tr1ad wrote:wait ....
mitch leff out iphone?
honda hoe wrote:is it just me or this phone looks HUGE
too big imo
specs are fantastic tho
N3M3SIS wrote:mitch wrote:sweet mother of! this is one sexy beast!
FS: 1 Nexus One![]()
HTC launches the Desire HD: an EVO for the rest of world
Indeed. Safe to say this and Galaxy s are top dogs.
Galaxy S over this:
-Better screen (Super AMOLED > Sony LCD)
-Better CPU + GPU ( Hummingbird > snapdragon)
-Thinner + lighter
-more internal memory (8GB vs. 1.5GB)
-Front facing camera
-Better battery ( 1500mAh > 1230mah)
Desire HD over Galaxy S
-Better build materials
-Higher resolution camera (8mpx > 5mpx)
-Slightly bigger screen (4.3" vs. 4")
-More RAM (768mb vs 512mb)
-Camera flash
These are my thoughts on the desire. The processor of the the Desire HD will be noticeably slower when it comes to graphic intensive programs. While it's not the best, we can live with it. My main concerns though are the screen quality and the protruding camera lens. Based on the screenshots and videos, no way is the Desire HD coming close to the Galaxy S super AMOLED. You do get a bigger screen with the Desire but remember the resolution is the same as the Galaxy, simply meaning the images will also be more pixelated. Also the camera lens protrudes quite a bit so if you rest down your phone, the lens will be prone to scratching, no doubt. So I dunno man. If it had the HDMI port, kickstand and FRONT CAMERA (No video chat??) of the EVO 4g I would actually place this phone above the Galaxy. As it stands though, I don't think so.
Wolfie wrote:idk man the sense ui is really nice, i think that would sway some purchase decisions.
The Samsung ui is too iphone like imo.
N3M3SIS wrote:Htc Desire HD is now officially a letdown of a flagship.
I just found out that the rumors were true, the Desire HD uses an oldschool TFT LCD screen rather than Sony's Super LCD screen as originally expected. This means the images on the DesireHD are quite bland and washed out.
For comparison, the two phones on the left are super LCD and the desireHD on the right is regular LCD:
EPIC FAIL!
I just also received a full HD video recorded today from someone who has a final unit, and it is horrible in comparison to my Galaxy S. Here's the download link.
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=2GF8LHFH
Quite choppy and has a pink tint to it. Step up your game HTC.
zcarz wrote:btw will the desire hd be only available on amazon.co.uk or on the normal amazon site as well?
N3M3SIS wrote:zcarz wrote:btw will the desire hd be only available on amazon.co.uk or on the normal amazon site as well?
You will only get the phone in Europe on release. There are many different sites in Europe you'll get it on, not just amazon.co.uk. u might be lucky enough to find an American retailer to get it in limited stock but that might be weeks after release. Remember America is mostly CDMA and sells phones over comtract. An unlocked GSM phone will not be popluar there, especially since America already has more powerful phones right now. Good luck tho. The release in Europe will be around mid October.
tr1ad wrote:allyuh doh answer meh.....
anyhow i jump over and got me a nexus one
have a lot to learn
RASC wrote:Right now, in Android world...
It's Samsung v. HTC v. Motorola v. Sony Ericsson
I put them in that very order in terms of who is capturing my interest the most at this time.
Updated Gmail app in Android Market
We just released a new version of the Gmail app in Android Market, so Gmail updates aren’t tied to Android version releases anymore. Now you can get new Gmail stuff faster without having to wait for system updates. To start you off, we’ve improved message replies, access to quoted text, and more.
As you scroll through a conversation, your most important message actions will now stick to the top of the screen, one click away, no matter how long the email is.
http://gmailblog.blogspot.com/2010/09/u ... arket.html