:!: Opinions on Cylinder Block machine work :!:

Postby Sinister_Audio » March 3rd, 2011, 8:05 pm

i would assume there are numerous threads on responses on machine work on blocks locally :? but as time goes by, people may improve and services could depreciate, so as of any recent times, does anyone know of any GOOD, RELIABLE and RESPONSIVE machine block work?

thanks...
Chris

Re: :!: Opinions on Cylinder Block machine work :!:

Postby brams112 » March 3rd, 2011, 8:10 pm

ever try them bois in reform,,central precision,,,,,or d rampersad,,,

turbohead

Postby turbohead » March 3rd, 2011, 9:51 pm

there is ashooks in rambath, and pappy's in warrenville

Postby Sinister_Audio » March 3rd, 2011, 10:54 pm

how recent was the pappy's visit?

Postby Ted_v2 » March 4th, 2011, 6:54 am

wah block dan ....fuh wah engine?

Postby A172 » March 4th, 2011, 9:41 am

Pappy's still doing boss work.....very recent

turbohead

Postby turbohead » March 6th, 2011, 12:01 am

pappy's do all of toyota's work from block machining to rebushing racks and of the sort, you could also check baldwin in arima heard he does good work but price is steep

Postby Sinister_Audio » March 6th, 2011, 6:35 am

the block is an s15 sr20det

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 6th, 2011, 7:52 am

i was by pappy's last week, did some work on a head, almost mirror finish...

Postby Rooki3 » March 6th, 2011, 10:29 am

pioneer wrote:go by raymond...he go port yuh properly :|

ask...hondahoe :rofl:

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » March 6th, 2011, 4:13 pm

pioneer wrote:go by raymond...he go keep revving your engine to 10000rpm over and over

Postby Sinister_Audio » March 6th, 2011, 4:20 pm

yuh feel is yuh bibi we talk bout orr wha?

woman walk in the machine shop and ask fuh the rich creole flavour yes,
man handle she ah golden ray yes :shock:

Postby A172 » March 6th, 2011, 4:21 pm

haydn28 wrote:
pioneer wrote:go by raymond...he go keep revving your engine to 10000rpm over and over

Aphrodite
Location: living my life ....and loving it every step off the way :)

Postby Aphrodite » March 6th, 2011, 7:25 pm

Sinister_Audio wrote:

boy check yuh self you feel i is liana taking you and man by the hour ...
is such a shame she doh know you...

Postby Cjruckus » March 6th, 2011, 7:54 pm

Sinister_Audio wrote:the block is an s15 sr20det

boy them SR block a dime a dozen.

If you do want to take it to a machine shop, check Fats in El Socorro or Bamboo Machine Shop on Moccurapo Road.

Postby Sinister_Audio » March 6th, 2011, 8:20 pm

Cjruckus wrote:

If you do want to take it to a machine shop, check Fats in El Socorro or Bamboo Machine Shop on Moccurapo Road.

well it's one of those immaculate builds where everything MUST be 100% on point,
not just the average increased clearance, so will be looking for someone with experience of cleanliness and somewhat above average experience.

i've heard pappy's is good, the thread is just out there to find out if anyone thinks there may be someone better...

Postby rollingstock » March 6th, 2011, 8:37 pm

Aphrodite wrote:
Sinister_Audio wrote:

yeah buh huh much tuners pass tru you? :|

wha does that say???

:| :| :|

Aphrodite
Location: living my life ....and loving it every step off the way :)

Postby Aphrodite » March 6th, 2011, 8:52 pm

Aphrodite wrote:
Sinister_Audio wrote:

yeah buh huh much tuners pass tru you? :|

wha does that say???

[color=#FF0000]
:| :| :|

well apparently some off them little tuner boys and the lil boy mentality does kick in first gear and hit high boost ,cause the first thing out he mouth is who pass thru who , who he think pass thru who

what i want to know is how the hell my name get call in this thread ????

plus what i really want to know if when he bull he wife liana or all them woman he does be carrying here and there ..if he does be calling bibi out when he break :/
Last edited by Aphrodite on March 6th, 2011, 9:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rollingstock » March 6th, 2011, 8:56 pm

Doh study eet darling, is only diserable women does geh bull.

Postby Sinister_Audio » March 6th, 2011, 9:48 pm

anyone know's whats the average prices on work and the expected time taken per job?

have a couple other blocks to do, one 4g63 and two 2jzs....

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » March 6th, 2011, 10:04 pm

Just make sure if it is a big bore aka step sleeve install for increased displacement ensure that the machine shop does use a torque plate and that the torque plate is torqued to the specified specs. Baldwin said torque plate only use on request and not really needed, got me bummy. Papi's I am iffy on, Patrick Balgobin while seems to have lots of machinery and knows them all but do not expect a quick turnaround, he has my head going on six months now after saying max three weeks turnaround. Still has to have the squish area removed but he did mild porting and match porting, and did my valve guide removal and installed and reemed valves to proper clearances and just waiting on the five angle valve job. and that should be it. Other than that no other experiences.

Postby Sinister_Audio » March 6th, 2011, 10:41 pm

^word thnx

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » March 7th, 2011, 10:11 am

Sinister_Audio wrote:
Cjruckus wrote:

well it's one of those immaculate builds where everything MUST be 100% on point,
not just the average increased clearance, so will be looking for someone with experience of cleanliness and somewhat above average experience.

i've heard pappy's is good, the thread is just out there to find out if anyone thinks there may be someone better...

sinister , the bores need to be a perfect 90 deg cut, many people dont know that their bores are a little off , i suggest u go to some precision engineering place that charging an arm and leg using computer controlled equipment

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » March 7th, 2011, 1:33 pm

Pappys rel good with sr20's, dunno about other engines but heard very good reviews regarding pappys

Postby X2 » March 7th, 2011, 3:27 pm

Sinister, do not be misguided. Head work and block work are two DIFFERENT worlds. Just because someone is a boss with heads does not mean they are great with blocks.

What kind of work are you looking for ? Basic bore and hone or full sleeve replacement, block posting, deck plate, and/or the works ? High precision work not only requires experience, but specialized machinery, etc... For instance, if a shop does not even know what a torque plate is, then just walk... that is a basic requirement to duplicate sleeve distortion under torque.

Baldwin for instance is good with headwork, but I have heard he's not the best with block work... which is all fine and dandy. Everyone has a specialty... Baldwins definitely has the machinery for high end headwork. I have never had block work done locally so I can't call names.

Postby Sinister_Audio » March 8th, 2011, 2:40 am

^ well that much i know, but the head is remaining stock for the moment,
the torque plate is an obvious must, and the level of work required is as i said above average.
i've rec'd heads from baldwins already and have had satisfactory results, so i know thats not the issue.

considering sleeving the block, but wil check both places on wednesday or perhaps thursday.

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » March 8th, 2011, 3:48 am

^^ whats cost to sleeve locally...? (and I presume youre also getting deck, oil and line machining.. etc) Might be worth it to just check Mazworx and ship from Miami... just a thought..

then also remember local you still have to source the sleeves, pump, main studs... blah blah blah

Postby Sinister_Audio » March 8th, 2011, 4:08 am

^ yup sourced all information concerning a mazworx build already... went n checked them myself actually...they do great work and after loads of trial and error, i think they finally got it right.... we shall see on their current project, may just finish year end :)

other than that, will see how things go.

Postby A172 » March 8th, 2011, 8:42 am

Sinister yuh coming out wid ah project orhwa? giwwe some details nah dan

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » March 8th, 2011, 10:47 am

^^ if it coming from a172 LOCATION i doubt it good