JoKeR1980 wrote:was a police report made?
Two South teen girls go missing
By LAUREL V WILLIAMS Sunday, July 17 2011
TWO teenage girls from South Trinidad, who have been described as best friends, have gone missing and worried relatives of their respective families are now praying for their safe return.
Police investigators yesterday confirmed their identities as Aishah Ali and Sureka Candice Lalloo, both 17, of Circular Street, Princes Town, and Lalloo Trace, Claxton Bay respectively.
Both teenagers wrote the CSEC Examinations at the ASJA Girls’ High School in San Fernando and are awaiting results. Lalloo is also the twin sister of Suraya Candy Lalloo.
Speaking at the family’s home in Princes Town yesterday, Ali’s brother, Ferad Ali, 22, said their parents, Fyzal and Sherina Ali, went with his younger sister to the Gulf City Mall in La Romaine on Friday evening around 3 pm. He said Ali was supposed to meet with Lalloo and other classmates at the mall.
“Mommy and daddy dropped her off and went to make grocery. When they returned about an hour later she was nowhere to be found. We do not know if the girls were communicating with each other at that point, but they are best friends,” Ferad said.
He further told Sunday Newsday that relatives attempted desperately to telephone Ali on her cellular phone but were unsuccessful in reaching her.
“Police told us that Aishah’s phone was on up to 11 pm last night (Friday). But now it is switched off. If this is a kidnapping, no one called us. If it is human trafficking, then they would not call,” Ferad added.
He ruled out Ali running away, saying they were very close and she would have considered the trauma the family would be subjected to as a result of the disappearance. Up to last evening, relatives had launched their own search for Ali.
She was last seen wearing a pair of black jeans and a black top. At the Claxton Bay home of Lalloo, her mother, Geeta Lalloo, was in tears as she recalled the incident. Holding back tears, she said around 1. 45 pm on Friday, her daughter said she ( Lalloo ) was going to bathe. About half an hour late, the mother went to check on her daughter but instead found the tap on with water overflowing onto the floor of the bathroom.
“She normally takes long baths but I called her and there was no answer. When I realise she was not there like I got crazy. I did not know what to think. Yesterday (Friday) was the first day she had ever travelled in her whole life,” she said.
The mother of four added that she had no idea that her missing daughter was going to meet other schoolmates at the mall. Had relatives known, she said they would have taken Lalloo there.
“A guy said he saw her going in a taxi which went to Gulf City Mall. Candice is an exceptional child. She does well in school. Please come back home. We love you no matter what,” she said.
Lalloo further explained that it was while searching for her daughter at the mall that she leant that Ali was also missing and communicated with Ali’s family. WPC Bassarath and officers of the San Fernando Police Station, together with officers of the St Margarets’s Police Station, are investigating.
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,143961.html
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:sad story they man,but i still doh understand why in such a small country like trinidad the relevant authorities can;t find missing people.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:ah mean so much children went missing in the pass and you never heard anything about it since,its like the stories were swept under the rug or the files has been locked away,sad is the word yes.
Bizzare wrote:shake d livin wake d dead, are you between the ages of 17-21 ?? Jus asking......
turbosingh wrote:Lalloo's mother, Geeta, said: "I want Sureka to know that her family loves her no matter what, and we will not hold this against her.
Seems like the had some form of argument to me for her mom to say that!
~Vēġó~ wrote:^^^I wonder whether he asked for money for their recovery?