nuh really, I just like to read about it, fiddle plenty, try out different things and ask alot of questions!ado15mk3 wrote:Very good advice Duane. Like you in this real long dread.
bgh wrote:anyone using the Sony HT-CT150 3D Sound Bar System??? your reviews...
Chiney wrote:hmm
we need to work on ur layout there russell.. but equipment wise.... WAW!
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:just buy a screen
http://www.amazon.com/Elite-Screens-Manual-Projection-Screen/dp/B000NE35B4/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1294933201&sr=8-3
A projector screen needs certain reflective properties to be able to absorb ambient light and reflect the RGB light that it is getting. You cannot make that yourself or get that with a painted wall. "Not only that but the color of the white paint on the wall is rarely conducive to giving you good color balance.". You can try a roll of photographic paper - good luck getting it here for a good price.
"In commercial movie theaters, the screen is a reflective surface that may be either aluminized (for high contrast in moderate ambient light) or a white surface with small glass beads (for high brilliance under dark conditions). " - wikipedia
"One of the most often quoted properties in a home theater screen is the gain. This is a measure of reflectivity of light compared to a screen coated with magnesium carbonate[4] or titanium dioxide,[5] when the measurement is taken for light targeted and reflected perpendicular to the screen. Titanium dioxide is a bright white colour, but greater gains can be accomplished with materials that reflect more of the light parallel to projection axis and less off-axis...
Screens with high gain also have a narrower usable viewing angle, as the amount of reflected light rapidly decreases as the viewer moves away from front of such screen." - wikipedia
IMO you are giving up contrast, viewing angle and having your room pitch black all the time (impractical just for TV watching) just to get a 150" screen when all you need to do is buy a backlit LED or plasma and sit closer to it.
Of course no harm in experimenting. Knock yourself out!nuh really, I just like to read about it, fiddle plenty, try out different things and ask alot of questions!ado15mk3 wrote:Very good advice Duane. Like you in this real long dread.
there are guys in here and in the car audio and IASCA forums with alot more technical knowledge than me.
X_Factor wrote:http://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.html/ref=br_lf_m_1000579581_grlink_2?ie=UTF8&plgroup=2&docId=1000579581
good deals there on amazon...i wish i had the cash!
X_Factor wrote:http://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.html/ref=br_lf_m_1000579581_grlink_2?ie=UTF8&plgroup=2&docId=1000579581
good deals there on amazon...i wish i had the cash!
but how well does the projector show? if you said you saved money then I highly doubt it shows better than the plasma unless someone gave you a bligh on a second hand top quality projector.EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:[ I guess I could of gotten a plasma but you know I have always been fascinated by Projectors and their mammoth size screens and I really cannot complain it came out a lot cheaper compared to buying a TV in Trinidad and in return for the massive size screen.
I've been coming to that realisationChiney wrote:is alpine we talking bout here.. de man have he own understanding of things yo
gtiracer wrote:Crappy pic...
Yep area is very small and open to the left and right which is why the right front on a stand.
Samsung 37", Pioneer vsx-1020-k, Klipsch Quintet and RW-12d sub.. Yeah i know similar setup to some folks here and yep, plenty sub for the area/surround speakers.
Need a a/v cabinet as the stand is temp, and will install some square ducting when i have some time to finish off.
LOL yup that happenspioneer wrote:They sound so good i find myself listening to mozart and beethoven just to hear those instruments
pioneer wrote:thaz nice to know...but bose is tewts
pioneer wrote:give u $200