Why don't we ever learn???

Majestic12

Why don't we ever learn???

Postby Majestic12 » March 29th, 2011, 12:46 pm

Good morning All,

I trust that your drive to work this morning was more than fair if not pleasant for some. I wish I could say the same for myself.

Fellow Tuners, those who know me and with whom I work with, you may not see it right away, but I am VERY upset this morning. Allow me to share my experience.

For the past two or three weeks we have all seen, read and heard of the number of vehicular accident related deaths plaguing this country, particularly along a certain stretch of road along the Solomon Hochoy Highway. The photos of those mangled wrecks and from unofficial and unpublished sources of the bodies involved are constant and dreadful remainders of the dangers we face as drivers and pedestrians on our nation’s roads. But do we take heed, do we ever learn? I think not for most drivers out there.

This morning I had a first-hand experience with the complete and disgusting disregard for human life, the law and common decency. Folks I think it would be an understatement to say that I may not have been here this morning to share this experience with you. Let me tell my story:

For those tuners I work with, you know I arrive at the office a lot earlier than most of you (who am I kidding, I’m always first to be here). Why that is, is another story for another time. This morning traveling North along the Solomon Hochoy Highway just after the Claxton Bay Flyover (why is it always here I don’t know), I had an opportunity to implement my Defensive Driving Training and I did exactly that. I saw his high beam projector lights from a long distance encroaching behind me. I was honestly driving at 95KPH in the RIGHT lane which is my usual speed at that hour in the morning. I saw that he was coming up really fast. I signaled and went over to the LEFT lane to allow him to pass. In no time at all he was alongside me and pulling away. It was a BLACK HILUX. But at just that moment there was another vehicle just in front of him. I honestly think the driver of the HILUX misjudged just how fast/slow the car in front of him was traveling. I estimated the HILUX was going at least 180KPH to catch up with me from that distance, the car in front of him was probably going 85 to 90.

I believe the HILUX driver realized he was about to collide with the car in front of him (I only realized this after the fact). To avoid rear ending him the HILUX suddenly pulls into me. Thank the Lord for quick reflexes. I pulled away to the left in the nick of time. In doing so, I was about to slide right off the shoulder into the grass. I applied brakes to reduce speed (no ABS), I pumped brakes to regain control. My vehicle continued to slide, I did end up a little in the grass, but at a safe speed and my vehicle parallel to the road.

All while I was doing my stunt to regain control, I briefly noticed that the HILUX started to fishtail very wildly. He may have picked up a skid or was losing control of the vehicle. And at the same time, the car he was trying to avoid hitting must have noticed this and he slammed on his brakes as well. In doing so, he ended up in the grass down in the median between the highways. The HILUX eventually regained control and sped off. Mind you folks, that all of this only happened in the duration of just 3-4 seconds. It felt like 2 minutes to me. This was not my first involvement in an accident by far. I was used to the adrenaline. While I sat in my car in the darkness I was not shaking like I’ve witnessed other people do, but my heart was racing. I regained my composer and started the car (it had shut off somehow). There were no other vehicles on the road. I proceeded to pull out into the road, cursing the driver of the HILUX in my mind almost escaping to my lips.

I was about to drive away when I noticed that the other vehicle in the grass across the highway wasn’t making an attempt to get back onto the highway. I figured he may be stuck. So I pulled over, put on my caution light and crossed the highway in the now drizzling rain to see what’s going on. It turns out it was a guy and his daughter in the front seat. The girl was about 12 or 13, she was crying very softly and trying to talk to her father. The father I think was in shock. I stayed with them and kept talking to them. I couldn’t imagine what he was feeling or going what was going through his mind. I offered to call an ambulance but the father said he was fine. When he was ready I had to stop oncoming cars to allow him to get onto the highway again.

I got in my car and followed him until Chaguanas. I don't know if the girl was writing SEA exams today or not. Sadly folks, neither I nor the father got his plates.

This is my story folks…it was difficult to type this. I leave you all to ponder upon.

Thanks for being a patient audience.
Majestic12.

Re: Why don't we ever learn???

Postby Rooki3 » March 29th, 2011, 12:51 pm

didnt read it, but very informative

Postby foss » March 29th, 2011, 12:53 pm

Rooki3 wrote:didnt read it, but very informative

This.

Postby wagonrunner » March 29th, 2011, 12:54 pm

around what time?
and if meh comprehension skills eh faling, that puts you behind another car, going @ 95km/h in the right lane, wiht no other cars around. you then signaled and went left, essentially creating a box.
Last edited by wagonrunner on March 29th, 2011, 12:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 29th, 2011, 12:58 pm

nicely written man...things like these should be sent to the press to highlight the non sense taking place on our roadways....the need for people to be cautious and be mindful of the other idiots on the roadways.....3 of you lived to tell your tale....

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » March 29th, 2011, 1:01 pm

Thank you for sharing, there are many assholeish drivers out there.

Postby r3iXmann » March 29th, 2011, 1:04 pm

pickup drivers again

Postby S_2NR » March 29th, 2011, 1:04 pm

wagonrunner wrote:around what time?
and if meh comprehension skills eh faling, that puts you behind another car, going @ 95km/h in the right lane, wiht no other cars around. you then signaled and went left, essentially creating a box.

not taking anybody's side but aren't you supposed to keep left EXCEPT when overtaking.

devrat

Postby devrat » March 29th, 2011, 1:06 pm

But wagonrunner.....that is what most people do when faced with rapidly approaching headlights in their rear view mirror. Most drivers would indicate and switch to the "slow lane" to allow a vehicle travelling faster, than they are, to pass.

devrat

Postby devrat » March 29th, 2011, 1:12 pm

^^^point taken but what I wrote is the normal reaction.....at least he indicated and switched lanes instead of causing other drivers to go around him.....which has become a normal and frustrating situation on the highway.

Postby wagonrunner » March 29th, 2011, 1:15 pm

devrat wrote:

But wagonrunner.....that is what most people do when faced with rapidly approaching headlights in their rear view mirror. Most drivers would indicate and switch to the "slow lane" to allow a vehicle travelling faster, than they are, to pass.

dev, yeah. but the situation he created, if my observation is right, would create more problems than solved.

van man coming. theres a lane clear. leave it clear so he can pass. that wont be simpler / safer?

Postby Bizzare » March 29th, 2011, 1:17 pm

The point of the story is not what the OP did. Its to outline the reckless drivers on the roads who couldn't care less for other people's lives, the fact that he drove off even after recognizing what he/she caused. If all three parties involved were exercising caution, None of this would have happened whether the OP switched lanes illegally/ was in the wrong lane/ or whatever other irrelevant argument you may have.

I hate how Tuners purposely choose to miss the point in an attempt to start a heated debate over every situation. Why? So they could all sound smart trying to justify where your actions were wrong.
Last edited by Bizzare on March 29th, 2011, 1:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

devrat

Postby devrat » March 29th, 2011, 1:19 pm

As I said, I understand but what he did was the normal reaction to that situation and I am sure he expected the person ahead of him to do the same......but yes your point is valid.

jmccomie

Postby jmccomie » March 29th, 2011, 1:21 pm

allyuh doh b on d man for doin absolutely nottin wrong....dem fellars an dem in dem van does always jive like idiots (majority of dem)

Postby RBphoto » March 29th, 2011, 1:22 pm

Staying on the flecking left would have never caused this situation.

Postby r3iXmann » March 29th, 2011, 1:22 pm

wagonrunner wrote:van man coming. theres a lane clear. leave it clear so he can pass. that wont be simpler / safer?

no..the average jack@rse pickup driver will put on his high beams and ride your bumper until you move

Postby RBphoto » March 29th, 2011, 1:24 pm

D man have a kinda rasta colors sticker (Red, yellow green) on his back bumper? I know of such a hilux from marabella side. He is a kant in traffic and on the highway. No regard for life.

DRAGULA

Postby DRAGULA » March 29th, 2011, 1:27 pm

but both cars drivin 95 on d right lane (and not overtakin) still breakin the law. Hilux breakin d law too by drivin 180..... so all 3 vehicles wrong imo.

Postby RBphoto » March 29th, 2011, 1:28 pm

D chile was buckled up?

Postby Bizzare » March 29th, 2011, 1:28 pm

crossdrilled wrote:Staying on the flecking left would have never caused this situation.

crossdrilled wrote:D man have a kinda rasta colors sticker (Red, yellow green) on his back bumper? I know of such a hilux from marabella side. He is a kant in traffic and on the highway. No regard for life.

Made up your mind yet :|

mitsuboi

Postby mitsuboi » March 29th, 2011, 1:28 pm

Not siding for d hilux man but but u really shuda stayed on d right lane.....

ppl underestimate speeds of oncoming vehicles ....an d idiots speeding shud always take caution and anticipate other drivers

DRAGULA

Postby DRAGULA » March 29th, 2011, 1:28 pm

jmccomie wrote:allyuh doh b on d man for doin absolutely nottin wrong....dem fellars an dem in dem van does always jive like idiots (majority of dem)

like yuh never see d signs on d side of d high way dat says keep left except when overtaking?

Majestic12

Postby Majestic12 » March 29th, 2011, 1:29 pm

I see that fellow tuners have a lot of questions, concerns and ambiguities about this post. Let me clarify.

Time of incident: Between 4:10 and 4:15 am

As to why I was on the right lane in the first place: Anybody making their daily commute from the south all know about the condition of the left lane along that particular stretch of highway. Almost every driver, even the two and three ton trucks that usually drive below 80, drive on the right lane to avoid that mess. I was not overtaking from San’do.

About the other vehicle: When I returned to the left lane to allow the HILUX to pass there was no other vehicles in sight in front of me on either lane. There was no 'box' creation. The entire right lane was free. Only at the point when the HILUX had just pulled alongside me was there a vehicle visible in front of him. Within that split second the HILUX had pulled into me.

And YES, both Father and daughter were buckled.

Hope this provides clarification. Although you all have every right to voice your own opinions, please don’t troll this thread if you have no constructive comments to add.
Last edited by Majestic12 on March 29th, 2011, 2:38 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Bizzare » March 29th, 2011, 1:30 pm

Fellas, it sounding like y'all is the kinda men doz look 4 everything to justify why someone was wrong. Jeez. If van man was not driving recklessly, you really think the OP being in the wrong lane/ Switching lanes/ etc would have caused the same outcome :roll:

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 29th, 2011, 1:31 pm

devrat wrote:

dev, yeah. but the situation he created, if my observation is right, would create more problems than solved.

van man coming. theres a lane clear. leave it clear so he can pass. that wont be simpler / safer?

Wagonrunner, I've personally seen this happen, but the van driver chose to bumper the car in front and flash his lights for the car to make way.....

Postby Hook » March 29th, 2011, 1:32 pm

left lane on the northbound coming out of Sando is kinda facked up in spots up to just before Freeport...when it's very early in the morning and there's no one else around on my way home from south, I keep right because it beats switching lanes for every rough patch...I prefer to stick to a lane anyway

Granted, WR is right, you DID create a 80-90kmh box for a vehicle driving much faster, I've seen many a driver do this, even the mookses who drive at 60kmh in the right lane while I my tired ol' ass approaching at 80kmh...I of course, have the presence of mind to slow some distance away to gauge the situation, unlike Hilux driver there.

I hope Hilux driver learned from his hear death experience, but the sad part is, driver must be all like "fackin' slow pokes in de right lane tryin' tuh keeel meh!" instead of "yuh kno, ah did see dem from so far back, ah coulda well slow down and avoid de whole ting inno".

Postby Bizzare » March 29th, 2011, 1:34 pm

There was never was a time when you switched lanes to allow an oncoming vehicle like the OP did right :roll: . U never drove down the highway on the right lane for a bit when there was no other vehicle nearby right?? It amazes me. If y'all were in the same situation, you'd come on Tuner and warn the masses how important it is for us as drivers to keep to the left to avoid speeding reckless drivers right?? :roll:

jmccomie

Postby jmccomie » March 29th, 2011, 1:38 pm

DRAGULA wrote:
jmccomie wrote:allyuh doh b on d man for doin absolutely nottin wrong....dem fellars an dem in dem van does always jive like idiots (majority of dem)

like yuh never see d signs on d side of d high way dat says keep left except when overtaking?

U still tryin to justify dat d van man right...STEUPS!!! like u is d van man awa?

Mr Midas

Postby Mr Midas » March 29th, 2011, 1:39 pm

you mean like the idiot in the white navara who decided to accelerate up the shoulder from valsayn yesterday only to cut straight across three lanes of traffic (while mashing brakes) without indicating just so he could turn into Cipriani labour college?

or the @$$ in the hilux that almost rear ended me just because he didnt want anyone to merge in front of him?

Postby Hook » March 29th, 2011, 1:41 pm

Bizzare wrote:There was never was a time when you switched lanes to allow an oncoming vehicle like the OP did right :roll: .
nope...it have a whole other lane to dead on next to me...like yuhself dan

U never drove down the highway on the right lane for a bit when there was no other vehicle nearby right??
wha ah jus say dan?

It amazes me. If y'all were in the same situation, you'd come on Tuner and warn the masses how important it is for us as drivers to keep to the left to avoid speeding reckless drivers right?? :roll:
not even...too many trolls and idiots on here...cyar ban everybody jus so