Butler Highway. If you are heading north, use the Caroni Savannah Road to by pass the accident. If heading south... Brace yourselves may or may not have maco traffic.

Did not get pics as I got out by CSR but saw an ambulance, police and fire truck

8)

jeevdude199

Re: [TRAFFIC ALERT] Accident near Chief Brand Product Northb

Postby jeevdude199 » December 26th, 2011, 8:14 pm

ohhh gorrr man i now headin down south...steups....i stayin home yes family see meh las yr dat good enough

Postby wagonrunner » December 26th, 2011, 8:22 pm

Yup happened maybe 30-40mins ago. and maccos on the SB were already doing what they do.

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » December 26th, 2011, 8:55 pm

Just got home after spending about 40mins in it. Saw 2 cars - a Primera and B15 I think. Primera was in pretty bad shape. H'way was blocked and traffic was being diverted unto the shoulder. Serious macos on the overpass directly above where the accident happened.

haseib786

Postby haseib786 » December 26th, 2011, 9:00 pm

herd 1 or 2 dead, i saw the white almera with LED tail lights in pretty bad condition, imagine, the occupant didnt know it was their last ride.......RIP........

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » December 26th, 2011, 9:18 pm

it early yet , wonder how much more will happen

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 26th, 2011, 9:32 pm

THE_FUGITIVES wrote:it early yet , wonder how much more will happen

I say 4.5.

Postby wagonrunner » December 26th, 2011, 9:33 pm

paparazzi wrote:Just got home after spending about 40mins in it. Saw 2 cars - a Primera and B15 I think. Primera was in pretty bad shape. H'way was blocked and traffic was being diverted unto the shoulder. Serious macos on the walkover directly above where the accident happened.

And I'm willing to bet money that it's a jackass crossing beneath caused this.
Saw an imbecile on my way to POS doing the same sheit, right there.

Postby S_2NR » December 26th, 2011, 9:36 pm

is to just bounce people like that instead of swerving to avoid them and cause a major accident.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 26th, 2011, 11:01 pm

shucks boi.....went to price plaza for a lil spin and passed there on my way back home around 7.....

ztune

Postby ztune » December 26th, 2011, 11:37 pm

Typical around this time. Not too far from that location heading south on Friday night I saw a Subaru Impreza, PCT plates smashed in on the side and Saturday night, a medalist, lancer and another vehicle smashed heading north of the Chaguanas flyover.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 27th, 2011, 12:36 am

the northbound just before the munroe road flyover is really dangerous...its now a three lane....

have u guys noticed how the lines are painted on the road...??

There is a slight bend...imagine that...straight highway but the lines painted are slightly curved...bended.....

I was heading north in the middle lane one night when the driver in the car in the left lane to me...DID NOT pay attention to the slight bend and he kept on going straight....In doing this he came across on my lane...had to pop my horn and pull away to avoid swiping him....

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Sma ... 41888.html

Smash-up at Charlieville
Story Created: Dec 26, 2011 at 10:50 PM ECT
Story Updated: Dec 26, 2011 at 10:50 PM ECT
CHAGUANAS police were at the scene of a serious accident in Charlieville late last evening in which four people were injured.
Police were unable to identify the injured who were taken to the Eric Williams Medical Sciences Complex in Mt Hope last evening. The collision took place along the north-bound lane of the Uriah Butler Highway, Charlieville.
The accident, which involved two vehicles, caused traffic to back up for miles. Police cordoned off the highway to allow rescue personnel to attend to the injured.
According to fire officer Learie Charles of the Chaguanas Fire Station, a Nissan Almera travelling along the south-bound lane crossed the median and collided with a Nissan Primera heading in the opposite direction, resulting in multiple serious injuries.
Fire tenders and ambulances from the Chaguanas Fire Station and police officers responded to the incident and were at the scene last night.
On Christmas night there was a similar serious accident in the same area which left several people at hospital.

Postby wagonrunner » December 27th, 2011, 12:56 am

"crossed the median"??
allyuh notice the height of the pavement there?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 27th, 2011, 1:14 am

it aint all that high nah....at high speeds if u hit that well..... pardna you gonna go flying across onto oncoming traffic...guess thats what happened...

well hard luck for the calls to install barriers to prevent cars from crossing over....

guess the designers and engineers though this new concrete median would look better and therefore it is a better investment than continuing with the barriers that may prevent cars from crossing onto the other side......

I hope they install some barriers onto this new median to prevent cars from crossing...the new medain looks better than the grass but thats about it......

Postby SR » December 27th, 2011, 7:03 am

sigh all that money spent/wasted when all you need is this

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jersey_barrier

INSTALLED PROPERLY
not the mickey mouse ones used presently on the highway that are not even anchored together so when a car comes in contact with it its pushed into the opposing lane

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » December 27th, 2011, 10:19 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:it aint all that high nah....at high speeds if u hit that well..... pardna you gonna go flying across onto oncoming traffic...guess thats what happened...

well hard luck for the calls to install barriers to prevent cars from crossing over....

guess the designers and engineers though this new concrete median would look better and therefore it is a better investment than continuing with the barriers that may prevent cars from crossing onto the other side......

I hope they install some barriers onto this new median to prevent cars from crossing...the new medain looks better than the grass but thats about it......

Postby toyolink » December 27th, 2011, 1:56 pm

I probably arrived at the scene of this accident mere minutes after it happened since there was no significant traffic build-up and only took a few minutes to to get around using "lay-by".
What I can say is that the sight of a young lady who was inconsolable on the roadway next to someone lying on the tracmac was really a source of great sadness for me.
Actually last evening the three lanes heading north were very confusing since many drivers were all over the lanes doing speeds of maybe 30 kph and you just kept running up on them and a lot of evasive activities were taking place.The three lanes are apparently all being used as slow and pasting lanes simultaneously and one really had to be fully attentive.
Really,the volume of traffic last evening wasn't much but the snagging episodes were numerous because of the really dead slow users "sometimes abreast of each other" were out in their numbers.
----Imagine a driver doing 40 kph pulling out suddenly from behind someone doing 35kph into your lane whilst you are coming at 80 kph and this happening to you 6 times in 2 kilometres------I almost went back home since I was sure was the TWILIGHT ZONE!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 27th, 2011, 6:14 pm

toyolink wrote:I probably arrived at the scene of this accident mere minutes after it happened since there was no significant traffic build-up and only took a few minutes to to get around using "lay-by".
What I can say is that the sight of a young lady who was inconsolable on the roadway next to someone lying on the tracmac was really a source of great sadness for me.

hope the emergency services were on the scene quickly...