TTASA sends T&T drag racing team to Guyana

southside crew

Re: TTASA sends T&T drag racing team to Guyana

Postby southside crew » June 27th, 2011, 11:47 pm

One post I don't know if to laugh or cry... :/....

link

Postby link » June 27th, 2011, 11:57 pm

AutoSport wrote:
link wrote:HERE'S TO A GREAT DAY'S RACING TODAY AT GUYANA'S SOUTH DAKOTA RACING CIRCUIT

:D :!: :!:

Typical with the shouting, and then sounds of silence. So how did this specially selected team perform?

What were their outstanding times, especially the Mini with the Rotary with he 32 years of racing experience.

Tell us about the timing system.

Why the sounds of silence after all the shouting?

:roll: :roll:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 28th, 2011, 1:18 am

Just received this official release from TTASA

TTASA wrote:Press release

The Trini Drag Team which competed in Guyana's inaugural Drag races on Sunday 26th June had mixed fortunes, as is typical of top notch motor sport competitions.

As expected, Hollister 'Flambeau' Edwards wowed the Guyana spectators....then proceeded to blow away everything in the next lane. He landed the expected 'fastest car' accolade in the process of 'upping' the standard of drag race competition there.

Aaron Dowridge's overflowing cup of confidence was violently shaken when he lost 4th gear capability early on. However, his determination not to let his team down led to him soldiering on, winning EVERY RUN to make the final. At that point, Aaron had also broken the now most important 3rd gear and made the start line for the final with only 1st & 2nd gears functional. AND HE HAD THAT RUN IN THE BAG TOO !!! ...until the last few feet when he was nicked by the Subaru on the line (less than a 'fender').

Imtaz 'Winzie' Abdul is definitely ruing the decision to have his rotary-powered Mini piloted by his less experienced team mate. The 'real quick' mini (as described by the competition) could not react competitively enough to qualify for the finals and had to settle for experience gained this time around.

All in all, an extremely satisfying expedition on Guyana soil. The GMR&SC was very appreciative of the assistance rendered to their club by the TTASA personnel and confirmed their intention to continue this close, fortifying relationship between the countries'   
respective governing bodies. We look forward to a return leg in Trinidad, where the Guyana speedsters will experience races under 'lights', since currently, races there are run on a 'first-past-the-post' basis.

Congratulations to TEAM TRINIDAD. We raised the bar...exhibited that rugged determination...and gained necessary experience for the future... 

I was informed that there was no timing system at the event but plans are being made to rectify this for future drag racing events in Guyana

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » June 28th, 2011, 1:40 am

"We look forward to a return leg in Trinidad, where the Guyana speedsters will experience races under 'lights', since currently, races there are run on a 'first-past-the-post' basis."

Congratulations to TEAM TRINIDAD. We raised the bar...exhibited that rugged determination...and gained necessary experience for the future... 

Love the double-speak re "first-past-the-post' basis."

So are we also going to get the record times "clocked" by the "flag men" at the finish?

T&T high-powered team certainly raising the bar on the International scene!

Postby SR » June 28th, 2011, 5:42 am

so basically ttasa sends a hand picked team to guyana for "gangsta drags"

anyone with a review from the guyanese side of things?

link

Postby link » June 28th, 2011, 6:49 am

AutoSport wrote:
"We look forward to a return leg in Trinidad, where the Guyana speedsters will experience races under 'lights', since currently, races there are run on a 'first-past-the-post' basis."

Love the double-speak re "first-past-the-post' basis."

So are we also going to get the record times "clocked" by the "flag men" at the finish?

T&T high-powered team certainly raising the bar on the International scene!

:roll: :roll:

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » June 28th, 2011, 9:08 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Just received this official release from TTASA

He landed the expected 'fastest car' accolade in the process of 'upping' the standard of drag race competition there.

...... since currently, races there are run on a 'first-past-the-post' basis.

I was informed that there was no timing system at the event but plans are being made to rectify this for future drag racing events in Guyana

So how do you really determine that this was the fastest car at the Event? Not because he beat the others he was the fastest car, but then once this team of experts are involved, anything can happen... like the botched FCB Sportsman of the Year Awards 2010 - so we may already have a winner for FCB Sportsman of the Year Awards 2011.

Keep it up guys! Keep raising the bar!

link

Postby link » June 28th, 2011, 10:17 am

AutoSport wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Just received this official release from TTASA

He landed the expected 'fastest car' accolade in the process of 'upping' the standard of drag race competition there.

...... since currently, races there are run on a 'first-past-the-post' basis.

So how do you really determine that this was the fastest car at the Event? Not because he beat the others he was the fastest car, but then once this team of experts are involved, anything can happen... like the botched FCB Sportsman of the Year Awards 2010 - so we may already have a winner for FCB Sportsman of the Year Awards 2011.

Keep it up guys! Keep raising the bar!

thank you

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » June 28th, 2011, 11:10 am

SR wrote:so basically ttasa sends a hand picked team to guyana for "gangsta drags"

As well as, this Team was completed with a "Certified NHRA Official"

Good Job TTASA .. keep raising the bar !!!

Postby wagon r » June 28th, 2011, 11:58 am

We look forward to a return leg in Trinidad, where the Guyana speedsters will experience races under 'lights',since currently, races there are run on a 'first-past-the-post' basis.

I don't normally respond to these things.....bt where in Trinidad that ^^ taking place...

We have no track and any event endorsing speeding on the road, as of late, is not tollerated by the Police.

...anyone from TTASA care to explain...??

Postby Sinister_Audio » June 28th, 2011, 12:11 pm

stopwatch racing ftw!!

but seriously, people would send their machines knowing they won't get a time?

...well seeing this isn't aaron full race car, i guess for him it was just a fun event, but flambo's car? anyway...doesn't matter....

if grenada only had a controlled environment that would be such a bess event eh....sighs

professor

Postby professor » June 28th, 2011, 2:27 pm

I think we need to hear from the men who went across, spent their money, not from the normal haters. Did they get joy, would they go again etc.?

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » June 28th, 2011, 2:51 pm

Over the weekend I had a lengthy conversation with a VERY Wealthy Aruban that's interested in invited cars from the Caribbean region to their track in Aruba.. He already had one huge event earlier this year with international cars and plans on working with the Aruba tourist board to open up drag racing as a means of attracting more people to Aruba. These events will be primarily open to compact cars in the 7 & 8 second bracket.... Basically cars like SFK, the green Tercel, Jodi Supra, etc

As things get more serious, I'll post something on here to see who might be interested in going and all the terms and conditions etc..

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 28th, 2011, 3:52 pm

^ that should be some serious racing too!

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » June 28th, 2011, 4:12 pm

^ I have been to an event in Aruba in the past and yess .. they got some serious Machines across there .. They had a couple cars that came across from Curacao and Bonaire as well which made things alot better ... A regional event like that with some of our cars will definitely be a treat and the guys will have some good competition too ...

Anyways looking forward to the Canadian Nitro Nationals this weekend .. Tony and Cruz Pedregon with their Funny Cars will be there ..

An event not to miss for the Canadian Tuners and Visitors !!!

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » June 28th, 2011, 10:02 pm

no timing system????
i wonder if the 1320 ws even measured.
i do not understand how this is allowed in this day and age,
does this mean that guyana drag racers are not as advanced as their circuit racing counterparts?
so did our guys have any real challenge out there?

someone who visited please share your honest experiences

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » June 28th, 2011, 10:31 pm

Garrett Inside wrote:no timing system????
does this mean that guyana drag racers are not as advanced as their circuit racing counterparts?

Get your answers here.....
"In addition to the usual officials, the team will have the administrative support of the TTASA President –Mohammed Ali- who is a certified NHRA official and whose assistance has been requested by Guyana. The T&T FIA / NACAM Delegate – Mr. Selwyn Persad- who is also the FIA Caribbean Director will also be in attendance. Both Ali & Persad will provide additional advice & assistance to the Guyana Club with regards to technical & FIA matters."

link

Postby link » June 29th, 2011, 12:32 am

AutoSport wrote:
Garrett Inside wrote:no timing system????

Get your answers here.....
"In addition to the usual officials, the team will have the administrative support of the TTASA President –Mohammed Ali- who is a certified NHRA official and whose assistance has been requested by Guyana. The T&T FIA / NACAM Delegate – Mr. Selwyn Persad- who is also the FIA Caribbean Director will also be in attendance. Both Ali & Persad will provide additional advice & assistance to the Guyana Club with regards to technical & FIA matters."

thanks again

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » June 29th, 2011, 7:14 pm

What track that Mini run on to sertify it runing 11secs? Munroe road?

Postby SR » June 29th, 2011, 7:41 pm

nhra boy yuh eh read or wah

wait

no

efff ey aye

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » June 29th, 2011, 11:41 pm

wagon r wrote:
We look forward to a return leg in Trinidad, where the Guyana speedsters will experience races under 'lights',since currently, races there are run on a 'first-past-the-post' basis.

I don't normally respond to these things.....bt where in Trinidad that ^^ taking place...

We have no track and any event endorsing speeding on the road, as of late, is not tollerated by the Police.

...anyone from TTASA care to explain...??

i guess camden was their trump card all along.
hope camden starts up soon, i'm very eager to run the 1320.
it would be very nice to have a basic form of circuit racing also, i remember it was done at camden already

Postby Ignorant Ignis » June 30th, 2011, 5:07 am

Ignorant Ignis wrote:guyana drags doesnt even have a timing system last time i was there......

and the strip ends in a sharp right turn ....

like nobody read this :lol: :lol: :lol:

it's all gangsta drags .......

Dragist

Postby Dragist » June 30th, 2011, 7:37 am

Have a read here from Guyana.

http://www.gmrscgy.com/component/conten ... 7b400e5917

Some Video from a Drag meet last year in Guyana .

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YMG8yCcO3b0&NR=1

Gangster Much ....

Postby Ignorant Ignis » June 30th, 2011, 10:51 am

^^^^^ i was there for that event ... it was pure madness.
the driver of the red and black evo died in car accident earlier this year... R.I.P

check the video with the gmc typhon ... that was insane
big block v8 with a hell of alot of nitrous

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » June 30th, 2011, 9:57 pm

TTASA Proud to send car to Guyana for Gangster Drag, but I suppose that they have to support their new FIA cronies.
For those who car about drag racing, Michael Douglas currently holds the track record in Nevis (June 2011).
The next race meet is July 31st 2011.

Thats right folks, I have an official race meet every month here in Nevis.
Lets see TTASA do better than that.

Imaging an island with a population of less than 13000 people has a government built and operated drag strip.

Gangster in Guyana indeed.

Link need not reply.

http://www.facebook.com/pages/St-James- ... 606?ref=ts

http://sites.google.com/site/stjamesraceway/

cornfused

Postby cornfused » June 30th, 2011, 11:38 pm

M...... road in better condition or most roads used to race are smother than that south dokaota track :shock:

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 1st, 2011, 12:33 am

Nice track allyuh have dey in Nevis boi dan... It even have ah sand trap :shock: The only thing it missing is concrete barriers on either side to stop you from going into the bushes

link

Postby link » July 1st, 2011, 5:05 am

Red Dawg wrote:TTASA Proud to send car to Guyana for Gangster Drag, but I suppose that they have to support their new FIA cronies.
For those who car about drag racing, Michael Douglas currently holds the track record in Nevis (June 2011).
The next race meet is July 31st 2011.

Thats right folks, I have an official race meet every month here in Nevis.
Lets see TTASA do better than that.

Imaging an island with a population of less than 13000 people has a government built and operated drag strip.

Gangster in Guyana indeed.

Link need not reply.

http://www.facebook.com/pages/St-James- ... 606?ref=ts

http://sites.google.com/site/stjamesraceway/

my point exactly...
Trini knowledge & experience assisting other Caribbean countries in developing their motor racing industries.
It makes better sense to become a collective regional force than each being insular & 'cry-dong' other's efforts as they take their fledgling steps.
rgds

Postby Ignorant Ignis » July 1st, 2011, 6:19 am

cornfused wrote:M...... road in better condition or most roads used to race are smother than that south dokaota track :shock:

south Dakota track was paved over early this year ........ by dpicon :shock: