Where to go to get a Vat Registered Letter?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 22nd, 2011, 9:11 am

ok no worries I got it.

Was in an accident this morning, one guy driving a panel van speeding and lost control and damage 2 cars and skid off the highway to the next side. He probably write off a brand new pcp Hyundai who happen to be standstill me and the vehicle were waiting for the green light. And well the Hyundai ended up hitting me through no fault of the driver since they literally get hit and pelt forward into the back of my car.

The person with the van who caused the whole accident is insured with Guardian General well its a company van so its under Neal and Massy name.

Guardian General told me I need to get a Vat Letter to know if I own a business or not and even if I don't I still need to get that letter.

Anyone ever had experience filing for claims with Guardian General?

I am 3rd party with capital.

poisondart

Re: Where to go to get a Vat Registered Letter?

Postby poisondart » December 22nd, 2011, 11:54 pm

go to Income tax office Cipero street south, or pos,whichever is convenient.

prakash

Postby prakash » December 23rd, 2011, 12:01 am

wdmc y you have to be stressed out , is he who bounce you, and you have to get a letter, dai sht

Postby Dizzy28 » December 23rd, 2011, 8:23 am

prakash wrote:wdmc y you have to be stressed out , is he who bounce you, and you have to get a letter, dai sht

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-_X8ensZ ... re=related

This.
I always wonder what we pay premiums for? We paying insurance companies one setta money but when an accident happens we also have to do all the work.

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » December 23rd, 2011, 9:20 am

The Vat letter as stated above can be obtained at any BIR office.

The purpose of the Vat letter is that when you submit your estimate for the repairs, if you are VAT registered, when Guardian is settling your claim, you will be paid the cost of repairs less VAT.

This is standard requirement with any claim at any insurance company.

You actually have nothing to worry about because Guardian is very prompt on settlement.

trinivampire

Postby trinivampire » December 23rd, 2011, 10:54 am

walk with your bir no. and/or vat no. if vat registered, makes the process much easier

xr8id1968

Postby xr8id1968 » December 28th, 2011, 4:25 pm

AQt POS you need to go to the VAT Office on St. Vincent Street, across the road from the BIR Building. Tell them at the counter that you need to get a VAT Letter for Insurance Purposes. It's a standard fom letter. They will write in the date, your name and tick the relevant box indicating that you either VAT registered or not.

Make sure they stamp it.

Postby Morpheus » December 29th, 2011, 2:56 am

OP your accident sounding similar to mine *facepalm

Hilux drivers again! :roll:

He wanted me so bad that he went through an Xtrail and Fielder to get me
By Macoya lights (red) on highway. Domino effect. I dunno why ppl always hit/scrape/bounce me when I am doing 0kph Happened end of October.

Sagicor go open him out. :fist:

Collected my Sagicor cheque yesterday actually :D

BTW I got my VAT letter at the BIR Office Arima. Walk with ID, etc. The only delay I had was workers laughing and liming and taking their merry time :roll:

00Misty

Postby 00Misty » March 23rd, 2016, 7:59 pm

Right, so what do you need to walk with to get your VAT letter for Insurance purposes?

My dad needs it, but he's self-employed and his business is not registered.

konartis

Postby konartis » March 23rd, 2016, 8:13 pm

00Misty wrote:Right, so what do you need to walk with to get your VAT letter for Insurance purposes?

U need this to show if ur paying vat or not...if ur not vat registered, they wud give u a letter stating same. If ur a company and paying vat, the u wud get one stating that. Why the insurance needs it?? Why the fack u didnt ask them??

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » March 23rd, 2016, 8:54 pm

00Misty wrote:Right, so what do you need to walk with to get your VAT letter for Insurance purposes?...

Basically BIR number and identification. It's a very quick process. They give you the form at the front desk.

Postby skylinechild » January 15th, 2018, 9:26 am

good info here... need to get a VAT letter today.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 9th, 2019, 9:22 am

Morpheus wrote:BTW I got my VAT letter at the BIR Office Arima. Walk with ID, etc. The only delay I had was workers laughing and liming and taking their merry time :roll:

Guys, I need a VAT letter for the same accident purposes. I was told just now that I can only get this in POS - is that correct? I rather go Arima if I can. Of course I can't get through to anyone anywhere on any number...

Also, can you apply on behalf of someone if you walk with 2 forms of their ID and fill the form out? Thanks a lot.

Edit - finally got through to Tunapuna's office. I can get the letter there. Just need an authorization letter and copies of the person's ID.
Last edited by Soul Collector on July 9th, 2019, 9:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

link

Postby link » July 9th, 2019, 9:32 am

konartis wrote:
00Misty wrote:Right, so what do you need to walk with to get your VAT letter for Insurance purposes?

U need this to show if ur paying vat or not...if ur not vat registered, they wud give u a letter stating same. If ur a company and paying vat, the u wud get one stating that. Why the insurance needs it?? Why the fack u didnt ask them??

the insurance company pays the vat directly........one way of preventing vat fraud........
rgds

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 10th, 2019, 6:40 pm

Damn I remember that Accident still yes, rain was pouring down so hard and I had the car in Neutral with hand brake down waiting on green light and out of nowhere I was slammed into and ended up on the other side of the highway, not gonna lie that EG8 civic was worst car on the planet. Would never start in the sun unless night time came. Brain Box would burn out every 6 months, all sort of weird ass problems, could never get parts for it either. Sold that pile of junk and eventually went Toyota, never had any issues with parts failing or finding parts.

BTW I made a profit from that accident, I got lucky the guy was with GG insurance, I got $15,000 from the insurance and the car cost $5000 to fix. Made $10K profit and sold that load of sh!t