Rickstar#1 wrote:I second this Trend ..........Good for nothing piece of sheit , sitting his ass in d office all day doing nun at all but only making promises
weed00020 wrote:or we could do like every body in this country who have fast car lets organise ah spot tuh meet and well we go just come out and park up and look pretty cuz most ppl doe really want tuh race
AutoSport wrote:Cancellation of the Arima Grand Prix carded for 24th April 2011.
On behalf of the organizers of the Arima Grand Prix, I wish to confirm that this Event has been cancelled. We regret that this is being indicated at this eleventh hour, but this is how the Authorities in this country deal with these major issues, and we then ask ourselves why we are so backward in comparison to countries like Barbados, and those even smaller than us.
Fact: We did apply for permission by letter dated 21st March 2011. This was personally taken into Police Headquarters by me. As has happened in the past, I asked whether I could wait to take the forwarding document to the Tunapuna Police Station, where it would have been sent for further investigation. This was denied. I checked several time about the status of this request and was advised that it would be sent to Arima for investigation. Several checks later, same response.
On Monday 18th April at approx 10:45 PM, I received a call from Malabar police post, inquiring about certain letters that they had to have. I advised that they did have this. And read out a copy of said letter. OK. Another call from Malabar police post, 5 minutes later inquiring about whether the DJ had a COTT license – Yes he did, OK. Another call from Malabar police post, 5 minutes later inquiring about safety and security – again advised that this was also in place, OK.
So on Tuesday, Bar license hearing in Arima Court – what about Police permission for the Event. Not yet granted, so Bar License hearing postponed for Thursday. On Tuesday we followed up with the Malabar Police post and were told that this would be sent to Tunapuna on Wednesday morning. Checked here, and were told that a report would be forwarded to Police HQ later.
I waited in Police HQ from 1:00pm till 3:00pm, and eventually received the Police report – permission refused because we were blocking in some residents. I immediately indicated that this was incorrect, and showed this very clearly on a map of the area. I was advised that I had to take this appeal to the OC, Tunapuna. I wrote a letter of appeal clearly stating the facts, and took to Tunapuna on Thursday morning. Spoke to the Chief Clerk, and showed her the facts. She in turned spoke to the OC, Tunapuna, who indicated that she would have a senior officer go to the site to examine and report back to her. This was done at midday on Thursday, met the Supt. Showed him all of our plans and he indicated to me that he would advise that permission be granted, and, if he passes on Sunday and sees anything different to what was agreed upon, he would shut down the Event. I agreed with this position.
We proceeded to continue our arrangements for the Event. Bar License approved on Thursday, paid more than $14,000.00 for recommended strength of required Police for the Event, paid for Bar license. This could not happen unless certain instructions were passed on to the Court.
On Saturday, I went to pay for the rental of Police barriers, and was advised that they had no permission. Several telephone calls later, revealed that what was told to me by the Supt. on Thursday, was different to what was relayed to the OC, Tunapuna, and this is now in the hands of the Commissioner of Police.
We clearly determined that several facts were being distorted. At this point we were advised that we could have whatever was planned for INSIDE the Stadium, but no racing on the road. We did not do all of this planning for a “Car Show”. We decided to cancel the event in the best interest of all involved. The Mayor did come to speak with us at the Stadium, and indicated that he would meet with us shortly to ensure that this Event will take place in the not too distant future at THIS Location.
WE are prepared to immediately refund the entry fee to all competitors who so desire.
We apologize for all who have been inconvenienced and look forward to a bigger and better event shortly.
“Car Show”
all competitors
lighthammer wrote:".. and all across trinidad, suddenly a lot of people have nothing to do on Easter Sunday..." lol.
From reading the post above, it seems to be a bureaucratic problem in how the Police permission was handled rather than any actual input from any 3rd party that caused the collapse of this event.
My question is - how come this particular event was cancelled, while others in the past have been granted full permission even though they were in the same vein as this one?
Many other events have been successfully handled by other motorsports body - most recently Rally Trinidad 2011 where the guys got permission to use Canefields, the National Stadium and even shut down a major road in Chaguanas itself, with FULL BAR services and full Police presence. So it's not to say it's a problem with permission or the Police Service frowning down on MotorSports in general. Maybe the internal affairs of the local police service in Arima were at fault, judging from the fragmented pattern in which Mr. Mahabir was sent running and giving out information to the Police admins.
I personally ran that track yesterday morning to give it a once over (was looking for good vantage point to position myself for photo's) and not once did I notice any spot where residents were "blocked in". That whole length of the proposed race-track was along industrial road, and the only places getting blocked were Automotive Components and a few other business but NO residential compounds or houses. Those entrances start lower down, closer to the stadium, opposite the stadium and by the traffic light/junction. Even so, the houses that line that section of the roadway don't even open their driveways onto the main roadway, they open into side-streets which again, were NOT anywhere close to the proposed race-track. It seems that the organizers purposely chose that limited section of track just so that they would not be blocking any residents - even with parking.
So, it's a shame that we all got hugely disappointed. If one were to read carefully between the lines it looks like the fragmented communication between the police admins was at fault, if anyone wants to point fingers. It's always been that way, in our 3rd world country - it's a difficult system to change.
What can we do in the interim? Prepare for next time - get the paperwork rolling again, prepare for more bureaucratic red-tape, never give up and be insistent. This cancellation just gives everyone who planned to compete more time to tune, test and practice for the real event, when it eventually does come along. I'm sure by that time, them fellas will be ready.
*edit - fellas, please don't take the negative route when expressing your disappointment. We all are disappointed but negative actions and inflammatory comments wont' help at all. Why not try to channel that anger and energy into something constructive like organizing your car, your crew, practicing (not on the open road or highway) driving, testing and tuning. That way, when the actual day comes, you'll be prepared to blow everyone away at your improved performance.
Saying that you fed up and gonna go illegal drags in cumuto or munroe road isn't going to help anyone, and it'll just bring us all down even more. Look at the bigger picture instead of your own singular plight - if you contribute and help out, then we'll all get to enjoy Motorsport much more. Ditch the selfish attitude and help to promote Motosport to the level of a recognized sport by the authorities and then we'll have no trouble at all meeting up on a Sunday to drags at the upcoming track, or to go rally in a canefield somewhere.
Come nah man, fight the negative vibes with some positive and useful energy. Doh study it - next time we go come bigger and better!
Mr Gear wrote:It is about time to fire that waste of time Sport Minister.
He promised drag racing will return to Wallerfield within six weeks of taking up office - FAILED
either that or he is a liar.
Either way his promise was not delivered but he was given another chance.
He has surrounded himself with the TTASA ole guard and now they went behind his back and sabotaged an event that he personally wanted in his constituency.
For being an idiot to trust these back stabbers and for even now continuing to believe that they had nothing to do with it while they are working overtime to continue twisting their knife in his back -- I say incompetent. Fire his arse !!
Imagine he wants to lead the COP and he doesn't even have the foresight to seewhat is right before his very eyes with TTASA. Something that even the casual observe can see clear as day. Fire his arse.
Don't support nuttin TTASA and it won't come back around to haunt you. If they are involved in any event boycott because as long as you continue to give them funding with your presence (whether you pay or not to attend) they will remain alive to sabotage any event that they are not in charge of.
K74t wrote:yuh forget d TTASA part dan
.AutoSport, you probably need to put your story in the main thread, or post a link, seems like a lot of people are believing the 'Conspiracy Theory' , and they don't know the facts as you have stated them
they don't know the facts as you have stated them
yuh forget d TTASA part
lighthammer wrote:".. and all across trinidad, suddenly a lot of people have nothing to do on Easter Sunday..." lol.
From reading the post above, it seems to be a bureaucratic problem in how the Police permission was handled rather than any actual input from any 3rd party that caused the collapse of this event.
My question is - how come this particular event was cancelled, while others in the past have been granted full permission even though they were in the same vein as this one?
Many other events have been successfully handled by other motorsports body - most recently Rally Trinidad 2011 where the guys got permission to use Canefields, the National Stadium and even shut down a major road in Chaguanas itself, with FULL BAR services and full Police presence. So it's not to say it's a problem with permission or the Police Service frowning down on MotorSports in general. Maybe the internal affairs of the local police service in Arima were at fault, judging from the fragmented pattern in which Mr. Mahabir was sent running and giving out information to the Police admins.
I personally ran that track yesterday morning to give it a once over (was looking for good vantage point to position myself for photo's) and not once did I notice any spot where residents were "blocked in". That whole length of the proposed race-track was along industrial road, and the only places getting blocked were Automotive Components and a few other business but NO residential compounds or houses. Those entrances start lower down, closer to the stadium, opposite the stadium and by the traffic light/junction. Even so, the houses that line that section of the roadway don't even open their driveways onto the main roadway, they open into side-streets which again, were NOT anywhere close to the proposed race-track. It seems that the organizers purposely chose that limited section of track just so that they would not be blocking any residents - even with parking.
So, it's a shame that we all got hugely disappointed. If one were to read carefully between the lines it looks like the fragmented communication between the police admins was at fault, if anyone wants to point fingers. It's always been that way, in our 3rd world country - it's a difficult system to change.
What can we do in the interim? Prepare for next time - get the paperwork rolling again, prepare for more bureaucratic red-tape, never give up and be insistent. This cancellation just gives everyone who planned to compete more time to tune, test and practice for the real event, when it eventually does come along. I'm sure by that time, them fellas will be ready.
*edit - fellas, please don't take the negative route when expressing your disappointment. We all are disappointed but negative actions and inflammatory comments wont' help at all. Why not try to channel that anger and energy into something constructive like organizing your car, your crew, practicing (not on the open road or highway) driving, testing and tuning. That way, when the actual day comes, you'll be prepared to blow everyone away at your improved performance.
Saying that you fed up and gonna go illegal drags in cumuto or munroe road isn't going to help anyone, and it'll just bring us all down even more. Look at the bigger picture instead of your own singular plight - if you contribute and help out, then we'll all get to enjoy Motorsport much more. Ditch the selfish attitude and help to promote Motosport to the level of a recognized sport by the authorities and then we'll have no trouble at all meeting up on a Sunday to drags at the upcoming track, or to go rally in a canefield somewhere.
Come nah man, fight the negative vibes with some positive and useful energy. Doh study it - next time we go come bigger and better!
AutoSport wrote:WE are prepared to immediately refund the entry fee to all competitors who so desire.
weed00020 wrote:or we could do like every body in this country who have fast car lets organise ah spot tuh meet and well we go just come out and park up and look pretty cuz most ppl doe really want tuh race
MG Man wrote:weed00020 wrote:or we could do like every body in this country who have fast car lets organise ah spot tuh meet and well we go just come out and park up and look pretty cuz most ppl doe really want tuh race
ah try dat already buh ah man tell mih me car eh ha no stance
rpm_unleashed wrote:If them bajans and jamaicans could do it, why we can't do it, and do it even better? Have THEM come to our island to compete?
AutoSport wrote:Cancellation of the Arima Grand Prix carded for 24th April 2011.
On behalf of the organizers of the Arima Grand Prix, I wish to confirm that this Event has been cancelled. We regret that this is being indicated at this eleventh hour, but this is how the Authorities in this country deal with these major issues, and we then ask ourselves why we are so backward in comparison to countries like Barbados, and those even smaller than us.
Fact: We did apply for permission by letter dated 21st March 2011. This was personally taken into Police Headquarters by me. As has happened in the past, I asked whether I could wait to take the forwarding document to the Tunapuna Police Station, where it would have been sent for further investigation. This was denied. I checked several time about the status of this request and was advised that it would be sent to Arima for investigation. Several checks later, same response.
On Monday 18th April at approx 10:45 PM, I received a call from Malabar police post, inquiring about certain letters that they had to have. I advised that they did have this. And read out a copy of said letter. OK. Another call from Malabar police post, 5 minutes later inquiring about whether the DJ had a COTT license – Yes he did, OK. Another call from Malabar police post, 5 minutes later inquiring about safety and security – again advised that this was also in place, OK.
So on Tuesday, Bar license hearing in Arima Court – what about Police permission for the Event. Not yet granted, so Bar License hearing postponed for Thursday. On Tuesday we followed up with the Malabar Police post and were told that this would be sent to Tunapuna on Wednesday morning. Checked here, and were told that a report would be forwarded to Police HQ later.
I waited in Police HQ from 1:00pm till 3:00pm, and eventually received the Police report – permission refused because we were blocking in some residents. I immediately indicated that this was incorrect, and showed this very clearly on a map of the area. I was advised that I had to take this appeal to the OC, Tunapuna. I wrote a letter of appeal clearly stating the facts, and took to Tunapuna on Thursday morning. Spoke to the Chief Clerk, and showed her the facts. She in turned spoke to the OC, Tunapuna, who indicated that she would have a senior officer go to the site to examine and report back to her. This was done at midday on Thursday, met the Supt. Showed him all of our plans and he indicated to me that he would advise that permission be granted, and, if he passes on Sunday and sees anything different to what was agreed upon, he would shut down the Event. I agreed with this position.
We proceeded to continue our arrangements for the Event. Bar License approved on Thursday, paid more than $14,000.00 for recommended strength of required Police for the Event, paid for Bar license. This could not happen unless certain instructions were passed on to the Court.
On Saturday, I went to pay for the rental of Police barriers, and was advised that they had no permission. Several telephone calls later, revealed that what was told to me by the Supt. on Thursday, was different to what was relayed to the OC, Tunapuna, and this is now in the hands of the Commissioner of Police.
We clearly determined that several facts were being distorted. At this point we were advised that we could have whatever was planned for INSIDE the Stadium, but no racing on the road. We did not do all of this planning for a “Car Show”. We decided to cancel the event in the best interest of all involved. The Mayor did come to speak with us at the Stadium, and indicated that he would meet with us shortly to ensure that this Event will take place in the not too distant future at THIS Location.
WE are prepared to immediately refund the entry fee to all competitors who so desire.
We apologize for all who have been inconvenienced and look forward to a bigger and better event shortly.
Rickstar#1 wrote:zcarz wrote:what about the progress at chickland? if the TTASA has anything to do with it i'm not expecting progress to be quick
I can saftly say that TTASA has nun to do with us in chickland , however EMA issues holding back but it's getting sorted out and progress will continue
AutoSport wrote:Death-Row wrote:sorry to hear about the stress but i still say this couldve been avoided if planning had taken place wayyyy more in advance.
oh well, better luck next time.
You obviously do not know how our police "work". Months in advance or one week, they still wait until the last minute, set their "strength". and you pay it or go home.
See what time they called to ask questions related to the granting of the licence? See the amount of money one had to pay for Police presence?
and you say MY analogy is skewedfiveforward wrote:^^ Ammmmmm Duane that analogy is a bit skewed - what about those who trying to make an honest living almost 3 years now in motorsport but ketching dey ass because there is no facility. Frankly thank god for street; cause without that right, now nobody would be building car; hence many performance places wouldn't make a dime.
Honest is relative to what side of the fence you stand on. Tiefing is relative to classification; and SENSE; well that is just plain relative. But this is just me.
Politicians are liars; Trinidad and Tobago police heads are uneducated, incantile idiots; the system clearly doesn't work; motorsport is not cricket thus will not be taken seriously in a while; there are people with the ability to make change but won't do so cause they can't see pass their own asses; everybody has their own agenda at heart and politicians are idiots.
Sorry this had to happen but............
for everyone's sake i hope you don't get the urge to buy a gunbrainbull wrote:lemme talk bout dis "illegal drags dan" if anybody in here prefer to spend $9000 + on gt45 turbo $5000 + on management and have it home cover down waitin on ah track from any local gov dat is fackin you not me bro..if alyuh have money to modify car and have it cover down fuh years waitin on track dat is alyuh, i want to feel dat bOOst. TALK DONE and that is the bottom line. ent chevy man.
I can assure you that TTASA played NO PART in the cancellation of the Arima Grand Prix. There may have been correspondence sent by TTASA regarding the non-sanctioning of the event, but I am 100% sure the Police did not take this into consideration when deciding not to follow through with their support for the event.chucky wrote:Ah boy. Looks like the Easter "Bunny" used his "Link" to get his way. Once again a very sad day for motorsport in Trinidad.rpm_unleashed wrote:If them bajans and jamaicans could do it, why we can't do it, and do it even better? Have THEM come to our island to compete?
Then the issue will be if TTASA would sanction their cars and events. Are their membership dues paid. Maybe Racing doesn't take place in Barbados and Jamaica. Has TTASA ever been there to prove that racing actually takes place. Are the tracks sanctioned by the measuring tape man.
Sad Sad Day
My apologies Mr. M., but I disagree with your statement. We do not need a miracle(s) to "change the backward thinking". We need a miracle(s) to change the idiots in authority! Is is truly amazing to see the brainless, low IQ, bottom sniffing, incompetent dimwits that hold authority in this country! They are not held accountable for their actions (and by extension inaction) and there is no recourse for those of us who are the target of their animosity. The antipathy that I feel towards these morons is immesurable by any standard!AutoSport wrote:In this country we all need some miracles to change the backward thinking that surrounds some in authority. only then will we see real development taking place.
the event was approved by the Minister of Sport, The Member of Parliament AND the Mayor!Death-Row wrote: anyways, i think approval should've been confirmed b4 any other planning was done. again, ive never planned an event b4 but from a straight forward point of view, the approval is the kinda "make or break" part of things, so i would've assured that we had that in hand first b4 moving to the other steps. just my 2 cents tho.