Re: The *Official* ANDROID/GOOGLE Thread

Postby tr1ad » September 16th, 2010, 11:57 am

wait ....
mitch leff out iphone?

patch, how is the phone for work emails?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 16th, 2010, 12:30 pm

tr1ad wrote:wait ....
mitch leff out iphone?

long time boy :lol:

i decided i actually wanted the 'smart' in my smart phone.
for everything else, there's the iPod Touch :lol:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 16th, 2010, 12:39 pm

honda hoe wrote:is it just me or this phone looks HUGE :|

too big imo

specs are fantastic tho

yeah it's huge like the EVO & Droid X, 4" screen...

Postby tr1ad » September 16th, 2010, 12:43 pm

for someone on the go especially needing work emails etc
how does it stand up? also had my eye on the n900 before it was released

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » September 17th, 2010, 1:42 am

idk man the sense ui is really nice, i think that would sway some purchase decisions.

The Samsung ui is too iphone like imo.

N3M3SIS wrote:
mitch wrote:sweet mother of :shock: ! this is one sexy beast!

FS: 1 Nexus One :|

HTC launches the Desire HD: an EVO for the rest of world

Indeed. Safe to say this and Galaxy s are top dogs.

Galaxy S over this:

-Better screen (Super AMOLED > Sony LCD)
-Better CPU + GPU ( Hummingbird > snapdragon)
-Thinner + lighter
-more internal memory (8GB vs. 1.5GB)
-Front facing camera
-Better battery ( 1500mAh > 1230mah)

Desire HD over Galaxy S

-Better build materials
-Higher resolution camera (8mpx > 5mpx)
-Slightly bigger screen (4.3" vs. 4")
-More RAM (768mb vs 512mb)
-Camera flash

These are my thoughts on the desire. The processor of the the Desire HD will be noticeably slower when it comes to graphic intensive programs. While it's not the best, we can live with it. My main concerns though are the screen quality and the protruding camera lens. Based on the screenshots and videos, no way is the Desire HD coming close to the Galaxy S super AMOLED. You do get a bigger screen with the Desire but remember the resolution is the same as the Galaxy, simply meaning the images will also be more pixelated. Also the camera lens protrudes quite a bit so if you rest down your phone, the lens will be prone to scratching, no doubt. So I dunno man. If it had the HDMI port, kickstand and FRONT CAMERA (No video chat?? :cry: ) of the EVO 4g I would actually place this phone above the Galaxy. As it stands though, I don't think so.

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » September 17th, 2010, 8:24 am

Wolfie wrote:idk man the sense ui is really nice, i think that would sway some purchase decisions.

The Samsung ui is too iphone like imo.

yeah I know wuh u mean. I was mainly focusing on hardware since you can use custom launchers that change the look of the samsung UI. Plus there's custom ROMs etc.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » September 17th, 2010, 1:46 pm

hell yea! can't wait for the desire hd to appear on amazon

Postby tr1ad » September 18th, 2010, 12:24 pm

so can i get "push" email from a work acct ?

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » September 18th, 2010, 1:49 pm

Htc Desire HD is now officially a letdown of a flagship.

I just found out that the rumors were true, the Desire HD uses an oldschool TFT LCD screen rather than Sony's Super LCD screen as originally expected. This means the images on the DesireHD are quite bland and washed out.
For comparison, the two phones on the left are super LCD and the desireHD on the right is regular LCD:

EPIC FAIL!

I just also received a full HD video recorded today from someone who has a final unit, and it is horrible in comparison to my Galaxy S. Here's the download link.
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=2GF8LHFH

Quite choppy and has a pink tint to it. Step up your game HTC.

Postby tr1ad » September 18th, 2010, 5:27 pm

allyuh doh answer meh.....

anyhow i jump over and got me a nexus one

have a lot to learn

zcarz

Postby zcarz » September 18th, 2010, 7:52 pm

N3M3SIS wrote:Htc Desire HD is now officially a letdown of a flagship.

I just found out that the rumors were true, the Desire HD uses an oldschool TFT LCD screen rather than Sony's Super LCD screen as originally expected. This means the images on the DesireHD are quite bland and washed out.
For comparison, the two phones on the left are super LCD and the desireHD on the right is regular LCD:

EPIC FAIL!

I just also received a full HD video recorded today from someone who has a final unit, and it is horrible in comparison to my Galaxy S. Here's the download link.
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=2GF8LHFH

Quite choppy and has a pink tint to it. Step up your game HTC.

FACK!!!

zcarz

Postby zcarz » September 18th, 2010, 9:17 pm

btw will the desire hd be only available on amazon.co.uk or on the normal amazon site as well?

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » September 18th, 2010, 10:25 pm

zcarz wrote:btw will the desire hd be only available on amazon.co.uk or on the normal amazon site as well?

You will only get the phone in Europe on release. There are many different sites in Europe you'll get it on, not just amazon.co.uk. u might be lucky enough to find an American retailer to get it in limited stock but that might be weeks after release. Remember America is mostly CDMA and sells phones over comtract. An unlocked GSM phone will not be popluar there, especially since America already has more powerful phones right now. Good luck tho. The release in Europe will be around mid October.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » September 18th, 2010, 11:18 pm

N3M3SIS wrote:
zcarz wrote:btw will the desire hd be only available on amazon.co.uk or on the normal amazon site as well?

You will only get the phone in Europe on release. There are many different sites in Europe you'll get it on, not just amazon.co.uk. u might be lucky enough to find an American retailer to get it in limited stock but that might be weeks after release. Remember America is mostly CDMA and sells phones over comtract. An unlocked GSM phone will not be popluar there, especially since America already has more powerful phones right now. Good luck tho. The release in Europe will be around mid October.

aww darn it, hopefully i find an e-retailer soon after the release that will at least ship to a skybox destination in the US

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 19th, 2010, 10:43 am

tr1ad wrote:allyuh doh answer meh.....

anyhow i jump over and got me a nexus one

have a lot to learn

nice.

patch is d only man i know in this thread who could answer yuh question though...

Postby tr1ad » September 19th, 2010, 6:18 pm

nah i is getting emails

Postby tr1ad » September 20th, 2010, 8:42 am

faster way to search contacts?

not seeing google gesture search in the market as what mitch described earlier

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 20th, 2010, 8:54 am

^hold down the menu button till the keyboard comes up then start typing

or use the google search widget

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » September 20th, 2010, 2:34 pm

HEy Mitch
i recently upgraded to Android OS from 1.6 to 2.1 on my HTC Hero
Its fine but i get a lot of missed calls on my cell becuase the sound is not working ?
can u assist?

tr1n1r3dman

Postby tr1n1r3dman » September 20th, 2010, 4:34 pm

Hey anyone seen the big Samsung galaxy S poster on the side of Trincity Mall? o_0

Postby RASC » September 20th, 2010, 4:49 pm

Right now, in Android world...

It's Samsung v. HTC v. Motorola v. Sony Ericsson

I put them in that very order in terms of who is capturing my interest the most at this time.
Last edited by RASC on September 20th, 2010, 5:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RASC » September 20th, 2010, 4:58 pm

Oh and BTW...this is the Official Desire HD Press Release Vid.

Postby RASC » September 20th, 2010, 5:05 pm

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » September 20th, 2010, 7:20 pm

RASC wrote:Right now, in Android world...

It's Samsung v. HTC v. Motorola v. Sony Ericsson

I put them in that very order in terms of who is capturing my interest the most at this time.

unfortunately both samsung and HTC have major issues right now.

galaxy s: lag issues, GPS issues, no cam flash
Desire HD: bad screen, bad picture and video quality, no front facing camera

I'd hate to say it but the true king of android is actually motorola. Their Droid X/Droid 2 have no major issues and are selling like hotcakes.

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » September 20th, 2010, 11:47 pm

Well i ordered a Galaxy S so i can get into the Droid hacking scene.

I'll update you guys when i get my hands on it.

Postby honda hoe » September 20th, 2010, 11:58 pm

originally it was just mitch me and patch who had android phones

since a lot more ppl have them now maybe we could add each other?

i already have patch and mitch

Postby tr1ad » September 21st, 2010, 7:14 am

add?? eh?

i fine the ringing volume to be rather quiet

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 21st, 2010, 8:22 pm

^he means adding each other in google talk which is basically the android version to bbm. only difference is u can use gtalk on ur phone and talk to ppl on ur pc as well and vice versa, so it's not phone to phone messaging only.

wrt ringing volume, yeah i was disappointed with the N1's volume since it sounded the same like the iphone i got rid of :?

heard a motorola droid volume already, and it's very loud and clear as expected from any moto phone

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 21st, 2010, 8:28 pm

Updated Gmail app in Android Market

We just released a new version of the Gmail app in Android Market, so Gmail updates aren’t tied to Android version releases anymore. Now you can get new Gmail stuff faster without having to wait for system updates. To start you off, we’ve improved message replies, access to quoted text, and more.

As you scroll through a conversation, your most important message actions will now stick to the top of the screen, one click away, no matter how long the email is.

http://gmailblog.blogspot.com/2010/09/u ... arket.html

apparently it doesnt show up in the Android Market for us yet.

check here if u want to dwl the apk file and install manually
http://phandroid.com/2010/09/03/new-gma ... o-install/

Postby tr1ad » September 21st, 2010, 8:35 pm

i eh diggin up much yet still learning