The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Lucian-2nr

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby Lucian-2nr » June 14th, 2011, 11:32 pm

After reviewing the plans there actually not that bad considering the price to purchase the phone.

Plan 3 sounds pretty good to me .... $6000 upfront and you receive the handset "free" and they credit the $6000.00 over 24 months.... so thats $250 to the account so essentially you only paying $250TTD a month for the next 24 months and after that you can get out the contract:

250 Minutes bmobile
250 sms bmobile
unlimited so called 4g
unlimited gprs/edge (when it rolls out)

The average cost of a handset is 4000 - 6000 with minimal warranty.

So its like buying an iphone for 6000 and paying 250 for the post paid services.

well thats how i look at it :|

Postby teems1 » June 14th, 2011, 11:44 pm

I would have preferred if they did it normally like every other phone company in the world.

take plan 1 for example

they want you essentially give them 6599, and 125 for the next 24 months, grand total of 9599.

why couldn't it just be 3599 for the phone, and 250 for the next 24 months, grand total of 9599.

people will argue it's the same amount after 2 years, but imo the one tstt implemented is harder on the customer. to shell out 6599 in 1 go is steep no matter what.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 14th, 2011, 11:45 pm

^ and Lucian-2nr, that's how I am looking at it too

Lucian-2nr wrote:unlimited gprs/edge (when it rolls out)
we DO have GPRS/EDGE right now, it's 3G that we don't have as yet.

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » June 14th, 2011, 11:47 pm

OH Right..... was suppose to put the 3G there :)

I am actually contemplating the offer.. but I prefer Droid :|

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 14th, 2011, 11:49 pm

Found deep inside the iOS 5.0 SDK are graphics for an iPad capable of displaying a 2048 x 1536 resolution on its display. That amount of pixels also happens to be exactly double the amount of pixels on the current iPad (1024 x 768), making said graphics compatible with a future iPad that features an Apple “Retina Display.” These graphics include a “2X” marker within the file name and have been found in Apple iPad file systems before.

Earlier this year, iPad 2X graphics were found in the iBooks application and were immediately assumed to be for the iPad 2, which does not include a Retina display – as exclusively confirmed by 9to5Mac months before the device’s announcement. Those very iPad 2X graphics found in the iBooks application were in fact created months before their public discovery and the graphics were soon dismissed as an Apple graphic designer thinking into the future.

Today, we have iPad 2X graphics found in the Twitter frameworks portion of the iOS 5 SDK. These graphics were quickly dismissed by some as another Apple graphic designer thinking ahead due to rumors, but we think the opposite. See, iOS 5.0 is the first SDK to even support the 3rd generation iPad, as previously revealed, so it would make sense that some iPad 3 strings would be present.

Second, iOS 5 will be the base operating system that the next-generation iPad will support, so it makes sense that we would find iPad 3 graphics in the iOS 5 SDK, not the iOS 4 SDK – in which iPad 2X graphics were previously found. Additionally, the Twitter framework is something only present in 5.0, so next-gen graphics for a planned iPad 3 being found in this portion of the SDK would be no surprise.

As previously mentioned, some are making the case that Apple designers are making iPad Retina graphics with no direction from Apple’s elite managers. Nearly two months prior to the white iPhone 4′s release, iTunes 10.2 housed graphics representing this phone. Some may say that is because the white iPhone 4 was supposed to launch months earlier alongside the black version, but these graphics happened to also display the yet to be revealed – at the time – redesigned proximity sensor.

Due the circumstances in which these new iPad 2X graphics were found, we feel that these icons are not just a coincidence or a designer thinking ahead, but rather a strong indication that the next iPad will feature a 2048 x 1536 Retina Display.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 14th, 2011, 11:52 pm

ok. just spoke to someone who bought one at bmobile today..

he got package 3,
paid 6000 for the iphone 4G 16gb
and IS paying $500 a month... NOT half

he says the lower packages are the same

so what bmobile is saying, you should be paying $500 a month for package 1, but your 3000 deposit, is paying half, so lucky us would only pay 250 a month ;)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 14th, 2011, 11:53 pm

ipad 3 Retina would be higher than the definition of a HDTV at 1920x1080

Postby S_2NR » June 14th, 2011, 11:54 pm

who ever u spoke to that bought that from bmobile needs to learn common sense.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 15th, 2011, 12:01 am

lol, as soon as i saw he posted he went into bmobile westmall on facebook, i know he buy one :lol:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 15th, 2011, 12:14 am

So what's the general consensus about the iPhone 4 on bmobile launch? I'm curious if the phones are locked to bmobile & if so, if the Caller ID fix would be necessary or not.

phreak

Postby phreak » June 15th, 2011, 12:19 am

Bezman wrote:ok. just spoke to someone who bought one at bmobile today..

he got package 3,

so what bmobile is saying, you should be paying $500 a month for package 1, but your 3000 deposit, is paying half, so lucky us would only pay 250 a month ;)

sorry eh.. but that is real balls..

those prices really crazy.. and according to this http://blog.triniberry.com/2011/04/bmobile-launches-4g-my-hotspot-introduces-tt-to-portable-wifi-hotspots/ they talking about a conversion from 4g to wifi to access the internet.. which means another "item" to walk around with to get data access.. sometimes i would forget my car keys if i didn't need it to leave the house.. much less another device..

they great yes..

Postby S_2NR » June 15th, 2011, 12:24 am

Bezman wrote:lol, as soon as i saw he posted he went into bmobile westmall on facebook, i know he buy one :lol:

rich or not..this person is dumb.

a fool and his money are quickly parted! :|

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » June 15th, 2011, 12:25 am

he got package 3,

:| :?

phreak

Postby phreak » June 15th, 2011, 12:31 am

Parvin wrote:Well for now we just have to cut a regular sim.

Will stick to 4.2.1 with the regular gevey until mojosodope decide to sell the gevey pro :P

btw ... I find the battery life to be excellent on this. Charged it last night, ran through it today playing Hero Of Sparta 2 for about an hour, used Zilla for about 4 half hour drives, mail set to sync every 30 minutes, sent about 4 emails, used wifi for about 15 minutes, browsed tuner on safari with regular data plan, restarted it about 3 times trying to sort out the 'bell icon' issue ... now down to 52%

but why you have to run 4.2.1 with the gevey.. i got a gevey working on 4.3.3 with 04.10.01.. with no worries..

Postby M_2NR » June 15th, 2011, 2:56 am

Thanks Duane. I saw your post but there is A LOT of confusion. I not obeying my own rules :oops:

pios... that is true! A piper was walking by bhagwansingh up your side and turn around... guess what he was talking into :lol:

What we all STILL not factoring in is although you are signing a contract with EDGE 250MB/what have you, the contract includes the 4G hotspot device. Remember how much that costs outside...

For someone who wants that 4G hotspot device like shaq was getting wet for in the 4G thread. it can work out to their benefit once they have the capital to spend.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 15th, 2011, 2:58 am

phreak wrote:
Parvin wrote:Well for now we just have to cut a regular sim.

Will stick to 4.2.1 with the regular gevey until mojosodope decide to sell the gevey pro :P

btw ... I find the battery life to be excellent on this. Charged it last night, ran through it today playing Hero Of Sparta 2 for about an hour, used Zilla for about 4 half hour drives, mail set to sync every 30 minutes, sent about 4 emails, used wifi for about 15 minutes, browsed tuner on safari with regular data plan, restarted it about 3 times trying to sort out the 'bell icon' issue ... now down to 52%

but why you have to run 4.2.1 with the gevey.. i got a gevey working on 4.3.3 with 04.10.01.. with no worries..

When i installed a custom 4.3.3, I preserved the 02.10.04 baseband and I always got only 1 signal bar no matter what. So I stuck to the 4.2.1. I read comments where the regular gevey works but many complained their devices kept losing service entirely and for some it didn't work at all.

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 15th, 2011, 5:09 am

spoke to a director at Digicel over the weekend. They have no plans to sell in iphone in the near future. They said business people prefer blackberry for their business plans and it's working for them.

Sully

Postby Sully » June 15th, 2011, 6:33 am

Anyone know if the iphones are locked to the bmobile network?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 15th, 2011, 7:07 am

M_2NR wrote:OK so are we getting 3G in Trinidad for Voice plans or not? I really think we should keep that discussion in the next 3G thread though no?

mojosodope wrote:Don't get your hopes up on the image they used with the 3G symbol, it's just a generic one, they didn't even put the bmobile next to it.

M_2NR wrote:yuh taking things to seriously bro. It was for kix i pointed that out.

I know you were kidding but I was just making sure that anyone else who saw it would know so they wouldn't have to ask, should have made that more clear my bad.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » June 15th, 2011, 7:10 am

M_2NR wrote:Thanks Duane. I saw your post but there is A LOT of confusion. I not obeying my own rules :oops:

pios... that is true! A piper was walking by bhagwansingh up your side and turn around... guess what he was talking into :lol:

What we all STILL not factoring in is although you are signing a contract with EDGE 250MB/what have you, the contract includes the 4G hotspot device. Remember how much that costs outside...

For someone who wants that 4G hotspot device like shaq was getting wet for in the 4G thread. it can work out to their benefit once they have the capital to spend.

so yuh hadda make meh out so boi lol.....and i totally agree with you, but then u have to thing about it this way, what if i live in a area that doesnt have 4g reception? or most of my to go places dont have 4g..remember that this device cant fall back on 3g, so would i just have to suffer with 250MB of edge?

and even tho...it really working out cheaper with bmobile but it just kinda hard to dish out 6000+ just so and then hadda pay 250 : 500 for the first year on top of that....

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 15th, 2011, 7:14 am

This would have been so much easier if their 3G network was operational now. They wouldn't have had to bundled it with the hotspot, they wouldn't have needed to develop three standalone plans for iphones only, and they would have simply appealed to more customers, especially the massive amounts of us that have iphones already because we would have just more than likely purchased the iphone data plan and call that george. We would be content with our 3G service and if they want to charge a lil for the hotspot feature I cool with that too because I know it kills bandwidth but this entire launch was poorly planned, my 2 cents. Like I told the bmobile rep yesterday, what sense does it make me carrying around a hotspot in my damn pocket when my phone can do that and much more.

Postby teems1 » June 15th, 2011, 8:13 am

he got package 3,

what?!?!

so initial 6000 deposit + (24 * 500)
= 6000 + 12000
= 18000!

so on month 25, his bill on plan 3 will be 1000?!?!?

TSTT tripping balls on this one, ridiculous pricing all around...

napster

Postby napster » June 15th, 2011, 8:30 am

yup..... das so true.. in not gonna be paying 6000 for and iphone 4 16gb das crazyness... and the phone price still lower online ...... and they wanna sell a phone that com out a year ago with the prices that cost alot more then ... in other words TSTT... failure.... and they dont even got 3g network to surpport it.. only their riddiculous edge... and nobody wants a my hotspot thing to have a extra device in thier pocket to carry around 4g wirless.. das so not cool..

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » June 15th, 2011, 8:36 am

No people...
U pay the initial deposit 6000 then u pay 500 a month for the first year...then tecnically u pay 500 a month afterwards but its taken from ur deposit which will run u for the last 12 months of ur service

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 15th, 2011, 8:42 am

i dont want any hot spot sheit, as i tell duane last night, I want the new phone, my old data plan (edge) and here is why:

1) I home/in office all day, i have wifi, when i leave here, i only need simple updates that edge handles well
2) I pay very very little as is a month (sometimes as little as $200 a month for data and voice.txt)
3) i would never carry around one more cancer causing device in my pocket

I just wan the device, and a sim card, we should have been given more choices, but still they would have been overpriced..

Postby M_2NR » June 15th, 2011, 11:21 am

shaq090 wrote:
so yuh hadda make meh out so boi lol.....and i totally agree with you, but then u have to thing about it this way, what if i live in a area that doesnt have 4g reception? or most of my to go places dont have 4g..remember that this device cant fall back on 3g, so would i just have to suffer with 250MB of edge?

and even tho...it really working out cheaper with bmobile but it just kinda hard to dish out 6000+ just so and then hadda pay 250 : 500 for the first year on top of that....

muss make yuh out. All this time yuh want the ting, now u getting a chance to get it and yuh vex :|

as i said..
M_2NR wrote:it can work out to their benefit once they have the capital to spend.

Bezman wrote:i dont want any hot spot sheit, as i tell duane last night, I want the new phone, my old data plan (edge) and here is why:

1) I home/in office all day, i have wifi, when i leave here, i only need simple updates that edge handles well
2) I pay very very little as is a month (sometimes as little as $200 a month for data and voice.txt)

I just wan the device, and a sim card, we should have been given more choices, but still they would have been overpriced..

this!

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » June 15th, 2011, 11:26 am

M_2NR wrote:
shaq090 wrote:

muss make yuh out. All this time yuh want the ting, now u getting a chance to get it and yuh vex :|

as i said..
M_2NR wrote:it can work out to their benefit once they have the capital to spend.

Bezman wrote:i dont want any hot spot sheit, as i tell duane last night, I want the new phone, my old data plan (edge) and here is why:

this!

yea its aq good deal but 6000 is kinda high to dish out,,,,and make it worst if it hit rell dead spots..and even worst if they bring out 3g cheap or digi have betta options next 3 months

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 15th, 2011, 11:39 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:spoke to a director at Digicel over the weekend. They have no plans to sell in iphone in the near future. They said business people prefer blackberry for their business plans and it's working for them.

What about 3G, do they have plans of upgrading??

napster

Postby napster » June 15th, 2011, 12:26 pm

What about 3G, do they have plans of upgrading??... seriously das all we need to know aND WEN IT COMING OUT

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 15th, 2011, 3:00 pm

SRASC wrote:So what's the general consensus about the iPhone 4 on bmobile launch? I'm curious if the phones are locked to bmobile & if so, if the Caller ID fix would be necessary or not.

Well judging from the posts the consensus seems to be Image-itis