Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby UML » May 10th, 2011, 10:10 pm

hollow section shud work....properly braced that is.

Postby sharkman121 » May 10th, 2011, 10:13 pm

ryan99tt wrote:sharkman, wat kinda goby is dat? meh lil bro wanted one of those ah wile now and i never see dem...how much yuh pay for it?

sandsifter goby from raj..

about $300

eternal audio

Postby eternal audio » May 10th, 2011, 10:38 pm

I check d link but I wondering if it wud rust cuz I have a cycled tank already on metal stand n it rusting

Postby sharkman121 » May 10th, 2011, 10:45 pm

right so what u must do....MUST DO is paint the stand with an anti rust coating. This is very important. Use a heavy duty thick one, u can get at bhagwansingh etc. Rustoleum usually does the trick.

I have yet to take my own advice

eternal audio

Postby eternal audio » May 10th, 2011, 10:52 pm

I thinkin bout using redoxide then pairing it with the liner bed paint and then using fiberglass resin and then a final coat of paint what u think??

Postby sharkman121 » May 10th, 2011, 10:56 pm

i think anything after the bedliner is overkill, but hell..if itll make u sleep better at night..lol

eternal audio

Postby eternal audio » May 10th, 2011, 11:02 pm

The saltwater would take real real long to penetrate the resin

Postby sharkman121 » May 10th, 2011, 11:10 pm

all i have on mine right now is red oxide, i really need to put something stronger over that.

But saltwater wont penetrate the bedliner anyway..resin or no resin. It wont hurt to do it still though.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 10th, 2011, 11:45 pm

u shud put on ah few coats of anti corrosive...i recently built 2 stands, ha 8ft and ah 5ft...sharkman, u ent tell me bout d goby...

Postby sharkman121 » May 10th, 2011, 11:46 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
ryan99tt wrote:sharkman, wat kinda goby is dat? meh lil bro wanted one of those ah wile now and i never see dem...how much yuh pay for it?

about $300

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » May 11th, 2011, 1:51 am

Remember salt spray is highy corrosive and will start the corrosion cycle in a short space and time. Preparation of the Steel surface is the key to the longevity of the coating. You can put the best product on the market on a steel surface that was not prepared properly and it will still rust. Could be days, wks or even mths. Whereas you can buy the cheapest and shittiest paint and have it applied on a properly cleaned/ prepared surface and last over 10 years. You have to prepare the steel so that the paint adheres properly and stays on. The best thing to do is have the steel sandblasted and apply a zinc primer (or even the red oxide will do). What the sandblasting does is gives the steel a profile thus increasing the suface area for the paint to hold onto. It also removes any foreign matter like rust and something called millscale (which is some black scale that remains on the steel after forging and starts your corrosion cell by acting as the cathode) Then you need to apply a rubber or epoxy coating to protect the primer. And dont think putting it on thick means its better ......................... it does not, actually it does more harm than good cause the coating does not get the chance to flex or move thus causing it to crack and then you back to square one. There are multiple contractors out there that can do the sandblasting and coating, using industrial marine coatings for a couple hundred dollars. This i what is used for the offshore platforms with great results. In some cases, if done properly in excess of 10years with signs of minimaL corrosion...................... I COULD GO ON AND ON AND ON BUT PUT PLAIN AND SIMPLE?SALT AND STEEL AINT FRIENDS....................

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 11th, 2011, 3:57 am

yea red oxide i was talkin about...lol

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » May 11th, 2011, 11:30 pm

sharkman121 wrote:

about $300

i aint go lie, it does have yuh sand reeeeeaaaallllll clean.
but if yuh have coral and mushrooms low down, it does scatter de sand on them real plenty. mine started to throw to much sand on my green hairy mushrooms.... some end up dying cause of the sand. had to move everything to higher ground.............the drawback now is that they getting to much light

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » May 12th, 2011, 7:17 pm

sharkman121 wrote:this is mine, got it from melevsreef.com for $169 + shipping came up to about $2100 roughly with shipping and taxes.
Its a 5 stage 100gpd

does this system come with the pump and everything? So for that price i getting a 5 stage with DI and meter?

Postby sharkman121 » May 12th, 2011, 8:05 pm

no pump, u dont need a pump..

no di meter with this one either although with some systems like those at bulkreefsupply u can get the tds meter included for additional.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 12th, 2011, 8:14 pm

sharkman, wit d RODI water, u see ah decrease in cyno? i know i see in sum of yuh older pics u had sum problems wit dat...

Postby sharkman121 » May 12th, 2011, 8:18 pm

definitely, before i was using blue waters, but that is only reverse osmosis and not the deionized part which removes all of the dissolved solids from the water which fuel the growth of cyno.

Postby sharkman121 » May 12th, 2011, 8:19 pm

that plus i added some more circulation via koralia pumps

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » May 12th, 2011, 8:32 pm

sharkman121 wrote:no pump, u dont need a pump..

no di meter with this one either although with some systems like those at bulkreefsupply u can get the tds meter included for additional.

Why you dont need a pump...... your normal house pump just going to make it take longer to make the required amount of water?.......... so what you going to do with the creep isues.

Postby sharkman121 » May 12th, 2011, 8:38 pm

why would u need a pump? U connect the hose to yr tap, fill the 50gal container overnight or overnight and the next day according to the water pressure and presto u have fresh rodi water for whenever u need to do yr water changes or top offs or watever.

Is not like u making it to use now for now, actually it is recommended that rodi water is made using pipe pressure rather than a pump that way the filter get chance to properly filter the water and not miss any particles as opposed to pump water which races through the filters and may miss getting the full surface area of all the water the properly filter.

Like i say jus buy a couple of big bins and have it there when u ready. I hardly ever turn on my rodi unit anymore unless my reserves are running low.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » May 12th, 2011, 8:44 pm

ok..........................??? did you read up on creep?

Postby sharkman121 » May 12th, 2011, 8:48 pm

wat creep? salt creep in the tank?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 12th, 2011, 10:32 pm

sharkman121, which koralia u have? how much yuh pay for it? i read that for a RODI unit to perform properly u need the water to be passing throught the unit with pressure and that plenty people are wrong in saying that the slower it passes throught, the better...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 12th, 2011, 10:36 pm

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » May 12th, 2011, 10:44 pm

ryan99tt wrote:sharkman121, which koralia u have? how much yuh pay for it? i read that for a RODI unit to perform properly u need the water to be passing throught the unit with pressure and that plenty people are wrong in saying that the slower it passes throught, the better...

THATS ONE OF THE REASONS I ASKED ABOUT THE PUMP

Postby sharkman121 » May 12th, 2011, 10:54 pm

point taken with regard to the water pressure, should be above 50psi.

i use the koralia 3's and 4's, about 30-40 US on amazon but i personally shop @ petstore.com because i they match amazons prices and i get better deals on shipping...amazon makes a killling on shipping.

Postby meccalli » May 12th, 2011, 11:26 pm

Guys no mean to interrupt here, but does anyone know if WASA treats our water with chlorine or chloramine. I emailed them for the longest while and havent got a reply, i usually use a dechlorinator but it would be needless expense if i could just wait 48 hours for my water changes.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 12th, 2011, 11:41 pm

what light fixtures ulyuh runnin? sharkman? honda?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 12th, 2011, 11:42 pm

meccalli, dont really know about that but just to be safe u shud use atap water conditioner...or invest in a RODI unit...LOL

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » May 13th, 2011, 12:04 am

i see raj have them for 350 for the 4. a guy was there today and bought one.