Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 9th, 2011, 10:08 am

Strauss wrote:So Flash is now dead.

or dying

Adobe kills mobile Flash, giving Steve Jobs the last laugh
Focus in future will be on HTML5 as mobile world shifts towards non-proprietary open standards – and now questions will linger over use of Flash on desktop
http://www.guardian.co.uk/technology/20 ... obile-dead

check this demo of HTML5 vs flash banner ads
http://dev.sencha.com/deploy/css3-ads/

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 9th, 2011, 10:10 am

Yea posted to forum as it affects everyone in the long-term.

casper

Postby casper » November 9th, 2011, 3:47 pm

jeeeez....how much problems this flicking iphone 4s really have boi???....i seeing shanaenterprises got a delay in his shipment due to some echo and no audio and siri issues....seems like a good bit of ppl experiencing this as well as the poor battery life... :?

i sticking with meh damn iphone 4 yessss

Parvin

Postby Parvin » November 9th, 2011, 9:03 pm

Anyone here ever used or is using the Boxwave Bluetooth keyboard (or anything of a similar nature) ?

How well is its use? In terms of the battery life of it and the iphone since the bluetooth will need to be constantly on to get a 'best' use.

Postby M_2NR » November 10th, 2011, 9:37 am

new autocorrect list is balls. Reminds me of the failcorrect in webos. When you hit space it messes up.

btw if you are using ifile, its in var/mobile/library/preferences

;-)

I'm sure srasc will post about what I'm talking about soon

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 10th, 2011, 11:00 am

I was probably gonna try it with iFile or wait it out until a Cydia version came out, but after reading ^^^ I'm not so sure. I guess there is a reason why these features were hidden.

------

Infinity Blade 2 is not set to hit our iOS devices until the beginning of December. The lucky guys over at IGN managed to get their hands on a preview of the game and it looks like it is going to be a really top sequel. According to IGN, Infinity Blade 2 offers far more than just a refresh, it picks up where the first game ended but goes on much further. Infinity Blade 2 is far more story lead and includes more than 40 different combat locations.

Infinity Blade 2 will hit the App Store on December 1st, we don’t know which devices will be supported yet but assume that it will need the grunt of a dual core processor; we will wait and see!

(Have to admit, not sure if its just coincidence, but Infinity Blade 1 has seemed to have slowed down a little in the most recent update.)

------

Deceased Apple co-founder Steve Jobs has been nominated for TIME Magazine’s Person of the Year award.

The news comes from CNET – a website dedicated to covering media and technology – in the form of a blog post in which they talk about Steve Jobs, his nomination and the nominator.

Jobs has been nominated by NBC Nightly News anchor Brian Williams on the basis of Jobs’ appreciable dent on the universe by revolutionizing the personal computer, music, smartphone and tablet industry that is a result of the culture he single-handedly created at Apple.

If Jobs does, in fact, get to be the face of TIME Magazine’s prestigious annual Person of the Year issue, he would be the person to receive it posthumously.

Here’s the important excerpt from Williams’ nomination speech:

One guy, who changed our world, and I said to Seth Meyers as we walked across Sixth Avenue, "Just look with me on this one block walk at how he changed the world around us. Look at how he changed the world." Not only did he change the world, but he gave us that spirit again that something was possible that you could look at a piece of plastic or glass and move your finger– that’s outlandish. You could make things bigger or smaller like that. "Oh the places you’ll go" and oh the way you will change forever the music and television industries. So may he rest in peace, Steve Jobs, and the spirit he represents, are my nominee for Person of the Year.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » November 10th, 2011, 12:15 pm

killerhyundai-DET wrote:I have a question about the ipad 2 with the sim card tray: can we we use a digicel or bmobile sim with a data plan on the ipad2? reason being I want to get one for work, but I need access to the internet on the road....and I really don't want to buy a 4g hotspot thing, that's one more dongle to carry......

Well if you have a 3G iPad already this is you best option , free unlimited data

http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=405749&p=5782725#p5782725

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » November 10th, 2011, 2:01 pm

iDynamic wrote:
killerhyundai-DET wrote:I have a question about the ipad 2 with the sim card tray: can we we use a digicel or bmobile sim with a data plan on the ipad2? reason being I want to get one for work, but I need access to the internet on the road....and I really don't want to buy a 4g hotspot thing, that's one more dongle to carry......

Well if you have a 3G iPad already this is you best option , free unlimited data

http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=405749&p=5782725#p5782725

i want this done in december when im back in the country

will pm you if i remember

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » November 10th, 2011, 2:21 pm

RapToR wrote:
iDynamic wrote:

i want this done in december when im back in the country

will pm you if i remember

Sure no problem

Postby M_2NR » November 10th, 2011, 4:12 pm

SRASC wrote:I was probably gonna try it with iFile or wait it out until a Cydia version came out, but after reading ^^^ I'm not so sure. I guess there is a reason why these features were hidden.

na try it na... it easy to do and take off... just weird to play it.
when i tried signing in to my apple id to buy something for instance.. it autofilled my password...wrong... lol.

and in whatsapp i hit the /.\ up thing and it crashed...

SRASC

The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby SRASC » November 10th, 2011, 4:54 pm

Ahh yes 44 MB better than > 666 MB. But it'll have to wait for the untethered.

Oh and I'll try the auto correct later.

Postby M_2NR » November 10th, 2011, 5:24 pm

wait... wait... i now realize... we can update... even though we are... jailbroken... :shock:

on the beta's that was not possible....

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » November 10th, 2011, 6:33 pm

casper wrote:jeeeez....how much problems this flicking iphone 4s really have boi???....i seeing shanaenterprises got a delay in his shipment due to some echo and no audio and siri issues....seems like a good bit of ppl experiencing this as well as the poor battery life... :?

i sticking with meh damn iphone 4 yessss

Hmm strange ....

As for Siri , I think I stated this last month but incase I forgot to, "she" is not allowed to give directions and locations of people & places outside of the U.S

And if u iz ah trini and yuh cyah speak English properly , Siri will never work for you , she guh horn yuh!

Postby pete » November 10th, 2011, 7:06 pm

Anyone tried using vlingo on an iphone here? I know someone mentioned it in this thread but I not gonna look through 257 pages to see what was said.

Also... anyone else having trouble connecting to the app store?

I can't get on to that or PSN right now. :?

Alexy

Postby Alexy » November 10th, 2011, 7:36 pm

hi guys...

anyone has the Ipod Touch 4g?
im planning on buying one....would like to hear some reviews from current owners...
thanks!

(btw....200+ pages of 0_0 jargon.....sigh...)

Postby M_2NR » November 10th, 2011, 7:44 pm

pete wrote:Anyone tried using vlingo on an iphone here? I know someone mentioned it in this thread but I not gonna look through 257 pages to see what was said.

there is a search bar on top bai.
and yea... Its cool but waiting for siri port even though the IR Sensor is not the same as on the 4S

Postby pete » November 10th, 2011, 8:04 pm

Alexy wrote:hi guys...

im planning on buying one....would like to hear some reviews from current owners...
thanks!

I was looking to upgrade my 2nd gen iPod touch this year to the 4g itouch. Then samsung released a 4" and 5" galaxy player.

After looking at reviews and the features I decided to switch to the android. My sister has the 4g itouch and it's nice but the lack of sd card slot, fm radio and gps swing me toward the galaxy.

Postby S_2NR » November 10th, 2011, 8:15 pm

Alexy wrote:hi guys...

thanks!

it bess.
u wont regret it.
buy the biggest u can afford.
i have the 64gb with 5000 songs and 200 vids and endless pics.
the touch interface alone is enough encouragement. i use mine everyday, especially in the car.

Alexy

Postby Alexy » November 10th, 2011, 8:32 pm

thanks! S_2NR did you buy yours locally or online?

pete, checking out the samsung galaxy player..pretty sleek...tho the ipod would have superior sound quality rite?

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » November 10th, 2011, 8:34 pm

I just put magic jack on my iPad 2 and on the iPhone 4S

Search " magictalk " in the app store and download it , works the same way as regular magic jack

called my from my iPad 2 to iPhone using edge only on both devices , it actually worked just as good as a regular call

Postby S_2NR » November 10th, 2011, 8:40 pm

Alexy wrote:thanks! S_2NR did you buy yours locally or online?

bought mine in walmart toronto, canada when i travelled.
dont bring that through skybox, ull get raped with charges. get someone to bring it for u.
never regretted buying my ipod touch even though it cost 460$ CDN including taxes :drinking:

Bezman

Postby Bezman » November 10th, 2011, 8:50 pm

iDynamic wrote:...
And if u iz ah trini and yuh cyah speak English properly , Siri will never work for you , she guh horn yuh!

if Siri cant understand you, chances are I can't either...

The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby M_2NR » November 10th, 2011, 9:37 pm

Bezman wrote:
iDynamic wrote:...

if Siri cant understand you, chances are I can't either...

rofl. Stock voice control is pretty cool though.

Check ting...
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1320975424.371381.jpg

(no offence, i blame duane :| )

Also... i forgot about iOS 5 including speak selection... now my voicemail on my bmobile wont be so unique anymore :cry:

Parvin

Postby Parvin » November 11th, 2011, 9:48 am

Factory Unlocked 4S available for order

casper

Postby casper » November 11th, 2011, 10:06 am

pete wrote:Anyone tried using vlingo on an iphone here? I know someone mentioned it in this thread but I not gonna look through 257 pages to see what was said.

it was me who mentioned the vlingo....its ok...download it u might like it...it doesnt talk back to u like siri but it still pretty cool tho...it wont understand u neityher unless u speak proper english

Postby pete » November 11th, 2011, 10:30 am

Downloaded it on a blackberry and it understood me fine.

Maybe they added a trini dialect to their servers.

What I found is it's extremely slow on edge/GPRS, only when connected to wifi was it tolerable. Is Siri like that?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 11th, 2011, 1:46 pm

iOS Auto Correct (hidden one), annoying. Got rid of < 10 mins after putting on.

rookie

Postby rookie » November 11th, 2011, 2:01 pm

Factory unlocked 4s 649 / 749 / 849 don't forget taxes :fist: sticking to my unlocked for till the 5 reaches next year :angel: :angel:

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » November 11th, 2011, 2:05 pm

^^^^^^ d panorama option working alrite but not great...

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 11th, 2011, 4:18 pm

Follow up.

The news comes straight from the online Apple Store in the form of an update to its iPhone 4S ordering page which now allows users to get the phone factory-unlocked and contract-free.

Contract-free iPhone 4S models were available in USA before, but they were limited to retail Apple Stores. Now folks can order their factory-unlocked model from the comfort of their comfy basement or couch, whichever comes first.

In slightly unrelated news, iPhone Dev Team has already managed to jailbreak the iPhone 4S. It is currently in preliminary stage, but is being worked upon day and night. There is no clear expected date for it, but, still, you can expect it within weeks rather than months since the jailbreaking community has five userland exploits and two important bugs they can use to jailbreak iOS devices such as the iPhone 4S and iPad 2 on iOS 5.

Speaking of iOS 5, iOS 5.0.1 was released earlier today. It fixes the much talked about battery drain issue on the iPhone 4S (among other iOS devices), so if you were waiting for the initial bugs to get fixed, now’s your time to pick up an iPhone 4S!

The iPhone 4S is available in three models based on internal memory – 16GB, 32GB, 64GB. These models cost $199, $299 and $399 with two-year contract from either AT&T, Verizon or Sprint or can be bought off contract for $649, $749 and $849 respectively in the US. All models are available in two colors: black or white.

------

Most of you may know already know about this, but co-founder and former CEO of the world’s most valuable company Steve Jobs’ annual salary was just $1.

The reminder comes from a post on CNN Money – a popular business website – in which they talk about some of the biggest names in the technology industry who make (or made, in this case) just $1 a year. Steve Jobs, of course, is included in the list.

I first came across this fact in one of the annual issues of Guiness World Records in which Jobs’ was given the record of Lowest Paid Chief Executive Officer for his yearly salary being just $1, while being well compensated in the form of gifts such as a $90 million Gulfstream V jet and having his travel expenses reimbursed which, according to CNN Money’s report, totaled a whopping $248,000 in 2010.

From CNN Money:

From 1997 until his death, Steve Jobs took home just $1 a year in salary, and most years he collected no bonus. Just $1.

That is, except for 2001, when the company came through with a whopper of an executive bonus: It spent $90 million to buy Jobs a Gulfstream V airplane. Since then, Apple had been reimbursing Jobs’ air travel expenses, which totalled $248,000 last year.

How did Steve Jobs, then, manage to maintain the lifestyle of the billionaire that he was?

From Apple filing for IPO (1980) to his forced resignation from the company (1985), Jobs was being paid heavily for his role as Head of Macintosh division. He also sold around $14 million worth of Apple stock. $14 million is a lot of money, which may have been invested, from which he might have been living off of.

Besides this, Jobs held $1.4 billion worth of Apple stock and $4.4 billion worth of Disney stock in 2010. Disney’s investors get 35 cents annual for each share, from which Jobs used to receive $48 million a year.

So that is how the man maintained his lifestyle.

Steve Jobs passed away on October 5th. His authorized biography Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson went on sale on October 24th and is selling like hotcakes; it is expected to become the top-selling book of the year.