yeah Tonsin takes playing to the next level

no chromatic wankering like most shredders do, but real creative stuff

Re: The guitar string (thread)

Postby MG Man » January 6th, 2011, 6:59 pm

Racers Edge wrote:^^
cyah cyah....dumbass

so somebody recommend a good electric guitar for me nah.... I play rythm on my Palmer Acoustic..but I wanna learn lead..

buy ah Ibanez Sabre

Postby Sky » January 6th, 2011, 7:31 pm

ibanez wrote:^^ to Sky

Korn guitarists can't play sheit much less use a 7-string, anyone can play barre chords!

check out Jeff Loomis from Nevermore, Pat O'Brien from Cannibal Corpse and the guitarists from Portal to hear how versatile a 7 string is and how much more you can do on one.

I din say they was good :lol: :lol:

I was describing the low B string.

Postby MG Man » January 6th, 2011, 7:49 pm

Postby Sky » January 6th, 2011, 10:10 pm

That has no increments eh, if you think bass difficult, it nice compared to that. Dem men have skill.
Like the standing fretless basses those jazz guys play.

Postby MG Man » January 6th, 2011, 10:24 pm

I jus impressed somebody selling a pickup for that application

Postby Cjruckus » January 7th, 2011, 12:33 am

pffftt all you kids and your 10 stirnged guitars and active pickups.

Lets hear you guys sound good through my amp

Postby shogun » January 7th, 2011, 1:14 am

Sky wrote:That has no increments eh, if you think bass difficult, it nice compared to that. Dem men have skill.
Like the standing fretless basses those jazz guys play.

Fur real, finger memory like a mofo.

Racers Edge

Postby Racers Edge » January 7th, 2011, 11:32 am

evokiller wrote:check out tosin abasi also....he plays an 8string...where i wanna end up by summer this yr

umm good guitar to start with racers edge....really stay away from those packages with guitar and amp.....whats yr budget like?

well I don't mind spending USD 500...but will I get something of quality..I was going for an Ibanez but what about Fender or Gibson, do they have in that range?

Postby Cjruckus » January 7th, 2011, 3:24 pm

Gibson has jack sheit in that range. Probably for 200 more you could get a very nice american made fender. 500 would get you a made in japan stratocaster but those are a lot harder to come by.

You can get a great instrument for that price, all depends on what you want to do with it. I personally shy away from ibanez and jacksons because I prefer the more traditional feel and playability of a fender or gibson.

But there are a lot better instruments out there than ibanez gibson and fender. Especially in that price range.

Racers Edge

Postby Racers Edge » January 7th, 2011, 4:54 pm

well gee Chris... wud u mind stating what other brands I cud look at besides Gib, Ib and Fen?

evokiller

Postby evokiller » January 7th, 2011, 5:00 pm

http://www.music123.com/browse/category ... _price.jsp

guitars from 300-500
out of the few i glanced...id buy the schecter damien elite fr
6strings floydrose and active pickups, but its really if ur a schecter fan...i really like schecter so thats kinda how the decision is made on my part

evokiller

Postby evokiller » January 7th, 2011, 5:01 pm

oh the schecter is 580USD now realised....

Postby Cjruckus » January 7th, 2011, 9:54 pm

Postby Sky » January 10th, 2011, 8:43 am

^^ Chris, most reviews put the Squier Classic Vibe 50's and 60's strat above the MIM Fender strat in quality and sound. Squier stepping up their game and if one doesn't mind playing a pos brand they won't regret getting one of those over the std strat.

Postby Sky » January 11th, 2011, 10:56 pm

IT REACH!!!!111ONE

Been playing it since I got home.
This thing plays so sweet. The action's low. You have the feel of an electric with the sound of an acoustic. Revies said it was softer than the traditional dreanought. Well, yea, but it's a bit too loud for me (actually, the people around me). I have nothing to plug it into though :( so I'll wait a few days for that. I also ordered the AC30 amplug and it's on it's way. I'd change my entire style to surround this guitar if it wasn't so gay to do so.

The next buy will be a strat RI 60's loaded body and a strat RI 60's neck. I love the sound from the fenders of that decade. And since I'm not swimming in cash, a genuine one is out of reach, so the reissue will have to do.
After that build will be deciding on effects.
I'd rather have pedals on a board, but they're much more expensive than the Boss GT-10 for what they can do vs the Boss. But they genuinely sound better.
The only advantage the Boss has is the complex loop station, holding up to about 4 bars (I'm not sure, but that's how much I used last time I fooled around with one).
But nothing beats the sound of a stompbox.

evokiller

Postby evokiller » January 11th, 2011, 11:53 pm

u can buy my line 6 floor pod plus :) u can get it for 2200 negiotable...barely used haha

evokiller

Postby evokiller » January 18th, 2011, 12:32 pm

<object width="640" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/ADXnlBh0K28?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/ADXnlBh0K28?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="640" height="385"></embed></object>

i find these guitars are kinda cool, i went checking the guys site but some of the info isnt up yet...but check em out fellas what yall think?

Postby Cjruckus » January 18th, 2011, 9:29 pm

evokiller wrote:<object width="640" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/ADXnlBh0K28?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/ADXnlBh0K28?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="640" height="385"></embed></object>

i find these guitars are kinda cool, i went checking the guys site but some of the info isnt up yet...but check em out fellas what yall think?

nice features.

I personally like the Magnetic back plate. I wish all my instruments had those. his guitars are attractive, but i wonder how the huge cuts in the wood would affect the tone. Along with the restrictive bridge, i can see it sounding very flat without active pickups. Not my cup of tea, but cool innovations.

chris600

Postby chris600 » January 20th, 2011, 2:58 pm

hey guys im intrested in this guitar,....just wanna get ur taughts/opinion on the type ..if there are better options in the price range or how playable it is(wil b used 4 alternative type music)
..thx

http://www.gretschguitars.com/products/ ... 2505010506

Postby Cjruckus » January 20th, 2011, 6:18 pm

chris600 wrote:hey guys im intrested in this guitar,....just wanna get ur taughts/opinion on the type ..if there are better options in the price range or how playable it is(wil b used 4 alternative type music)
..thx

http://www.gretschguitars.com/products/ ... 2505010506

id stay away from it.

Postby Sky » February 2nd, 2011, 2:48 pm

Btw, Live n Loud moved to Playdium in San Fernando. Checked it out last week. It's a bit small , but enough to showcase everything ad still room to test out instruments. Witht he igs he have there, the kids and game noise isn't an issue. He's targeting the kids now, selling smaller guitars also.

Postby Cjruckus » February 3rd, 2011, 12:53 am

Sky wrote:Btw, Live n Loud moved to Playdium in San Fernando. Checked it out last week. It's a bit small , but enough to showcase everything ad still room to test out instruments. Witht he igs he have there, the kids and game noise isn't an issue. He's targeting the kids now, selling smaller guitars also.

well sheit.

I went to his place in chase village and his stock was quite shitty.
There is no way im driving to south to deal with sham and his shenanigans.

He could afford a better store front if he didnt move like a con man 90% of the time.

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » February 4th, 2011, 1:18 pm

If youre considering Gretsch, get one with the 'filtertron' pickups, if you get a solid body model with that, youre looking at ac/dc rhythm tones, which is as good as it gets.

Postby gt4tified » February 6th, 2011, 7:54 pm

Sky wrote:^^ Chris, most reviews put the Squier Classic Vibe 50's and 60's strat above the MIM Fender strat in quality and sound. Squier stepping up their game and if one doesn't mind playing a pos brand they won't regret getting one of those over the std strat.

Reviews are subjective...if you have a Classic Vibe strat from Squier, bring it and come....we'll compare it to my 2001 MIM Strat.

Postby Sky » February 25th, 2011, 9:24 am

I'm just leaving this here.
60's body (RI of course)
Haven't chosen a neck yet. Might go for a 2010 full maple with the new logo, or a 60's RI neck, Rosewood.
Or I may just ditch the bran name business and get a Warmoth with compound radius.

Postby Sky » February 25th, 2011, 10:30 am

gt4tified wrote:
Sky wrote:^^ Chris, most reviews put the Squier Classic Vibe 50's and 60's strat above the MIM Fender strat in quality and sound. Squier stepping up their game and if one doesn't mind playing a pos brand they won't regret getting one of those over the std strat.

Reviews are subjective...if you have a Classic Vibe strat from Squier, bring it and come....we'll compare it to my 2001 MIM Strat.

And what's to say you won't have a subjective comparison, because you do own a 2k1 mim.
The reviews are from people who own/played both.
Fender's quality dropped since the 90's and the only mainstream strat worth getting is usa deluxe. And if I can afford that I'll just get a PRS. Maybe you got a gem, maybe you don't know what a good guitar is, who knows.

Postby gt4tified » February 28th, 2011, 11:51 am

Sky wrote:
gt4tified wrote:

And what's to say you won't have a subjective comparison, because you do own a 2k1 mim.
The reviews are from people who own/played both.
Fender's quality dropped since the 90's and the only mainstream strat worth getting is usa deluxe. And if I can afford that I'll just get a PRS. Maybe you got a gem, maybe you don't know what a good guitar is, who knows.

Somebody tell mih to doh feed trolls so I not taking bait...sorry. But if my post was not clear enuff for your powers of interpretation, lemme put it this way....if you have a Squier Classic Vibe Strat and willing to swap with someone else with a MIM for a side by side comparison, let me know.

Postby Sky » February 28th, 2011, 12:53 pm

^^Maybe you should put your ego back in it's cage, because you already fed an unintentional troll from me. I was just selling as I bought and you took offense because your MIM's soooo great. Notice the stamp on the body I bought and post up? It's a MIM 62 RI. That means I hate the MIMs right?
*sigh, typical guitarist.
"bring yours I challenge you!!!" wtf is this, Yugioh?

Snags

Postby Snags » February 28th, 2011, 9:34 pm

Anyone know what it costs to own one of those guitars from 1032 guitars?Or is it one of those things that's basically a "if you have to ask, you can't afford it?" type thing? :lol:
I'm looking for another guitar right now since I got rid of my parker recently. The only guitar I have right now is my Morris LP replica, more here
http://cgi.ebay.com/1970S-MORRIS-GLOBAL ... 1c198f9c70