*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 13th, 2011, 11:35 am

just buy a screen
http://www.amazon.com/Elite-Screens-Manual-Projection-Screen/dp/B000NE35B4/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1294933201&sr=8-3

A projector screen needs certain reflective properties to be able to absorb ambient light and reflect the RGB light that it is getting. You cannot make that yourself or get that with a painted wall. "Not only that but the color of the white paint on the wall is rarely conducive to giving you good color balance.". You can try a roll of photographic paper - good luck getting it here for a good price.

"In commercial movie theaters, the screen is a reflective surface that may be either aluminized (for high contrast in moderate ambient light) or a white surface with small glass beads (for high brilliance under dark conditions). " - wikipedia

"One of the most often quoted properties in a home theater screen is the gain. This is a measure of reflectivity of light compared to a screen coated with magnesium carbonate[4] or titanium dioxide,[5] when the measurement is taken for light targeted and reflected perpendicular to the screen. Titanium dioxide is a bright white colour, but greater gains can be accomplished with materials that reflect more of the light parallel to projection axis and less off-axis...

Screens with high gain also have a narrower usable viewing angle, as the amount of reflected light rapidly decreases as the viewer moves away from front of such screen." - wikipedia

IMO you are giving up contrast, viewing angle and having your room pitch black all the time (impractical just for TV watching) just to get a 150" screen when all you need to do is buy a backlit LED or plasma and sit closer to it.

Of course no harm in experimenting. Knock yourself out!

ado15mk3 wrote:Very good advice Duane. Like you in this real long dread.
nuh really, I just like to read about it, fiddle plenty, try out different things and ask alot of questions!

there are guys in here and in the car audio and IASCA forums with alot more technical knowledge than me.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » January 13th, 2011, 5:29 pm

pics on page 50
Last edited by ru$$ell on January 13th, 2011, 8:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » January 13th, 2011, 6:06 pm

Sony HT-SS370
got this for Christmas and couldn't be happier. My first system so can't really compare it to anything but it does sound great.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » January 13th, 2011, 6:16 pm

bgh wrote:anyone using the Sony HT-CT150 3D Sound Bar System??? your reviews...

for the price it wud prob be better to get a 5.1 system

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » January 13th, 2011, 8:08 pm

ok,got this idea from a friend over @ Blu Ray forum,his one was a TV outside his HT room placed in portrait mode displaying Pictures of upcoming movies he was showing or what was currently showing. Had a spare 32" Pricemart Brand generic LCD TV's lying around and was gonna do the same,but thought that may have been overkill,so i did the same design idea,just with a Digital Photo Frame,drilled a hole in the door and ran wire which i modded from a normal Plug to USB 5V+,the plug was already rated as 5V,works like a charm,and only comes on when the PC is on,so i dont have to keep unplugging it as if it had the normal wall plug.Thought it came out good enough,i'll get a Plexi Etched and replace the "Now Showing" Laminated one sometime soon,Other pics here as well,but please bear in mind that its a camera phone.

Outside (so people dont have to randomly walk in and ask what i'm looking at,never happened before come to think of it,but at least i prepared)

Closeup

Guess whats showing?

Phone with flash (Klipsch RF52's and Polk Audio R15's series wired and using as center channel)

Lights off aparantly

Random Dartboard hung up (yeah,i need to get some movie memorabilia for in here)

Klipsch quintet 2's as surrounds

Chiney

Postby Chiney » January 13th, 2011, 10:34 pm

hmm
we need to work on ur layout there russell.. but equipment wise.... WAW!

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » January 14th, 2011, 3:45 am

bgh wrote:anyone using the Sony HT-CT150 3D Sound Bar System??? your reviews...

its good for a small to medium sized room (like a bedroom). SQ is good, bass speaker gives a nice, full bass. several diff modes for what you are watching (sports, movie, gaming etc). only drawback is volume, which figures cos its a small system.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » January 14th, 2011, 6:41 am

Chiney wrote:hmm
we need to work on ur layout there russell.. but equipment wise.... WAW!

?? you talking about how the fronts slightly toed in? i did it that way cause of the seating.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » January 14th, 2011, 8:07 am

oh
well ok that says alot

well yeh

WAW x 2 !! :D

gtiracer

Postby gtiracer » January 14th, 2011, 8:46 am

Crappy pic...

Yep area is very small and open to the left and right which is why the right front on a stand.
Samsung 37", Pioneer vsx-1020-k, Klipsch Quintet and RW-12d sub.. Yeah i know similar setup to some folks here and yep, plenty sub for the area/surround speakers.

Need a a/v cabinet as the stand is temp, and will install some square ducting when i have some time to finish off.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » January 14th, 2011, 9:18 am

^ AWESOME!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 14th, 2011, 10:23 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:just buy a screen
http://www.amazon.com/Elite-Screens-Manual-Projection-Screen/dp/B000NE35B4/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1294933201&sr=8-3

A projector screen needs certain reflective properties to be able to absorb ambient light and reflect the RGB light that it is getting. You cannot make that yourself or get that with a painted wall. "Not only that but the color of the white paint on the wall is rarely conducive to giving you good color balance.". You can try a roll of photographic paper - good luck getting it here for a good price.

"In commercial movie theaters, the screen is a reflective surface that may be either aluminized (for high contrast in moderate ambient light) or a white surface with small glass beads (for high brilliance under dark conditions). " - wikipedia

"One of the most often quoted properties in a home theater screen is the gain. This is a measure of reflectivity of light compared to a screen coated with magnesium carbonate[4] or titanium dioxide,[5] when the measurement is taken for light targeted and reflected perpendicular to the screen. Titanium dioxide is a bright white colour, but greater gains can be accomplished with materials that reflect more of the light parallel to projection axis and less off-axis...

Screens with high gain also have a narrower usable viewing angle, as the amount of reflected light rapidly decreases as the viewer moves away from front of such screen." - wikipedia

IMO you are giving up contrast, viewing angle and having your room pitch black all the time (impractical just for TV watching) just to get a 150" screen when all you need to do is buy a backlit LED or plasma and sit closer to it.

Of course no harm in experimenting. Knock yourself out!

ado15mk3 wrote:Very good advice Duane. Like you in this real long dread.
nuh really, I just like to read about it, fiddle plenty, try out different things and ask alot of questions!

there are guys in here and in the car audio and IASCA forums with alot more technical knowledge than me.

Hey nice advice here duane. You know your stuff.

I guess I will have to invest in a nice screen on Amazon. I guess I could of gotten a plasma but you know I have always been fascinated by Projectors and their mammoth size screens and I really cannot complain it came out a lot cheaper compared to buying a TV in Trinidad and in return for the massive size screen.

SO I guess I will invest in a good screen from Amazon and save myself the trouble. Plus I can reuse it in future if I ever change projectors and upgrade etc.

Postby X_Factor » January 15th, 2011, 6:52 am

http://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.html/r ... 1000579581

good deals there on amazon...i wish i had the cash!

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » January 15th, 2011, 10:11 am

X_Factor wrote:http://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.html/ref=br_lf_m_1000579581_grlink_2?ie=UTF8&plgroup=2&docId=1000579581

i can give credit ( only to the 2nrs i already know well )

but will cost you more

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » January 15th, 2011, 12:42 pm

X_Factor wrote:http://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.html/ref=br_lf_m_1000579581_grlink_2?ie=UTF8&plgroup=2&docId=1000579581

holy eff,really good deals there for real!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 15th, 2011, 2:50 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:[ I guess I could of gotten a plasma but you know I have always been fascinated by Projectors and their mammoth size screens and I really cannot complain it came out a lot cheaper compared to buying a TV in Trinidad and in return for the massive size screen.
but how well does the projector show? if you said you saved money then I highly doubt it shows better than the plasma unless someone gave you a bligh on a second hand top quality projector.

Projectors definitely have their advantages and if/when I can afford to build a dedicated movie only, multi seat rows, home theater I will definitely go with a projector for sheer screen size, but it will cost a considerable amount more than a TV and the room will have to have excellent light control.

YOu can get plasma quality from a 5000 lumens projector in a dark room but at what price and how many bulbs are you going to go through? Projectors are made to run for a few hours of movie watching, not long hours of TV watching or gaming.

Everything is a trade off - you cant get small plasma TV's (32" is the realm of LCD) and Plasmas are/were cheaper than LED at larger sizes - a 70" plasma will be cheaper and show better than a 70" LED (Are there even any 70" LEDs?)

In any case you have to decide what you want it for. You can get a projector with a 150" screen for less than a plasma or LED TV, however you will be hard pressed to get the same picture quality out the projector at that price.

Top picture quality home theater projectors can cost US$5000 to as much as US$20,000, a bulb can cost US$1000 and can last a few hundred hours at best.

once you happy.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » January 15th, 2011, 3:09 pm

[quote]once you happy.[\quote]

is alpine we talking bout here.. de man have he own understanding of things yo

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » January 15th, 2011, 3:57 pm

^for real.man done selling already

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=352527

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 15th, 2011, 4:08 pm

Chiney wrote:is alpine we talking bout here.. de man have he own understanding of things yo
I've been coming to that realisation :|

Chiney

Postby Chiney » January 15th, 2011, 4:16 pm

gtiracer wrote:Crappy pic...

Yep area is very small and open to the left and right which is why the right front on a stand.
Samsung 37", Pioneer vsx-1020-k, Klipsch Quintet and RW-12d sub.. Yeah i know similar setup to some folks here and yep, plenty sub for the area/surround speakers.

Need a a/v cabinet as the stand is temp, and will install some square ducting when i have some time to finish off.

normal ting duane

i loving that setup!! its so symmetrical! the equipment is awesome! i cud only imagine how good it will sound!! plus..the sub gain should be low and just right, to fill in that low rumble when needed..

me likes!

Postby 16 cycles » January 15th, 2011, 5:53 pm

brother of a tuner in this thread dropped off a nx810 sony 3D tv....thanks...

will put through paces soon...

Smokey

Projectors: 3LCD vs DLP for movies

Postby Smokey » January 16th, 2011, 1:06 pm

Projectors: 3LCD vs DLP for movies

Which is better for movies?

Also, does customs charge duty on computer projectors? Or is it just the standard VAT?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 16th, 2011, 1:39 pm

^ depends on the models you are looking at.

AFAIK you may be charged duty and VAT on the projector, even if it can be used on a computer. Same reason you get charged duty and VAT on HDTV's even though you can use it as a computer monitor.

drop ho

Postby drop ho » January 20th, 2011, 9:24 am

^How the system sounding? Any complaints on your choices?
How is the Dayton's b652 sounding?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 20th, 2011, 11:10 am

pioneer wrote:They sound so good i find myself listening to mozart and beethoven just to hear those instruments :shock:
LOL yup that happens

drop ho

Postby drop ho » January 20th, 2011, 1:22 pm

Glad to hear!! *rubs hands in anticipation*

Raptor yuh stikin.......... lol ah jokin ah jokin

Chiney

Postby Chiney » January 20th, 2011, 3:22 pm

was playing some 80s last night..

YUM

Ultimas

Postby Ultimas » January 20th, 2011, 9:16 pm

Lifestyle® V35 home entertainment system

Guided setup and simplified use with easy-to-follow onscreen messages

Dynamic surround sound for movies, music, sports and gaming

Easily connect and control up to 6 of your HD video and music sources, with video upscaling to 1080p over HDMI®

Includes dock for your iPod® or iPhone®, AM/FM tuner and remote with LCD display

Customizes its sound to fit your room, for a consistent, high-quality performance

Available with premium Jewel Cube® speakers or slightly larger Direct/Reflecting® speakers.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
$3299.00 (US) plus VAT

This system is a complete home solution with full connectivity for all of your devices. Playstation 3, BluRay, Apple TV, DirectTV, Flow's PVR box, etc.....

RapToR

Postby RapToR » January 20th, 2011, 9:32 pm

pioneer wrote:thaz nice to know...but bose is tewts :|

got a bose v30

off me anything for it

RapToR

Postby RapToR » January 20th, 2011, 9:57 pm

pioneer wrote:give u $200 :?

will accept US$2000.00