Government Increases Age On Importing Used Cars

mrtrini45

Re: Government Increases Age On Importing Used Cars

Postby mrtrini45 » July 22nd, 2011, 8:57 am

Strauss wrote:
equipped2ripp wrote:Hmmm, well check thing. More old junk on the road now.

A 6 year old car is 'old junk'?
Whoa you must be filthy rich.

Regular people have to buy LOCAL USED cars more than 10 years old. I won't buy more than 5 years old though, personally.

I agree very much so, a 6 year old car is not junk all those Big shot Raja s out there will have a problem.

Newsday Friday, July 22 2011
Govt lifeline to used car dealers
By Clint Chan Tack and Sasha Harrinanan Friday, July 22 2011

Trade and Industry Minister Stephen Cadiz made this announcement at the post-Cabinet news conference at the Office of the Prime Minister, St Clair yesterday.

Recalling a draft used car policy was presented to Cabinet last December and consultations on that policy took place in February, Cadiz said, “Cabinet has now agreed to moving the age of the vehicles from four years to six years inclusive of the current year of importation. So the current year is going to be taken into consideration.”

Asked whether this age limit on imported foreign used cars was fixed, Cadiz said, “Our responsibility is to the consumer and to ensure that the consumer is getting a fair shake.” He said if this policy is not shown to be in the best interest of the consumer, Government would review it “and make the necessary changes.”

Asked whether this measure would make foreign used cars more affordable to consumers, Cadiz replied, “The issue of pricing of foreign used vehicles, that is an issue for the market. The market will determine what it is prepared to pay for what. Therefore, the Government is by no means in a position to determine that.”

Cadiz said the current annual quota system of 13,500 foreign used vehicles imported into TT will remain in effect until January 1, 2013, when it will be reviewed. He further indicated Government has approved a three-month limited warranty on foreign used vehicles.

Noting persons receive a “full blown factory warranty” when they purchase a new car, Cadiz said Government felt it was not fair to apply such a warranty “to a used piece of equipment.”

He said an administrative arrangement will be established between his ministry’s trade licensing unit and the Legal Affairs Ministry’s Consumer Affairs Division to monitor complaints by consumers against foreign used car dealers and any errant dealers would be dealt with. Cadiz said his ministry will also liaise with Customs and the Licensing Authority “to ensure there is a fair and level playing field when it comes to the foreign used car business.”

He said Government was considering fair trade legislation and there was no issue of dumping of foreign used vehicles in TT but there was dumping on other areas which his ministry is addressing.

He said any vehicle over five years old must undergo a pre-registration inspection. “So even though the age of the vehicle has been extended from four years to six years. It means that any vehicle coming in now will have to go over the pit,” he said.

But there was mixed reaction from the dealers. “Elated” was the response of Trinidad and Tobago Automotive Dealers Association (TTADA) president Visham Babwah while the head of the Automotive Dealers Association of Trinidad and Tobago (ADATT) Philip Knaggs said he was “very, very disappointed” by the decision.

Babwah and his 100-plus members were happy because the increased age limit was their main lobbying point during the February 22 consultation in Chaguanas.

“This proves this Government is really listening to the people. Being able to import cars that are up to six years old would allow our core customers; lower and middle income people, to once again purchase a vehicle and it would save many TTADA members from bankruptcy,” Babwah said.

He also credited TTADA’s protest three weeks ago outside the ministry’s head office on Independence Square, Port-of-Spain with helping to convince Cadiz of the need to increase the age limit, since the price of newer Japanese vehicles had been on the rise for some time and had skyrocketed following the devastating Tsunami that hit the Asian nation in March.

“Now that we can bid for slightly older cars on the auction block, I expect our customers would be able to save between $20,000 and $30,000 dollars. However, I can’t say what the real savings would be until I review the entire Policy and what has been decided on vehicle and engine taxes and duties,” Babwah said.

But Knaggs said, “it was a mistake, one that is sending the wrong message to car dealers and the public about vehicle standards on this country.”

Knaggs said instead of maintaining a three-month warranty on used vehicles, Cadiz should have “forced used car dealers to offer a one-year warranty” on their vehicles and implemented a limit on engine sizes.

“People were allowed to import foreign used cars to serve a certain segment of the population, not to allow someone to save money when they want to but big vehicles like an SUV. There should be a 1.6 litre engine cap on foreign used vehicles. I also think Government should have reduced the taxes on new vehicles with engines of 1.6 litres or less,” Knaggs said.

On the warranty issue, Babwah told Newsday this policy had been in existence since about 2006.

“All used car dealers provide a three-month or 3,000 mile warranty on their vehicles, that is not new. As Minister Cadiz explained, consumers cannot expect to get the same three-year warranty on used cars that they get on a new one from the manufacturer. I also agree with the minister that allowing us to import six-year-old vehicles would not result in ‘dumping’ of inferior cars on the local market. These cars are in good condition and high demand, plus TT consumers would not accept junk so there is no question of old cars being imported here,” Babwah said.

But Knaggs claimed the age increase would lead to inferior, cars with lower emission standards clogging up the nation’s already busy roads.

“This is a definitive step backward, it would lead to more gridlock. Six-year-old cars are six years closer to being un-road worthy,” Knaggs said.

john101

Postby john101 » July 22nd, 2011, 9:23 am

EVO 9 MR you are minesss now bitchhhh....

Postby Damien » July 22nd, 2011, 9:25 am

Hmmmmm once it road worthy shouldn't be a problem, small man big up

john101

Postby john101 » July 22nd, 2011, 9:30 am

Damien wrote:Hmmmmm once it road worthy shouldn't be a problem, small man big up

Of course.....

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 22nd, 2011, 9:31 am

i honestly don't agree with this move.....what should have been done was remove a lot of these older cars from on the roadways......proper regulations should have been put in place, ensuring these older imported cars are in a road worthy condition, before being licensed

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 22nd, 2011, 9:35 am

Gives the samll man who currently driving a car older that 10 years the chance to upgrade. This should get some of the older cars off the road (less pollution).

The best decision the PP has made so far!

One for the people! Yea!

Postby honda hoe » July 22nd, 2011, 9:38 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:i honestly don't agree with this move.....what should have been done was remove a lot of these older cars from on the roadways......proper regulations should have been put in place, ensuring these older imported cars are in a road worthy condition, before being licensed

what criteria do u think gov't should implement? vehicles over a certain age? condition? would govt provide an initiative/incentive/compensation for poor/retired ppl who do not have the means to purchase a newer car?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 22nd, 2011, 9:43 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:i honestly don't agree with this move.....what should have been done was remove a lot of these older cars from on the roadways......proper regulations should have been put in place, ensuring these older imported cars are in a road worthy condition, before being licensed

Once people are giving the option to buy a newer vehicle at a decent price. They will do so we will definitely see less older vehiches on the road.

People who have to do a lot of driveng will be the first to change out.

The limit is still there which will controll how much a dealer can bring in!

If the dealers do not drop their prices people will bring in the vehichle on their own.

Win! Win! Win!

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » July 22nd, 2011, 9:56 am

Until we have leaders to get all these regulations in place.....then we can take your option and run with it.....

Until then......doh be on meh 280zx......

Postby wagon r » July 22nd, 2011, 9:57 am

...but Mr. Cadiz said that any car now coming in has to go over the pit...so i don't understand yuh grouse....

...it's funny to see the reaction of those in upper soceity react to this vs the ave. man on the street.

..anything to maintain a profit margin and $$ in your pocket regardless of how the end consumer feels.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 22nd, 2011, 10:02 am

wagon r wrote:

...but Mr. Cadiz said that any car now coming in has to go over the pit...so i don't understand yuh grouse....

...it's funny to see the reaction of those in upper soceity react to this vs the ave. man on the street.

..anything to maintain a profit margin and $$ in your pocket regardless of how the end consumer feels.

Tru Tru and also those people who over paid for new cars want to make sure that the resale value is also over priced!

One for the small man!

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » July 22nd, 2011, 10:08 am

wagon r wrote:

Majority of those in upper soceity, don't like it when the average man has a chance to move up in life.

And YES, we have some of those MOFOS on Tuner, talking a set ah crap bout backward move and 3rd world country etc.
All of those who oppose, i'm sure they driving HIlux, Navarras, Benz, Bmw, subaru etc.

I welcome this move, because they making it more affordable for me to own a descent car, cuz i'm walking at present.

Postby Chimera » July 22nd, 2011, 10:10 am

You're welcome.

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » July 22nd, 2011, 10:11 am

shotta 20 wrote:
wagon r wrote:

Majority of those in upper soceity, don't like it when the average man has a chance to move up in life.

And YES, we have some of those MOFOS on Tuner, talking a set ah crap bout backward move and 3rd world country etc.
All of those who oppose, i'm sure they driving HIlux, Navarras, Benz, Bmw, subaru etc.

I welcome this move, because they making it more affordable for me to own a descent car, cuz i'm walking at present.

Well said....

but subaru izza upper class????? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 22nd, 2011, 10:15 am

my view has always been to "phase out" the older (less road worthy) vehicles on the roadways.....
that should have been the reason for introduction of foreign used vehicles into our country. This should have been done many moon ago....

How many of these cars coming in from Asia are exported because they failed the country's regulations? i.e emission etc.....

Purchasing a car is one thing but maintaining it properly is something else....

How many times do these vehicles go over the pit, get a sticker and have many issues??
I know of cases where vehicles don't even enter an inspection compound and stickers are issued.

THIS HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH RICH OR POOR!!!!

I have also seen some of these "older" cars freshly off the port and the condition their in. Dealer spray on some paint, a little washing and fool someone......

We have read many cases on this same site, in which people remove the abs bulb from dash panels and sold someone who didn't even realize such until the car is out of warranty.....you really think going over a pit is going to detect this?? do inspections stations scan a vehicle??

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 22nd, 2011, 10:15 am

shotta 20 wrote:
wagon r wrote:

Pal tru . I just here on the radio that US , England, Australia, Canada do not even have age restrictions.

Do not let the MOFOS bring you down!

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 22nd, 2011, 10:16 am

shotta 20 wrote:
wagon r wrote:

Pal tru . I just here on the radio that US , England, Australia, Canada do not even have age restrictions.

Postby K74T » July 22nd, 2011, 10:17 am

sr20 1raj gee dem fyaahz

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 22nd, 2011, 10:18 am

PariaMan wrote:
shotta 20 wrote:
wagon r wrote:

hmmmm 1st world, where your car can be impounded for a blown light bulb, emission etc....

Dragular

Postby Dragular » July 22nd, 2011, 10:22 am

the chiney and them will just raise the prices of those older vehicles, they not stupid. These RORO men dotish, they shoulda ask for the taxes on the engine CC or the import duty to be lowered.

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 22nd, 2011, 10:24 am

^^^^ shhhhh u against the small man.....

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 22nd, 2011, 10:24 am

Every thing has good or bad in it.

This decision is the same

However their is more win than fail.

Thas is obvious.

We already have laws which allow the control of vehichcle smoking excessively and also vehicle inspection

We can wait until every thing is perfect to give the small man the chance to buy a car in good condition while the rich man can buy any amount of cars with no restriction

One for the small man!

Postby RBphoto » July 22nd, 2011, 10:24 am

More sh1it on the roads. *sigh*

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » July 22nd, 2011, 10:25 am

sliderz1 wrote:
gracen wrote:I have no problem yet :| Some of the best cars (IMO) were from 2005

de almera and NZE crew go love deyself

Ent?

The NZE is already the best car on the road right now..........

But more Almera for bandit to tief? .........hmmmmmm

:evilbat: :evilbat: :evilbat:

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 22nd, 2011, 10:26 am

Dragular wrote:the chiney and them will just raise the prices of those older vehicles, they not stupid. These RORO men dotish, they shoulda ask for the taxes on the engine CC or the import duty to be lowered.

Just listened to the Used car association on the radio they did ask for the tax to be lowered the goernment said no way.

This used car is a world wide business. We alone are too smal to affect the prices that the "chiney" charging.

Remember you can still bring down your own vehicle!

Postby eliteauto » July 22nd, 2011, 10:29 am

^^^^ shhhhh u for the small man.....

Postby Stephon. » July 22nd, 2011, 10:32 am

The nze is the best car on the road? Look boi.

Postby honda hoe » July 22nd, 2011, 10:36 am

who say evo 8 MR

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 22nd, 2011, 10:40 am

I think they should have tried to lower the prices of NEW vehicles, rather than allowing older stuff to come in....dais what I fine'

Racegod

Postby Racegod » July 22nd, 2011, 10:45 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:I think they should have tried to lower the prices of NEW vehicles, rather than allowing older stuff to come in....dais what I fine'

In turn this would have forced the reduction of prices for foreign used... buh.. dis is Trinidad... :drinking: