Expect a DEFICIT Budget...2010

Postby RASC » August 22nd, 2010, 7:36 am

Expect 2010 budget deficit
Finance Minister Winston Dookeran says he expects a deficit in the upcoming 2010-2011 budget, the date of which he’s keeping close to his chest. “I think there will be (a deficit)... but not as large as we first anticipated.” Last year’s budget, Dookeran said, was approximately $45 billion. Last year’s deficit was $7.7 billion. “I am hoping we could at least get there as well,” was Dookeran’s response when probed about this year’s budget package. “We are still working on it. We will explain everything when the budget is read.”

When was the last time we had a deficit budget people? Not entirely sure...Anyone?

Re: Expect a DEFICIT Budget...2010

Postby DFC » August 22nd, 2010, 7:40 am

i wonder what caused that deficit?
hmmm...

eh ?

Dooks trying he best with the little $ that was left by the PNM.

Postby RASC » August 22nd, 2010, 8:07 am

DFC wrote:i wonder what caused that deficit?
hmmm...

eh ?

Dooks trying he best with the little $ that was left by the PNM.

:lol: Oh really?

Let me simplify the question for you, since you seemed to not be able to answer the question in its current form.

When was the last time T&T was able to spend more than it could've brought in?

Postby pete » August 22nd, 2010, 8:09 am

Every year for the past 9 years?

Postby Sky » August 22nd, 2010, 8:09 am

Heh RASC I hope you're trying to be purely informative there eh, because yuh throwin stones in de wrong house right now.

Postby RASC » August 22nd, 2010, 8:11 am

pete wrote:Every year for the past 9 years?

Really?

Postby ronsin1 » August 22nd, 2010, 8:13 am

but ent half way through the year the past cabinet used to ask for more money because they did not budget enough the last request that was approved by the then cabinet was 7 billion or something so

Postby hydroep » August 22nd, 2010, 8:42 am

Yet another budget deficit?

Thank you PNM.

Postby RASC » August 22nd, 2010, 9:32 am

hydroep wrote:Yet another budget deficit?

Thank you PNM.

When last did we run a deficit budget :?

No one has been able to answer the question.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » August 22nd, 2010, 9:43 am

RASC wrote:

Thank you PNM.

the last time the pnm got voted out? :lol: :lol:

Postby Sky » August 22nd, 2010, 9:46 am

^^ Your op suggests last year. Unless I'm missing something.

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » August 22nd, 2010, 9:50 am

errrr...2009. :roll:

Terran

Postby Terran » August 22nd, 2010, 10:05 am

This is just another chain up thread from RASC... an attempt to draw in PP supporters to highlight that in its first budget speech, they (the PP) will announce a deficit, while the PNM has enjoyed surpluses for most of its time in power. That information he is asking (genuinely or to ridicule people - "No one has been able to answer the question") is available online. But since he has PNM mentality, his behaviour is to ask with the expectation that he will receive, rather than do it himself.

Postby hydroep » August 22nd, 2010, 10:10 am

RASC wrote:

Thank you PNM.

That wasn't a rhetorical question?... :lol:

Postby RASC » August 22nd, 2010, 10:49 am

I have the 2000-2009 budgets right in front of me.

This will be the first time in a decade we'll be running a deficit...aka we're going to be spending more money than we'll be able to generate.

Views?

Postby hydroep » August 22nd, 2010, 10:53 am

RASC wrote:I have the 2000-2009 budgets right in front of me.

This will be the first time in a decade we'll be running a deficit...aka we're going to be spending more money than we'll be able to generate.

Views?

That's funny. I'm looking at some information right now that directly contradicts your statement... :lol:

Postby RASC » August 22nd, 2010, 11:05 am

hydroep wrote:

Views?

That's funny. I'm looking at some information right now that directly contradicts your statement... :lol:

What is your source?

Mine is the Ministry or Finance official documents.

noobie

Postby noobie » August 22nd, 2010, 11:10 am

RASC wrote:
hydroep wrote:

Then why did the PNM announce in 2009 that they were running a deficit budget?
They lied about that?

brickman

Postby brickman » August 22nd, 2010, 11:15 am

Steups.....after 8 yrs of BS you think anybody is suprised by this?
jack.jpg
jack.jpg (21.69 KiB) Viewed 4650 times

noobie

Postby noobie » August 22nd, 2010, 11:22 am

I don't understand how stupid you have to be to attempt to paint the coming budget as an indictment against the present Government.

Clearly the status of the economy as of now is completely based upon the policies of the previous government. So if we are in a deficit situation NOW it is because of the PNM.

In my view any 85 IQ moron can reach that conclusion.

Postby DFC » August 22nd, 2010, 11:25 am

RASC= RETARD.

dude...try some of these pills..

Postby hydroep » August 22nd, 2010, 11:26 am

RASC wrote:Mine is the Ministry or Finance official documents.

That's good information.

What is your source?

The Hansard... :lol:

Postby RASC » August 22nd, 2010, 11:36 am

noobie wrote:I don't understand how stupid you have to be to attempt to paint the coming budget as an indictment against the present Government.

Clearly the status of the economy as of now is completely based upon the policies of the previous government. So if we are in a deficit situation NOW it is because of the PNM.

The excuses keep on coming. Do you plan to use that for the remaining 5 years?
The gov't is running a deficit due to the fact that they have not created any avenues for income generation nor diversification of the account either.

No Smelter
No Property Tax
Petrotrin is currently in a state of Stagnation

Couple this with the gov'ts extremely lofty plans and spiraling out of control inflation...

Those are the major reasons why they plan to run a deficit. Not the PNM...this is road map for the next year :? These are their projections.

Is Manning Fault , Is Manning fault...okay, Manning is NOT in power, what are you doing to fix the issue? When Obama got elected his situation was 100times worse than it is in T&T both in size and depth, but guess what Democrats never sat around all day pointing fingers, they got to work.

Sequel

Postby Sequel » August 22nd, 2010, 12:07 pm

Look at blatant lies in this thread.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 22nd, 2010, 12:33 pm

this 1 of dem UDFR threads .... :|

Postby UML » August 22nd, 2010, 12:38 pm

RASC wrote:
Finance Minister Winston Dookeran says he expects a deficit in the upcoming 2010-2011 budget, the date of which he’s keeping close to his chest. “I think there will be (a deficit)... but not as large as we first anticipated.” Last year’s budget, Dookeran said, was approximately $45 billion. Last year’s deficit was $7.7 billion. “I am hoping we could at least get there as well,” was Dookeran’s response when probed about this year’s budget package. “We are still working on it. We will explain everything when the budget is read.”

When was the last time we had a deficit budget people? Not entirely sure...Anyone?

if u read the article (before express start faawking up..das why i not quoting it) there was a deficit in the last budget

Postby UML » August 22nd, 2010, 12:47 pm

RASC wrote:
noobie wrote:I don't understand how stupid you have to be to attempt to paint the coming budget as an indictment against the present Government.

The excuses keep on coming. Do you plan to use that for the remaining 5 years?
The gov't is running a deficit due to the fact that they have not created any avenues for income generation nor diversification of the account either.

No Smelter
No Property Tax
Petrotrin is currently in a state of Stagnation

Couple this with the gov'ts extremely lofty plans and spiraling out of control inflation...

Those are the major reasons why they plan to run a deficit. Not the PNM...this is road map for the next year :? These are their projections.

Is Manning Fault , Is Manning fault...okay, Manning is NOT in power, what are you doing to fix the issue? When Obama got elected his situation was 100times worse than it is in T&T both in size and depth, but guess what Democrats never sat around all day pointing fingers, they got to work.

BUDGET DEFICIT
By Kristy Ramnarine kramnarine@trinidadexpress.com
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/BUD ... 54989.html

Story Created: Aug 22, 2010 at 10:48 AM ECT

Story Updated: Aug 22, 2010 at 10:51 AM ECT
Expect a budget deficit for 2011. This was the word from acting Prime Minister Winston Dookeran yesterday. But Dookeran, also the Finance Minister, assured that the deficit will not be as large as the 2009/2010 budget deficit of $8.4 billion under the People’s National Movement (PNM).

“I think last year’s budget was in the order of about $45 billion, I am hoping that we can at least get there as well,” he said yesterday to the media following 48th Independence Anniversary celebrations at the Holy Trinity Spiritual Baptist Church at Trinity Avenue, Chinapoo Village, Morvant.

“I think there will be (a deficit) but not as large as we had first anticipated,” Dookeran added.

Asked whether the proposed salary payment of $132,916 to Police Commissioner-elect Dwayne Gibbs and $106,333 salary to his deputy fellow Canadian Jack Ewatski, would affect the budget, Dookeran said: “Obviously any increase in cost will affect the budgetary situation but we are trying to ensure that we can return to growth during the next economic year and during that period we hope to build back the hopes in the country and also build back the fiscal accounts.”
He did not get give a date for the budget reading.

“We will announce that shortly. Let’s wait and see; the Prime Minister will be back and we have to have discussions,” he said of the date
The Central Bank of Trinidad and Tobago, in its July 2010 Economic Bulletin, said the next national budget will be a challenge to secure the right balance between the need for maintaining an adequate level of capital expenditure and stimulating business activity with the medium-term objective of fiscal consolidation.

“Urgent energy tax reform to encourage oil and gas exploration and the need to maintain or expand poverty-alleviation programmes will further complicate fiscal policy.

“The sharp rise in headline inflation will present additional challenges for economic policy.

“Continued increase in food prices will certainly affect wage demands and other price-setting behaviour and could soon be reflected in core inflation.

“In these circumstances, monetary policy would need to be more active in the fight against inflation. Of course, higher interest rates could choke off a recovery that is not well entrenched,” the report said.
The report said a continued stagnation in the non-energy sector could have adverse consequences for unemployment, which could easily rise to 6-6.5 per cent.

“It is reasonable to expect for the next several months, the level of external demand will continue to facilitate expansion of the petrochemical sector at the current price levels. On this basis, even if the non-energy sector remains flat, real GDP growth for the year as a whole should reach to 1-1.5 per cent,” the report said.

The Central Bank advised that a strong recovery of the non-energy sector will be the key to a faster rate of growth of output and employment in 2011.

It added: “While monetary conditions could contribute through a much sharper reduction in bank lending rates, the original impulse will need to come from the public sector.”

Postby UML » August 22nd, 2010, 12:51 pm

BTW :pwned:

Like RASC hiding now!!!

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Last edited by UML on August 22nd, 2010, 1:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

pinks

Postby pinks » August 22nd, 2010, 1:01 pm

RASC wrote:

you were so quick to highligh the title did you read d damn ting..look closer yuh dumass...so d answer yuh looking for is frigging last year!!..who was in power den?facking manning an he cockroaches!!

Postby UML » August 22nd, 2010, 1:06 pm

pinks wrote:
RASC wrote:

you were so quick to highligh the title did you read d damn ting..look closer yuh dumass...so d answer yuh looking for is frigging last year!!..who was in power den?facking manning an he cockroaches!!