Re: Cell phone driving ban to take effect February 2nd 2011

Postby bushwakka » January 1st, 2011, 10:46 am

wam to popalee?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 1st, 2011, 10:47 am

Cool.

When the seatbelt law going to come into effect? 2012?

Postby redmanjp » January 1st, 2011, 4:55 pm

Strauss wrote:Cool.

When the seatbelt law going to come into effect? 2012?

d past few mths i seeing plenty people buckling up bai- so it loook like TTPS on d beat

d things is maybe they should make it mandatory for back seat passengers to wear seatbelts- with more than 10 people dead d past few days i sure a few of them was in d back seat- i buckle up in d back this wk cause i didn't want no driver who drunk for xmas to make me eh see d new year- i just create a poll about this
Last edited by redmanjp on January 1st, 2011, 5:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 1st, 2011, 5:09 pm

exactly.....it doesnt matter when you're going to be charged...if your call is so important to take, pull on the side of the road and take it.....

Postby sharkman121 » January 1st, 2011, 5:16 pm

jus ordered this on amazon $8 US

Postby redmanjp » January 1st, 2011, 5:58 pm

^^ yuh still have to have speakerphone capability in the phone or it comes with a mic?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 1st, 2011, 6:06 pm

sharkman121 wrote:jus ordered this on amazon $8 US

Interesting...

http://shine.yahoo.com/channel/life/10- ... toViewer=2

Postby sharkman121 » January 1st, 2011, 6:51 pm

redmanjp wrote:^^ yuh still have to have speakerphone capability in the phone or it comes with a mic?

nah all u need is a working fm radio in yr car.

Postby sharkman121 » January 1st, 2011, 6:52 pm

HCCA wrote:

Interesting...

http://shine.yahoo.com/channel/life/10- ... toViewer=2

:shock: :shock: :shock:

puts order on hold :|

Postby redmanjp » January 1st, 2011, 7:08 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:^^ yuh still have to have speakerphone capability in the phone or it comes with a mic?

nah all u need is a working fm radio in yr car.

but how d person on the other end hearing u- unless radios coming with mics now

Postby S_2NR » January 1st, 2011, 10:34 pm

all da..y not jus get a bluetooth headset.. :?
so when u receivin a call u hav to put on d radio..change to required station then answer..
sounds like too much..

Postby sharkman121 » January 1st, 2011, 10:40 pm

if i wanted somethin uncomfortable in mih ears right thru i wuda buy one :?

U think i drive my car with the radio off?.. all u do is press 4 on the remote (or whatever preset number on the remote for 99.3) and the call automatically diverts to the car stereo.

For $8 US u cant go wrong for trying it even if it doesnt work out an has poor signal.

Not to good if yuh outside oman call yuh while yuh real oman in d car doh. is either dat or she ask yuh why yuh ignorin d call :|

not a very big fan of b-tooth headsets tho.

Postby Trini Hookah » January 1st, 2011, 10:46 pm

sharky dais why yuh wasnt answering yuh phone today :|

Postby S_2NR » January 1st, 2011, 10:55 pm

sharkman121 wrote:if i wanted somethin uncomfortable in mih ears right thru i wuda buy one :?

U think i drive my car with the radio off?.. all u do is press 4 on the remote (or whatever preset number on the remote for 99.3) and the call automatically diverts to the car stereo.

For $8 US u cant go wrong for trying it even if it doesnt work out an has poor signal.

Not to good if yuh outside oman call yuh while yuh real oman in d car doh. is either dat or she ask yuh why yuh ignorin d call :|

there are comfortable headsets out there but they are generally more costly but i understand wat u sayin..sometimes u jus dont feel like wearin tha sheit..

i dont drive with the radio off..but i use my ipod touch with my deck..so if i was to get this i hav to change modes from aux to tuner n one setta drama..

$8US is a gr8 price..but u hav to always remember..
u get what u pay for!

Postby sharkman121 » January 1st, 2011, 11:07 pm

redman10 wrote:$8US is a gr8 price..but u hav to always remember..
u get what u pay for!

true... i aint being cheap but if it end up bein sheit u aint loss much really..

vrampersad14 wrote:sharky dais why yuh wasnt answering yuh phone today :|

once u eh callin to say u bringin roti or a baytee i doh ansa :|

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » January 2nd, 2011, 12:52 am

dunno how allyuh bess phones dont have a proper loudspeaker option...when de phone ring in d car, i does jus press loudspeaker and talk normal....clear, crisp and no problem..i doh have to finger meh ears or look away for a second....

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » January 2nd, 2011, 11:39 am

i hate talking/answering the phone while driving anyways and most of the time i get a bad drive, its either the driver on the phone or its a woman.

i think they should ban women drivers also.

Re: Cell phone driving ban to take effect New Year's Day?

Postby AllTrac » January 2nd, 2011, 3:03 pm

I know a person guilty of doing this daily and when i mentioned it to them their response was - "so what? I drive a mercedes, people don't die in these yuh think is ah almera???"

1nm :lol:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 2nd, 2011, 7:08 pm

sharkman121 wrote:if i wanted somethin uncomfortable in mih ears right thru i wuda buy one :?

there is nothing that says that you HAVE to keep the headset on you all the time....just keep it in your pocket/cupholder, if phone rings it's right there for you to take out and place on your ear, talk and then remove and put back in pocket/cupholder.....done a few times it becomes an automatic action.

Postby sharkman121 » January 2nd, 2011, 7:29 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:if i wanted somethin uncomfortable in mih ears right thru i wuda buy one

there is nothing that says that you HAVE to keep the headset on you all the time....just keep it in your pocket/cupholder, if phone rings it's right there for you to take out and place on your ear, talk and then remove and put back in pocket/cupholder.....done a few times it becomes an automatic action.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 2nd, 2011, 7:47 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
~Vēġó~ wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:if i wanted somethin uncomfortable in mih ears right thru i wuda buy one

well then sharkman121 I'm sure there may be another option which may be better suited for you other than that Jupiter Jack....maybe a bluetooth car stereo?

alternatives may be more expensive though....

Postby sharkman121 » January 2nd, 2011, 7:55 pm

yeh since i saw that review, that idea kinda went out the door, saw a guy sellin a decent setup in the misc forum. gonna do a lil checkin up on it.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 2nd, 2011, 8:01 pm

cool......and since you would need it for the car then they seem to be worth looking into, rather than the headset which has the advantage of portability....which you do not need to have.

slickonit

Cellphone law effective February 19

Postby slickonit » January 3rd, 2011, 11:07 pm

FYI.

Trinidad Express Newspaper National News of Trinidad and Tobago

Cellphone law effective February 19

Originally printed at http://www.trinidadexpress.com/commenta ... 37344.html

By Dana Seetahal
January 1, 2010

At least ten persons spoke to me on Thursday last about the new cellphone law that is to take effect in the new year. Most had no idea what the law is about and when it is to be actually effective. Some wanted to know how come there had been no parliamentary debate on the law; they had heard none.

It is a regulation

The first thing to appreciate is that the new law is not a separate Act but comprises a set of regulations made under the Motor Vehicle and Road Traffic Act. That Act, in section 100, permits the relevant Minister to make regulations for, among other things, "the safety, control and regulation of traffic and use of vehicles" on the road. This is a power that was delegated to the Minister in the main Act and such regulations do not need parliamentary debate or approval. They are still law although referred to as "delegated" legislation.

Over time various regulations have been passed and there are now a couple of hundred regulations and many sub-regulations. They deal with all manner of things such traffic signals, overtaking, parking and the like. Now they also deal with the use of cell-phones while driving.

What it says

The new law is called the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic (Mobile Devices) Regulations 2010. It creates three new traffic offences. First, it is provided as follows:

"No person shall drive or have charge of a motor vehicle on any road while holding or using a hand- held mobile device."

Mobile device means a mobile telephone or other device which performs interactive communication function by transmitting and receiving data. This additional prohibition is possibly meant to include any further variations of cellphones in the future that might not strictly be deemed "mobile" telephones. Breach of this regulation renders a person liable to a fine of $1,500 or three months imprisonment.

Driving instructors cannot escape by claiming they were not driving. The law covers persons "supervising" the holder of a provisional permit.

In addition there is now a prohibition against any person viewing or sending text messages while driving. The specific regulation states:

"No person shall use a wireless communication device to view, send or compose an electronic message while driving or having charge of a vehicle."

A "wireless communication device" means a device used to transfer information over a distance without the use of electrical conductors or wires. A cellphone transmitting text messages is obviously such a device. The penalty for this breach is also a fine of $1,500 or three months imprisonment.

Exemptions

The law however specifically exempts use of mobile telephone on the road once it is in "hands-free mode". It also does not apply when the vehicle is off the road/parked and not in motion and not impeding traffic. It will thus still apply if the vehicle is stopped and off the road but is in motion. In other words turn off the engine.

Further the law does not apply to the driver of an ambulance, fire service or police service vehicle. Note, it applies to ambulance drivers, fire officers and police officers when they are driving in private capacity. When such a person is actually driving such a vehicle, however, i.e. ambulance or fire/police service vehicle, he is exempt. The law also allows the Minister to exempt certain persons or classes of persons that he prescribes.

Effective Date

There has been a lot of concern as to when the new law will come into effect. The law is published as Legal Notice No. 281 in the Official Gazette of November 18, 2010. Publication in the Gazette is required before a statutory instrument [which regulations are] is effective, as specified in section 12 of the Statutes Act. That Act also states that a statutory instruments will come into operation on the date of publication unless a later or earlier date is prescribed in the instrument.

Interestingly enough this 2010 law itself provides at regulation 2:

"These regulations shall come into effect three months from the date of publication."

Given that the date of publication is November 18, 2010 three months later would be February 18, 2011. Since one does not count the actual date of publication in computation of time the three months therefore will end of February 18 and so the law comes into effect on February 19, 2011.

Ticket

A new order made under the "Ticket" Act permits tickets to be given for these traffic breaches instead of a full charge. If a ticket is issued and paid the penalty is a flat $1,000. If not paid then the matter is treated as a regular traffic charge before the courts.

New Year

The New Year brings with it another facet of government regulation of social behaviour following the Breathalyser and tobacco laws. Hopefully these will contribute to a better quality of life in T&T.

slickonit

Re: Cellphone law effective February 19

Postby slickonit » January 3rd, 2011, 11:29 pm

Can't drivers of an ambulance, fire service or police service vehicle have handfree devices? Are these emergency vehicle drivers trained to drive at high speeds blaring siren, with one hand while on the phone?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 3rd, 2011, 11:40 pm

nicely done to put up the information....

Postby 3stagevtec » January 4th, 2011, 12:16 am

Good info! I was wondering how the law would treat hands free devices..

Postby redmanjp » January 4th, 2011, 2:34 pm

bmobile still have their xmas sales prices? i interested in d nokia 5310 or Samsung E2550 (right now i only have a old cheap motorola wit no btooth) anyone know if they selling this in any store now or just online in their e-store?

why police & emergency service drivers exempt? they cant use hands free?

or is it to allow them to communicate with a police radio/dispatch?

and jeez i sticking wit Feb. 2nd oui

Postby wagonrunner » January 4th, 2011, 2:55 pm

"No person shall drive or have charge of a motor vehicle on any road while holding or using a hand- held mobile device."

so much for using google maps to find your way around strange areas then.
Exemptions

The law however specifically exempts use of mobile telephone on the road once it is in "hands-free mode". It also does not apply when the vehicle is off the road/parked and not in motion and not impeding traffic. It will thus still apply if the vehicle is stopped and off the road but is in motion. In other words turn off the engine.
WHAT??
if only it was possible to stop your engine, with a GPS enabled device in your hand, and not have to worry about some TWAT attempting to rob you eh.

Postby redmanjp » January 4th, 2011, 3:01 pm

how cud a vehicle be stopped & in motion at the same time?