The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby S_2NR » June 27th, 2011, 7:47 pm

Papajohn wrote:can someone help.

wanna know how can i install skype & 3d roller coaster rush (full version) on iPod touch 4G?

app store.

scientist

Postby scientist » June 27th, 2011, 10:42 pm

I was able to downgrade to 4.3.3 with just selecting to restore. But i'm factory unlocked

Postby M_2NR » June 27th, 2011, 11:39 pm

scientist wrote:I was able to downgrade to 4.3.3 with just selecting to restore. But i'm factory unlocked

thanks for confirming :)

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 27th, 2011, 11:56 pm

i second the confirmation, but im using the beta 2 with an at&t phone and an at&t sim in it.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » June 28th, 2011, 8:04 am

M_2NR wrote:
Bezman wrote:mentions nothing if the prepaid smart phone would be sold unlocked, also bmob would rpob charge $9000 TTD for the $350 USD iPhone 4S anyway :lol:

some other article i was hinting to it being an unlocked device as compared with some Motorola that will be released soon at 350$ contract free.
I taking all these articles with a pinch of salt as with all rumors, reports, etc.

src1983 wrote:I don't know anyone with such an account :(

This sucks......

You are factory unlocked i assume? IF not, then don't even consider it

There are lots of places available online where u can pay a fee and the will enlist you. Running beta software is not recommended though, lots of apps and tweaks are broken. I want to try it myself but it really isnt worth it.

Make sure your SHSH's are saved as well, because once you go up, ideally, you can't go down unless you backed up your SHSH's

_____

IDLEMIND and all other iPad 2 Users

backup your SHSH's for 4.3.3. Devs are suggesting you do just in case a jailbreak drops.

I have been monitoring the site every couple mins each day and between midnight last night and this morning I realized that he changed the homage twice , the first was the previous jailbreakme 2.0 now this below ....I am convinced that he is gonna drop the jailbreakme 3.0 by funday....for now they are advising us to do what m_2nr said which is back up our SHSH 4.3.3 ... wating for comex to drop the bomb......

Postby SUPAstarr » June 28th, 2011, 8:06 am

company lent me an ipad, cant stop playin plants vs zombies......this concludes my contribution to this ched....PS Ipads rock...its too bad they gonna buy my a galaxy tab

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 28th, 2011, 12:22 pm

Know to an extent its not Apple related but Steve sure got it right on the head when he described the upload times of albums.

Just about 11 hours later & 24% done.

Postby M_2NR » June 28th, 2011, 8:56 pm

SUPAstarr wrote:company lent me an ipad, cant stop playin plants vs zombies......this concludes my contribution to this ched....PS Ipads rock...its too bad they gonna buy my a galaxy tab

get a new company... :|

i played with an iPad because i had to fix one... and since then... im hooked. Lets hope this retina display i4 quells the feeling yes.. :cry:

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » June 28th, 2011, 10:52 pm

M_2NR wrote:
SUPAstarr wrote:company lent me an ipad, cant stop playin plants vs zombies......this concludes my contribution to this ched....PS Ipads rock...its too bad they gonna buy my a galaxy tab

get a new company... :|

i played with an iPad because i had to fix one... and since then... im hooked. Lets hope this retina display i4 quells the feeling yes.. :cry:

just curious , what was the problem you had to fix with the iPad?

Postby M_2NR » June 28th, 2011, 11:00 pm

Erase Data and Reset all Settings boot loop.

#funfunfunfun

____

Duane, :P

I getting some weird behaviour though, I'm not jailbroken but... USSD prompts like *120# etc giving some issues... oh well.. ill see how it goes tmrw. :mrgreen:

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » June 28th, 2011, 11:08 pm

noice

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 29th, 2011, 1:56 pm

Apple is prepared to offer the iPhone 3GS, first released in 2009, as a free subsidized phone with a two-year service contract, according to a new report.

Analyst Mike Abramsky with RBC Capital Markets said on Wednesday that Apple is "expected" to offer the iPhone 3GS for free when the iPhone 5 launches later this year. He said this approach would help Apple with mid-market buyers, and would also help the iPhone counter the growth of Google's Android platform.

"While a $49 iPhone is already available (AT&T), psychologically a $0 iPhone provides a compelling offer," Abramsky wrote in a note to investors. "Proprietary survey data... suggests 14% are very/somewhat likely to buy the iPhone 3GS for free with 2-year contract, exceeding buying interest for the iPad (13%) and original iPhone (9%)."

Abramsky sees the offering of a free iPhone 3GS as a way for Apple to double its potential market opportunity to more than 150 million smartphones. A lower-priced iPhone 3GS, offered $399 unsubsidized, would also increase iPhone share globally, he said.

The analyst also expects Apple to release what he called a "baby" iPhone in 2012. That later release would avoid iPhone 5 cannibalization, and would allow such a device to better leverage iCloud services.

For Apple to still offer the iPhone 3GS after the launch of a fifth-generation iPhone would be a change, as in years past Apple has discontinued its two-year-old smartphone model. For example, last year the iPhone 4 launched, the iPhone 3GS was dropped to $99, and the iPhone 3G was discontinued.

In January, the price of the iPhone 3GS was reduced even further, to $49 in the U.S. The device carries an 8GB capacity, half that of the entry-level 16GB iPhone 4, which sells for $199 with a new two-year contract.

In May it was revealed that the iPhone 3GS, along with the first-generation iPad, often outsells many newer Android-powered devices. It was noted that older products can offer Apple an aggressive tiered pricing strategy that can help ward off competition.

Though the iPhone 3GS was first released in 2009, it will be compatible with Apple's forthcoming mobile operating system update, iOS 5. That update is scheduled to arrive this fall, likely alongside the release of a fifth-generation iPhone.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 29th, 2011, 2:42 pm

Just got it.

Thought it was lame but I was wrong until I beat M.Bison and got an extra stage ... guess who ... Akuma

And he kick my @ss (with the raging demon too eh) ... have to play it again to reach him because you don't get a retry at him when you lose.

Looking forward to unlocking him ... if it possible.

(look behind Bison in the pic ... guess who's that :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: )

Postby M_2NR » June 29th, 2011, 4:40 pm

apple sox... i cant backup 4.3.3 shsh's for some reason :(

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 29th, 2011, 4:45 pm

http://ih8sn0w.com/index.php/products/view/ifaith.snow

Is taht any help ?

I never heard anything of it

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » June 29th, 2011, 5:18 pm

M_2NR wrote:apple sox... i cant backup 4.3.3 shsh's for some reason :(

latest tiny umbrela download link to back up SHSH

OSX

Code: Select all

http://cache.firmwareumbrella.com/downloads/TinyUmbrella-v5.00.00.pkg

WINDOWS

Code: Select all

http://cache.firmwareumbrella.com/downloads/tinyumbrella-5.00.00.exe

using windows 7

-make sure u have latest JDK installed

-CLOSE ITUNES

-run new tinyumbrella as administrator

-Plug in iPhone / iPad

- Press advanced set desktop as the default directory

-start tss

-stop tss

-save SHSH

---------

if you did all of the simply reboot and repeat the proccess and it suppose to work fine

did my iPad 2 first , when I was doing the 3GS didn't get it to work the first time then rebooted and attempted again , this solved problem

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 29th, 2011, 5:35 pm

Cydia 1.1.2 released.

No improvements noted thus far from comments I read. They hope it's a step taken in preparation for iOS 5. Manual update at present.

I'll wait for Cydia to throw it my way automatically.

d_l_p_87

Postby d_l_p_87 » June 29th, 2011, 7:54 pm

Guys I'm selling my mid 2010 MacBook Pro -13"
Excellent condition, thing was hardly used.

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=381241

Pass it on to anyone you know looking for a good computer

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 29th, 2011, 8:14 pm

Remember the original iPhone and the first version of iOS? Both look laughable at this point, but they were very real just 4 years ago. Back on June 29 2007, many geeks stood in lines outside Apple Stores to grab the first successful multi-touch smartphone. Since then, the device has come a long way. That’s why our friends at Mashable have created this inforgraphic with the most important milestones in the iPhone’s history, as well as some fun facts.

Here are some of the most important facts:

Just 3 days after the iPhone App Store was released, 10 million App downloads had already taken place.
    The iPhone wasn’t 3G-capable until nearly 1 year after its introduction.
    The iPhone’s launch price was $499 and $599 for the 4GB and 8GB models respectively, yet 270,000 were sold in the first 30 hours.
    As of June 6th, 2011, there were over 14,000,000,000 downloads.
    Apple accounted for 9 out of every 10 downloads in 2010.
    The iPhone was made available at 6PM on June 29th 2007, after stores were closed for 4 hours.
    Apple’s stock price has almost tripled since the iPhone was first released.
    The iPhone was the first device to run iOS, but other devices running the same system have been released since then, namely the iPod touch, the iPhone and the Apple TV.

After years of rumors, the existence of an iPhone was first confirmed at Macworld 2007, in January of that year. While it lacked many essential features, such as 3G, its multi-touch user interface raised everyone’s expectations of what a phone should be able to do. In the months following its introduction, the iPhone was met with extreme excitement from critics and prospective users. Available exclusively in the United States at first, the iPhone arrived in UK stores in September 2007 with an exclusive contract with O2, and in France later that year. It was only with the 3G version, released in July 2008, that the phone became available almost universally, in countries like Portugal, Spain, Australia and Mexico.

iOS, although it has always looked and felt identical, has changed from the inside out. Long-requested features such as multi-tasking, cut and paste, enhanced business tools and an App Store made it to system over several years after its inception as part of major updates which worked on some older devices. Constant feature additions, even on old hardware, were promised by Apple when the original iPhone was first introduced, and the company has delivered on its promise: the original iPhone can run iOS 3, which features cut and paste and across-the-board improvements. Support for old devices, however, has since been phased out.

------

Industrial designer Michal Bonikowski has created a concept of what the new iPhone 5 might look like, reports YankoDesign.

What are you predictions for the iPhone 5? I heard someplace that a curved display was in the making and attention was being given to the antenna issues. Designer Michal Bonikowski feels that the new version will be safe and predictable, simply because Apple can’t afford another failed version. In his conceptual version Michal converts glass enclosure into proven aluminum; steel frame remains as a reference to the previous version and directly to the iPad 2. Also, the key functions is converted from mechanical to sensory.

------

Supplies of the white MacBook are severely constrained ahead of the Mac OS X Lion release and a possible upgrade to the notebook, according to AppleInsider.

Many of the Apple authorized resellers that can be found on AppleInsider's Mac Pricing Guide are completely sold out of the polycarbonate MacBook. Specifically, Amazon, MacConnection, On Sale and J&R are all out of stock. In addition, inventory of the entry-level portable is low at DataVision. In addition, one of Europe's largest distributors is completely out of stock of the white MacBook, and lists no estimated time of arrival for new shipments.

The polycarbonate MacBook was last updated in May of 2010. It's likely that Apple plans to release an update to the $999 notebook ahead of the back to school season.

------

Apprupt reports that 95% of iPhone users have updated to iOS 4.

iPhone user in Germany place value on a brand-new operating system on their devices. Just one year after the launch of iOS 4 already more 95% of all iPhone users in apprupt's premium network have equipped their devices with the current iOS version.

Only 4% still use the forerunner iOS 3 while no more than 0,17% use iOS 2.

This is a very high update percentage indicating that iPhone users want and perhaps need the new features that Apple introduces in its updates.

Postby M_2NR » June 29th, 2011, 11:47 pm

thanks dynamic and parvin. Gonna try iFaith now. tinyumbrella is a no go. Even though i select not to pull from cydia because my TSS still pending, it not working.

___

btw....

DO NOT GET THE "LATEST" CYDIA, it /can/ firetruck up your iDevices' FS.

____

Also, gevey sim owners, ulyuh ever had the issue where 112 was not ending properly? my padna gevey sim working great on one i4 and another one, if takes about 5minutes to properly end 112, and then it says no sim... :| Mind you the sim works in another iPhone as well...

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » June 30th, 2011, 12:05 am

M_2NR wrote:thanks dynamic and parvin. Gonna try iFaith now. tinyumbrella is a no go. Even though i select not to pull from cydia because my TSS still pending, it not working.

___.

no problem ......I forgot to mention one thing , make sure you are connected to the Internet when trying to back up SHSH same goes for "IM TOO IPAD MATE" ( for iOS devices)

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » June 30th, 2011, 12:08 am

d_l_p_87 wrote:Guys I'm selling my mid 2010 MacBook Pro -13"
Excellent condition, thing was hardly used.

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=381241

Pass it on to anyone you know looking for a good computer

I have a padna trinijoe2010 interested but he going for the brand new one ,costing not much more ....I'm guessing if u link him a price 6k or less he just might take it off ur hands

pm him and negotiate a scene

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 30th, 2011, 10:06 am

M_2NR wrote:
btw....

DO NOT GET THE "LATEST" CYDIA, it /can/ firetruck up your iDevices' FS.

____

Also, gevey sim owners, ulyuh ever had the issue where 112 was not ending properly? my padna gevey sim working great on one i4 and another one, if takes about 5minutes to properly end 112, and then it says no sim... :| Mind you the sim works in another iPhone as well...

Point noted ... thanks

As for the gevey problem, I had it when I first got it. He has to turn off 3G before running it. So let him start up without the gevey, tirn off the 3G setting and reboot with the gevey. All set to go. He can turn it on afterwards, if he wants.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » June 30th, 2011, 6:24 pm

^^ no problems with my gevey either.

BUT.............

I got my iphone 4 this week and unlocked it with the gevey sim but i cant use facetime. it has been saying waiting for activation ever since. can anyone help me out here??????

Postby M_2NR » June 30th, 2011, 6:28 pm

thanks ill try that!

street, make sure you have legit push certs for starters.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 30th, 2011, 6:31 pm

streetlifestyle wrote:^^ no problems with my gevey either.

BUT.............

I got my iphone 4 this week and unlocked it with the gevey sim but i cant use facetime. it has been saying waiting for activation ever since. can anyone help me out here??????

Try this

http://jaxov.com/2011/04/download-sam-t ... -to-guide/

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » June 30th, 2011, 6:51 pm

hmmmmm...iphone 5 concept looks sexy...it would be ashame if apple makes somthing uglier than the i4......but its too late for them now....phones probably already being packaged as we speak

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » June 30th, 2011, 9:45 pm

shaq090 wrote:hmmmmm...iphone 5 concept looks sexy...it would be ashame if apple makes somthing uglier than the i4......but its too late for them now....phones probably already being packaged as we speak

doubt this will go into production so soon....maybe after lion and the new line of macboook airs are launched , I guesstimate

--------

if anyone looking to pipe out an iPhone 3G by 2moro morning ...pm meh yuh price

suppose to be getting one but I need a backup in case the man set me up like how some tuners does move

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 1st, 2011, 11:55 am

You may have heard that research firm IDC in May decided to class iPad and other portable devices as PCs, forecasting PC microprocessor units by processor architecture, including those based on x86 (Intel and Advanced Micro Devices) and those based on ARM. As a result of the change, Apple is set to overtake Hewlett-Packard and become the leading notebook vendor in 2012, reports DigiTimes. Here are the numbers:

Global shipments of tablet PCs are expected to top 60 million units in 2011 with shipments from Apple likely to total 40 million units for a 60 share. And now some market research firms have predicted global tablet shipments are to top 80 million units 2012 with iPads accounting for 60 million units. Additionally, Apple is also likely to ship 15 million MacBooks in 2012, bringing its combined shipments of notebooks and tablets to a total of 75 million units, accounting for 25-30 percent of the global notebook market, the sources estimated.

This is Apple… Meanwhile, HP shipped 40 million notebooks last year and should move an estimated 45-50 million units this year. Based on its performance in 2010 and 2011, HP will have trouble zooming past the 75 million combined tablet and notebooks PCs from Apple. But what about HP’s TouchPad?

Of course, HP’s tablet PC sales are literally non-existent, but that will change now that the company rolled out the TouchPad tablet. Nevertheless, the fact that HP is targeting business customers (because Apple has pretty much locked the consumer segment) combined with the not so favorable reviews will hardly lead to 2012 TouchPad sales in the range of 10-20 million. At the iPad introduction in January 2011, Steve Jobs proclaimed Apple the number one mobile devices company in the world, based on the combined revenue from Mac notebooks, iPhones and iPods. “Apple is a mobile devices company. This is what we do,” he said.

HP is acknowledging Apple’s lead in the tablet space and insisting its tablet is not after the iPad. Speaking to The Loop’s Jim Dalrymple yesterday, HP’s vice president of worldwide developer relations Richard Kerris said this about Apple and the TouchPad:

We think the world of Apple and have the utmost respect for their products. It would be ignorant for us to say that we are going to take it [the market] away from Apple. We think there’s a better opportunity for us to go after the enterprise space and those consumers that use PCs. This market is in it’s infancy and there is plenty of room for both of us to grow.

------

Taiwanese trade publication DigiTimes is calling for iPad 3 in October. Based on an industry chatter in the Asian supply chain, they are claiming that Apple has begun commissioning parts for the third-generation iPad and fifth-generation iPhone, both debuting in small quantities in September and in volume the following month. iPad 3 should be “even thinner and lighter”, with panel resolution increasing to 250dpi.

There won’t be two iPhones – one being a major upgrade and the other for low-income markets – as some analysts predicted. About 85 million iPhones and 40 million iPads are expected in the entire 2011, the sources estimate, which means Apple could dethrone HP and become the leading portable PC maker in the world. Total third-quarter iPad shipments should total 15 million units, of which 12 million should be iPad 2s. Total iPhone shipments for the quarter should reach about 25 million units (7 million iPhone 5s and 18 million iPhone 4s).

Such an aggressive manufacturing and the shortened release cycle reveal that Apple is betting big on the post-PC world. Fourteen months following the iPad’s arrival, Apple still owns the tablet market. Research firm comScore estimates that iPad enjoys 97 percent share of tablet traffic in the US and 89 percent globally. And with more than 100,000 iPad-optimized apps in the App Store, competitors are increasingly experiencing setbacks putting a meaningful dent in Apple’s tablet lead.

The involved supply chain partners include Apple’s long-time manufacturing buddy Foxconn plus component suppliers Simplo Technologies and Dynapack International Technology (batteries), TPK Holding and Wintek (touch panel modules), Catcher (chassis) and Largan Precision (webcams). A previous DigiTimes report asserted that Largan Precision could also become a principal supplier of eight-megapixel camera lens modules for Apple. The publication also reported in June that both OmniVision and Sony will supply Apple with eight-megapixel CMOS image sensors, presumably for a fifth-generation iPhone.

Today’s report jives with a 9to5Mac story from April when Sony CEO Howard Stringer sat down with Walt Mossberg, revealing that his company supplies Apple with sensors. He said, “Our best sensor technology is built in one of the (tsunami) affected factories. Those go to Apple for their iPhones… Or iPads. Isn’t that something? They buy our best sensors from us?”

Parvin

Postby Parvin » July 1st, 2011, 12:04 pm

Not sure if it was mentioned before but is anyone using the Game Center app on a jailbroken device?

Are there any issues with this?