3ne2nr fishermen

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby meccalli » May 12th, 2011, 9:32 pm

Yup, its a parasite cycle thing thats why you mainly see it occurring at certain times of the year. once they get infected , the parasite/ roundworm gets it metacercarial cysts into the flesh that eventually infect other organisms that eat it or hatch into adults and exit the fish. A lot of fish are affected by parasites but we mainly see it active in mullet and jacks..one reason i cut off sushi ..after i did animal diversity with flukes and trematodes..you learn that even unwashed lettuce has eggs waiting to hatch in you.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 13th, 2011, 2:36 am

meccalli, always knew mullet had but didnt really know about d jacks...u know wat period in the year dey does have the parasite?

Trini_Reddz

Postby Trini_Reddz » May 13th, 2011, 3:59 am

Tobago:

685 7234, Cocomotion

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 13th, 2011, 5:06 am

Trini_Reddz, yuh hav ah price dey does charge? wat dey does do trolling or bankin?

Postby meccalli » May 13th, 2011, 7:03 am

ryan , i'm not sure when teh adults are present and you actually see the worms in teh flesh, my dad said he's seen them around this time early in the year but the fact remains the eggs or other stage can be present in the fish so just remember to cook well- i love mullet as much as a tarpon does lol.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 13th, 2011, 7:55 am

nah, i never eat mullet and i will never eat it...i jus doh like it...lol

Postby Razkal » May 13th, 2011, 9:29 am

ryan99tt wrote:Razkal, kool...i already book ah charter for next weekend so i guh see wat goin on wit dat...d fella say we heading out for the wahoo dem...well wen yuh ready we cud organise ah trip too...

nice! i like this scientific approach to the wahoo fishing...two men, two charters same weekend, same target species....best of luck bro!
i hope both or atleast one of us hooks up some speed demons :D

if its this weekend you're fishing 'bago then i think you win already :lol:

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » May 13th, 2011, 10:31 am

^ Tobago full of Cavali close to the shore these days. Trying to make some time to head out this weekend.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » May 13th, 2011, 11:08 am

meccalli wrote:ryan , i'm not sure when teh adults are present and you actually see the worms in teh flesh, my dad said he's seen them around this time early in the year but the fact remains the eggs or other stage can be present in the fish so just remember to cook well- i love mullet as much as a tarpon does lol.

Suppose to be mostly in dry season the fishes has worms, also guabine (fresh water) has it. Some u can see,,some u cant,so cook it good

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » May 13th, 2011, 11:09 am

saw on the papers today

400 lb grouper caught off macqueripe,,,that thing huge!!!!!!!!

Trini_Reddz

Postby Trini_Reddz » May 13th, 2011, 11:14 am

ryan99tt wrote:Trini_Reddz, yuh hav ah price dey does charge? wat dey does do trolling or bankin?

Trolling and banking. PADI certification and dive trips too. Price I guess will depend on what you want to do and for how long.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 13th, 2011, 3:29 pm

33 hertz, which areas dey biting on your side? u ever tried the lagoon down by no mans land?

Trini_Reddz, nice, will give them a call and check out the rates...

Rahtid, from shore?

Razkal, nah, dis weekend is north coast but i goin tobago soon...

EXAMS FINISH PPL....LET THE FISHING COMMENCE!!!

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » May 13th, 2011, 3:39 pm

Yup the lagoon is one of the better spots for snapper and barracuda, there is cavali down by the airport and in lambeau

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 13th, 2011, 3:46 pm

wat yuh holdin dem wit? plastics?

Postby Razkal » May 13th, 2011, 3:52 pm

33 hertz wrote:Yup the lagoon is one of the better spots for snapper and barracuda, there is cavali down by the airport and in lambeau

curse you troy!!!! :x :x

action kinda slow here unless you're on a boat... :(

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 13th, 2011, 4:07 pm

Razkal, yuh ever went on d table? i hear it have action down dat side...wen yuh ready to make ah spin, check me...i guh carry yuh...yuh does hold some monsters out dey...

07baracuda

Postby 07baracuda » May 13th, 2011, 9:53 pm

Thanks for info fellas,
But i just want to share something with you all concerning the worm thing,this happend to me twice the first time i took a bite of curried cavali the tail piece and i felt something stuck between my front teeth so i took it out only to realize it was a worm the thing was about the size of maybe a 10lb line red like those ground worms and about 6-7",stopped eating that fish for years but the same thing again last week.cut ah piece of the flesh of the tail only to see this thing in my plate ah throw away all i don`t think i will ever eat that fish again.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » May 13th, 2011, 10:26 pm

A lot of fish have parasites at various times of the year including the popular species such as kingfish and carite. Worms are sometimes found in the intestines or in the flesh if observed carefully. Some have these in the head of the fish as well.
I have caught numerous cavali with parasites in their throat as seen in the pic...

Postby meccalli » May 13th, 2011, 10:45 pm

Yeah baracuda, liek i said.. pretty much all fish have em just like almost all organisms have em lol..including us. Thats fairly common finding them in the tail, it happens alot in larger crevalle. You generally find them where access to the blood is easy such as gills or along the artery in teh tail.
Kwl pic sabot :D That is an excellent picture of Cymothoa exigua - its liek a louse that attaches to the fish's tongue and atrophies it causing it to fall off LOL..guess what? the fish actually uses the parasite as it would its normal tongue..fun huh
crevalle isn't good eating anyway..trash fish if you ask me. Hella fun to catch tho.
Last edited by meccalli on May 13th, 2011, 10:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » May 13th, 2011, 10:51 pm

mullet famous for worms, right behind the head

07baracuda

Postby 07baracuda » May 13th, 2011, 11:19 pm

Sabot,
That look`s disgusting i don`t think i will be eating fish for ah long time.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » May 14th, 2011, 10:42 am

07baracuda wrote:Sabot,
That look`s disgusting i don`t think i will be eating fish for ah long time.

I don't eat cavali for that reason . Excellent for sport though.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » May 14th, 2011, 10:47 am

ditto.. i stay away from cavali...

Sabot

Postby Sabot » May 14th, 2011, 4:10 pm

Anyone went out on the gulf today? Want to head out tomorrow but the ppl who are going with me cant take rough water and I find the wind is a little high today How was the water in the gulf today if anyone knows?

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » May 14th, 2011, 4:38 pm

Razkal wrote:i know the $500US a half-day charter, well one just like that anyway, imo, just too expensive...

i can'y justify $3K for a half day fishing trip...i rather buy a new trolling rod and have something tangible.....unless there's a 100% guarantee the money won't be wasted and i'll have a boat full of wahoo :lol:

Understood, but I talking about a 42' catamaran, you moving with a squad of 10 easy easy, so really just $300 a man, IMO not bad at all.

Ryan, I know I sticking, but I lose the man # - looks like yuh got through with someone though - if you want the # still, pm me

Smeed

Postby Smeed » May 14th, 2011, 9:06 pm

hey dudes.......anyone for la fouray tomorrow??

was in tobago last weekend....had some decent enough action rite from the jetty at the hotel. caught some wrasse, 2 cavali, hooked 1 small tarpon but didn't land it, some ancho and eels and a couple snapper-looking fish. we stayed at sandy point and i fished a coupla mornings form 5:30 till bout 8 am.

generated the most action with de kastmasters....managed to lose 3!! cut ballyhoo and flying fish also got good play. took both cavali on gulp softbaits though.

alos saw lotsa bait balled upand blitzing off fort milford and at the end of the runway, but i didn't have company....so i played it safe and stuck wid de family

wha is de plan for tomorrow??

i gotta restock on some tackle too. lost a lot of line on 3 of meh reels....had to cut when dey stick....de spools looking real skinny now!!

Postby meccalli » May 14th, 2011, 10:10 pm

Smeed , split rings are your friends, i implement them for that reason, if im using 50 lb line i'll probably attach 30lb rings specially for lures. That way i dont have to lose line or LURE! The ring pulls apart and i'm left with my money :D(x rap lol)
I would reall liek to go la fouray..... but i'll have to organise wit one of allyuh fellas to pick me up a day lol since i don't even drive yet.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 15th, 2011, 1:52 am

well d gulf was calm today, no kinda rough waters...finally collect meh penn battle, cant wait to test it out...well we went out today, got some tarpon action but small fellaz....i wudda let dem go but d rest of fellaz really wated to keep dem...will post sum pics up tomorow...

Postby X_Factor » May 15th, 2011, 6:44 am

my cuz n them went up shark river yesterday, they brought back about 12 crocro ranging between 2-2.5lbs each and a couple small salmon

bait was shrimp and herring....they said the water was a bit rough with some decent under current

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 15th, 2011, 2:11 pm

well here are the pics...they were taken at Agustus long since one of the crew had ah accident which required 6 stitches...

NEW TACKLE

this was the catch of yesterday...as i said, i wudda release dem but d guys saud dey really wanted dem...

and this one was wat was caught 2 weekends nack on the north coast...