boy drowns at toco

jeromey

boy drowns at toco

Postby jeromey » June 19th, 2011, 7:21 pm

at approx. 310pm witness a boy drowned at salybia toco beach,the thing is everybody watched him drowned thinking he was joking,so all who does fake drowning when it happens no one will take u on,real sad ,he was only 17

Sierra-117

Re: boy drowns at toco

Postby Sierra-117 » June 19th, 2011, 7:51 pm

:( so everyone jus stood there and watched, yourself included? smh

Postby Kenjo » June 19th, 2011, 7:59 pm

just last week at Maracas i saw a group of about 10 people with a bottle of Johnny throw it up into the air and whoever swims to it first and recovers it was taking a shot.the life guards had probably just come off duty so anything could have happened to them but in their case it would have been a case of natural selection.That is real unfortunate in this young boys case but people also need to learn to take any act of real or feigned drowning seriously.Worse case scenario if he was faking he could have gotten a good cuss.But how come he was so far away from everyone else?

link

Postby link » June 19th, 2011, 8:09 pm

But how come he was so far away from everyone else?

probs got snatched by current & panicked... :( :(

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 19th, 2011, 8:30 pm

Very harsh ... but TRUE !!!

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » June 19th, 2011, 8:52 pm

Pioneer, all what you said is true but such a tragic event on a memorable day.
Condolences to the child's family!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 19th, 2011, 9:14 pm

doesnt salybia have lifeguards???because i know all beaches on that part of the country supposed to have lifeguards,especially mayaro.

Postby brams112 » June 19th, 2011, 9:18 pm

nothing wrong in wearing a life jacket when going out in the ocean,,,,,,,

Seeker

Postby Seeker » June 19th, 2011, 9:22 pm

pioneer wrote:I have personally witnessed people verbally abuse and physically threaten lifeguards. People always quick to blame them for everything but they do a very good job in my opinion. Is ignorant, backward and lawless trinis feel the world is theirs to do what they want.

Start listening to the lifeguards people, they know their job.

Well said. I doh bathe when there is no lifeguard on duty. I will dig hole and make sand castles whole day.

Seeker

Postby Seeker » June 19th, 2011, 9:25 pm

Yeah, u live to bathe another day. 8-)

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » June 19th, 2011, 9:26 pm

everyone b1tching over the person that drowned but no one seems to understand that its a life that ended, @ 17 none the less. Condolences to the family and may the soul of the faithful departed through the mercy of God RIP, amen.

Postby Stephon. » June 19th, 2011, 9:29 pm

Once at a hotel I saw a girl dive in the shallow end of the pool, there was a "no diving in the shallow" sign right where she took the dive. She ended up hitting her nose at the bottom of the pool and came up with blood all over the place, blood like rain, she kept going down and up in the water and I realized she needed help. It was around 9-ish and the lifeguards weren't there, I had to go in and pull her out because her own parents didn't even help, all they could have done was yell at her because she didn't read the sign and hit her nose.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 19th, 2011, 9:32 pm

Actually a guy made an attempt to save him (a friend of mine) then he encountered problems while trying to get the guy out... apparently he was been pulled down by the boy.... and my friend had to let him go. Another guy also made an attempt when he saw my friend was having difficultly but it was to no avail....

My partner is a VERY strong swimmer and he said the current was deadly(no pun intended)

I was waiting on shore cuz I was the only one there who knew CPR

...and OP is right everybody thought he was playing and it took some convincing to attempt the rescue cuz the plan was if was playing the fool we woulda beat up kant

4kin4kar

Postby 4kin4kar » June 19th, 2011, 9:33 pm

i was also there, his friend came out of the water and didn't alert others that the guy was serious. We all stood there thinking they were playing games. Very sad.

4kin4kar

Postby 4kin4kar » June 19th, 2011, 9:37 pm

uncle sam wrote:Actually a guy made an attempt to save him (a friend of mine) then he encountered problems while trying to get the guy out... apparently he was been pulled down by the boy.... and my friend had to let him go. Another guy also made an attempt when he saw my friend was having difficultly but it was to no avail....

My partner is a VERY strong swimmer and he said the current was deadly(no pun intended)

I was waiting on shore cuz I was the only one there who knew CPR

Really? Are you certified?

...and OP is right everybody thought he was playing and it took some convincing to attempt the rescue cuz the plan was if was playing the fool we woulda beat up kant

Seeker

Postby Seeker » June 19th, 2011, 9:41 pm

Hmmm....condolences to family though.
I never witnessed a drowning or have any close acquaintances who met their demise this way.

Sighhhhh :| It makes me think a bit.
One minute we are here....next minute we gone.

4kin4kar

Postby 4kin4kar » June 19th, 2011, 9:47 pm

Seeker wrote:Hmmm....condolences to family though.
I never witnessed a drowning or have any close acquaintances who met their demise this way.

Sighhhhh :| It makes me think a bit.
One minute we are here....next minute we gone.

Yea man that's exactly what I was thinking when it happened. If he had stayed above 15 seconds more he would still be alive.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 19th, 2011, 9:51 pm

yip

Postby Sky » June 19th, 2011, 9:55 pm

There were cases where drowning people kill their saviors and they themselves survived.
If a stranger is drowning, sorry, I can't swim for the day.
If it's a friend or family, I'm goin after you. But you're not gonna get off that easy. when I reach you I'll use my left hand to grab whatever hand you're reaching out to me, then you gonna get the HARDEST RIGHT HAND TO FACE I EVER DEALT OUT. Then I'll deal with the crap i'm in with a limp body. Nobody drowning me, sorry.

RIP to the fallen.

4kin4kar

Postby 4kin4kar » June 19th, 2011, 9:55 pm

uncle sam wrote:yip

Nice... Just checking because I know you could be charged if you are not and you attempt to save someone and they die.

legoRB

Postby legoRB » June 19th, 2011, 11:16 pm

Sky wrote:There were cases where drowning people kill their saviors and they themselves survived.
If it's a friend or family, I'm goin after you. But you're not gonna get off that easy. when I reach you I'll use my left hand to grab whatever hand you're reaching out to me, then you gonna get the HARDEST RIGHT HAND TO FACE I EVER DEALT OUT. Then I'll deal with the crap i'm in with a limp body. Nobody drowning me, sorry.

RIP to the fallen.

Yep....

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » June 19th, 2011, 11:16 pm

Sky wrote:There were cases where drowning people kill their saviors and they themselves survived.

RIP to the fallen.

^^^^^i totally agree

no lie there pioneer....i with you on everything you said...sad but thats the reality

turbohead

Postby turbohead » June 19th, 2011, 11:18 pm

Seeker wrote:
pioneer wrote:I have personally witnessed people verbally abuse and physically threaten lifeguards. People always quick to blame them for everything but they do a very good job in my opinion. Is ignorant, backward and lawless trinis feel the world is theirs to do what they want.

Start listening to the lifeguards people, they know their job.

Well said. I doh bathe when there is no lifeguard on duty. I will dig hole and make sand sex whole day.

fixed..... :lol: :lol:

sry eh ah just had to do eet

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » June 19th, 2011, 11:26 pm

Sierra-117 wrote:everyone b1tching over the person that drowned but no one seems to understand that its a life that ended, @ 17 none the less. Condolences to the family and may the soul of the faithful departed through the mercy of God RIP, amen.

Well said Sierra-117, eternal rest grant unto him o Lord!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 19th, 2011, 11:29 pm

I stop bathing in sea long days now.....too much sand, battling waves, threat of being stung by jellyfish, and then nobody helping me clean car afterwards.....

RIP to the guy though......

Postby Kenjo » June 19th, 2011, 11:34 pm

4kin4kar wrote:
uncle sam wrote:yip

Nice... Just checking because I know you could be charged if you are not and you attempt to save someone and they die.

pioneer wrote:Even if i knew CPR i wasn't trying to save anyone

Why?...cuz if the person dies the relatives gonna hold u responsible.

Even some doctors move that way in public, unless you're in the medical facility they won't help you.

technically once the doctor has private insurance or works with the RHAs there is the good samaritan act that is supposed to protect you.if you mess up real bad well that is another story.Hence in cases of severe trauma you should not really immobilise the persons neck

Postby pete » June 20th, 2011, 7:40 am

^^ Also you only do CPR on someone who is technically already dead. So they can't say you killed them anyway.

Additionally, someone going to rescue someone in the water should always go with something for the person to hold on to, like a cooler cover, a t-shirt, a piece of rope, whatever they can so the person does not hold on to them directly and then use that to pull the person to shore. This will help to make sure that it doesn't end up being two people who drown.

Postby Razkal » June 20th, 2011, 8:02 am

^ditto...i do alot of fishing and surfing etc, every time i go on one of those type outings, i have a length of rope attached to either a body board or blue waters keg..just incase the shitty becomes reality.

also i'm sorry, but i ain't going fishing with anybody who can't swim or enjoys being hammered on the water...tough.

jeromey

Postby jeromey » June 20th, 2011, 9:02 am

d thing is a fella threw a rope for d guy ,but only problem was he thew thew the both ends for him,all that time everybody thought they were joking until he went down for the last time

Postby Kenjo » June 20th, 2011, 9:05 am

jeromey wrote:d thing is a fella threw a rope for d guy ,but only problem was he thew thew the both ends for him,all that time everybody thought they were joking until he went down for the last time

oh y u serious please retract that statement and say that the other end slipped out of the guys hand.....say it aint so