rossi wrote:Yeah but what if the bill isn't CRAPPY?
eyephone wrote:Lol. Allyuh fellas actually thought rowley and his flock were gonna support this bill?
Palance in the death row cells tonight hoss.
Rowley asked for certain changes to be made to the bill regarding the categorization of murders and the 18 month appeal. This was done. Now he wants to create a loophole in the bill.
This man better than Junior Sammy yes. He pavin he own way out out of that pnm political leader seat reallll fast.
eyephone wrote:Rowley allowed his personal feelings to get the better of his judgement today. Imagine, it was shown on the parliament channel and made the news tonight, where the PM asked him to meet her to discuss things before they voted and he outright said "no"!
He said that the AG made offensive remarks to them and that was why he did not want to meet her.
Forget party and politics. Stand up for the law abiding ppl in your country nah man.
"If you entrench it in there (the Constitution) and the (Human Rights) Commission does not respond to you, you can't act," he said, adding: "So in other words, the abolition (of the death penalty) would take place by the commission not responding to you.
"They (would) have given people (convicted murderers) a constitutional right for the first time to appeal to a human rights body. That was not there before ... But they are abridging that constitutional right by saying the body has to take 18 months to hear the petition. Don't you see the Privy Council coming and saying, 'but you just give the man the right to go to a human rights body, how you could limit it to 18 months?'" PNM MP Colm Imbert added.
"In a situation where the Privy Council is already ruling 3/2 and 5/4 in our favour, what do you think they (Privy Council) would say when an appellant goes there and says 'look in my Constitution, they say I have a right (to petition) but they limit me to 18 months and the people (human rights commission) say they not ready in 18 months?" Rowley said.
"Because the right to petition a human rights commission is not part of our law, a government could proceed to ignore the commission and meet the Pratt and Morgan (five-year-deadline) and hang. In the bill, you can't ignore it."
He added, "It is all show for political spin. If you want to limit it (the time it takes to hear the petition), you have to limit it outside of the Constitution."
UML wrote:those human rights ppl just waste precious time to avoid hangings
UML wrote:I not agreeing with PNM bro....i just want tuh see some neck pop![]()