Would you take your wife's last name?

Re: Just came off Skype...

Postby AllTrac » December 9th, 2011, 11:00 am

so heres a twist, if she does take your surname but hyphenate it with her maiden name, suppose if she wants your children to do the same? would you go with it?

Postby crazybalhead » December 9th, 2011, 11:15 am

I would not. In fact, madame just change she passport accordingly.

Postby foss » December 9th, 2011, 11:16 am

AllTrac wrote:so heres a twist, if she does take your surname but hyphenate it with her maiden name, suppose if she wants your children to do the same? would you go with it?

aye congrats !!!

Postby crazybalhead » December 9th, 2011, 11:21 am

De mark bus alltrac???!!!!!!! BESS!!!!

Postby AllTrac » December 9th, 2011, 11:26 am

Postby Ignorant Ignis » December 9th, 2011, 11:29 am

if she last name was sabga .... i would think about it ....serious

Postby K74T » December 9th, 2011, 11:32 am

Ignorant Ignis wrote:if she last name was sabga .... i would think about it ....serious

or Aboud.

Postby ismithx » December 9th, 2011, 12:24 pm

smartman ent... :lol:

Postby SUPAstarr » December 9th, 2011, 12:31 pm

Man gettin on like if they take she name yuh dick go fall off, Low Self Esteem FTL. I dont agree with the hyphenated thing, my wife wanted to do that, i said no. Now she is a baytee with a ching chong las name, the look on some ppl face is EPIC when she says it

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » December 9th, 2011, 1:47 pm

SUPAstarr wrote:Man gettin on like if they take she name yuh dick go fall off, Low Self Esteem FTL. I dont agree with the hyphenated thing, my wife wanted to do that, i said no. Now she is a baytee with a ching chong las name, the look on some ppl face is EPIC when she says it

So who's her real husband?

DevilZ

Re: Would you take your wife's last name?

Postby DevilZ » December 9th, 2011, 2:07 pm

my girl pops doh have any sons...so the most i doing is hyphenating meh chirren name with both our surnames...only cuz de ole man eh ha nobody to carry on he name

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » December 9th, 2011, 2:30 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:
uncle sam wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:what's the big deal?

No one said it was a big deal but would you do it?

I personally think that it's a tradition not to be broken

i dont see why not

but this isn't anything "new"..dont see the fuss, as i said before

So what if the fella have a surname like Palackdharrysinghlalbeharry, and his wife just has a simple surname like John or Lee or Singh or something.

Fella might probably be glad to get rid of the ultra-long surname.

Postby Stephon. » December 9th, 2011, 2:33 pm

LMFAO hell no!

Postby wagonrunner » December 9th, 2011, 3:10 pm

any man who's happy to "get rid of his surname" is a disrespectful to his father.
The name doesn't carry if you drop it, and if it has no value to you, so be it.

The coward scene from immortals comes to mind.
Last edited by wagonrunner on December 9th, 2011, 3:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby A172 » December 9th, 2011, 3:11 pm

doh be on Palackdharrysinghlalbeharry dan

ElectricoS

Postby ElectricoS » December 9th, 2011, 3:12 pm

wow, i would love to take my wife's last name cuz i hate mi familia. lol

is that even possible ?

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » December 9th, 2011, 3:28 pm

A172 wrote:doh be on Palackdharrysinghlalbeharry dan

Wha happen? Jes so :lol: :lol:

mindxlabz

Postby mindxlabz » December 9th, 2011, 5:58 pm

Well..... seeing as how my gf has a last name associated with similar names on the "no fly list".....errrrr NO

Postby brams112 » December 9th, 2011, 7:04 pm

a man's last name is carried by his son's,,,what sense does it make that someone's name is not carried out,,,,,,makes no sense,,,why does everyone want to do everything the rest of the world does trinis want to copy it

Postby rollingstock » December 9th, 2011, 7:34 pm

It don't make a difference to me, don't even carry my father name, did for a while in school, first day of school for role call teacher asked, "Andy Williams?"
Cooli3 boy stand up "present miss", she was like wtf? whatever yes......*next name*

but forget the cool stories, a name means nothing, your forefathers established who they were, it's up to you to do the same regardless of whatever stigma attached to a name or personal feelings.

Heck i'm sure there are guys in here proud of their lineage and go around boasting about their son jnrxyz when in reality is a next man child and jnrxyz is really de P car driver own.

Postby De Dragon » December 9th, 2011, 9:30 pm

My waife surname is hyphenated because she's very close to her family and wanted it so. My kids surnames are also hyphenated like her, and it really doesn't matter to me.I know who my children/wife are and my legacy ends with them.

Pre

Postby Pre » December 9th, 2011, 10:17 pm

wtf really going on in here, 1st of all uncle sam dude probably married to a dude and he on d receiving end of things so he have to change he name. 2nd wha wrong to alluh men alluh let dem out d kitchen now alluh want to take she name. Before meh head explode alluh men please read this so u would know how its supposed to be viewtopic.php?f=4&t=411018

Rx

Postby Rx » December 9th, 2011, 10:22 pm

I wouldn't do it..
I prefer to keep my BaLL$

Postby shogun » December 10th, 2011, 12:30 am

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:
shogun wrote:emasculation ftl.

further proof that men are becoming b!tches.

You emasculate yourself by taking your wife's family name? :? :?
Sounds like you're unsure of your masculinity.

D' hell!

something fall in your garden bruh?.....it's just my opinion, deal with it.

it's my opinion that men in contemporary society are emasculated...be it self inflicted, or by outside influences.

The clothes they wear, music they listen to, even in my opinion adopting, what was thought to be female traits by becoming catty, gossipy, knit picky and bitchy....examples of which can be observed on almost any social site, or anywhere in general, for that matter.

it seems they can't have an online debate without TRYING to insult, name call, or belittle in some way, the person they disagree with.

Can't totally blame men, economies are becoming predominately female driven, advertisers now cater alot more to them....so i think it's just becoming a lot less important to be a "man" and more important to be something else.

So basically, i think it's even more important to hold on to the last few privileges we enjoy as men, before we lose them all...and from the look of things, we eventually will. :lol:
Last edited by shogun on December 10th, 2011, 1:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

Oleander

Postby Oleander » December 10th, 2011, 12:39 am

If my wife name could give me an upward push... yeah I will take it..
Iz survival of the fittest out there inno..

Postby Trini Hookah » December 10th, 2011, 12:39 am

I'm keeping my name, but I told my gf to keep her name as well, as her father doesn't have any sons to carry on the name...I think it's respectful in the least.

Postby S_2NR » December 10th, 2011, 12:52 am

hell no..firetruck that sheit..hyphen for the most, children take my name

Postby Sky » December 10th, 2011, 1:11 am

rollingstock wrote:It don't make a difference to me, don't even carry my father name, did for a while in school, first day of school for role call teacher asked, "Andy Williams?"
Cooli3 boy stand up "present miss", she was like wtf? whatever yes......*next name*

but forget the cool stories, a name means nothing, your forefathers established who they were, it's up to you to do the same regardless of whatever stigma attached to a name or personal feelings.

Heck i'm sure there are guys in here proud of their lineage and go around boasting about their son jnrxyz when in reality is a next man child and jnrxyz is really de P car driver own.

Good point, you made me feel better there.
For some of us, our names are the names our forefathers wanted to gain status, or try. Maharaj etc. For others, our names are taken by our forefathers from the slave masters that owned them. Really? Black man like you wanna keep the English name?
But stilll, tradition is tradition and she hadda come real good for me to take her name.
Or she hadda make me come real good. Either way will work

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » December 10th, 2011, 1:42 am

nahhh im kool....nun against it tho

Postby rollingstock » December 10th, 2011, 5:54 am

Sky wrote:
rollingstock wrote:It don't make a difference to me, don't even carry my father name, did for a while in school, first day of school for role call teacher asked, "Andy Williams?"

Good point, you made me feel better there.
For some of us, our names are the names our forefathers wanted to gain status, or try. Maharaj etc. For others, our names are taken by our forefathers from the slave masters that owned them. Really? Black man like you wanna keep the English name?
But stilll, tradition is tradition and she hadda come real good for me to take her name.
Or she hadda make me come real good. Either way will work

Exactly, holding on to something that may be a sham, honestly you really feel any Maharaj, Singh etc came to cut cane, how many Williams, Francis, Morris etc you know are indigenous from Africa?

Think about how many times a story or rumour about a horn in de family came out, even how many times you were unfaithful in the last 2 years now multiply that over several generations............... explains that cousin with the nice eyes or uncle who is taller than the rest.