machine readable Passport

Postby Chimera » January 7th, 2010, 12:52 pm

sensiman wrote:My mom lives in New York but I was told that she is allowed to apply for MR passport here in Toronto. The only problem is that she will have to pick it up in person at the consulate since her residential address is in New York and they will not mail to there.

:?:

Is a passport, what if it get stolen?

You most likely have to sign for a passport or show some kind of receipt when you collect it.

sensiman

Postby sensiman » January 7th, 2010, 5:16 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
sensiman wrote:My mom lives in New York but I was told that she is allowed to apply for MR passport here in Toronto. The only problem is that she will have to pick it up in person at the consulate since her residential address is in New York and they will not mail to there.

:?:

Is a passport, what if it get stolen?

You most likely have to sign for a passport or show some kind of receipt when you collect it.

I was not complaining, I endorse this. I was just responding to the comments where people were told that they cannot apply on a country unless they lived there, as opposed to the instructions we got

and yes, she would have to bring the receipt and sign in person.

sensiman

Postby sensiman » January 7th, 2010, 5:20 pm

Maserati wrote:Yea they just do the paperwork at the consulate and the passport comes from Trinidad...they say around 3 months but you know these things go.

Anish you could argue but I don't know what good it would do.

Call the Toronto consulate, and see when they have appointments, may be a few months down the road though.

sensiman, they too damn lazy and cheap to mail it, it would appear

Apparently I could get mine mailed to my residence :shock:

but I prefer to pick it up in person anyhow, feels safer

dreadman

Postby dreadman » January 7th, 2010, 9:11 pm

can someone put the steps in which someone has to go thru in order to apply for a renewal of his/ her passport.....

Postby equipped2ripp » January 22nd, 2010, 2:32 pm

the Consulate in NY giving dates in November now for renewal.

eitech

Postby eitech » January 22nd, 2010, 9:18 pm

finally got mine..whoop de doo.

Postby UML » January 22nd, 2010, 10:59 pm

question.........if u already have the new machine readable passport and u got married and needed it changed....does the person have to go through the whole process again?

Postby Country_Bookie » January 22nd, 2010, 11:18 pm

Anyone knows if it's a must to walk with ur National ID card or will the Driver's Permit suffice? Haven't gotten time to collect my new ID as yet and my appointment is on Monday.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 22nd, 2010, 11:20 pm

pink slip from ID card office will work

Postby Country_Bookie » January 23rd, 2010, 2:32 pm

Doh remember getting no pink slip nah.....dey just gave me back my old ID card

redras

Postby redras » January 23rd, 2010, 2:51 pm

Jack the Ripper wrote:anybody ever got the MRP at the Trini embassy in London? Or Miami? I'm always transiting through the US & Europe,it seems it might be easier getting it there...

Called the embassy and got an appointment in May 2009, then got it by July 2009. No hassle, printed and filled out the forms as requested.

cinco wrote:the only place that can issue you a new passport is in trini they are all printed there
so they take your paperwork and mail you the new passport 2-3 months later

So said the person dealing with my application, the paperwork is sent back to Trinidad for processing.

Jack the Ripper

Postby Jack the Ripper » January 24th, 2010, 6:59 am

Maserati wrote:
Jack the Ripper wrote:anybody ever got the MRP at the Trini embassy in London? Or Miami? I'm always transiting through the US & Europe,it seems it might be easier getting it there...

call for an appointment

http://www.tthighcommission.co.uk/passport.html

Thanks for the info,will try on Monday to make an appointment

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » April 22nd, 2010, 11:24 am

So can you still travel to the U.S. and elsewhere without a MRP?

Mine expires 2013

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 22nd, 2010, 11:33 am

yes, and you have upto 6 mths before your old PP expires to travel to the US

sensiman

Postby sensiman » April 22nd, 2010, 11:40 am

TrinbagoMan wrote:So can you still travel to the U.S. and elsewhere without a MRP?

Mine expires 2013

Trinidad and Tobago nationals with non-machine readable passports which were issued after November 24, 2005, can still use the travel documents until 2015, which is some six years after the International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO) has mandated all 183 of its member states to begin issuing the machine readable passports from April 10, 2010.

dreadman

Postby dreadman » April 22nd, 2010, 5:27 pm

idlemind wrote:yes, and you have upto 6 mths before your old PP expires to travel to the US

serious? cuz mines expirin oct dis yr an wanna travel to d US in sept an have my appointment nex yr for d MRP

Bacon

Re:

Postby Bacon » September 24th, 2010, 10:53 pm

pioneer wrote:I think it's after...we have an agreement with them

I can confirm this I entered the US the day before my non machine readable expired. Trinidad is on the list of countries that are exempt from the 6 month rule. My passport expired the 6th and I entered on the 5th. She just tel me that this is the last time.... :mrgreen:

Has anyone tried to use the old passport anywhere and been denied entry. I have since gotten an extension in the old one but I am trying to hold off on changing over to a MRP for a while.

Re: machine readable Passport

Postby crazybalhead » September 24th, 2010, 10:55 pm

Once your passport has not expired, it is goo until 2014. Got that in an email from the Ministry and when I went to get the Machine readable one they told me the old one is still usable for travel.

Bacon

Postby Bacon » September 24th, 2010, 11:16 pm

Nice....that is what I thought.

Dey was jus givin me real ole talk when I asked for the extension........some countries already not accepting bla bla bla.....The woman even say the US go blank meh.....I say but I now come back from there....she get quiet :?

But they give meh the extension so me eh business....

Postby Rooki3 » September 25th, 2010, 10:32 am

question:

i got my MRP & end up losing it also with the old one, my new appointment is March 2012:?

i wanna go grenada for carnival in 2011, is there some sort of document immigration can give to me in order for me to travel???

Postby Rooki3 » September 25th, 2010, 10:36 am

oh gaad somebody help!!!

Postby equipped2ripp » September 25th, 2010, 10:51 am

^ no.

you need a passport.

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » September 25th, 2010, 10:53 am

^ they can issue you a letter to travel, but they usually only do that if the date you need to travel is close. If you want to travel in 2011 go into the new immigration office at Agricola building and explain your situation, they will arrange to give you a new appointment date. It also helps if you go in with a ticket that is already purchased.

Be prepared to shell out $1000.00 for a lost MRP though.

Postby Rooki3 » September 25th, 2010, 10:58 am

^^ thanx man!!!

Postby Rooki3 » September 25th, 2010, 4:20 pm

Rooki3 wrote:question:

i got my MRP & end up losing it also with the old one, my new appointment is March 2012:?

i wanna go grenada for carnival in 2011, is there some sort of document immigration can give to me in order for me to travel???

you royally screwed

lost passport is $1000 + sworn affidavits + police report

getting them ting easy bai!!!