Most expensive car wash

Postby shogun » October 16th, 2011, 11:27 pm

Petrol-head Gurcharn Sahota charges a staggering £7,200 for Britain’s most expensive car wash which he does – from his PARENTS’ GARAGE.

Car-nut Gurcharn, 30, has a string of celebrity clients and takes up to 250 HOURS to clean each motor.

He has cleaned hundreds of dream machines including a Lamborghini Gallardo (pictured), Bugatti Veyron and an orange McLaren F1 GTR worth £5 million.

Since he started the business five years ago he has travelled the world with his hi-tech kit which includes a microscope, 100 cleaning fluids and £8,200 car wax.

Gurcharn charges customers up to £7,200 for a wash which includes polishing and buffing every inch of the car inside and out – FIVE times.

He even uses a computerised microscope – normally used by forensic scientists – to examine the body work for the minutest scratch not even visible to the naked eye.

Gurcharn, who drives an iconic MK1 Volkswagen Golf GTi, started his passion for cleaning by washing his neighbours’ cars with a bucket and a sponge – for FREE.

He said: ”When I was younger I washed neighbours’ cars and my dad’s car whenever I could.

”They never paid me, I loved it so much I did it for free.

”Things have built up from there and now I’m cleaning some of the fastest, most powerful sports cars in the world.

”People come to me and they want the best treatment going for their car.

If you’ve got a £500,000 car then a few grand for cleaning is worth it.

”Sometimes I’ll work through the night to get a car looking absolutely pristine.

”They’re world class motors that deserve a world class wash.”

Gurcharn, who still lives with his parents, has converted their double garage into a hi-tech workshop.

He built a Formula 1-style pit for scrubbing the underneath of cars and layered the entire workshop floor and walls with specialist tiles imported from Italy which help reflect flecks of dirt on the cars.

After spending hundreds of hours cleaning by hand he uses a £5,000 computerised microscope which examines the car for blotches and scratches.

His proud parents Gurbinder, 55, and Amarjit, 53, were so impressed with their son’s work they converted their double garage into a hi-tech workshop for his business.

Gurcharn studied accountancy at university but practiced in his friend’s body workshop in Birmingham.

He moved home to start his car detailing business ‘Elite Detailing’ cleaning cars in his mum and dad’s garage.

Rich drivers flocked from hundreds of miles away to his mum’s garage to have their motors’ body work cleaned.

Customers – including ‘Mr Loophole’ Nick Freeman – have even flown Gurcharn as far away as Jordan, Germany, Monaco and Brussels for his services.

He travels with up to 100 different cleaning fluids that need special clearance at customs. The wax alone he uses costs a cool £8,200 a tub.

It can take up to 250 hours to clean for super-rich customers including footballers, musicians, actors and stockbrokers.

Gurcharn first sprays the car with a degreaser to loosen any mud then jet washes it to get the worst off.

Next he wipes the vehicle with a lambs-wool mitten dunked in warm soapy water before jet washing it again.

Gurcharn sprays the car with mild wax solution to reduce the risk of scratching before drying it with a microfiber towel.

The final stage uses a special clay which is rubbed over the paintwork with wax to remove any impurities.

He then polishes up to five times using a buffer and an abrasive compound.

A paint gauge is used throughout the cleaning to check how much clear coat and colour there is to work with on the body work.

And a microscope linked to a computer allows him to view bad scratches in detail.

Gurcharn added: ”If you’re paying £150,000 for a car then you’re going to want it to be perfect.

”The first time I cleaned an Enzo it took a week and when I tried to sleep all I could see was Ferrari red.

”The car has to be free from all contaminants like dust and dirt before you start otherwise it’s going to get scratched.

”I just want perfection. Finishing is the best part because you know what it was like when you started. That gives me great satisfaction.”

http://swns.com/britains-most-expensive ... 91015.html

Re: Britain’s most expensive car wash

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 17th, 2011, 7:28 am

dammmmm at the cars in that garage,but that garage is for men who have rel$$$$$$$$$$$$

Re: Most expensive car wash

Postby ismithx » October 17th, 2011, 7:45 am

wayyy i remember reading this story a while back, still awesome stuff!

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » October 17th, 2011, 8:20 am

Wow.....just wow. ::)

achillies

Postby achillies » October 17th, 2011, 8:29 am

This dude is suffering from OCD, he was smart enough to make a living off if it.

Postby r3iXmann » October 17th, 2011, 8:35 am

welcome to 1995 :|

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » October 17th, 2011, 8:37 am

level squeezy and brong wata..

Postby K74T » October 17th, 2011, 8:38 am

WTN :|

neals

Postby neals » October 17th, 2011, 8:55 am

he hiring or wah

Postby shogun » October 17th, 2011, 9:35 am

r3iXmann wrote:welcome to 1995 :|

You're almost too cool....you know that?

Postby sharkman121 » October 17th, 2011, 9:40 am

glad fuh d youth man...

Postby TRAE » October 17th, 2011, 9:55 am

stueps and rain go still fall and dirty it right back

Postby shogun » October 17th, 2011, 10:00 am

^ent?....is England after all.
Dude must be making a mint.....good for him though....you go! Gurchan!

Postby sharkman121 » October 17th, 2011, 10:15 am

he paid his dues and tapped in on an available market instead of bi+ching that the govt aint providing jobs, then again thats England not TnT.

Postby shogun » October 17th, 2011, 10:20 am

^wird!

Postby Monk BANzai » October 17th, 2011, 10:51 am

Reminds me of this.....

http://www.detailingworld.co.uk/forum/s ... p?t=211841

good posting OP! was looking for this link a while now to show someone....

Postby Monk BANzai » October 17th, 2011, 10:56 am

check out thier pricing

http://www.kdskeltec.co.uk/price_menu.phtml

roughly $4,000 to do a detail....but as you can see, to me its worth it given what is actually done...measuring of paint microns before and after the buffing process...

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » October 17th, 2011, 11:00 am

^^ Lets compare apples with apples...and lets see who are the best detailers in TRINIDAD & TOBAGO!!!
Last edited by Karim Khan on October 17th, 2011, 10:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » October 17th, 2011, 11:15 am

nice but 5 times and with abrasive compound?

I guess they can only carry their car there 3 or 4 times before the paint gets rubbed out :lol:

Postby Monk BANzai » October 17th, 2011, 11:20 am

Karim Khan wrote:^^ Lets compare apple with apples...and lets see who are the best detailers in TRINIDAD & TOBAGO!!!

i've done alot of professional detailing done (haven't had the opportunity of your services..though i've heard you're excellent) and im pretty much satisfied with most detailers... the most recent one i've done was on the murderous legas after it was parked in weather for 6 weeks in an industrial yard. Had Eliteauto do the work in under 6 hours (i was due to attend a wedding) and from nearly two layers of weather and moss and silt to where it got was very good. i've seen him bring back a BMW 5 series for a Pre-Delivery Inspection as well....

I've seen Pornies before and after work of the evo and gotta admit, its good. ( though on silver you really cant tell its true luster)....i've gone as far as Sando to a private garage (the VR4) to where the owner of Paramount Transport does his car (the nsx at the time) and that guy was to me the best i've seen ever....cant remember his name...but I left my car there and passed back to see the progress..the car was up on four jack stands, wheels off and this nicca is detailing my coilovers!!! That was in 2007 and i dont think i drove my car after it got home for a good 3 days..was just in awe at the work done....

The guys at trinidad motors in Valsayn (when they were in business) had a tight shop as well as they did all their Pre-Delivery Inspection Detailing there. I think SilverStar handles that work now for BMW and Audi...

On the other scope...for about $265...you can get a REALLLY good wash and wax from those guys in macoya on the main road just opposite Pentecostal Street..

cudnt get a clean shot cuz of the glare...

Once i can afford it..i love to experiment with the Detailers and see what they produce...

Postby BrotherHood » October 17th, 2011, 11:21 am

TRAE wrote:stueps and rain go still fall and dirty it right back

X100.
Doesn't need to be rain, ah pigeon could just sheit on yuh lambo.

Postby Monk BANzai » October 17th, 2011, 12:31 pm

BrotherHood wrote:
TRAE wrote:stueps and rain go still fall and dirty it right back

X100.
Doesn't need to be rain, ah pigeon could just sheit on yuh lambo.

drive b14 much?

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » October 17th, 2011, 12:39 pm

Karim Khan wrote:^^ Lets compare apple with apples...and lets see who are the best detailers in TRINIDAD & TOBAGO!!!

And you're asking that?

Most people don't realise what swirls are, and how they are caused.

most people will be impressed by a wet looking shine and silicone-d tyres......and won't know why their bad wash technique with a polyester cloth gives them swirls on black paint :?

That said, I believe some detailers like Karim actually follow similar techniques: like paint thickness gauges (easily bought), foam guns multi stage polishing and glazing etc etc. Even something as simple as a two bucket wash method!

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:i've done alot of professional detailing done (haven't had the opportunity of your services..though i've heard you're excellent) and im pretty much satisfied with most detailers

I'm actually horrified by the work of most (90%) detailers locally....and believe me I've been burned by many. To the point where I've started doing it myself. Most of them use an aggressive polish with a rotary and wool pad, and leave micro swirling over your paint. Then again, most people don't go over their paint with a "swirl finder" light either!

Karim and only like two other detailers, are probably the ONLY people who I have seen who actually do GOOD work, to a show car finish....SWIRL FREE.

For me, a proper detail takes over 8-10 hours....If I'm lucky.

Postby Monk BANzai » October 17th, 2011, 12:49 pm

DSM_05 wrote:

And you're asking that?

Most people don't realise what swirls are, and how they are caused.

most people will be impressed by a wet looking shine and silicone-d tyres......and won't know why their bad wash technique with a polyester cloth gives them swirls on black paint :?

That said, I believe some detailers like Karim actually follow similar techniques: like paint thickness gauges (easily bought), foam guns multi stage polishing and glazing etc etc. Even something as simple as a two bucket wash method!

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:i've done alot of professional detailing done (haven't had the opportunity of your services..though i've heard you're excellent) and im pretty much satisfied with most detailers

I'm actually horrified by the work of most (90%) detailers locally....and believe me I've been burned by many. To the point where I've started doing it myself. Most of them use an aggressive polish with a rotary and wool pad, and leave micro swirling over your paint. Then again, most people don't go over their paint with a "swirl finder" light either!

Karim and only like two other detailers, are probably the ONLY people who I have seen who actually do GOOD work, to a show car finish....SWIRL FREE.

For me, a proper detail takes over 8-10 hours....If I'm lucky.

trust me i know of that..esp since most of my cars are black.... i go by referrals mainly....if i inspect a car nad see the work done well, esp in the wheel arches where gunk build up takes place or behind the rim....you know that more detail is bein given.....engien bay detailing also has sparked my interest....

If you doing your detailing at home what range of products you use?

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » October 17th, 2011, 1:21 pm

I've experimented with a few. Griots, Meguiars, mothers, Pinnacle and P21S etc.

Right now, I'm having good experiences with a mix of all.

Mothers clay (I hate meguiars clay), Meguiars glazes and Waxes...or a Pinnacle Sealant instead (replaces the wax). use P21S for paint prep mainly. The key for me though comes down to the technique used in application, the type of applicators used, and m'tce of that "detail job" after work is done.

For example, after a full detail job, I would use a spray wax or detailer after every successive/next car wash, to ensure that that wax layer remains intact. I would also wash and dry with microfibre only. Polishing and waxing use foam applicators of different "cut" levels (wax uses ZERO cut). Use only a two bucket wash method for normal car washing. Stuff like that.

All of that helps ensure that I don't have to go back repeatedly for details cuz I keep swirling up my paint.

That said, I do my stuff for me and me ALONE. Folks like Karim and others seem to have the right approach and tools. I'll love to learn from them at one point.
Last edited by DSM_05 on October 17th, 2011, 1:27 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » October 17th, 2011, 1:26 pm

When it comes to detailing my cars, the only person I will trust that job to is Karim Khan.
He is the best I have seen in Trinidad.
Lets have a detail competition. I am gonna put $1000 on my detailer winning.

Postby K74T » October 17th, 2011, 1:36 pm

Postby SR » October 17th, 2011, 1:43 pm

and who introduce yuh to him eh ............

Karim does all my cars..........
talk done
anyone who can detail a black car properly knows what he is doing

havent had work done by elite so i cant comment
silverstar.....ROFLMAO

i do a better job myself

very few detailers actually research products and techniques
not because u can wash a car and yuh use to use rallywax when yuh was small means you can detail a car

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » October 17th, 2011, 1:49 pm

SR wrote:and who introduce yuh to him eh ............

Karim does all my cars..........
talk done
anyone who can detail a black car properly knows what he is doing

havent had work done by elite so i cant comment
silverstar.....ROFLMAO

i do a better job myself

very few detailers actually research products and techniques
not because u can wash a car and yuh use to use rallywax when yuh was small means you can detail a car

x 2 !! Karim is probably the BEST i have ever seen locally.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 17th, 2011, 1:53 pm

Karim worked on a couple vehicles in my yard already...

new honda accord - dealer detailed for delivery, only to notice swirl marks etc in the sun. Karim came about 1-2 weeks later and it was chalk and cheese. No marks, flawless paint and shine.

Aaron 2NR wrote:Image

honda civic - while i thought the inside of the car was clean, since noone really use the vehicle, to see the difference after he wet vac the interior. after polish and wax the outside, the factory pearl white was something to look at in awe.

navara - my bro's truck usually sleep in the driver way and after karim detailed it, you could have sworn the navara white had a clear coat on it.....
Karim i remember you had a before and after shot of it.....

a lot of trinidadians hear a price and want to compare workmanship to the piper washer on the corner.

I'd tell you when my dad first heard the cost, he was like how much.....then to see the work and the amount of time and care done to get the finish on the accord, he was convinced....