Update the Civic Finally Fix, Thanks to SKY and all tuners

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 5th, 2011, 11:08 am

Everything fix, The Park gear being stuck was because of Brakes Light not working apparently thats some kinda warning system to tell you that you have no brakes light. thanks again for all the help guys.

One of the best advice given was to fire my first Mechanic. I admit ever since I do that life was a lot better :lol:

Update so I get some professionals to look at this and they use test light and stuff, apparently the other issue from the ECU being fried, was that the Injectors was not getting current. Well they replace some engine fuse and the car start and driving.

Some new problems that has come to light.

Gear is stuck on Park. Can be moved only if you insert the get by the gear stick itself.
Not a big issue because I can start it on neutral and all the drive gears work fine.

Also The Horn isn't working, AC Blower Fan inside the car isn't working. And the brakes light isn't working when you mash brakes.

I only noticed this problem after the electrician and mechanic left because the driveway was blocked with other vehicles at the time and I didn't think about checking those stuff because those stuff worked fine before.

It magically stop working.

Before I carry it by an electrician I just wanna know if this is any serious problem?
Could it be the new P08 ECU is the cause of these other stuff not working? Or just some other fuse blown? I mean it says P08 but a couple other letters and numbers are different. But i don't think these things require the ECU to operate?

Ok so I get a man who does specialize in Honda cars he bring a extra electrician with him also. The new ECU is working, the fuel pump is pumping gas, the main relay is powering up. So whats the problem?

Apparently the distributor is the problem. Please note that I spend $800 to change coil and module in this. Final solution is he going borrow a next man distributor to test it.

The believe regardless of the new coil and module, they believe something is still wrong with the distributor.

Anyways he give me some good advice. He say when I get the chance sell the Honda and buy ah Nissan B14, all headache will be gone and yuh getting parts anywhere infact he guarage full with a set ah old B14 parts that he does always be using to test :lol:

Now I know why B14 holding price yes lol

I still like the Honda. But sadly when they getting old is problems and the parts are hard to get.

Update: Mechanic came back and he decided to check the brain box. Computer or ECU or whatever they call it. Apparently the burning smell that came out when the car shut off permanently was the brain box. Part of the Circuit board is black its like it blew up.

He says it will make more sense to buy a whole Engine and Transmission instead because due to what happen he is afraid that other sensors may have been damaged.

What allyuh think is the best decision?

I have already wasted $800 for a distributor coil when it was the ECU all along. Real sad yes.

I try all over, nowhere in Bamboo has this.

Nobody on trinituner has this.

Everybody always saying they have it but when you go by them and carry the original one its not the same thing its always something else.

Is for a D15B Vtec Engine. EG8 VTI Civic. 1994

What if I take out the coil from another distributor and put it in this will it work?
So I have no choice but to go classic motors?

Who knew civic parts so hard to get.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on July 26th, 2011, 1:04 pm, edited 9 times in total.

Re: So I can't get a distributor to buy nowhere in Trinidad.

Postby rollingstock » July 5th, 2011, 11:12 am

Should ah buy a b14, not too late to stick a ga15 in that beyotch ;)

Postby tr1ad » July 5th, 2011, 11:14 am

shouldn't be hard to get at the firm

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 5th, 2011, 11:16 am

ok I call classic motors and it costing $8500 LOL wtmc

Ok here what going my father say he get someone to actually fix the distributor. Since we can't get this to buy used anywhere we changing the coil since thats the only thing that can go bad.

Its costing $800

Postby wagonrunner » July 5th, 2011, 11:17 am

:shock: @ $800.

if its the coil that gone, buy an external one. carry it to an electrician who knows what he's doing, nad have him rewire it for you.
this method cost me $150, including the coil which was $100.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 5th, 2011, 11:31 am

^ U serious dan? wow

Where did you get your coil to buy?

My father gone by some auto electrician but it look like because of the convenience of not having to locate a coil the guy is charging $800 to fix it.

Can any coil work?

Postby cinco » July 5th, 2011, 11:39 am

you couldnt change the ign system to msd or something?

Postby Hook » July 5th, 2011, 11:41 am

pioneer wrote:$8500 for a new distributor and piece of mind isn't a bad price.

Having a car isn't cheap.

but you don't have a car :lol:

Postby wagonrunner » July 5th, 2011, 11:41 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ U serious dan? wow

Where did you get your coil to buy?

My father gone by some auto electrician but it look like because of the convenience of not having to locate a coil the guy is charging $800 to fix it.

Can any coil work?

I'd think so. all coils have three taps / connectors..
http://auto.howstuffworks.com/ignition-system3.htm

And SR20 / RB20 coils are still within $100-$150 price range last time i called.

Postby r3iXmann » July 5th, 2011, 11:45 am

alpine,i find it VERY hard to believe you can't find an obd1 eg8 civic dizzy to buy :roll:

u sure u askin for d right ting? :|

Postby AllTrac » July 5th, 2011, 11:46 am

Hook wrote:
pioneer wrote:$8500 for a new distributor and piece of mind isn't a bad price.

Having a car isn't cheap.

but you don't have a car :lol:

Postby cinco » July 5th, 2011, 11:51 am

wont most/any D series vtec dizzy work?

Postby RBphoto » July 5th, 2011, 11:52 am

Check Tallboy, the auto electrician behind T&TEC on Shaw street in sando. He will link you with any repair. He is my auto electrician and quite good with these repairs when these guys like to replace nowdays.

Postby foss » July 5th, 2011, 11:54 am

daz why i eh want no old car again...

Had my fair share of electrical problems and days upon days by Tallboy. i good!!

Postby wagonrunner » July 5th, 2011, 11:57 am

pioneer wrote:Buy the new one from classic, least you know it's gonna last you another 15 years plus you get a warranty.

Think bout what gonna happens if a used one break down again?

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby r3iXmann » July 5th, 2011, 12:01 pm

cinco wrote:wont most/any D series vtec dizzy work?

any OBD1 will work

i BELIEVE you can gut out an obd2 one and do a frankenstein on the obd1 but im not sure

Postby wagonrunner » July 5th, 2011, 12:02 pm

pioneer wrote:I serious meng...electrical stuff easy tuh mash up...imagine yuh used/makafuschete dizzy mash up on de beetham

two years, and going strong.
other car's setup is older than you, and still running. lol

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 5th, 2011, 12:04 pm

My Civic had the external coil mod - worked quite well.
Any normal mech could do that for you for chump change.
Get a MSD blaster coil, good bang for buck and way better than a Foreign used unit from another OEM.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 5th, 2011, 12:33 pm

Ok guys well my dad went by an auto electrician this morning same time I made this thread.

he got the coil replaced for $800 so I have the distributor with me right now. Just waiting for my mechanic to come later and put it back on and make sure the car starting.

I don't really know that much about cars so things like obd1 is new to me.

I did see the MSD coils selling on Amazon and Ebay. I also didn't realize you can take out the coil from another distributor and wire it on this.

Now pioneer is right, cause my dad had replaced this distributor coil 3 years ago. So which means its only lasting 3 years where as the Original will last 12 to 15 years.

Maybe is some kinda cheap generic coil the guy used last time?

Postby SUPAstarr » July 5th, 2011, 1:58 pm

A vtec distributor really is difficult to find, you either end up gettin a non vetec one which wont line up the same, or a b16, which wont work either

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 5th, 2011, 2:23 pm

Be careful with dem Honda dissy... A lot of time it's the pickup & igniter that goes bad. It would suck arse if the coil wasn't the problem :lol:

Postby Sky » July 5th, 2011, 2:56 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
cinco wrote:wont most/any D series vtec dizzy work?

any OBD1 will work

i BELIEVE you can gut out an obd2 one and do a frankenstein on the obd1 but im not sure

Both bearing and coil can be changed.

Now I wanna know what mechanic he tow the car by because I've seen one of the top four do it and pretty sure the rest can too. It's a simple procedure.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 5th, 2011, 3:03 pm

Well I didn't bother to tow it again. I got the mechanic to come home and check it instead.

BTW I should note something, this distributor never gave any problems until I carried it by the mechanic to fix the oil leak. It took out the distributor and changed the seals to stop the oil leak cause I was like buying a quart of oil every month for this car. Paid $250 to fix that leak.

Then soon after the car started to cut off often when you turn on the AC. And you had to give it 4 minutes before you could start it back.

But I get the coil changed so I just waiting for this man to come and hook it up for me. Hopefully the car starts and this nightmare will be over.

Postby Hook » July 5th, 2011, 3:08 pm

so de same man who mess up yuh distributor after changing an o-seal is de one who yuh calling to install the repaired unit?

:lol: well look ting!

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 5th, 2011, 3:14 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Well I didn't bother to tow it again. I got the mechanic to come home and check it instead.

BTW I should note something, this distributor never gave any problems until I carried it by the mechanic to fix the oil leak. It took out the distributor and changed the seals to stop the oil leak cause I was like buying a quart of oil every month for this car. Paid $250 to fix that leak.

Then soon after the car started to cut off often when you turn on the AC. And you had to give it 4 minutes before you could start it back.

But I get the coil changed so I just waiting for this man to come and hook it up for me. Hopefully the car starts and this nightmare will be over.

That sounds like a typical Honda distributor... I had one go bad on me after doing a tuneup on a friend's CD accord.. Car drove into my yard fine, then it restated after the tuneup.. It idled fine, then I tried starting it 1hr after and no spark. Forkin dissy went bad :roll: Just my luck because it drove into my yard running, so I was stuck with the bill to fix the problem. It worked out great because I took my payment in the form of pooc.. The owner is a HOT, YOUNG Dominicana :mrgreen:
Yesterday I was there are the firetruckin radiator leaking.. SMH

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » July 5th, 2011, 4:01 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Well I didn't bother to tow it again. I got the mechanic to come home and check it instead.

$250 to fix that? wdmc,,,I had mine repaired,changed the 'o' ring,,,mech said he would take a vitamalt! thats just to unbolt the dizzy,take out seal,put back a seal which is about 1/2" in diameter,,and bolt the dizzy back into place! about 6 mins,,,watch that mech eh,

Postby foss » July 5th, 2011, 4:17 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:It worked out great because I took my payment in the form of pooc.. The owner is a HOT, YOUNG Dominicana :mrgreen:
Yesterday I was there are the firetruckin radiator leaking.. SMH

so whats the problem? :|

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 5th, 2011, 4:23 pm

He charged me $400 to clean the Injectors.

But its not him I calling to put on this distributor. I done with that fella.
When the car was overheating he took out the radiator thermostat and threw it on a table he said the thermostat look like it bad so it stopping the coolant from flowing properly.

However that did nothing as I had to go pay $200 to service the radiator cause it was clogged up.

Next day when I start the car I notice the rpm going high it idling high and taking forever for it to go down to normal like 15 minutes. Normally it goes back down normal in a few seconds.

Its then I realize the forking thermostat was good. I should ah take it from him.

But its not him I getting to put on the distributor its someone else. The guy should be here in a hour or so. Lets hope this nightmare is over.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 5th, 2011, 4:27 pm

You really can't trust mechanics these days nah.

You know when I had carried this car by this man to do the tune up and oil leak etc. 1 hour later there was a tiny hole in one of the radiator hose. Then the radiator magically got clogged up with a set of dirt. Mind you this never happened before eh it was working fine all these years. He then charged me $60 to remove and throw away a perfectly working thermostat.

I don't know if that was coincidence or that man is a smart man. But you know nah I don't really like to accuse people just like that. I tell myself it could have just been coincidence and bad luck you know.

Won't be going back by him again though.

I wonder if I should ah go back and cuss the man?

Postby skylinechild » July 5th, 2011, 4:32 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:He charged me $400 to clean the Injectors.

But its not him I calling to put on this distributor. I done with that fella.
When the car was overheating he took out the radiator thermostat and threw it on a table he said the thermostat look like it bad so it stopping the coolant from flowing properly.

However that did nothing as I had to go pay $200 to service the radiator cause it was clogged up.

Next day when I start the car I notice the rpm going high it idling high and taking forever for it to go down to normal like 15 minutes. Normally it goes back down normal in a few seconds.

Its then I realize the forking thermostat was good. I should ah take it from him.

But its not him I getting to put on the distributor its someone else. The guy should be here in a hour or so. Lets hope this nightmare is over.

do you know the reason for the thermostat device.....?? and why pay $200 to flush a radiator.....that is too much.....