Why don't we ever learn???

jmccomie

Re: Why don't we ever learn???

Postby jmccomie » March 29th, 2011, 1:43 pm

Yea an d same kinda @$$ an dem who reverse into d side of my car in a carpark wit he big stupid hilux

Postby wagonrunner » March 29th, 2011, 2:00 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:yeah. but the situation he created, if my observation is right, would create more problems than solved.

van man coming. theres a lane clear. leave it clear so he can pass. that wont be simpler / safer?
Wagonrunner, I've personally seen this happen, but the van driver chose to bumper the car in front and flash his lights for the car to make way.....

i too. but how often does same "flashing lights van" hit the vehicle in front?
were those vehicles "burnt" by the flashing lights? i dunno if regs changed over the year to include an action to it.
a highbeam is a nuisance, but between that and majestics outcome, which would you choose / prefer to deal with?

Bareback

Postby Bareback » March 29th, 2011, 2:25 pm

Sadly all 3 parties were wrong - Keep left except when over taking and driving at double the speed limit.

The sadder thing is that the father in the median was not in shock, but his daughter's life just past in front of his eyes. As a father I might have turned around and gone home for the day as that level of emotional stress would mess with my head for the entire day.

That north/south run is difficult to obey the rules when almost all the drivers themselves are not obeying them - speeding, in the wrong lane, using the shoulder, tailgating, vehicle unfit to drive, uncovered loads in trucks, driving between cars (no the white dotted line is not the motorcycle lane), not using the indicator, etc............... When I get home I am exhausted from the drive, least of all the long day that the commute creates.

I have been placed in the grass on each side of the highway in each direction and it is always from someone who's vehcile tops out at around 120 kmh. The reality is the only formula is to take the watertaxi and avoid the highway altogether, but then we cyar palance we nice car an drag race!

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » March 29th, 2011, 2:30 pm

4x4 have no respect for the road.
Even if you stuck on the right and there is slow moving traffic on the left, them van men putting on thier high beam.

I think they should put some wide humps on the highway. that way it will not affect your driving if you at normal speed.

*gets ready to put hids in reverse light*

Postby AllTrac » March 29th, 2011, 2:47 pm

hilux was probably stolen

Majestic12

Postby Majestic12 » March 29th, 2011, 2:48 pm

I still don't understand why I am being accused of doing the wrong thing. I am fully aware of the regulations with regards to keeping left except when overtaking. But why would I drive through a badly deteriorating lane when the other lane is completely free and there are no other vehicles around??? Even the other vehicle that was previously unseen was avoiding those potholes and dangerous drops in the road.

I think most of you missing the purpose of this post.

Postby wagonrunner » March 29th, 2011, 2:51 pm

im not accusing you of doing the wrong thing.
meh uncle have a saying, "you could dead right".
That north/south run is difficult to obey the rules when almost all the drivers themselves are not obeying them

thats a fact.
a situation was created. handled differently may have had a different outcome.

DRAGULA

Postby DRAGULA » March 29th, 2011, 3:01 pm

jmccomie wrote:
DRAGULA wrote:
jmccomie wrote:allyuh doh b on d man for doin absolutely nottin wrong....dem fellars an dem in dem van does always jive like idiots (majority of dem)

like yuh never see d signs on d side of d high way dat says keep left except when overtaking?

U still tryin to justify dat d van man right...STEUPS!!! like u is d van man awa?

No.... i never say d van man right.... i sayin all 3 cars wrong....

Majestic12

Postby Majestic12 » March 29th, 2011, 3:02 pm

Driving on the right lane had nothing to do with being right or wrong. Even long before the Hilux was ever in sight behind me, being on the right lane was only for the purpose of avoiding a severely damaged lane. I am absolutely positive no officer of the Law or judge or jury would find any fault with that.

Postby A172 » March 29th, 2011, 3:02 pm

Majestic12 wrote:I still don't understand why I am being accused of doing the wrong thing. I am fully aware of the regulations with regards to keeping left except when overtaking. But why would I drive through a badly deteriorating lane when the other lane is completely free and there are no other vehicles around??? Even the other vehicle that was previously unseen was avoiding those potholes and dangerous drops in the road.

don't argue with the "experts" dan

dem is jivers

Postby nervewrecker » March 29th, 2011, 3:14 pm

Majestic12 wrote:I see that fellow tuners have a lot of questions, concerns and ambiguities about this post. Let me clarify.

Time of incident: Between 4:10 and 4:15 am

As to why I was on the right lane in the first place: Anybody making their daily commute from the south all know about the condition of the left lane along that particular stretch of highway. Almost every driver, even the two and three ton trucks that usually drive below 80, drive on the right lane to avoid that mess. I was not overtaking from San’do.

About the other vehicle: When I returned to the left lane to allow the HILUX to pass there was no other vehicles in sight in front of me on either lane. There was no 'box' creation. The entire right lane was free. Only at the point when the HILUX had just pulled alongside me was there a vehicle visible in front of him. Within that split second the HILUX had pulled into me.

And YES, both Father and daughter were buckled.

Hope this provides clarification. Although you all have every right to voice your own opinions, please don’t troll this thread if you have no constructive comments to add.

I do the same damn thing in that area. provided that I can, I switch to the left lane at the top of the hill, it have 2 lil bumps there that I hate.

glad to hear you alive man, the only thing I would have done different is to not switch lane, I aint going through no bad road for no hilux, let him go through the bad road. plus its too much of a risk for an outcome like what you had.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » March 29th, 2011, 3:19 pm

Majestic12 wrote:Driving on the right lane had nothing to do with being right or wrong. Even long before the Hilux was ever in sight behind me, being on the right lane was only for the purpose of avoiding a severely damaged lane. I am absolutely positive no officer of the Law or judge or jury would find any fault with that.

Hold up dey M12.

My post was only to point out that even with good intentions we all end up not following the rules, and I am taking this from a black and white perpective. You were in the right lane because the lane was bad, that's fine but you weren't overtaking. Possibly same thing for the father and daughter ahead of you.

But this became exacerbated by the road hog driving too fast. So in a black and white arena if the both of you were in the left lane (barring the poor quality of the lane) potentially this could have been avoided.

I am guilty of being a right lane pig, I am also guilty of passing on the left, speeding.......... My comments were addressed to all not at you, they were a contribution to the overall topic not an attempt to smear you in any way.

Either way - I apologise.

Majestic12

Postby Majestic12 » March 29th, 2011, 3:21 pm

I see your point Bareback

Postby bushwakka » March 29th, 2011, 3:23 pm

Majestic12 wrote:I still don't understand why I am being accused of doing the wrong thing. I am fully aware of the regulations with regards to keeping left except when overtaking. But why would I drive through a badly deteriorating lane when the other lane is completely free and there are no other vehicles around??? Even the other vehicle that was previously unseen was avoiding those potholes and dangerous drops in the road.

i doh find u was doin anything wrong if u was trying to avoid bad road and u should be lauded for trying to give way to the jackarse gunning it

u cud not have known that the person in front of u wud have exacerbated situation just by his very presence......the hilux driver i'm sure, saw u move and had no clue there wud be another vehicle in front so he jus kept accelerating.......perhaps if u had jus stayed ur ground, u wud have forced him to switch lanes and the whole debacle wud have been avoided.....but u cud not possibly predict that, so good effort on ur part

usually i stay my ground when these bright light jackarses come up behind me, my mirror autodims and i feel quite unaffected as i'm usually driving at a healthy enough speed to not cause any obstructions

Postby Hook » March 29th, 2011, 3:23 pm

A172 wrote:

dem is jivers

yuhunnastan?!!!

TobagoAK

Postby TobagoAK » March 29th, 2011, 3:39 pm

+1 for stopping to help
Last edited by TobagoAK on April 7th, 2011, 7:35 pm, edited 11 times in total.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » March 29th, 2011, 3:43 pm

After all the BS though, it would have been nice to hear the story end with "and de hilux start to fishtail and lose control and end up flippin about 5 times before it end up teetering on the left hand shoulder upside down and eventually slid down the side of the hill and exploded into a million pieces"

Maybe I too morbid for my own good!

rdeonarine

Postby rdeonarine » March 29th, 2011, 3:46 pm

I usually go up the hiway at 4:30am from south, usually driving at around 80-100 and 80% of the time stay in the right lane for that same reason, btw was it a black TCB hilux, he usually drives like that on a daily basis and a white TCF navarra as well. Countless times vans ,cars come up behind flashing their lights, sometime i move , sometimes i dont .....if they want people to obey the hiway rules, fix De firetruck hiway properly first.

Postby A172 » March 29th, 2011, 3:47 pm

Hook wrote:
A172 wrote:

dem is jivers

yuhunnastan?!!!

OAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » March 29th, 2011, 3:47 pm

bushwakka wrote:

i doh find u was doin anything wrong if u was trying to avoid bad road and u should be lauded for trying to give way to the jackarse gunning it

u cud not have known that the person in front of u wud have exacerbated situation just by his very presence......the hilux driver i'm sure, saw u move and had no clue there wud be another vehicle in front so he jus kept accelerating.......perhaps if u had jus stayed ur ground, u wud have forced him to switch lanes and the whole debacle wud have been avoided.....but u cud not possibly predict that, so good effort on ur part

usually i stay my ground when these bright light jackarses come up behind me, my mirror autodims and i feel quite unaffected as i'm usually driving at a healthy enough speed to not cause any obstructions

M12 just be happy and thank God you alive, the father and daughter alive and can live to see another day!!!!

Take this situation as a learning experience so next time you know what to do and what not to do

Postby A172 » March 29th, 2011, 3:52 pm

Bareback wrote:After all the BS though, it would have been nice to hear the story end with "and de hilux start to fishtail and lose control and end up flippin about 5 times before it end up teetering on the left hand shoulder upside down and eventually slid down the side of the hill and exploded into a million pieces"

nah

whenever I see some ricer #$%@ riding my bumper or playing in traffic first thing comes to mind is why tha ass doh crash and fcukin dead boy? :?

Postby bushwakka » March 29th, 2011, 3:52 pm

Bareback wrote:After all the BS though, it would have been nice to hear the story end with "and de hilux start to fishtail and lose control and end up flippin about 5 times before it end up teetering on the left hand shoulder upside down and eventually slid down the side of the hill and exploded into a million pieces"

karma is unpredictable in its timing dude.....but yes...i agree it wudda be nice

CS3A_GLX

Postby CS3A_GLX » March 29th, 2011, 5:32 pm

*Official Tuner Rant Thread* developing here...

Postby Bizzare » March 29th, 2011, 5:58 pm

I sure half these guys in this forum here, display the same behaviors on the road that they criticizing right now.

DRAGULA

Postby DRAGULA » March 29th, 2011, 6:12 pm

bushwakka wrote:

you standing your ground? so if someone wants to pass, is dem to ketch? dey have to find a way around you? is selfish attitudes like that, that cause drivers to pull risky overtakes. i see that way too often as i drive north/south every day. And just like you have an opinion that you drivin a "healthy enough speed", I'm sure there are alot of drivers that drive slower than you that feel the same way and hog the middle or right lanes.... the result is traffic and risky driving by people who want to pass. Every day there are always a few drivers on the highway who keep back long lines of traffic because of their ignorance.... it is quite frustrating to say the least.

Postby brams112 » March 29th, 2011, 6:24 pm

op should have stayed on the right lane,he suppose to have known the guy in front not switching lane anyways,plus going to the left just makes the guy in front not switch because he is thinking you not going to pass him in the first place,then if you stayed in the passing lane the fool as you called him would have just switched and he would have been gone in a flash if he was travelling at the speed you claim he was doing,putting all three of you in the wrong,,,keep left except when overtaking,if there was an accident all three of you all would have been hurt for being right as you claim,plus charged for failing to observed the highway code bad road orr not.

Postby Bizzare » March 29th, 2011, 6:35 pm

brams112, very contradictory.
The OP drove in the right lane cuz of poor road conditions on the left lane right? Made sense to me, but to you its still against the law.
The OP pulled to the left to allow a vehicle travelling faster than him to pass him by right? Hey, didn't you know thats law to? But no "he should have stayed on the right" this time eh? :roll:

See, first you using the law and then using common sense at your own advantage to justify your points!!!

Postby Damien » March 29th, 2011, 6:55 pm

well ranted

Postby bushwakka » March 29th, 2011, 6:57 pm

DRAGULA wrote:
bushwakka wrote:

you standing your ground? so if someone wants to pass, is dem to ketch? dey have to find a way around you? is selfish attitudes like that, that cause drivers to pull risky overtakes. i see that way too often as i drive north/south every day. And just like you have an opinion that you drivin a "healthy enough speed", I'm sure there are alot of drivers that drive slower than you that feel the same way and hog the middle or right lanes.... the result is traffic and risky driving by people who want to pass. Every day there are always a few drivers on the highway who keep back long lines of traffic because of their ignorance.... it is quite frustrating to say the least.

no, its ppl like u wit ur attitude that cause accidents...i drive between 100-120, any jackarse dat want to weave in and out of traffic will have to find another way around me....i dont drive head to head wit anyone when i see there is a clear space in front, i will either slow down or speed up to cr8 gaps for someone who wants to drive a lil bit faster than me to overtake; thats damn annoying...the weaving is unsafe behaviour and i not going to bow to stupid demands for me to move over from some ignorant jackarse from behind me wit bright lights driving ah meeeelion mph

Postby brams112 » March 29th, 2011, 6:57 pm

bizzare the other guy is always wrong in any accident,not the reckless one,everybody knows claxton bay have a spot called an air pocket,this spot causes your car to lose control when driving stupid,yet everbody drives stupid,blames the girl on the hill not their reckless driving,,,,,,how fast do you drive?i try to keep within the limit, 100 kmh only in dry clear roads not for long because our highways are never clear for long,,but never hogging the right lane for long periods like most fools,,just saying