"State of Emergency" Thread

Garrett Inside

Re: T&T put in Limited State of Emergency

Postby Garrett Inside » August 22nd, 2011, 7:16 pm

i wonder how the foreign investors are lookin at T&T right now, cause foreign used car dealers that xport to us have already asked y we are in a limited state of emergency.
word spreads globally rather quickly i guess

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 22nd, 2011, 7:20 pm

Garrett Inside wrote:i wonder how the foreign investors are lookin at T&T right now, cause foreign used car dealers that xport to us have already asked y we are in a limited state of emergency.
word spreads globally rather quickly i guess

Well American Airlines cancelling flights, well done....

Postby Sky » August 22nd, 2011, 7:20 pm

Anyone else sees this a bit as a war on the citzens?

Postby nervewrecker » August 22nd, 2011, 7:26 pm

dredman1 wrote:
Bezman wrote:TTMA sent out a bulletin this morning asking all employers and business owners to submit to the police special requirements for employees who need to be mobile during peak hours, there is consideration for this, and if you are a business owner, you shouldn't be asking for advice on trinituner or BBM but rather contacting the nearest police station on how to operate your business during curfew hours.

This is more or less what I understood. However, up to about 45 mins ago the police stations said they have no procedures for anything like that yet, so was just trying to confirm if this was still the case.

Thanks.

rollingstock wrote:Just some info, the police are not issuing any permits at this time. Nothing was put in place for the issuing of permits and the Police are just as in the dark as teh population.
take the news as you wish, just get your ass inside by 9pm.

we have been trying whole day & nuttin! The police have been telling us they aint know nuttin bout no permit / pass.
we have deadlines to meet & might not be able to make them if we cannot work till 10:00pm for the rest of this week.

Postby Stephon. » August 22nd, 2011, 7:29 pm

Karma fk meh up yes, 3+ hrs in traffic to get home, would have been under 3 hrs I'm sure if it wasn't for all the fellas on the shoulder cutting in and out causing even more traffic, but then again I can't blame them, I was tempted to do the same.

Postby meccalli » August 22nd, 2011, 7:31 pm

So i can't leave my home at 4 to go fishing or running??? D:

Postby DFC » August 22nd, 2011, 7:35 pm

this is pay week...
and i wanna stay home.

hey lotsa crime happens in point lisas too.

Postby nervewrecker » August 22nd, 2011, 7:35 pm

Stephon. wrote:Karma fk meh up yes, 3+ hrs in traffic to get home, would have been under 3 hrs I'm sure if it wasn't for all the fellas on the shoulder cutting in and out causing even more traffic, but then again I can't blame them, I was tempted to do the same.

Postby rollingstock » August 22nd, 2011, 7:36 pm

Just an update: The traffic eastbound is still moving slowly but not as standstill as earlier, traffic proceeding south is clear.
WRT the permits, still no executive order has been issued as a result all Police Stations are not in a position to advise or issue any permit. My advice to persons who have to be out, try not to, unless it is an emergency or absolutely necessary remain in your homes during the duration of the curfew. The police has taken a decision to be lenient with persons that are out during the curfew due to extenuating circumstances and said persons can give a proper account of themselves and provide photo ID, members of the Defence Force may or may not show such leniency.

Postby rfari » August 22nd, 2011, 7:41 pm

ib4curfew
cigs: checked
1/2 wo: checked
100play: checked

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » August 22nd, 2011, 7:42 pm

American Airlines flight 1819 from KMIA to TTPP has been cancelled, thus, the morning service (1818) would also be affected

Kiro_lee

Postby Kiro_lee » August 22nd, 2011, 7:53 pm

Stephon. wrote:
~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Under state of emergency, Arima, Arouca,Beetham, Caranage Cunuipia, Diego Martin, Enterprise, Felicity, Gasparillo, Grand Couva,Hermitage, Icacos, Laventille, Maloney,Morvant,Sea lots,Trincity. Pigeon point, Crown point.
As of tomorrow joint patrol by police, sautt and army would take effect. They have been authorized to use excessive force, if necessary. You can also be held indefinitely if caught outside. The ministry of Transport would be issuing special permits for essential services staff who live in these areas.

Just got that in a BBM Broadcast.. dunno about the accuracy of locations though, because in my opinion it missing a few.

Me and Kiro_Lee safe 0X

lol....yup yup

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 22nd, 2011, 7:54 pm

IBTL - In before the Looting

Seems like Trinidad have gotten worst under the PP... I friend of mine just can canceled his family vacation to Trinidad because he's afraid things might get worst.

greall

Postby greall » August 22nd, 2011, 8:19 pm

From: Regional Manager,Latin America and Caribbean Markets
To: All Service Teams [Trinidad and Tobago]
CC: Jernanda Mierez de Picastoni,CEO Representative-Latin America and Caribbean Markets

For IMMEDIATE release:

Port of Spain
22 August 2011

Employees of Micoud Services Limited [MCSL] resident in Trinidad and Tobago are asked to IMMEDIATELY contact the EITHER the Country Representative or Regional Manager.

We have been advised of 'an internal security issue' with localized restriction on movement of persons set to commence on 22 August 2011 at 0400 GMT/UTC.

You will be updated as soon as new information is released.

We wish to advise that this is NOT an evacution notice or order.

Ali Khan Youseph
Regional Manager,Latin America and Caribbean Markets
Caracas
Venezuela
Telephone: +582126571993

This was sent to me last night...I normally switch my mobile off on weekends when I'm not on call... :lol:

I was trapped in meetings all day planning contingencies...

Greg

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 22nd, 2011, 8:42 pm

AllTrac wrote:
Bezman wrote:wonder if during the state of emergency ppl are not allowed to gather in large number after curfew?? cause we planning some sick pajama parties like back in the coup days

hoss this sounds super gay :lol: :lol:

the difference is, i think pajama party = chicks in lingerie coming for a curfew party
you hear pajama party and think a bunch of dudes in pajamas watching harry potter

Postby Stephon. » August 22nd, 2011, 8:43 pm

Bezman wrote:
AllTrac wrote:
Bezman wrote:wonder if during the state of emergency ppl are not allowed to gather in large number after curfew?? cause we planning some sick pajama parties like back in the coup days

the difference is, i think pajama party = chicks in lingerie coming for a curfew party
you hear pajama party and think a bunch of dudes in pajamas watching harry potter

Postby pete » August 22nd, 2011, 8:54 pm

pablo_tt wrote:American Airlines flight 1819 from KMIA to TTPP has been cancelled, thus, the morning service (1818) would also be affected

Lucky my parents got on their flight to Canada today :|

Did they say why it was cancelled? The flight to Miami today was delayed over 2 hours because of a mechanical problem.

Postby X_Factor » August 22nd, 2011, 8:57 pm

5 mins to lockdown!

Postby cinco » August 22nd, 2011, 8:59 pm

ah eenside before cuffew

Postby Stephon. » August 22nd, 2011, 9:01 pm

Talking to a girl from West Moorings now, she said it have people walking around like normal :lol:

Postby rollingstock » August 22nd, 2011, 9:02 pm

news.gov.tt wrote:Please be advised that the Trinidad and Tobago Police will facilitate all essential services in Trinidad and Tobago with a valid Curfew Permit. This will allow persons access to curfew areas.

The TTPS notes there are two categories for Curfew Permits. They are as follows:

1. Same Day Curfew Permit – This will facilitate movement within the Curfew period for one day
2. Entire Duration Curfew Permit - This provides the holder with access to curfew areas for the entire period of the Limited State of Emergency.

For the travelling public, persons who have scheduled flights which fall within the curfew period, it is advised that they visit the nearest Police Station in their district with their Confirmation of air travel and Passport. This will facilitate the issuance of a Same Day Curfew Permit.

For persons arriving in Trinidad and Tobago at Piarco International Airport please be advised that a Help Desk has been established at the Airport to facilitate the issuance of Same Day Curfew Permits. This will grant persons permission to travel from the Airport to their destination throughout Trinidad and Tobago.

The public is advised to seek guidance for the issuance of the Curfew Permits at their nearest Police Station. Please be guided accordingly.

Public Affairs Unit

http://www.news.gov.tt/index.php?news=9032

Still be informed that the Police still have not been given the permits to issue or properly informed of the criteria for distribution.

Postby rfari » August 22nd, 2011, 9:03 pm

sure there is gonna be a mini baby boom as a result of the lockdown

Postby pete » August 22nd, 2011, 9:06 pm

Postby M_2NR » August 22nd, 2011, 9:07 pm

Not sure if this info posted here yet... from the Guardian site

Monday 22nd August, 2011

(7:50PM) From the Port Authority: Due to the limited hours of operations, the 1.30pm sailing of the T&T Express from POS on Thursdays, Fridays & Mondays have had to be cancelled. T&T Express shall be rescheduled to depart POS at 8.30 am & Scarborough at 4.00 pm daily, except Wednesdays when it departs Scarborough at 12.00 noon. The 10.00 am sailing of the T&T Express from Scarborough will be cancelled on Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays. Persons with ferry tickets for the cancelled sailings will be accommodated, as space becomes available on any of the day’s sailings. The sailings of the T&T Spirit will remain as scheduled.

(5:49PM) via Caribbean Airlines - We have been advised that all passengers travelling out of Piarco International Airport must travel with 2 forms of photo ID and their travel itinerary. Those coming to Trinidad must keep all their travel documents including boarding tickets. All our flights are operating according to our normal schedule.

(5:25PM) Minister of Transport Senator Devant Maharaj announced on Monday, August 22nd, 2011 that all bus and maxi taxi services will end at 8 p.m. from tonight. Read more here: http://ht.ly/69RZY

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 22nd, 2011, 9:16 pm

passed thru Price Plaza are around 730pm....

place like a ghost town.....first time I have ever seen this area empty........everywhere close

medford 24hrs close down at 730 and lock up with big chain on the door....

figure this is the first time medford has ever closed!!!!!

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » August 22nd, 2011, 9:20 pm

oh crap, i need to pee and the latrine across the road.

Postby cinco » August 22nd, 2011, 9:28 pm

btw RBL in valpark is operating from 10-4 since the SoE i wish i knew before i sat in that traffic sigh

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » August 22nd, 2011, 9:29 pm

i watching teh live camera for aranguez highway side and i seeing rel cars still passing up and down and no police.

Postby AllTrac » August 22nd, 2011, 9:30 pm

Bezman wrote:
AllTrac wrote:

pics or lie, and not of you prancing around like a fairy in yuh pj's eh :lol:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 22nd, 2011, 9:34 pm

A-1 Superior Tech wrote:i watching teh live camera for aranguez highway side and i seeing rel cars still passing up and down and no police.

Was wondering that myself.