machine readable Passport

Postby Chimera » January 6th, 2010, 10:55 am

hmm as it is now, i have the MRP...but my US visa in my old passport still valid for a nex 2 years

Postby wagonrunner » January 6th, 2010, 12:25 pm

idlemind wrote:wagonrunner, Im concerned with that same sentiment given the recent travelling situation

i can't say with any certainty.
i think it was ignorant ignis giving me the details on that.
think guyana was one he mentioned.

Jack the Ripper

Postby Jack the Ripper » January 6th, 2010, 12:39 pm

anybody ever got the MRP at the Trini embassy in London? Or Miami? I'm always transiting through the US & Europe,it seems it might be easier getting it there...

sensiman

Postby sensiman » January 6th, 2010, 12:44 pm

I had an appointment in the Toronto Consulate, I arrived early, and was then told that the system was down so they cannot take photos, then the person doing the interviews said that they not going to do any if the system down, even though it is independent process.
I got another appointment and eventually, after some hours, got through.
There's a decent looking chick working there though.

Postby Chimera » January 6th, 2010, 12:51 pm

Jack the Ripper wrote:anybody ever got the MRP at the Trini embassy in London? Or Miami? I'm always transiting through the US & Europe,it seems it might be easier getting it there...

a family member of mine got a new trini passport in London late in 2009, but its not the machine readable passports, its the same old passports but valid for 10 years

hes on a dependant visa.

had to wait more than 6 months to get it tho

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 6th, 2010, 12:54 pm

Issued an Old PP valid for the next 10 years :shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby Damien » January 6th, 2010, 12:55 pm

It easier to get a us visa than to get a tt passport,i went for and interview to gret my MRP and i carried everything they asked for, the new bithpaper and affidavit when i reach the man say he want the old birthpaper :|

Postby Maserati » January 6th, 2010, 12:56 pm

Jack the Ripper wrote:anybody ever got the MRP at the Trini embassy in London? Or Miami? I'm always transiting through the US & Europe,it seems it might be easier getting it there...

call for an appointment

http://www.tthighcommission.co.uk/passport.html

Postby Chimera » January 6th, 2010, 1:03 pm

cant blame them for wanting all the documents, because a passport is the most important piece of identification you could have that would be accepted worldwide

the local office need all their bases covered in case one of you dumbasses get the idea to go blow up a plane, and then they trace it back to "wait na....his name on his passport nuh matching his birth certificate,how he get a passport?"

Postby Damien » January 6th, 2010, 1:10 pm

But if you just renewing form old passport to new they supposed to have all these documents initially

Postby cinco » January 6th, 2010, 1:23 pm

i got tru in mia but i live in the us
they wont accept you if you passin tru there are set places that do it depending on your state of residence if you live in trini you have to go trini
they really dotish in there

Postby Ignorant Ignis » January 6th, 2010, 1:38 pm

idlemind wrote:wagonrunner, Im concerned with that same sentiment given the recent travelling situation

i can't say with any certainty.
i think it was ignorant ignis giving me the details on that.
think guyana was one he mentioned.

i think the only country with a deadline is Canada.

the rest i don't know about

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 6th, 2010, 1:42 pm

Anyone flew recently to the US using their old PP??

Like since the madman with the explosive incident?

Postby cinco » January 6th, 2010, 6:14 pm

idlemind wrote:Anyone flew recently to the US using their old PP??

Like since the madman with the explosive incident?

yuh now on d list

anish

Postby anish » January 6th, 2010, 10:18 pm

Maserati wrote:Lol I went for mines at the consulate in Toronto,called many weeks ahead to get an appointment time.
I'd heard stories that the appointment time was in reality a first come first serve arrangement,went early and got out in under an hour.
All of the People ahead of me didn't have their documents in order and were turned away.
Sometimes it is the people who make it hard on themselves,the instructions were clearly stated on the website yet they failed to abide by them.
Needless to say the poor souls who came for their appointment times had a very long wait and were pissed

tell me something
if u happened to be passing thru d states, shouldnt u be able to renew it there too? cause at d end of d day we are trinis and jus renewing our trini passports

anish

Postby anish » January 6th, 2010, 10:22 pm

cinco wrote:

i got tru in mia but i live in the us
they wont accept you if you passin tru there are set places that do it depending on your state of residence if you live in trini you have to go trini
they really dotish in there

cinco, like yuh jus answer my question i throw at maserati
cause i headin to NYC nex fri and i want to renew my damn passport while i there and d a$$holes saying i hadda go to the consulate in toronto
steups
i not a permanent resident of Canada...my primary address is Trin...and i done using time off from work to go NYC, I doh wa take more time off jus to go Toronto to do this

Postby Chimera » January 6th, 2010, 10:36 pm

Wouldn't they have to send to Trinidad for the passports though?

but as i said above, family member had to wait 6 months to renew his passport in london embassy

And you cant really use the line "oh gosh boss, renew it for meh na, it gonna expire just now", as they dont let you travel unless your passport has atleast 6 months before expiry date

anish

Postby anish » January 7th, 2010, 2:32 am

y do they have to send it to Trin?
all i wa do is renew to the electronic
my passport expires this yr in July or August
i hav a work permit and in Canada (not in Ontario)
i got my appointment for the consulate in NYC as i planned this in advance
and after i book ticket dey look to bawl i cah do it and hav to go Toronto

explain to me the reasoning behind this cause it doh make any sense to me...iz a Trini consulate, any trini should be able to renew no matter where it located

Postby cinco » January 7th, 2010, 3:16 am

the only place that can issue you a new passport is in trini they are all printed there
so they take your paperwork and mail you the new passport 2-3 months later

sensiman

Postby sensiman » January 7th, 2010, 11:23 am

My mom lives in New York but I was told that she is allowed to apply for MR passport here in Toronto. The only problem is that she will have to pick it up in person at the consulate since her residential address is in New York and they will not mail to there.

:?:

Postby Maserati » January 7th, 2010, 12:19 pm

Yea they just do the paperwork at the consulate and the passport comes from Trinidad...they say around 3 months but you know these things go.

Anish you could argue but I don't know what good it would do.

Call the Toronto consulate, and see when they have appointments, may be a few months down the road though.

sensiman, they too damn lazy and cheap to mail it, it would appear

Oleander

Postby Oleander » January 7th, 2010, 12:23 pm

My appointment is in April :mrgreen:

I called since November Dec 08 :evil:

Postby Chimera » January 7th, 2010, 12:52 pm

sensiman wrote:My mom lives in New York but I was told that she is allowed to apply for MR passport here in Toronto. The only problem is that she will have to pick it up in person at the consulate since her residential address is in New York and they will not mail to there.

Is a passport, what if it get stolen?

You most likely have to sign for a passport or show some kind of receipt when you collect it.

sensiman

Postby sensiman » January 7th, 2010, 5:16 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
sensiman wrote:My mom lives in New York but I was told that she is allowed to apply for MR passport here in Toronto. The only problem is that she will have to pick it up in person at the consulate since her residential address is in New York and they will not mail to there.

Is a passport, what if it get stolen?

You most likely have to sign for a passport or show some kind of receipt when you collect it.

I was not complaining, I endorse this. I was just responding to the comments where people were told that they cannot apply on a country unless they lived there, as opposed to the instructions we got

and yes, she would have to bring the receipt and sign in person.

sensiman

Postby sensiman » January 7th, 2010, 5:20 pm

Maserati wrote:Yea they just do the paperwork at the consulate and the passport comes from Trinidad...they say around 3 months but you know these things go.

Anish you could argue but I don't know what good it would do.

Call the Toronto consulate, and see when they have appointments, may be a few months down the road though.

sensiman, they too damn lazy and cheap to mail it, it would appear

Apparently I could get mine mailed to my residence :shock:

but I prefer to pick it up in person anyhow, feels safer

dreadman

Postby dreadman » January 7th, 2010, 9:11 pm

can someone put the steps in which someone has to go thru in order to apply for a renewal of his/ her passport.....

Postby equipped2ripp » January 22nd, 2010, 2:32 pm

the Consulate in NY giving dates in November now for renewal.

eitech

Postby eitech » January 22nd, 2010, 9:18 pm

finally got mine..whoop de doo.

Postby UML » January 22nd, 2010, 10:59 pm

question.........if u already have the new machine readable passport and u got married and needed it changed....does the person have to go through the whole process again?

Postby Country_Bookie » January 22nd, 2010, 11:18 pm

Anyone knows if it's a must to walk with ur National ID card or will the Driver's Permit suffice? Haven't gotten time to collect my new ID as yet and my appointment is on Monday.