Slight Survey. Fine Dining for Families (pre teen children)

Postby Monk BANzai » April 28th, 2011, 7:10 pm

Doing a small survey here for a possible restaurant chain that may want to set up operations here....again...no polls.....just give me a sense of where you would take your family for a nice dinner. The Avenue is chocked up with Sport-Bars et al...but on the other hand places like Battimanzel, Cobletz Inn, and others have basically run its life span of 5 yrs and are dying to the pressure of the "soho" type sport bars and restaurants on the western Peninsula..... Are there any "Olive Garden" type restaurants that escape the naked eye but are good fro a family with pre-teenagers can go and enjoy fine dining? Budget is not an option in this survey, but location is key.

Re: Slight Survey. Fine Dining for Families (pre teen childr

Postby Ignorant Ignis » April 28th, 2011, 7:57 pm

good topic ............

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » April 28th, 2011, 8:10 pm

So far.. My kids being 9 and 7 really like Ruby Tuesday, TGI Fridays and Woodford Cafe (when there's no big lime and fete, like Sundays). Seems to work so far.

Postby DFC » April 28th, 2011, 8:15 pm

Prive has family dining on sundays. Buffet style too.

I have never been to it, but I always see the banner.

Rassyroots

Postby Rassyroots » April 28th, 2011, 8:27 pm

Il Colosseo and Angelo's are really nice. I always see families when I go and its not too fancy for kids who may get restless.

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » April 28th, 2011, 8:37 pm

zanzibar chag. has a nice setting
also muscovado trincity

Postby Monk BANzai » April 28th, 2011, 10:07 pm

Rassyroots wrote:Il Colosseo and Angelo's are really nice. I always see families when I go and its not too fancy for kids who may get restless.

Do these places mix up their weekly menu? i remember that Colosseo's had a strict "tuesdays is fish and bread" day.....was too predictable..has that changed?

Postby cinco » April 29th, 2011, 7:19 am

hai gaiz

Postby eliteauto » April 29th, 2011, 7:37 am

Joseph's, Muscovado

Postby crazybalhead » April 29th, 2011, 7:38 am

Ignorant Ignis wrote:good topic ............

Congrats fadda!!! I didn't know you had one on de way!

Postby SmokeyGTi » April 29th, 2011, 7:50 am

i cyah afford them ting... ah 8 piece kfc special an i orn..

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 29th, 2011, 9:35 am

Mankind doh eat out anymore because of 2 reasons, service and value. There is no place in TT where you can get good service, at best it is mediocre. If there does exist good service it is at a higher end restaurant; you simply cannot pay, or train, these uneducated and ungrateful people to work honestly.

As for value here's an example: Have you noticed over the years how the prices at TGI have increased by about 20% - 25% and the quality and quatity of food has decreased? So where is the value in that? This is happening all over TT but it is allowed to continue because people are willing to pay the higher prices and accept the poor service. At higher end restaurant the result is not so dire as they try to absorb some of the cost increases as well as quality is significantly different.

Here is my value comparison, with full understanding of the overheads and challenges that restaurants face: Steak dinner for 3 = $1000 at the average restaurant, steak dinner at home $150 - $200 (NY Strips) depending on the sides made. Not everyone is going to eat steak but this is simply an example.

So I think if you can improve the service and address the value propostion the chances of long term viability improves significantly if you are looking at a chain restaurant.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » May 1st, 2011, 5:02 pm

crazybalhead wrote:
Ignorant Ignis wrote:good topic ............

Congrats fadda!!! I didn't know you had one on de way!

lol...... no eh :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Bizzare » May 1st, 2011, 5:10 pm

KFC....... On payday, I might take meh gyul to JAPS. Only on payday!!

rossi

Postby rossi » May 1st, 2011, 5:50 pm

Bareback wrote:Mankind doh eat out anymore because of 2 reasons, service and value. There is no place in TT where you can get good service, at best it is mediocre. If there does exist good service it is at a higher end restaurant; you simply cannot pay, or train, these uneducated and ungrateful people to work honestly.

As for value here's an example: Have you noticed over the years how the prices at TGI have increased by about 20% - 25% and the quality and quatity of food has decreased? So where is the value in that? This is happening all over TT but it is allowed to continue because people are willing to pay the higher prices and accept the poor service. At higher end restaurant the result is not so dire as they try to absorb some of the cost increases as well as quality is significantly different.

Here is my value comparison, with full understanding of the overheads and challenges that restaurants face: Steak dinner for 3 = $1000 at the average restaurant, steak dinner at home $150 - $200 (NY Strips) depending on the sides made. Not everyone is going to eat steak but this is simply an example.

So I think if you can improve the service and address the value propostion the chances of long term viability improves significantly if you are looking at a chain restaurant.

Then the problem lies with us as a people because some of us are too stupid to realise when we're being f/cked over.
Then again, these same ppl just like to pull ranks and boast about which restaurant they just came from.

Postby RBphoto » May 1st, 2011, 6:40 pm

Yuh asking about north only or south as well? I find curry leaf in sando has vastly improved since they changed from sitara. I would take a child there, but I doubt that is the popular opinion with picky eaters I see they take to rubys and TGIF and just order mac and cheese. I like Wok-Hay in price plaza in chag. Their service is excellent and their waiters are quite nice to kids. Not much other experience with dining out with friends who have kids.

Postby Stephon. » May 1st, 2011, 6:51 pm

Zanzibar chaguaramas. Woodford Cafe in Movie Towne is cool too.

Postby brams112 » May 1st, 2011, 8:45 pm

most resturants service are just a service,nowadays you are lucky to get a waiter or waitress who would be naturally friendly to coustomers,last i went to the lure in chaguramas the waiter was friendly and helpful,i will never dine in aura again their food is shitty service is poor,went there sometime from a pop concert and was disgusted,shanghai in mt was so,so,i rather valpark chinese the food is better, service is better than most places,kam po chaguanas is good also,more family oriented there and at valpark,,,but if you look like you are rich and a good tipper you will get a better service,,,,,

Postby crazybalhead » May 2nd, 2011, 6:47 am

Stephon. wrote:Zanzibar chaguaramas. Woodford Cafe in Movie Towne is cool too.

But the food is terrible.

Postby RBphoto » May 2nd, 2011, 9:14 am

A question... how many of you tip your server? I don't mean the shiddy house tip that they never see when you add the tip and put a total on your credit card bill? How many of you order around the server in a gruff voice? Think that has anything to do with the service you get? No mattter how unfriendly a server is, they always warm up to my table as my wife and I always are polite, kind, but firm when dealing with staff. We always tip with cash so the server gets their share. Even if the service is shiddy, we continue to be polite.... no telling if some disgruntled employee wants to spit on your food. Usually people who are kind natured are perceived to be generous and likeley to give a good tip. If you are friendly and not firm, they will be nice, but not take you on for being "sorf".

Postby foss » May 2nd, 2011, 9:17 am

allyuh real fancy oui. :|
doubles and kfc for me yes... a lil roti once in a while.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » May 2nd, 2011, 9:24 am

thread disappointed me.. skipped everything saw pre teen children.. opened thread.. grabbed lotion.. saw wall of text.. posted.. leaving now

Postby crazybalhead » May 2nd, 2011, 9:28 am

@Crossdrilled, no sir, my treatment is usually very good, and I make sure and give a good tip when I do get good service.

Some of these guys attitude just shitty thais all.

Postby RBphoto » May 2nd, 2011, 9:47 am

Oh, was not directed to anyone in particular, but everyone want to rate service, I wondered how many move grimey and vex they get a server with a screw pan all the time.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » May 2nd, 2011, 10:29 am

That chinese place in gb,Imperial Garden,sexy waitress,good food,good service!
Asian Buffet in Trincity Mall,best for kids,ice cream/cakes/cheesecakes/fruits etc, all @ one small price!!!
Too much ppl staring you down in tgi/rubytuesday etc.

Banzai, I seeing the FoodBasket Franchise opening up in Omeara, hope they gonna have a massive food court as well.

Postby RBphoto » May 2nd, 2011, 3:16 pm

As you say trincity dey, I remember bella Italia being quite nice... but rather expensive. You got the service and food you paid for though.

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » May 2nd, 2011, 3:28 pm

Yes yes, my kids enjoyed Bella Italia but the menu was a bit too fancy for their palettes. There is no kids menu.

Postby crazybalhead » May 2nd, 2011, 3:30 pm

Rahtid wrote:That chinese place in gb,Imperial Garden,sexy waitress,good food,good service!
Asian Buffet in Trincity Mall,best for kids,ice cream/cakes/cheesecakes/fruits etc, all @ one small price!!!
Too much ppl staring you down in tgi/rubytuesday etc.

Banzai, I seeing the FoodBasket Franchise opening up in Omeara, hope they gonna have a massive food court as well.

Rahtid, the man want to kerry chirren to eat, he not lookin to make chirren. :lol: :lol:

Postby Bizzare » May 2nd, 2011, 3:35 pm

Within the next year or two I hope I can post my wealthy dining experiences in this ched too :(
Any females on Tuner wanna take me out........ I'll pay for gas :|

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » May 2nd, 2011, 3:43 pm

^^Hoss..
Why you just don't stay home and eat yuh mamie rice and butter?!