Feelings about Drag Racing

Re: Feelings about Drag Racing

Postby Ignorant Ignis » August 11th, 2011, 3:41 pm

honda hoe wrote:hahaha i know ignis not a drags man so i thought he mean dex starter lights nah :|

anyway.. i went to a couple camden official events.. and a few gangsta in wallerfield days.. but they weren't official events

funny thing is i have time slips from both wallerfield tracks and camden .......
even competed in full dial up competition once.

the point im making is i cant see how somebody could shoot down wheel to wheel racing
or gravel rallying or even dex as a racer with out ever trying any of them.

i do agree dex gives u very little seat time out of all the motor racing we have and is the most boring to watch....if i had a choice and the funds...and we had a track ..i would pick circuit racing.

Postby Monk BANzai » August 11th, 2011, 3:48 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:
honda hoe wrote:hahaha i know ignis not a drags man so i thought he mean dex starter lights nah :|

anyway.. i went to a couple camden official events.. and a few gangsta in wallerfield days.. but they weren't official events

funny thing is i have time slips from both wallerfield tracks and camden .......

the point im making is i cant see how somebody could shoot down wheel to wheel racing

i do agree dex gives u very little seat time out of all the motor racing we have and is the most boring to watch....if i had a choice and the funds...and we had a track ..i would pick circuit racing.

HEAR HEAR!!

in all honesty, my best time racing was at wallerfield (evn tho the concrete was very unforgiving to suspension setups)....

On the flip side....watching funny car and Top Fueller Drag racing is equally exciting for me....to see a car do a 1/4 in 4 seconds and these guys powering 4000HP plus cars down the track and not spinning out of losing it is uber....

but give me the joy of the better racing line around a track, trying to hold of the Professor and Mr. Autosport while power drifting out the bottom corner into the main str8 at wallerfield around 5pm on a Sunday afternoon...

Priceless.

Postby Monk BANzai » August 11th, 2011, 3:56 pm

and then, there is this......

Postby Ignorant Ignis » August 11th, 2011, 3:57 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
Ignorant Ignis wrote:

HEAR HEAR!!

in all honesty, my best time racing was at wallerfield (evn tho the concrete was very unforgiving to suspension setups)....

On the flip side....watching funny car and Top Fueller Drag racing is equally exciting for me....to see a car do a 1/4 in 4 seconds and these guys powering 4000HP plus cars down the track and not spinning out of losing it is uber....

but give me the joy of the better racing line around a track, trying to hold of the Professor and Mr. Autosport while power drifting out the bottom corner into the main str8 at wallerfield around 5pm on a Sunday afternoon...

Priceless.

had the pleasure of running a ten lap race with 2 - b13 full race behind me with about 4 other cars in the field and prof last on the grid ....kept the lead till the final lap .... only to see prof in meh rearview.. i could have seen the grin through his helmet as he blow past me in the sti.

Postby honda hoe » August 11th, 2011, 3:58 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:

don't see how this applies to me cuz i never bashed any form of racing in here.. worse yet for bashing something i never competed in

Postby Ignorant Ignis » August 11th, 2011, 4:00 pm

honda hoe wrote:
Ignorant Ignis wrote:

don't see how this applies to me cuz i never bashed any form of racing in here.. worse yet for bashing something i never competed in

my appologies ... that wasn't directed at you per say

Postby honda hoe » August 11th, 2011, 4:02 pm

well as yuh quote meh nah

small ting :lol:

Postby TRAE » August 11th, 2011, 4:09 pm

insignificant gif for no apparent reason

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » August 13th, 2011, 11:32 pm

personally....and bear in mind that this is a general statement for all the everyday drivers and not the professional drivers of all disciplines of motorsport. i feel drags is mainly a spectator sport (this is possibly why so much fellas like this as egos amongst themselves and friends will swell easily), however its about 75% car power, tyres and setup, and 25% driver skill. circuit, rally,solodex,drifting,time attack etc is about 75% driver and 25% car power, tyres and setup However... drags is an instant rush for both driver and spectatator, but unless you're going pro (where one hundredths of a second is a huge deal and consistancy is key) as a driver, you're somewhat limited in skill development and will taper off rather quickly. The other disciplines are a lot more boring for spectators except the final lap/moments, but to the drivers, their skills will improve vastly within a few years, but again, if they don't go pro, they will again eventually taper off.

professor

Postby professor » August 14th, 2011, 8:46 am

drlancer wrote:from your post professor, i can be seen that you are not a drag racer, I am! do you have any idea how difficult it is to keep a rear wheel drive car doing just about 375 hp in a straight line doing 12 secs? with the other car right up your arse in the other lane......bro that is an adrenaline rush. i respect all other forms of motor sport, but drag racing is my love!

Quite true drlancer, I have never experienced what you described, what I have experienced though is several of those cars going through the same corner together, with other cars up your arse, with no other lane to protect you, you trying to out brake the rest, protect your line etc. even bouncing off the curb or another car, not forgetting the odd driver who believe the way to win a race is by bouncing you out of the race.

Don't get confused, I respect the drivers in the different arms of the sport, I can't handle the cones, never tried the dirt, love to see some of the work done by non engineers, mostly with low budgets on their drag cars.
Don't study me, continue contributing and supporting what you like bro.

PS: I also did that with Motor Bikes. Another titbit; i am one of the verrry few, who rode from Venezuela to the USA. but that's another story, another time. i didn't just put down my milk bottle and jump in.

Rx

Postby Rx » August 14th, 2011, 9:32 am

professor wrote:
drlancer wrote:from your post professor, i can be seen that you are not a drag racer, I am! do you have any idea how difficult it is to keep a rear wheel drive car doing just about 375 hp in a straight line doing 12 secs? with the other car right up your arse in the other lane......bro that is an adrenaline rush. i respect all other forms of motor sport, but drag racing is my love!

Quite true drlancer, I have never experienced what you described, what I have experienced though is several of those cars going through the same corner together, with other cars up your arse, with no other lane to protect you, you trying to out brake the rest, protect your line etc. even bouncing off the curb or another car, not forgetting the odd driver who believe the way to win a race is by bouncing you out of the race.

Don't get confused, I respect the drivers in the different arms of the sport, I can't handle the cones, never tried the dirt, love to see some of the work done by non engineers, mostly with low budgets on their drag cars.
Don't study me, continue contributing and supporting what you like bro.

PS: I also did that with Motor Bikes. Another titbit; i am one of the verrry few, who rode from Venezuela to the USA. but that's another story, another time. i didn't just put down my milk bottle and jump in.

Quite a humble post, my friend. When you passing in for a cold one? 8-)

drlancer

Postby drlancer » August 14th, 2011, 10:07 am

well that much is true of what you said about circuit racing, and i respect that. i just have some issues with the guy trying to bounce his way to the finish, sorry not my style, lol. so i guess to each his own and lets hope we can finally get some togetherness and bring motorsports to its true standing!

legoRB

Postby legoRB » August 14th, 2011, 12:58 pm

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » August 14th, 2011, 2:08 pm

legoRB wrote:

rofl, like that one touch yuh deep dawg.

legoRB

Postby legoRB » August 14th, 2011, 2:46 pm

Garrett Inside..... :lol: :lol: :lol:.....yea bai......I jus said lemme be "that guy"

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 14th, 2011, 5:24 pm

funny how no one mentioned f1.. i believe no matter what your favorite sport is, F1 brings everyone together :)

f1 better than any other sport :D

drags.... as opposed to everyone who said.. is VERY boring. in car or out of car.... 11 sec or 24 secs
i cah speak for under 11 as i never drove that fast.
solodex has its thrills but is too slow whne u have a high powered car. circuit is the colsest thing to f1 and rally well sun in tnt way to freaking hot and my big nose coudl only filter that much dust and as mentioned you get orgasmic for 3 sec every 1/2 hour.... not my cup of tea.

drlancer

Postby drlancer » August 15th, 2011, 7:55 pm

so madcrix, everyone says that its one of the best adrenaline rushes you can get and YOU ALONE bring up F1 and says its d best.....you alone!!!!!!! well it seems YOU ALONE is right. forget all those people who watch rally/dex/go-cart/circuit........oh and dont forget the thousands who attended drags at camden, and all those who are going to the ARC this weekend for the drag and wind(ing). i wonder when a F1 event will be held here? soon i hope, for your sake

Computerman

Postby Computerman » August 15th, 2011, 8:43 pm

Postby SR » August 16th, 2011, 6:37 am

htake a left turn then take another left turn of wait here comes another left turn

finally one more left turn

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 16th, 2011, 10:14 am

haha dr i hit a sensitive spot or what?

thought we were expressing opinions... was not aware we were talking facts here.... i stand corrected. i withdraw my opinion and submit to your expert knowledge on said topic... as you were

Postby MG Man » August 16th, 2011, 10:30 am

yeah madcrix who de fack is you?
mussy some lil fanboy drivin ah bess almera on 22" crims ent
I eh know whey allyuh lil boy does come from

Postby crazybalhead » August 16th, 2011, 10:32 am

Somebody shut up crix dey??? Nah man...nah...

Postby MG Man » August 16th, 2011, 10:33 am

hoss not even gorilla glue on he toothbrush could shut up crix ;p

Postby wagonrunner » August 16th, 2011, 10:58 am

MG Man wrote:hoss not even gorilla glue on he toothbrush could shut up crix ;p

orrrr, is you is the one who tried it on him. :lol:

Postby MG Man » August 16th, 2011, 11:21 am

well somebody had tuh do it ;p

Postby Ignorant Ignis » August 16th, 2011, 11:23 am

it wasnt he toothbrush though :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby MG Man » August 16th, 2011, 11:24 am

yeah yeah..........dunno why dem damn paramedic dem cya keep ah secret

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 16th, 2011, 12:07 pm

:oops: :oops:
i plead the 5th

Postby wagonrunner » August 16th, 2011, 12:12 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:

it wasnt he toothbrush though :lol: :lol: :lol:

TMFI. thread has indeed taken a turn for the worst. :rofl:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 16th, 2011, 12:23 pm

i thought this thread was for facts?? wtf i get chain up AGAIN!!!! and buss my own files... :(