The *Official* Old School Spotters Thread

bigchief3679

Re: Official Old School Spotters Thread

Postby bigchief3679 » October 19th, 2010, 10:04 pm

Zigs 1/4 race................i lol'd

Postby Rooki3 » October 20th, 2010, 1:17 am

could someone explain the use of the intake thinggy on the grill!!!

Postby MG Man » October 20th, 2010, 7:47 am

to confuse nOObs

Ruff

Postby Ruff » October 20th, 2010, 8:37 am

Rooki3 wrote:could someone explain the use of the intake thinggy on the grill!!!

If I'm not mistaken, that looks like a gumtionizer aka BRFT*.
Thank you,
Ruff

*Big Round F@#$%n Thing

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » October 20th, 2010, 8:45 am

MG Man wrote:to confuse nOObs

this.

it serves no other purpose.

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » October 20th, 2010, 8:51 am

maybe they chooked the BOV in there.....*shrugs*

Postby MG Man » October 20th, 2010, 8:56 am

ROFL @ Ruff

nigie

Postby nigie » October 20th, 2010, 9:30 am

Ruff wrote:
moti wrote:damn disappointed in the engine choice for the scort.

Should've used a Kent 1600 with a 28/36 Weber, Janspeed header, Zigs cut 1/4 race cam, 3 thou off the head, Accel Super Coil, all mated to a Rocket box. And rolling on Ghia steelies. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Thank you,
Ruff

Zigs cut???? Ruff should b banned.....

Ruff

Postby Ruff » October 20th, 2010, 11:06 am

nigie wrote:
Ruff wrote:

Should've used a Kent 1600 with a 28/36 Weber, Janspeed header, Zigs cut 1/4 race cam, 3 thou off the head, Accel Super Coil, all mated to a Rocket box. And rolling on Ghia steelies. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Thank you,
Ruff

Moti flaming the SR swap and you want to ban me. Not only that, this is the Old School Thread. What more Old School than "a Fraction of the Race" Zigs cut cam? BWTA...
:D :mrgreen:
Ruff

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » October 20th, 2010, 11:15 am

Ruff wrote:
nigie wrote:
Ruff wrote:

Thank you,
Ruff

Moti flaming the SR swap and you want to ban me. Not only that, this is the Old School Thread. What more Old School than "a Fraction of the Race" Zigs cut cam? BWTA...
:D :mrgreen:
Ruff

how come yuh eh say thank you this time? yuh loss yuh manners or wah ? :lol:

Ruff

Postby Ruff » October 20th, 2010, 11:40 am

Sorry.
Thank you,
Ruff

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » October 20th, 2010, 11:43 am

Postby Rooki3 » October 20th, 2010, 5:00 pm

Ruff wrote:Sorry.
Thank you,
Ruff

moti

Postby moti » October 20th, 2010, 5:44 pm

Ruff wrote:

Thank you,
Ruff

no need, as most tuners now won't even think of running carbs in their cars anymore.
maybe just a select few.

but there are the:
f22c
3sge
ka24de (if yuh could find one)
or the ever so famous l28
all injected, yes even the l28 has a fuel injected version.

but nevertheless to each his own

**walks off mumbling oh well its just another box lancer type swap to me**

Postby wagonrunner » October 20th, 2010, 5:50 pm

moti,

1) the weight distribution of a 6cyl to a 4cyl does affect handling
2) yuh calling it a box lancer swap, but only mention two nissan engines in that list of 4.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 20th, 2010, 9:53 pm

uhm they could have hide that intercooler behind the grill and get A+, but i'll give em a honest B++ in my books..

Postby MG Man » October 20th, 2010, 10:30 pm

i pretty sure it was intentional
wow factor nah
the sleeper car is a lost art locally
trinis like to hang their ballsack for everyone to see

Postby cinco » October 21st, 2010, 6:45 am

buh is a built drag car
for efficiency i understand the exposed intercooler on this setup
a hidden intercooler @ 600hp seems very risky

moti

Postby moti » October 21st, 2010, 7:39 am

wagonrunner wrote:moti,

1) the weight distribution of a 6cyl to a 4cyl does affect handlingunderstanable, however tell that to all the old drag men out there that was running a l28 and doing well (now this does not make it right eh but it can work with a little more attention to the swap)
2) yuh calling it a box lancer swap, but only mention two nissan engines in that list of 4.now don't get me wrong; you can put other nissan engines in your car and stand out in a crowd like mathew by pro bar on a friday. it's just that although the SR20 is a great power house it's just way to common. i mean you going down the road and a small car pass and you hear the blow off you will tell yourself yup SR20 inna that

but again, to each his own.
these are just me comments and opinions

Postby eliteauto » October 21st, 2010, 7:46 am

so what? a proven engine with tons of local support, parts and knowledge, lots of aftermarket support too, in a dedicated drag car where that's what matters, I understand uniqueness in say a street car where you want the wow factor but for drags.wow factor=cost=harder to get results

Postby Rooki3 » October 21st, 2010, 8:39 am

everybody hates on SR20 cause

it works, it gets the job done!!!

moti

Postby moti » October 21st, 2010, 8:44 am

yup, understand also your point eliteauto

but again, why build something based on the easy to maintain stuff
i mean the engines quoted above by me all with the exception of the ka24de will be hella easy to source parts for.

now if you telling me its based on every tom dick and babolall know how to tinker with the SR locally then fine i really understand where he is coming from by using the SR.

but no scene no need to go on and on about it cause the engine is already in the car

moti

Postby moti » October 21st, 2010, 8:50 am

rookie3, i personally don't hate the SR series of engines, comming from a nissan background and all.

heck i even owned a p11 primera with one but well you'll get the idea of what i speak of eventually

Postby eliteauto » October 21st, 2010, 8:56 am

now if you telling me its based on every tom dick and babolall know how to tinker with the SR locally then fine i really understand where he is coming from by using the SR.

It's exactly that...Ryan can wire 4 SR swaps in a day it's THAT common lol

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 21st, 2010, 6:45 pm

Anyone know of any fiat panda's or CRX's that might be for sale locally?

SUNNYB310GUY

Postby SUNNYB310GUY » October 21st, 2010, 8:48 pm

two decent lookin 120ys...the first pic ent come out so good but that was a really nice lookin b210..i was in a car and it zoom past...was tryin to get a good shot but dats de best i got.
IMG_0486.JPG
IMG_0480.JPG

d_sunnyboi

Postby d_sunnyboi » October 22nd, 2010, 4:56 pm

mey partner one..
P6290010.JPG
P6290020.JPG
P6290003 copy.jpg

Postby Rooki3 » October 22nd, 2010, 6:09 pm

^^ that police van in yur avatar look wicked!!!

mr. mindz

Postby mr. mindz » October 22nd, 2010, 8:44 pm

x2......

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » October 24th, 2010, 7:51 am

Rooki3 wrote:^^ that police van in yur avatar look wicked!!!

Please say that is photoshopped. :shock: