Park and Ride system.

Will you use this system

Yes, this will save me from traffic.
46%
No, utter rubbish, plus I like to listen to 96.7fm in the morning traffic
42%
My daddy aint buy my car for me yet so yes, im a poofta!
12%

Total votes: 67

Park and Ride system.

Postby janfar » October 11th, 2010, 6:00 am

What do you all think about the proposed Park and Ride system by uncle Austin.

Will it save traffic... do you enjoy reaching to work late... will your car get stolen in the car park... discuss... intellectually is possible!!!

douglaking

Re: Park and Ride system.

Postby douglaking » October 11th, 2010, 6:23 am

I usually park and use the ferry whenever I have to go to POS for anything. It's relatively safe imo and it sure beats leaving home 4:30 to get to POS before the real traffic starts.

Postby crazybalhead » October 11th, 2010, 6:31 am

This is good for people with regular hours.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » October 11th, 2010, 6:54 am

I see nothing wrong with it,as long as we know our vehicles will be safe.

Postby hydroep » October 11th, 2010, 6:57 am

douglaking wrote:I usually park and use the ferry whenever I have to go to POS for anything. It's relatively safe imo and it sure beats leaving home 4:30 to get to POS before the real traffic starts.

Yep.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 11th, 2010, 7:03 am

A design was already done (by Cansult Limited out of Canada) for reclaiming land by the light house in Port-of-Spain to construct a large scale parking area. The intent was to have people park their vehicles there and then proceed into Port-of-Spain using public transportation.

IIRC, this design was prepared under the UNC administration, but was put away when the PNM came back into power.

Postby janfar » October 11th, 2010, 7:43 am

crazybalhead wrote:This is good for people with regular hours.

Well its usually only on regular hours you get heavy traffic... i.e. from 5am-9am and then from 3pm- 6pm... i could be wrong on the timings!!!

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 11th, 2010, 7:49 am

what toyopet said..

xtech

Postby xtech » October 11th, 2010, 7:54 am

like it but only if they build a robotic carpark like those they got in japan so u sure the cars are safe...............an follow up with parking meters for those who must have their car outside the office.

The 25cent piece will find a use again

Postby UML » October 11th, 2010, 9:29 am

reinventing the wheel :|

i doing this a while now......park chaguanas....jump in a maxi to POS :wink:

easyyyyyyy

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » October 11th, 2010, 9:47 am

UML wrote:i doing this a while now......park chaguanas....jump in a maxi to POS

Scene. Public car park though or by a friend?

If it's a public, I hope you're not driving a Corolla/Lancer/Mazda3/Evo/Almera/any other kinda car?

Cuz Chag + car thefts FTMFL.

Postby teems1 » October 11th, 2010, 10:23 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:A design was already done (by Cansult Limited out of Canada) for reclaiming land by the light house in Port-of-Spain to construct a large scale parking area. The intent was to have people park their vehicles there and then proceed into Port-of-Spain using public transportation.

IIRC, this design was prepared under the UNC administration, but was put away when the PNM came back into power.

but to reach by the lighthouse is level traffic... at least 1.5hrs if from south or the east...

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » October 11th, 2010, 10:36 am

question would it be practical to have a "port" somewhere near couva?? for central ppl to use this system too?? then traffic would be even less!! i for one would use it

Skanky

Postby Skanky » October 11th, 2010, 10:43 am

Been doing this years now.Park up car home and use bus route to go to POS and back.
There is just 0 advantage to driving into the heart of POS IMHO.
I would actually welcome POS a no car zone and regularly scheduled buses carrying you to/from strategic points in POS.
Knowing trinis however and their need to park as close as possible to/in/on their destination,not to mention their aversion to walking somehow this would not work.

Postby janfar » October 11th, 2010, 10:53 am

I would say big carpark near the airport like off the westbound lane infront. And another in the chase village are to serve the southern/ central commuters. This should be able to accomodate maybe up to 2000 cars and other vehicles and have buses running from each carpark every 10 mins to various terminals...

But also give drivers the options of driving to POS but introduce a toll to enter the various cities... 10ttd to go past courts i say unless you live in this area...

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » October 11th, 2010, 12:21 pm

what about those of us that work in long sleeves and dress shoes and pants, u really want to be walking around the place in the hot sun?
reach in the meeting sweaty, i see an increase in pickpockets too.
how will this work if u need to be at multiple offices or job sites?
is this going to be mandatory?
call me selfish but i like the convenience and safety of my car,

Postby tr1ad » October 11th, 2010, 12:46 pm

short selfish kant

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » October 11th, 2010, 1:02 pm

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 11th, 2010, 10:22 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:Image

wtf X2

Postby Cjruckus » October 11th, 2010, 11:02 pm

I won't use it. Sorry.

ras_elmo

Postby ras_elmo » October 11th, 2010, 11:09 pm

I'd use it...if it was safe. But with all the nonsense going on now with car thefts and the loss of URP/CEPEP income for the grimeys means that my ride will be a sitting duck in a "guarded" car park, it'd be like parking @ Trincity Mall....for 10hrs. Sooo I'd hold off for a couple months till all the teething problems get worked out.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 12th, 2010, 11:29 am

janfar wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:This is good for people with regular hours.

Well its usually only on regular hours you get heavy traffic... i.e. from 5am-9am and then from 3pm- 6pm... i could be wrong on the timings!!!

5.30am-9am
11.30am-12.30pm
1.30pm-6.30pm

Postby crazybalhead » October 12th, 2010, 11:32 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:what about those of us that work in long sleeves and dress shoes and pants, u really want to be walking around the place in the hot sun?

Yuh too lazy. I does walk from the Savannah to south key normel normel. Hide in the AC for a ten minutes and pray to the gods the deoderant kickeen.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » October 12th, 2010, 12:30 pm

crazybalhead wrote:
Halfbreed07 wrote:what about those of us that work in long sleeves and dress shoes and pants, u really want to be walking around the place in the hot sun?

Yuh too lazy. I does walk from the Savannah to south key normel normel. Hide in the AC for a ten minutes and pray to the gods the deoderant kickeen.

convince me you do this everyday, esp. if ya day starts off with a meeting and ya dress code is business casual.......

this is for ghuta/gangstress workers who eh have cars anyway!!

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 12th, 2010, 1:26 pm

^^Depends on time of day as well. Early morning shouldnt be a problem.

BlueIce wrote:question would it be practical to have a "port" somewhere near couva?? for central ppl to use this system too?? then traffic would be even less!! i for one would use it

yeah I would too.

Postby janfar » June 16th, 2011, 7:55 am

Park and take ptsc bus into PoS from September

From September, Port-of-Spain workers will have to park their vehicles outside the city and take a PTSC shuttle into the capital, Works Minister Jack Warner said yesterday. Warner disclosed the plan as he spoke at a meeting with Laventille taxi drivers at the constituency office of People’s National Movement (PNM) Port-of-Spain South MP, Marlene McDonald. In October 2010, Warner had spoken of the initiative. He said then it would be established in three to six months to reduce the congestion in the nation’s cities and towns. He also said then his initiatives had found favour with the mayors of Port-of-Spain, Chaguanas and San Fernando. Yesterday, Warner and McDonald combined efforts to head off a planned protest by the drivers as Warner resolved road problems which they had brought to McDonald. The MP had called on Warner for assistance.

On the new parking plan for the city, Warner said that “coming very, very soon,” people would have to park outside of the capital and take a PTSC shuttle into various parts of the city. He said that would relieve the parking congestion— leading to gridlocks—currently in play. Warner said parking of vehicles would be done at a particular venue—being finalised—on the immediate outskirts. He said the plan would be in force from the start of the new fiscal year. On the Laventille problem, drivers had blocked off parts of the Laventille Road on Monday, protesting the deplorable condition. Drivers had planned to continue blocking off areas with their vehicles this week.

A member of the drivers’ association Nigel Cox, said affected areas include from Piccadilly Street—the main artery into Laventille—Belgrade, Fromanger and other streets. Derek Lashley also said: “Patching maintenance isn’t working anymore, they’re been patched too often. Roads need proper complete resurfacing. We also have a problem with burst Wasa mains. Currently we have one main on Quarry Street which has been spewing thousands of gallons of water.” Drivers said that despite peaceful conditions and assistance from drivers, Wasa workers have said it is a “high risk” district to come to work in. Warner, consulting with Highways Division chief Roger Ganesh—who accompanied him to the meeting—told the drivers:

“Done—work on the roads will begin tomorrow (today).” He gave the estimated cost of the job for the initial phase as $1.7 million, which would resurface the main artery from Piccadilly Streets into Laventille.

Other streets, including Fromanger Street and Belgrade Street, will be done subsequently. Warner whipped out his cellphone and called Public Utilities Minister Emmanuel George who gave assurances to visit MP McDonald and the area next week to deal with the Wasa main aspect. Warner also said PH legislation which was expected to have been passed by last week, would be brought to Parliament first on the agenda when the Second Parliament session resumes in September. His statements were loudly applauded by drivers. “We’re 110 per cent satisfied...He is an action man, he don’t ‘stick,’” said drivers. PNM’s McDonald said she had confidence in Warner who was the only person she trusted.

“He is a man of his word,” she added. Warner said: “I’ve always said Ms McDonald is the best MP on the PNM side, I tell her that every time I see her in Parliament—when she calls I come running.” Drivers, including Jerry Alphonso, took the electronic media to see the affected roads. Alphonso said the PNM had not done enough for the area and if the tide was turning to People’s Partnership’s Warner, then, “...That is how it is because you can’t be voting PNM all the time in a PNM stronghold and so many things still need fixing all the time, too.” Laventille resident Louis Allen accused Port-of-Spain Mayor Louis Lee Sing of putting all efforts into Woodbrook and not East Port-of-Spain. Milton Alexander also said the area only received a twice-weekly—inadequate— garbage service.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2011/06/ ... -september

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » June 16th, 2011, 9:34 am

give it a try

`psycho

Postby `psycho » June 16th, 2011, 9:42 am

I can see this working for people who stay in office all day; unlike myself where i have to be in and out of office constantly i need my car close at hand.

Postby Habit7 » June 16th, 2011, 11:04 am

Jack Warner, is this coming soon like the Maracas Tunnel, Central Licensing Office, Point Fortin Highway funding, new RFID license plates, etc?

I have gone to school in POS for 7 years and worked there too. All to the end that I can afford a vehicle and avoid public transport as much as necessary. I still take public transport today but it is irregular, grimy, inconvenient and antiquated. I was supportive of the plans for a mass transport system like the rapid rail because I saw it as an alternative to the traffic and with the removal of the gas subsidy would pay off itself in 4 years with the saved money. Well, trinis rejected that in favour of laptops and "$3000" pensions. Now we are trying these band-aid solutions for massive issues.

I must, with my nice office clothes, walk up to Park St. in the hot sun under humid conditions. What will happen when it rains, or even floods as is the norm? This may work in cities with mild temperatures, proper pavements and freeways. Other problems have to get fixed first before they go with this one. But as usual they just shoot from the hip wait for public reaction, and by the time of implementation they realise how hard the feat is and abandon it.