The Official Car Care Thread

bugsy rabbit

Re: What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby bugsy rabbit » September 15th, 2011, 6:58 am

A new distributor take over Meg's... lube tech i think.

link

Postby link » September 15th, 2011, 7:18 am

Karim Khan wrote:Do they still have this around,

I would like to get one just to remember the ole days

You wanna hear something real funny? I know a place that uses that on people's vehicles :lol: :lol:
What is even more funny the customers believe in the product & claims products like Auto Glym too expensive because polish is polish, period!

that's like saying 'oil is oil'...ent ??
when 'they' pour oil in their engine I'M SURE 'THEY' DEMAND A PARTICULAR BRAND ??
AUTOGLYM.....if u want real results

beric

Postby beric » September 15th, 2011, 7:38 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:guys what kinda cloth do u use to wax on an wax off.....I used a nice yellow microfilm kinda cloth form pricesmart but realised that i got the circles on my car afterwards...scratches ....Previously i had used a polishing cloth but that shiet so expensive......

HI Skidz,
Please note that there is Microfiibre .... and MICROFIBRE. In other words, they are NOT all the same. Like everything else, there are cheap 'replicas' being made without the split ends of the fibres. That cuts the effective by as much as 50% or more!
Good microfibre will not scratch your paint, providing, of course, it is kept clean and not thrown all over the place when not in use, and also in use. It will easily pick up most of what it touches and while it has the ability to 'hold' within its thousands of little "pockets" contaminants, yet if some stuff is too big for that and still adheres, then it will scratch when used.

So first of all, ensure your supplier is offering genuine microfibre, and second, take great care where you put it down when using and also when not in use.

Microfibre is ideal and preferred than any other material for taking off polish, glaze or sealant. I use my Porter Cable DA polisher with the appropriate foam pad for application and only microfibre for taking off. You can use circular movements for polishing with the mf but use only 'back and forth' motion when taking off. This will minimize the possibility of inducing swirls.
And I hope you are not mixing up microfibre for glass with that for paint. Glass is a much flatter weave, no fluff.
Microfibre is also the best thing for drying; better and safer than chamois. Yes, believe it. Preferably the larger ones. Any pro detailer can confirm that. As a pro detailer myself, I'm not talking theory.
BTW, did you know that most spiders/swirls are induced when washing or drying?
That another area where a lot of folks are just killing themselves. There is a proper way to wash the vehicle.

Hope all this helps, bro.

beric

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 15th, 2011, 8:47 am

Well - Beric

TRENDSETA

Postby TRENDSETA » September 15th, 2011, 8:58 am

pioneer wrote:Automotive Art HAD a wide range of Meguiars products

Fixed that up for you

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 15th, 2011, 9:36 am

TRENDSETA wrote:
pioneer wrote:Automotive Art HAD a wide range of Meguiars products

Fixed that up for you

There should be some new and exciting stuff happening cant wait for the roll out !!!

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 19th, 2011, 7:42 am

guys what do you look for in a polish or wax? protection or shine???

Postby S_2NR » September 19th, 2011, 7:44 am

shine.. :mrgreen:

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 19th, 2011, 9:03 am

nice!!!

Postby MG Man » September 19th, 2011, 9:28 am

allyuh fellas have real time on allyuh hands
I polish maybe 3 times a year with mothers pink wax in the tin, usin an old jockey shorts (froot of the loom)
Car looks great

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 19th, 2011, 10:33 am

MG Man wrote:allyuh fellas have real time on allyuh hands
I polish maybe 3 times a year with mothers pink wax in the tin, usin an old jockey shorts (froot of the loom)
Car looks great

the used jockey without the mothers wax does work great!!!

Postby S_2NR » September 19th, 2011, 10:35 am

Postby MG Man » September 19th, 2011, 10:41 am

my dad buys diaper cloth off the roll to polish his van..when jockeyshorts runnin low, I does steal from his cloth roll

best thing I ever used tho was Eagle1 Wax-as-you-dry
ultimate lazyman car wax!

Postby cinco » September 19th, 2011, 10:43 am

i use the mothers fx synwax paste it doesnt do crap or last very long tho
prestone ftw

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » September 19th, 2011, 11:03 am

it depends on how you maintain that finish cinco.

if you wash the car afterwards with dishwashing liquid, it will strip off the wax quickly. a good idea is to wash the car with a car wash made by the same brand of the wax that you use.

e.g. use a mothers car wash if you aren't already doing so.

also, prep work is important. if you haven't clayed the car then all of that gunk on the paint will prevent the wax from adhering properly. that will lead to failure of your wax layer very quickly.

kaylomilo

Postby kaylomilo » September 19th, 2011, 11:47 pm

Hey what about Turtle Wax Ice? Read some good reviews on it.

Postby equipped2ripp » September 20th, 2011, 12:32 am

The ICE detailer works really good, so does the car wash. I have the liquid clay bar kit as well, but I ain't use it yet.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 20th, 2011, 6:27 am

3m guy give me a call when you get chance let meet!!!

syntax

Postby syntax » September 20th, 2011, 6:35 pm

karim what are the basics steps to follow when polishing ..

eg claying, paint cleaner, polish wax etc

oh i have no machine so is by hand polish btw

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 20th, 2011, 7:35 pm

syntax wrote:karim what are the basics steps to follow when polishing ..

eg claying, paint cleaner, polish wax etc

oh i have no machine so is by hand polish btw

You are on the right track !!!

pioneer wrote:hand polish is pure hell

I have one of this

Karim & others, where can i get good pads for it?...i also need the flexible backing
plate...automotive fart had none last time i checked...

Tell me what size and type of pads you looking for? Cutting polishing or finishing ?

Postby Rainman » September 20th, 2011, 7:39 pm

I have one of this

Karim & others, where can i get good pads for it?...i also need the flexible backing plate...automotive fart had none last time i checked...

7424xp, mine works like a charm, i spent a little money and got the lake and country backing plate and pads. I never tried the meguiars backing plate but the reviews on it are excellent. I order from autogeek.net

syntax

Postby syntax » September 20th, 2011, 7:42 pm

I have one of this

Karim & others, where can i get good pads for it?...i also need the flexible backing plate...automotive fart had none last time i checked...

been wanting this a long time now, with house building man i have no spare change........

im guessing you shipped this in whats the final cost

Postby Rainman » September 20th, 2011, 7:45 pm

syntax wrote:

I have one of this

been wanting this a long time now, with house building man i have no spare change........

im guessing you shipped this in whats the final cost

cost me about 1300tt landed

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » September 20th, 2011, 7:53 pm

Pioneer you can use the 3m backing plate which is around $180, for a dark coloured vehicle use the foam waffle pads, white for compound, black for machine polish and blue for ultra fine polish, wax etc. Pads are about $85-$100 each and can be found at most automotive paint shops. Tiny and sons should have or any other shop that carries 3m products.

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » September 20th, 2011, 8:04 pm

yo...doh forget me for next month eh...i will call u and remind u of the dates

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 20th, 2011, 8:10 pm

MBC Autotronix wrote:yo...doh forget me for next month eh...i will call u and remind u of the dates

Sure you appointment day is already booked... I have a special product for your vehicle..

GoS

Postby GoS » September 20th, 2011, 8:30 pm

fellas i does polish my car every 2 weeks with the mothers California gold step 3,during the week i wash with just water and ah a sponge ,and i use the turtle wax car wash that does sell in pricesmart before i polish my car. does it make sense what i do???

is waxing different from polishing ?? explain and what are the best products to use ? thanks

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 20th, 2011, 8:48 pm

GoS wrote:fellas i does polish my car every 2 weeks with the mothers California gold step 3,during the week i wash with just water and ah a sponge ,and i use the turtle wax car wash that does sell in pricesmart before i polish my car. does it make sense what i do???

is waxing different from polishing ?? explain and what are the best products to use ? thanks

Waxing is different than polishing..

This about it.. if you are polishing a diamond you do this to get a brilliant shine

When you wax you are PROTECTING IT..

Same goes for paint
polishing = high shine
waxing = protecting

Simple!!!

When pple tell me they want the best products i normally reply how much you can afford?

GoS

Postby GoS » September 20th, 2011, 8:51 pm

so if u want to get the best of both worlds meaning high shine and protection what you approve ??
plus i notice on the hood of the car have ah slight fumes feeling how do i t get that off ???

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 20th, 2011, 8:56 pm

use a claybar to get the fumes off

Product wise i use Meguiar's and AutoGlym it works for me !!!!!