Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby Razkal » November 10th, 2010, 12:36 pm

what a ridiculously stupid rule.
i must purchase powerseller status to get rid of eight Kois i've had since they were eggs?

STEUPS @ trinituner.com admin

Postby wagonrunner » November 10th, 2010, 12:43 pm

Razkal wrote:what a ridiculously stupid rule.
i must purchase powerseller status to get rid of eight Kois i've had since they were eggs?

STEUPS @ trinituner.com admin

well, yuh could always just say uh have 8 koi to gee'way.

or FCB marabella has an unguarded koi pond. y uh could always le'dem go there.
if however, you would like to put some $$ in yuh pocket, i agree wid duane. pay d paper to do so.
Last edited by wagonrunner on November 10th, 2010, 12:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » November 10th, 2010, 12:43 pm

RazKal post sum pics.

Postby Razkal » November 10th, 2010, 1:00 pm

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=5 ... =542020400

fine, i NOT selling meh kois again...they free, but there is a fee attached to the required extraction from the pond if you want them :lol:

karl, i doh tote feelings man, rules are rules....i actually only just read Duane's post, i thought he was contributing in the thread and kinda scrolled past to fling up the koi post..

my bad, that puppy man kinda fcuk it up there...anytime i stuck with a pond full ah koi is me and he

Postby Razkal » November 10th, 2010, 1:03 pm

waaaaaait.....FCB has an UNguarded koi pond and you want me PUT kois in there?...

*backs out driveway with bucket and net*

Postby foss » November 10th, 2010, 4:29 pm

Thanks kss2801,
It is the smooth grayish one, as well as some other white round rocks.
I have them soaking for now.
Also got two pieces of drift wood that is soaking in there. :D

I purchased a cover last week(plastic) and I didnt like how it was sitting on the tank.
(I had some extra braces put on, after the tank bellied out)
So I emptied the tank last night and took it to remove the braces and put one big brace in the middle. (Really tiring work!)

Hopefully I get the tank back tomorrow so I can clean it and fill it.

And hopefully once everything is set up.. will make a trip up by Chai on sat or sun.

Will update when I get tank back with pics.

Postby foss » November 10th, 2010, 4:32 pm

they really say, if you want something done properly take your time and plan.

If I did not care how the cover sat on the tank. I would have put fish in weekend gone. But I rather do it properly and done. To avoid regrets later on.

wrxdevil

Postby wrxdevil » November 10th, 2010, 10:53 pm

GUYS, I NEED SOME URGENT HELP HERE....
ANY OF YOU KNOW WHERE I CAN GET AN INSTRUCTION MANUAL FOR SETTING THE TEMPERATURE ON A BOYU CHILLER LN 2600.
PLEASE LET ME KNOW ASAP.
MUCH THANKS........

jsr

Postby jsr » November 11th, 2010, 9:25 am

is there anyway i can add a glass screen to this outdoor pond so that i can see the fish as though it waqs an aquaruim?

Postby foss » November 11th, 2010, 9:35 am

I predict if you want an aquarium type looking pond, you gonna get lots of algae and moss on the glass. and its gonna require a lot of time and maintenance to keep up to mark.

Leave it as is. If you want an aquarium, put one inside the house.

link

Postby link » November 11th, 2010, 9:46 am

glass side is a good idea...abt 3 feet long....daily use of the magnetic scraper for algae is a must.
'Train' yr fish by feeding in front of glass area...you'll maximise enjoyment this way & add another dimension to yr outdoor layout.

good luck...nice project

Postby wagonrunner » November 11th, 2010, 9:49 am

foss, he cyar ress a monitor outside with a pc inside running this? http://www.fish-byte.com/

Postby foss » November 11th, 2010, 9:51 am

wagonrunner wrote:foss, he cyar ress a monitor outside with a pc inside running this? http://www.fish-byte.com/

it doh come in format for car registration? :|

Postby foss » November 11th, 2010, 5:52 pm

got back tank today, still have the smooth rocks soaking in water.

will take pics tomorrow to show progress.

kss2801

Postby kss2801 » November 11th, 2010, 7:31 pm

foss wrote:Thanks kss2801,
It is the smooth grayish one, as well as some other white round rocks.
I have them soaking for now.
Also got two pieces of drift wood that is soaking in there. :D

I purchased a cover last week(plastic) and I didnt like how it was sitting on the tank.
(I had some extra braces put on, after the tank bellied out)
So I emptied the tank last night and took it to remove the braces and put one big brace in the middle. (Really tiring work!)

Hopefully I get the tank back tomorrow so I can clean it and fill it.

And hopefully once everything is set up.. will make a trip up by Chai on sat or sun.

Will update when I get tank back with pics.

Those are easy to clean, a quick soak and scrub and you're good. they wont affect water chemistry either. The driftwood will lower the pH a bit, but that's good for most freshwater fish. Make sure to run carbon or else the tannins from the wood with make the water yellow.
It's good that you're willing to take it slow. Things will work out much better that way.

Postby foss » November 11th, 2010, 8:06 pm

kss2801 wrote:Those are easy to clean, a quick soak and scrub and you're good. they wont affect water chemistry either. The driftwood will lower the pH a bit, but that's good for most freshwater fish. Make sure to run carbon or else the tannins from the wood with make the water yellow.
It's good that you're willing to take it slow. Things will work out much better that way.

Nice, well I will give the rocks a good scrub tomorrow and set them in the tank.
I will take before and after photos. :mrgreen:

Postby foss » November 13th, 2010, 8:44 pm

tank is up and running.

still have some minor stuff to do, but for now.. very pleased with the setup :D

will update with pics soon

Postby sharkman121 » November 14th, 2010, 12:35 am

^ nicee..

Postby foss » November 14th, 2010, 7:45 pm

My Baby:

just some teaser pics :P

Postby foss » November 14th, 2010, 8:56 pm

hold one more: :P

keith

Postby keith » November 14th, 2010, 9:01 pm

nice pics foss.try to get some driftwood with lots of hiding places.fishes lov dem.BTW tuners please let me know if you seen any exotic freshwater fishes & invertebrates recently.

Postby sharkman121 » November 14th, 2010, 9:03 pm

great setup foss

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » November 14th, 2010, 9:12 pm

Did that tank cycle ?

Postby foss » November 14th, 2010, 9:25 pm

keith wrote:nice pics foss.try to get some driftwood with lots of hiding places.fishes lov dem.BTW tuners please let me know if you seen any exotic freshwater fishes & invertebrates recently.

yea I have some pieces.. but they real skinny. Not the nice big ones.

But to answer your question.. saw fresh water parrot fish for sale at Natures World on Sutton St and at Chais. Real nice!

Thanks Sharky!

Smurf - what you mean?

keith

Postby keith » November 14th, 2010, 10:05 pm

thnx foss.will chk it out.

Postby foss » November 14th, 2010, 10:06 pm

they were $90 at NW.. not sure of the price at Chais tho

keith

Postby keith » November 14th, 2010, 10:48 pm

hmm i wonder who might be the main importer of freshwater fish in Trinidad(other than chais)

Postby sharkman121 » November 15th, 2010, 4:47 am

U may have to cycle the tank to get the bacteria in the tank going. I did it for my salt water tank, didnt know it had to be done to fresh water though. All my years of having a fresh, never had it cycled.

May not be a problem though as fresh water fish are usually hardier than salt water.

Postby foss » November 15th, 2010, 7:41 am

sharkman121 wrote:U may have to cycle the tank to get the bacteria in the tank going. I did it for my salt water tank, didnt know it had to be done to fresh water though. All my years of having a fresh, never had it cycled.

May not be a problem though as fresh water fish are usually hardier than salt water.

how is that cycle done?

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » November 15th, 2010, 9:39 am

foss wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:U may have to cycle the tank to get the bacteria in the tank going. I did it for my salt water tank, didnt know it had to be done to fresh water though. All my years of having a fresh, never had it cycled.

how is that cycle done?

Foss you could use Stress Zyme or BIO-Spira to cycle tank quickly.