PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

SPRANG_A

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby SPRANG_A » May 31st, 2011, 11:25 am

have you double checked your RAM?
either that or the caps on the board going...

i got that problem already.. was the Board startin to give out

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 31st, 2011, 12:14 pm

Here's something I found the other day while browsing Parts Express,

http://www.parts-express.com/wizards/se ... er&x=0&y=0

basically a solid state heat pump, looks like a good alternative to water cooling a CPU/GPU

the only drawbacks from what I read so far is that based on atmospheric conditions condensation can occur<<<biggest problem I see (temps get below freezing :shock: )

and on the hot side, heat is constantly being produced even if it's not connected to the CPU/GPU so the heatsink will have to be able to support the extra 25.7/51.4W PLUS the heat taken away from the CPU/GPU<<<shouldn't be a big problem for a decent aftermarket heatsink

--------------------
also what is a normal temp for a CPU/GPU in a room without AC and no overclocking?

Postby M_2NR » May 31st, 2011, 2:16 pm

There is no general set temp. for all the devices but i normally try to keep em idle as close to the room temp as possible because its generally hot in Trinidad. Around 30-40 C is nice.
Under load i see around 50C for CPU (max) and GPU peaks at 64C.

(E8400 w/ Zalman and a 1GB 46oGTX EE)

Virus

Postby Virus » May 31st, 2011, 2:48 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:Here's something I found the other day while browsing Parts Express,

http://www.parts-express.com/wizards/se ... er&x=0&y=0

basically a solid state heat pump, looks like a good alternative to water cooling a CPU/GPU

the only drawbacks from what I read so far is that based on atmospheric conditions condensation can occur<<<biggest problem I see (temps get below freezing :shock: )

and on the hot side, heat is constantly being produced even if it's not connected to the CPU/GPU so the heatsink will have to be able to support the extra 25.7/51.4W PLUS the heat taken away from the CPU/GPU<<<shouldn't be a big problem for a decent aftermarket heatsink

--------------------
also what is a normal temp for a CPU/GPU in a room without AC and no overclocking?

Pros and Cons of Thermoelectric Cooling
Pros:

* You can get below ambient temperature. This is not possible with water cooling.
* Less expensive and more compact than other types of extreme CPU cooling.
* More reliable as there are no moving parts.

Cons:

* High power usage.
* If the cooling element of the Peltier fails, you can kill your CPU, as it will continue to heat up even after shutdown of the computer.
* Condensation: with temperatures dropping below ambient, condensation can form on the CPU - not a good thing.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 31st, 2011, 3:21 pm

Chiney wrote:sounds like the capacitors on your board starting to fail under cpu voltage regulation

** looks over at board and remembers to change capacitors for office pc **

SPRANG_A wrote:have you double checked your RAM?
either that or the caps on the board going...

i got that problem already.. was the Board startin to give out

Double checked RAM everything...even tried another module...still the same problem.

Carried the PC by a IT specialist this morning for a diagnostic....he says my files could be corrupted and i may have to reinstall windows....

Wanna make sure from you guys if it's really the board before i do this and loose all my data. Also if what he says is true :(....will i still be able to back up all my stuff?

Starting to consider one of these now

http://www.amazon.com/Western-Digital-Passport-Essential-Portable/dp/B0041OSQ9S/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1306869421&sr=1-2

Postby bushwakka » May 31st, 2011, 4:26 pm

^^i highly doubt.....if u say u tried different boot drives and its the same problem.....then its got to be ur hardware, mobo most likely...chalk an cheese

South Man

Postby South Man » May 31st, 2011, 5:37 pm

Anyone having problems shopping on new egg recently?? When I spoke the Customer Service Representative,they said they don't accept international credit cards.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 31st, 2011, 5:49 pm

^ they gone back with that? - i bought stuff from them in April with my Scotiabank credit card - got it delivered overnight too

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » May 31st, 2011, 5:49 pm

j/k couldn't help it, the best boot drive :-

speedfreak99

Postby speedfreak99 » May 31st, 2011, 10:12 pm

M_2NR wrote:For the 3D i believe that you may need to see if the monitor has 3D on the HDMI port. I remember it was only recently that monitors only had 3D on the DVI port and there was some big press release that it was now on HDMI as well.

Hmmm thanks...didnt know of that development, i will keep an eye out for these new monitors.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » June 1st, 2011, 6:21 pm

Deus Ex-Human Revolution Beta Leaked,played it for a bit,it has music from the original Deus Ex,well Unatco headquarters at least so far,it gave me goosebumps hearing that soundtrack again.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » June 1st, 2011, 6:29 pm

Postby shogun » June 1st, 2011, 7:34 pm

M_2NR wrote:hoss.. this may not solve it... but CLEAN YUH MC PC

:lol: Ent?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » June 1st, 2011, 8:15 pm

lol steupzzz.... i hadda do over da PC again....probably for the 100th time lol

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 1st, 2011, 8:43 pm

I want to upgrade my GPU, the CoolerMaster PSU calc adds up everything to 357W and they recommend a 390W or 350W eXtreme power plus CoolerMaster PSU

I currently have the 500W eXtreme power plus BUT it's 70% efficient which means 350W useable power output...so do I have to upgrade my PSU also? Or coolermaster knows what's best and I don't need to change it.

really dont wanna risk underpowering anything

HCCA

Postby HCCA » June 1st, 2011, 9:35 pm

^What kinda gpu?

South Man

Postby South Man » June 1st, 2011, 9:47 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ they gone back with that? - i bought stuff from them in April with my Scotiabank credit card - got it delivered overnight too

And the GTX 460 was on sale you know... Now it's out of stock :(

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 1st, 2011, 9:52 pm

HCCA wrote:^What kinda gpu?

GTX 260

_----------_---------__-------

HELPS!!!

now checked my -12V rail voltage
It hovers at -7

Used speedfan and speccy to check it, same result,,, Inaccurate program or failing PSU?

I checked the BIOS, couldn't find the -12V to check, just had 12,5,3.3 and the CPU voltage

SPRANG_A

Postby SPRANG_A » June 1st, 2011, 10:54 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:
HCCA wrote:^What kinda gpu?

GTX 260

_----------_---------__-------

HELPS!!!

now checked my -12V rail voltage
It hovers at -7

Used speedfan and speccy to check it, same result,,, Inaccurate program or failing PSU?

I checked the BIOS, couldn't find the -12V to check, just had 12,5,3.3 and the CPU voltage

you no have multimeter?

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 1st, 2011, 11:14 pm

yea but it buried under the junk under my stairs outside plus it need a battery

ah go see if ah cud borrow a PSU tester tmr... but does anyone experience this with Speedfan or Speccy?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » June 2nd, 2011, 5:12 am

If your psu is the one with the dual 18A rails and two 6 pin pcie plugs then the card should run fine.

Has one running on a cheap 550w logisys power supply and had no issues.

If your psu giving out such a low voltage then it may be that it going through, however i use the bios to check voltages on the psu really. Motherboard monitor is a good program to use also.

Postby M_2NR » June 2nd, 2011, 12:08 pm

is there like a newer program to use beside that and HWMonitor.

I've notice no program properly gives me readings on the Atom setup i have :(

Everest is probably the only one that gives some. I think I hadda look for the latest version everest yes

besflickredo

Postby besflickredo » June 2nd, 2011, 1:29 pm

question:can setting up raid 0 give u equivalent speeds like a SSD

having second thoughts about purchasing a SSD

any bad reviews?

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » June 2nd, 2011, 1:47 pm

HCCA wrote:If your psu is the one with the dual 18A rails and two 6 pin pcie plugs then the card should run fine.

Has one running on a cheap 550w logisys power supply and had no issues.

If your psu giving out such a low voltage then it may be that it going through, however i use the bios to check voltages on the psu really. Motherboard monitor is a good program to use also.

Love that program ... I believe its no longer supported... not sure if it will work on newer mobos

Postby Ronaldo95163 » June 2nd, 2011, 7:15 pm

Got back my PC today...HDD had to be formatted once again :( Woopeee.....:evil: Lost all my games n stuff....trying to recover the data with a third party program right now hoping to get something out of it....so far im only getting a bunch of old files from 2005 :(

HCCA

Postby HCCA » June 2nd, 2011, 7:20 pm

gracen wrote:Got back my PC today...HDD had to be formatted once again :( Woopeee.....:evil: Lost all my games n stuff....trying to recover the data with a third party program right now hoping to get something out of it....so far im only getting a bunch of old files from 2005 :(

Invest in ah external hdd. 1/2 TB hdd cheap and an enclosure cheap as well.

However if i had ur problem i woulda chuck the hdd in my enclosure and copy off my important files and then reformat/reinstall.

Long time i eh get ah BSOD nah, only from insane overclocking :lol:

Postby Ronaldo95163 » June 2nd, 2011, 7:35 pm

Steups i rel fedup of dis PC yes..... always reinstalling windows..can't wait for the new build to be finished so i wont have to worry about using this...this... :evil:

I lost COD :( - (All of them! :()
NFS SHift :(
Crysis Warhead :(

Im gonna take your advice and invest in an external HDD and copy all the files over to it and Overwrite the data every month.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » June 2nd, 2011, 7:51 pm

Zalman's new cpu cooler

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 2nd, 2011, 8:08 pm

besflickredo wrote:question:can setting up raid 0 give u equivalent speeds like a SSD

having second thoughts about purchasing a SSD

any bad reviews?
My Friend it all depends on which SSD you are using, earlier this year i test the following.

WD 1 TB Black SATA3 6G X 2 Raid 0 Vs 1 Intel SSD

Windows 7 Score WD---5.9 Intel SSD----7.8

Transfer WD 111MB/s Intel SSD 196MB/s
Hope that helps you.

Postby M_2NR » June 2nd, 2011, 8:11 pm

fouljuice wrote:Image

Zalman's new cpu cooler

oh dear God... sexy but that will be a pain in the ass to clean... >_>