Arima Gran Prix - officially cancelled

Garrett Inside

Re: Arima Gran Prix - officially cancelled

Postby Garrett Inside » April 24th, 2011, 1:31 am

This is a total dissapointment, i know a lot of guys have been doing upgrades, repairs, tuning, to their cars, me as well, and to have this happen the night before the event.....well boy!
ah cyar even begin to express mih total and utter disbelief at this nonsense, ah spend almost 2gs on mih cyar to prep it, and this is still a small cost compared to men who doing over a total tune, especially using a dyno, race gas, new tyres,etc.

I have deliberatly stayed out of street racing because of my principles and to others like me, this is the thanks we get. :evil:

Based on the write up posted, i would like the minister of sports to make a public statement about the matter, as it was his idea that gave rise to the event

fiveforward

Postby fiveforward » April 24th, 2011, 1:34 am

^^ Ammmmmm Duane that analogy is a bit skewed - what about those who trying to make an honest living almost 3 years now in motorsport but ketching dey ass because there is no facility. Frankly thank god for street; cause without that right, now nobody would be building car; hence many performance places wouldn't make a dime.

Honest is relative to what side of the fence you stand on. Tiefing is relative to classification; and SENSE; well that is just plain relative. But this is just me.

Politicians are liars; Trinidad and Tobago police heads are uneducated, incantile idiots; the system clearly doesn't work; motorsport is not cricket thus will not be taken seriously in a while; there are people with the ability to make change but won't do so cause they can't see pass their own asses; everybody has their own agenda at heart and politicians are idiots.

Sorry this had to happen but............
Last edited by fiveforward on April 24th, 2011, 1:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

unknown person

Re: Fire the Sport Minister

Postby unknown person » April 24th, 2011, 1:42 am

Rickstar#1 wrote:I second this Trend ..........Good for nothing piece of sheit , sitting his ass in d office all day doing nun at all but only making promises

but you seeing dat hoss....I was rel prepped and ready to actually see racing once more in my hometown after so long....daz rel sh1t jed....i doh know why ppl in trini does make tings so damn difficult....if you watch racing allover d world like rally...F1 and what not, all is well, when we as locals trying to create an special event that one day might go international, is always ah flippin problem....I really doh understand ppl at all yes....steeeeups....

weed00020

Postby weed00020 » April 24th, 2011, 3:05 am

well wha i go tell all yuh cumoto tommorrowwwwww .......!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!............lol some body say something

weed00020

Postby weed00020 » April 24th, 2011, 3:08 am

or we could do like every body in this country who have fast car lets organise ah spot tuh meet and well we go just come out and park up and look pretty cuz most ppl doe really want tuh race

Postby A172 » April 24th, 2011, 3:18 am

weed00020 wrote:or we could do like every body in this country who have fast car lets organise ah spot tuh meet and well we go just come out and park up and look pretty cuz most ppl doe really want tuh race

quoted for the fckin truth yes :lol: :lol: well said :lol:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 24th, 2011, 6:51 am

".. and all across trinidad, suddenly a lot of people have nothing to do on Easter Sunday..." lol.

From reading the post above, it seems to be a bureaucratic problem in how the Police permission was handled rather than any actual input from any 3rd party that caused the collapse of this event.

My question is - how come this particular event was cancelled, while others in the past have been granted full permission even though they were in the same vein as this one?

Many other events have been successfully handled by other motorsports body - most recently Rally Trinidad 2011 where the guys got permission to use Canefields, the National Stadium and even shut down a major road in Chaguanas itself, with FULL BAR services and full Police presence. So it's not to say it's a problem with permission or the Police Service frowning down on MotorSports in general. Maybe the internal affairs of the local police service in Arima were at fault, judging from the fragmented pattern in which Mr. Mahabir was sent running and giving out information to the Police admins.

I personally ran that track yesterday morning to give it a once over (was looking for good vantage point to position myself for photo's) and not once did I notice any spot where residents were "blocked in". That whole length of the proposed race-track was along industrial road, and the only places getting blocked were Automotive Components and a few other business but NO residential compounds or houses. Those entrances start lower down, closer to the stadium, opposite the stadium and by the traffic light/junction. Even so, the houses that line that section of the roadway don't even open their driveways onto the main roadway, they open into side-streets which again, were NOT anywhere close to the proposed race-track. It seems that the organizers purposely chose that limited section of track just so that they would not be blocking any residents - even with parking.

So, it's a shame that we all got hugely disappointed. If one were to read carefully between the lines it looks like the fragmented communication between the police admins was at fault, if anyone wants to point fingers. It's always been that way, in our 3rd world country - it's a difficult system to change.
What can we do in the interim? Prepare for next time - get the paperwork rolling again, prepare for more bureaucratic red-tape, never give up and be insistent. This cancellation just gives everyone who planned to compete more time to tune, test and practice for the real event, when it eventually does come along. I'm sure by that time, them fellas will be ready.

*edit - fellas, please don't take the negative route when expressing your disappointment. We all are disappointed but negative actions and inflammatory comments wont' help at all. Why not try to channel that anger and energy into something constructive like organizing your car, your crew, practicing (not on the open road or highway) driving, testing and tuning. That way, when the actual day comes, you'll be prepared to blow everyone away at your improved performance.

Saying that you fed up and gonna go illegal drags in cumuto or munroe road isn't going to help anyone, and it'll just bring us all down even more. Look at the bigger picture instead of your own singular plight - if you contribute and help out, then we'll all get to enjoy Motorsport much more. Ditch the selfish attitude and help to promote Motosport to the level of a recognized sport by the authorities and then we'll have no trouble at all meeting up on a Sunday to drags at the upcoming track, or to go rally in a canefield somewhere.

Come nah man, fight the negative vibes with some positive and useful energy. Doh study it - next time we go come bigger and better!
Last edited by lighthammer on April 24th, 2011, 7:15 am, edited 3 times in total.

Hammy Bolo

Postby Hammy Bolo » April 24th, 2011, 7:01 am

Sad Sad Sad- my kids were really going to enjoy this- they fully well enjoyed the one at San Fernando

link

Re: Arima Grand Prix - OFFICIALLY CANCELLED

Postby link » April 24th, 2011, 7:42 am

AutoSport wrote:Cancellation of the Arima Grand Prix carded for 24th April 2011.

On behalf of the organizers of the Arima Grand Prix, I wish to confirm that this Event has been cancelled. We regret that this is being indicated at this eleventh hour, but this is how the Authorities in this country deal with these major issues, and we then ask ourselves why we are so backward in comparison to countries like Barbados, and those even smaller than us.

Fact: We did apply for permission by letter dated 21st March 2011. This was personally taken into Police Headquarters by me. As has happened in the past, I asked whether I could wait to take the forwarding document to the Tunapuna Police Station, where it would have been sent for further investigation. This was denied. I checked several time about the status of this request and was advised that it would be sent to Arima for investigation. Several checks later, same response.

On Monday 18th April at approx 10:45 PM, I received a call from Malabar police post, inquiring about certain letters that they had to have. I advised that they did have this. And read out a copy of said letter. OK. Another call from Malabar police post, 5 minutes later inquiring about whether the DJ had a COTT license – Yes he did, OK. Another call from Malabar police post, 5 minutes later inquiring about safety and security – again advised that this was also in place, OK.

So on Tuesday, Bar license hearing in Arima Court – what about Police permission for the Event. Not yet granted, so Bar License hearing postponed for Thursday. On Tuesday we followed up with the Malabar Police post and were told that this would be sent to Tunapuna on Wednesday morning. Checked here, and were told that a report would be forwarded to Police HQ later.

I waited in Police HQ from 1:00pm till 3:00pm, and eventually received the Police report – permission refused because we were blocking in some residents. I immediately indicated that this was incorrect, and showed this very clearly on a map of the area. I was advised that I had to take this appeal to the OC, Tunapuna. I wrote a letter of appeal clearly stating the facts, and took to Tunapuna on Thursday morning. Spoke to the Chief Clerk, and showed her the facts. She in turned spoke to the OC, Tunapuna, who indicated that she would have a senior officer go to the site to examine and report back to her. This was done at midday on Thursday, met the Supt. Showed him all of our plans and he indicated to me that he would advise that permission be granted, and, if he passes on Sunday and sees anything different to what was agreed upon, he would shut down the Event. I agreed with this position.

We proceeded to continue our arrangements for the Event. Bar License approved on Thursday, paid more than $14,000.00 for recommended strength of required Police for the Event, paid for Bar license. This could not happen unless certain instructions were passed on to the Court.

On Saturday, I went to pay for the rental of Police barriers, and was advised that they had no permission. Several telephone calls later, revealed that what was told to me by the Supt. on Thursday, was different to what was relayed to the OC, Tunapuna, and this is now in the hands of the Commissioner of Police.

We clearly determined that several facts were being distorted. At this point we were advised that we could have whatever was planned for INSIDE the Stadium, but no racing on the road. We did not do all of this planning for a “Car Show”. We decided to cancel the event in the best interest of all involved. The Mayor did come to speak with us at the Stadium, and indicated that he would meet with us shortly to ensure that this Event will take place in the not too distant future at THIS Location.

WE are prepared to immediately refund the entry fee to all competitors who so desire.

We apologize for all who have been inconvenienced and look forward to a bigger and better event shortly.

:idea:
“Car Show”
:?:
all competitors
:?:

link

Postby link » April 24th, 2011, 7:46 am

lighthammer wrote:".. and all across trinidad, suddenly a lot of people have nothing to do on Easter Sunday..." lol.

From reading the post above, it seems to be a bureaucratic problem in how the Police permission was handled rather than any actual input from any 3rd party that caused the collapse of this event.

My question is - how come this particular event was cancelled, while others in the past have been granted full permission even though they were in the same vein as this one?

Many other events have been successfully handled by other motorsports body - most recently Rally Trinidad 2011 where the guys got permission to use Canefields, the National Stadium and even shut down a major road in Chaguanas itself, with FULL BAR services and full Police presence. So it's not to say it's a problem with permission or the Police Service frowning down on MotorSports in general. Maybe the internal affairs of the local police service in Arima were at fault, judging from the fragmented pattern in which Mr. Mahabir was sent running and giving out information to the Police admins.

I personally ran that track yesterday morning to give it a once over (was looking for good vantage point to position myself for photo's) and not once did I notice any spot where residents were "blocked in". That whole length of the proposed race-track was along industrial road, and the only places getting blocked were Automotive Components and a few other business but NO residential compounds or houses. Those entrances start lower down, closer to the stadium, opposite the stadium and by the traffic light/junction. Even so, the houses that line that section of the roadway don't even open their driveways onto the main roadway, they open into side-streets which again, were NOT anywhere close to the proposed race-track. It seems that the organizers purposely chose that limited section of track just so that they would not be blocking any residents - even with parking.

So, it's a shame that we all got hugely disappointed. If one were to read carefully between the lines it looks like the fragmented communication between the police admins was at fault, if anyone wants to point fingers. It's always been that way, in our 3rd world country - it's a difficult system to change.
What can we do in the interim? Prepare for next time - get the paperwork rolling again, prepare for more bureaucratic red-tape, never give up and be insistent. This cancellation just gives everyone who planned to compete more time to tune, test and practice for the real event, when it eventually does come along. I'm sure by that time, them fellas will be ready.

*edit - fellas, please don't take the negative route when expressing your disappointment. We all are disappointed but negative actions and inflammatory comments wont' help at all. Why not try to channel that anger and energy into something constructive like organizing your car, your crew, practicing (not on the open road or highway) driving, testing and tuning. That way, when the actual day comes, you'll be prepared to blow everyone away at your improved performance.

Saying that you fed up and gonna go illegal drags in cumuto or munroe road isn't going to help anyone, and it'll just bring us all down even more. Look at the bigger picture instead of your own singular plight - if you contribute and help out, then we'll all get to enjoy Motorsport much more. Ditch the selfish attitude and help to promote Motosport to the level of a recognized sport by the authorities and then we'll have no trouble at all meeting up on a Sunday to drags at the upcoming track, or to go rally in a canefield somewhere.

Come nah man, fight the negative vibes with some positive and useful energy. Doh study it - next time we go come bigger and better!

link

Postby link » April 24th, 2011, 7:49 am

Mr Gear wrote:It is about time to fire that waste of time Sport Minister.

He promised drag racing will return to Wallerfield within six weeks of taking up office - FAILED

either that or he is a liar.

Either way his promise was not delivered but he was given another chance.

He has surrounded himself with the TTASA ole guard and now they went behind his back and sabotaged an event that he personally wanted in his constituency.

For being an idiot to trust these back stabbers and for even now continuing to believe that they had nothing to do with it while they are working overtime to continue twisting their knife in his back -- I say incompetent. Fire his arse !!

Imagine he wants to lead the COP and he doesn't even have the foresight to seewhat is right before his very eyes with TTASA. Something that even the casual observe can see clear as day. Fire his arse.

Don't support nuttin TTASA and it won't come back around to haunt you. If they are involved in any event boycott because as long as you continue to give them funding with your presence (whether you pay or not to attend) they will remain alive to sabotage any event that they are not in charge of.

link

Postby link » April 24th, 2011, 8:15 am

K74t wrote:yuh forget d TTASA part dan

professor wrote :
AutoSport, you probably need to put your story in the main thread, or post a link, seems like a lot of people are believing the 'Conspiracy Theory' , and they don't know the facts as you have stated them

now professor has made a polite observation here :
they don't know the facts as you have stated them

and, being who I am, I observe that you are ignoring K74t :
yuh forget d TTASA part

so...
mr autosport.....
rather than sit quietly and encourage the TTASA bashing by remaining silent or throwing innundoes....CLEAR THE AIR...

Please tell these good folks what part TTASA had to play in this 'police approval' debacle....

brainbull

Postby brainbull » April 24th, 2011, 8:29 am

lighthammer wrote:".. and all across trinidad, suddenly a lot of people have nothing to do on Easter Sunday..." lol.

lemme talk bout dis "illegal drags dan" if anybody in here prefer to spend $9000 + on gt45 turbo $5000 + on management and have it home cover down waitin on ah track from any local gov dat is fackin you not me bro..if alyuh have money to modify car and have it cover down fuh years waitin on track dat is alyuh, i want to feel dat bOOst. TALK DONE and that is the bottom line. ent chevy man.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 24th, 2011, 8:47 am

^^ true true, i not denying that illegal drags does occur, and i not denying that it have guys out there who put down the money, time, blood sweat and tears to tune their rides to the max. They have my respect cuz them fellas is the reason why we want motorsport to be recognized so badly.

I mean yeah, illegal drags gives guys an outlet to channel their energy into raising the bar in performance tuning, but imagine if we now have a track to run - ANY DAY OF THE WEEK - and it not illegal.

*edit - remember back in the days of Wallerfield? When we had that track and the epic battles that used to go on with the track? That's the kinda glory-days we want restored... powered by RB's, SR's, 2JZ' and the like......

True, what you said about waiting for our government to give us a track - we'll end up waiting forever. Of course if the more pro-active of us took it up and started pushing for it more aggressively, we might get the track a bit sooner than expected. Word is that it's in progress right now, held back by some EMA regulations that have to be attended to, but it's coming.

Besides, allyuh don't get tired from running from the po-po's every time drags running? I mean yeah it's exciting and there's the adrenaline rush, but after awhile doesn't it get tedious?

Keep your eye on the big picture, not just the small details.

Postby MG Man » April 24th, 2011, 9:08 am

AutoSport wrote:WE are prepared to immediately refund the entry fee to all competitors who so desire.

that's the least of our concerns Rawle.....doh study it

-sMoKe-

Postby -sMoKe- » April 24th, 2011, 9:50 am

X2...nuff said!

Postby MG Man » April 24th, 2011, 9:59 am

weed00020 wrote:or we could do like every body in this country who have fast car lets organise ah spot tuh meet and well we go just come out and park up and look pretty cuz most ppl doe really want tuh race

ah try dat already buh ah man tell mih me car eh ha no stance :oops:

-sMoKe-

Postby -sMoKe- » April 24th, 2011, 10:03 am

ah try dat already buh ah man tell mih me car eh ha no stance :oops:

X2^^ ah man tell me da 2...

rpm_unleashed

Postby rpm_unleashed » April 24th, 2011, 10:04 am

sad sad day for motor racing !!!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 24th, 2011, 10:16 am

Come on fellas, all ah we disappointed today.
But what about tomorrow?
What about next 3 weeks?

There will be more events to come.
Test and tune allyuh cars nah.
Unleash all that pent up frustration on the tracks when the real day get organized and everything ready to go.

Tell me this, if and when you went to the final Mayor's Cup recent Rally Trinidad 2011 in Chaguanas, or to any past motorsports show, you didn't enjoy yourself? Remember last year in Sando, that gran prix event - you didn't enjoy yourself then??

Now think about if we could do that legally every single weekend? If we had a racetrack to go and run our cars, every weekend. Yeah it taking time, but the least you could do is support and not encourage illegal activities that just serve to keep motorsports in a negative view of the Police and Government. Or the alternative, every month or so, one of the major boroughs like Arima, Chaguanas, San Fernando holding a "gran Prix" style event, closing up a major roadway and turning that self into a track - but doing it at least once a month. You think negative actions, illegal activities and so on will help us achieve that? Remember... Rally Trinidad was only last month. Arima Gran Prix was organized less than a month after. You can't see that people who big in the business are enthusiastic about it - they even have open invites to the tuners who want to race?

Forget about the selfish, all-for-myself kind of attitudes, be patient, and support the guys who actually workign their @sses off to bring us these kinds of big events. One man in a fass-up car could have a lil' excitement at a late-night drags.... but imagine a whole stadium full of people watching that same man, plus a whole group of others, pushing their sh!t to the limit and doing it every weekend.

yeah it might sound like a dream, it might sound naiive, but listen - it have a track building. It have people who want to do this kind of thing, on an International level even. Don't bring it down. Push it up.

If them bajans and jamaicans could do it, why we can't do it, and do it even better? Have THEM come to our island to compete? Rally Trinidad started it, is just to follow up now.

chucky

Postby chucky » April 24th, 2011, 10:24 am

Ah boy. Looks like the Easter "Bunny" used his "Link" to get his way. Once again a very sad day for motorsport in Trinidad.

rpm_unleashed wrote:If them bajans and jamaicans could do it, why we can't do it, and do it even better? Have THEM come to our island to compete?

Then the issue will be if TTASA would sanction their cars and events. Are their membership dues paid. Maybe Racing doesn't take place in Barbados and Jamaica. Has TTASA ever been there to prove that racing actually takes place. Are the tracks sanctioned by the measuring tape man.

Sad Sad Day

NKM

Postby NKM » April 24th, 2011, 11:06 am

AutoSport wrote:Cancellation of the Arima Grand Prix carded for 24th April 2011.

On behalf of the organizers of the Arima Grand Prix, I wish to confirm that this Event has been cancelled. We regret that this is being indicated at this eleventh hour, but this is how the Authorities in this country deal with these major issues, and we then ask ourselves why we are so backward in comparison to countries like Barbados, and those even smaller than us.

Fact: We did apply for permission by letter dated 21st March 2011. This was personally taken into Police Headquarters by me. As has happened in the past, I asked whether I could wait to take the forwarding document to the Tunapuna Police Station, where it would have been sent for further investigation. This was denied. I checked several time about the status of this request and was advised that it would be sent to Arima for investigation. Several checks later, same response.

On Monday 18th April at approx 10:45 PM, I received a call from Malabar police post, inquiring about certain letters that they had to have. I advised that they did have this. And read out a copy of said letter. OK. Another call from Malabar police post, 5 minutes later inquiring about whether the DJ had a COTT license – Yes he did, OK. Another call from Malabar police post, 5 minutes later inquiring about safety and security – again advised that this was also in place, OK.

So on Tuesday, Bar license hearing in Arima Court – what about Police permission for the Event. Not yet granted, so Bar License hearing postponed for Thursday. On Tuesday we followed up with the Malabar Police post and were told that this would be sent to Tunapuna on Wednesday morning. Checked here, and were told that a report would be forwarded to Police HQ later.

I waited in Police HQ from 1:00pm till 3:00pm, and eventually received the Police report – permission refused because we were blocking in some residents. I immediately indicated that this was incorrect, and showed this very clearly on a map of the area. I was advised that I had to take this appeal to the OC, Tunapuna. I wrote a letter of appeal clearly stating the facts, and took to Tunapuna on Thursday morning. Spoke to the Chief Clerk, and showed her the facts. She in turned spoke to the OC, Tunapuna, who indicated that she would have a senior officer go to the site to examine and report back to her. This was done at midday on Thursday, met the Supt. Showed him all of our plans and he indicated to me that he would advise that permission be granted, and, if he passes on Sunday and sees anything different to what was agreed upon, he would shut down the Event. I agreed with this position.

We proceeded to continue our arrangements for the Event. Bar License approved on Thursday, paid more than $14,000.00 for recommended strength of required Police for the Event, paid for Bar license. This could not happen unless certain instructions were passed on to the Court.

On Saturday, I went to pay for the rental of Police barriers, and was advised that they had no permission. Several telephone calls later, revealed that what was told to me by the Supt. on Thursday, was different to what was relayed to the OC, Tunapuna, and this is now in the hands of the Commissioner of Police.

We clearly determined that several facts were being distorted. At this point we were advised that we could have whatever was planned for INSIDE the Stadium, but no racing on the road. We did not do all of this planning for a “Car Show”. We decided to cancel the event in the best interest of all involved. The Mayor did come to speak with us at the Stadium, and indicated that he would meet with us shortly to ensure that this Event will take place in the not too distant future at THIS Location.

WE are prepared to immediately refund the entry fee to all competitors who so desire.

We apologize for all who have been inconvenienced and look forward to a bigger and better event shortly.

NKM

Postby NKM » April 24th, 2011, 11:08 am

Rickstar#1 wrote:
zcarz wrote:what about the progress at chickland? if the TTASA has anything to do with it i'm not expecting progress to be quick

I can saftly say that TTASA has nun to do with us in chickland , however EMA issues holding back but it's getting sorted out and progress will continue

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » April 24th, 2011, 11:15 am

AutoSport wrote:
Death-Row wrote:sorry to hear about the stress but i still say this couldve been avoided if planning had taken place wayyyy more in advance.

oh well, better luck next time.

You obviously do not know how our police "work". Months in advance or one week, they still wait until the last minute, set their "strength". and you pay it or go home.

See what time they called to ask questions related to the granting of the licence? See the amount of money one had to pay for Police presence?

i know how our police work, personally, they never did anything good for me. hate them with all my heart. some do good work but ive never met those. anyways, i think approval should've been confirmed b4 any other planning was done. again, ive never planned an event b4 but from a straight forward point of view, the approval is the kinda "make or break" part of things, so i would've assured that we had that in hand first b4 moving to the other steps. just my 2 cents tho.

sorry to see this happen tho, like many past events also.

GEAR_HEAD

Postby GEAR_HEAD » April 24th, 2011, 11:47 am

Dissapointing that the event has been cancelled, but glad to know there are still ppl willing to put out the hard work to make an event like this possible!
Also happy that this event tried to bring together members from all forms of motorsports.
Mr. Autosport, will this event be run off at a late date?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 24th, 2011, 12:42 pm

fiveforward wrote:^^ Ammmmmm Duane that analogy is a bit skewed - what about those who trying to make an honest living almost 3 years now in motorsport but ketching dey ass because there is no facility. Frankly thank god for street; cause without that right, now nobody would be building car; hence many performance places wouldn't make a dime.

Honest is relative to what side of the fence you stand on. Tiefing is relative to classification; and SENSE; well that is just plain relative. But this is just me.

Politicians are liars; Trinidad and Tobago police heads are uneducated, incantile idiots; the system clearly doesn't work; motorsport is not cricket thus will not be taken seriously in a while; there are people with the ability to make change but won't do so cause they can't see pass their own asses; everybody has their own agenda at heart and politicians are idiots.

Sorry this had to happen but............
and you say MY analogy is skewed :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 24th, 2011, 12:58 pm

brainbull wrote:lemme talk bout dis "illegal drags dan" if anybody in here prefer to spend $9000 + on gt45 turbo $5000 + on management and have it home cover down waitin on ah track from any local gov dat is fackin you not me bro..if alyuh have money to modify car and have it cover down fuh years waitin on track dat is alyuh, i want to feel dat bOOst. TALK DONE and that is the bottom line. ent chevy man.
for everyone's sake i hope you don't get the urge to buy a gun :|

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 24th, 2011, 1:06 pm

chucky wrote:Ah boy. Looks like the Easter "Bunny" used his "Link" to get his way. Once again a very sad day for motorsport in Trinidad.

rpm_unleashed wrote:If them bajans and jamaicans could do it, why we can't do it, and do it even better? Have THEM come to our island to compete?

Then the issue will be if TTASA would sanction their cars and events. Are their membership dues paid. Maybe Racing doesn't take place in Barbados and Jamaica. Has TTASA ever been there to prove that racing actually takes place. Are the tracks sanctioned by the measuring tape man.

Sad Sad Day
I can assure you that TTASA played NO PART in the cancellation of the Arima Grand Prix. There may have been correspondence sent by TTASA regarding the non-sanctioning of the event, but I am 100% sure the Police did not take this into consideration when deciding not to follow through with their support for the event.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » April 24th, 2011, 1:08 pm

AutoSport wrote:In this country we all need some miracles to change the backward thinking that surrounds some in authority. only then will we see real development taking place.
My apologies Mr. M., but I disagree with your statement. We do not need a miracle(s) to "change the backward thinking". We need a miracle(s) to change the idiots in authority! Is is truly amazing to see the brainless, low IQ, bottom sniffing, incompetent dimwits that hold authority in this country! They are not held accountable for their actions (and by extension inaction) and there is no recourse for those of us who are the target of their animosity. The antipathy that I feel towards these morons is immesurable by any standard!

Truly a sad state of affairs.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 24th, 2011, 1:27 pm

Death-Row wrote: anyways, i think approval should've been confirmed b4 any other planning was done. again, ive never planned an event b4 but from a straight forward point of view, the approval is the kinda "make or break" part of things, so i would've assured that we had that in hand first b4 moving to the other steps. just my 2 cents tho.
the event was approved by the Minister of Sport, The Member of Parliament AND the Mayor!

It was approved by the Larry Gomes Stadium, The Sporting Co of Trinidad & Tobago (SPORTT) and road work to level the race track was approved and done by the by the Ministry of Works and Transport.

How much more approval you want? The Queen?