The Ultimate Weekly mileage challenge

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
lighthammer

The Ultimate Weekly mileage challenge

Postby lighthammer » August 8th, 2010, 11:04 am

Calling all 4x4 Truck & SUV enthusiasts!
Here is the ultimate weekly challenge to see how many miles you can get out of a tank of fuel.

This applies to BOTH DIESEL & GAS rigs (I didn't forget you 3stagevtec) - both experienced & newbies can try the challenge!

3 simple rules:
1. State your Model/Model Year/Engine size
2. Fill your tank up and state how much it cost you (make sure to Zero-off your trip meter on the dash too)
3. When your tank gets down to "E" or "Empty", take a picture of the fuel gauge & trip-mileage as evidence for the rest of us

Most of us will use up a single tank within a week (some may use it up sooner) so it's best to fill the tank at the beginning of the week (I filled mine up yesterday)

Some tips:
- If you don't know how to post a photo, one of the better image-hosting sites is www.photobucket.com. Sign up for a free account, upload youR pic, and then use the tags [img]COPY/PASTE_THE_IMAGE_URL_HERE[/img] to post the photo on the forum.
- You can do whatever you want to increase your mileage, including driving lightly, shifting early, lightening your load (removing spare tire, seats, overweight mother-in-laws from the backseat, etc.) and so on. There's no restriction but the point is to achieve maximum mileage in one tank.
- This isn't really a competition, it's more for pride and bragging rights between your fellow truck/suv enthusiasts.
- I'd also like to use this thread to help ourselves to monitor our week-to-week fuel consumption. Perhaps it might even help us to improve our driving habits, making us safer and more efficient drivers. With the cost of fuel rising, you can even point out this thread to other car owners to help everyone improve their fuel economy.

****DISCLAIMER****

Please don't attempt this challenge the nearest gas station (with diesel fuel) is a considerable distance from you.

Also please try not to run your tank down to "E" completely, nor past "E". This may cause the engine to suck up the sediments & dregs at the bottom of your fuel tank, which would foul the engine & cause damage.
Last edited by lighthammer on August 23rd, 2010, 7:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

lighthammer

Re: The Ultimate Weekly mileage challenge

Postby lighthammer » August 8th, 2010, 11:09 am

I'll start it up.

(This is from last week's mileage results. I'm going to do it again this week and post my results when my tank gets on empty.)

- Nissan Frontier/2002/3.0Turbo diesel
- $95.00 diesel
- My mileage: 630km on one tank
- Technique: easy driving, early shifting below 3000rpm, 110-120km/h

Will see how this next tank of diesel will stretch.

Who's next?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 8th, 2010, 1:59 pm

How much is the prize money

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 8th, 2010, 2:17 pm

"Your mileage numbers... in dollars!"

LOL just kidding!
It's really just to see who can get the most mileage, if anyone interested in taking up the challenge.

(seriously I don't have the money, ok! :D)

Postby 3stagevtec » August 8th, 2010, 6:59 pm

:shock: :? :x :( :cry:

I not even gonna try..

Currently with my heavy winch and 4% taller AT tyres, I get between 9 - 10km/L (21.1 - 23.5mpg).. 2.0L Twin Cam at over 230,000kms. I haven't tested my maximum distance on a full tank in a while though.

Personally I don't believe in fulling your tank of fuel because you end up carrying around alot of extra weight that is not always necessary. Just imagine how heavy ~50L of fuel really is! I usually stay between the 1/3 and 2/3 mark for safety / economy..

I have changed my intake and exhaust systems on the Vitara to improve the volumetric efficiency of the motor. I also plan to change the differential ratios from 4.88 to 5.12 to improve the overall gearing.. That also should help with increasing my fuel economy also..

When I do that gearing change, I'll test my total distance on a tank..

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 8th, 2010, 8:30 pm

how about everyone have to bet 50L of diesel - winner will collect enough for him to run for a month... :)

Postby Team Loco » August 8th, 2010, 10:05 pm

it real sad when you dont have a tripmeter......i havent reached the digital age yet, much less a crappy analog trip meter

droppa

Postby droppa » August 9th, 2010, 12:56 pm

My surf does ketch his arse to hit ah 400km with 80$ diesel, its 3.0 td, auto.....

she is real heavy...

pickups and more so, CRDi's will have a much better fuel efficiency.....

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 9th, 2010, 3:06 pm

This is ghey....

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 9th, 2010, 3:08 pm

:gay: :gay: :gay:

:out: :out: :out:

:ban: :ban: :ban:

Someone PLEASE lock this thread and throw it away...

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 9th, 2010, 5:25 pm

^^^cold-blooded :lol:

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » August 10th, 2010, 4:27 am

The man does just call it like he see it.. Yuh gotta love dat... Freaky.. doh worry bro... Even Ghay Boyz drive Diesel too... LOL

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 13th, 2010, 10:58 am

biggy82 wrote:^^^cold-blooded :lol:

I aint mean to be mean or disrepect no body but this is like a toe-tee measuring contest... or whatever they call it. Where you will find noobs trying to outdo each other and thing... Do we really need that sheit on this forum?

Also, its somewhat irresponsible to let your tank go ALL the way down to E, yes, the needle in the pic was above E, but some people (the not smart ones) might push it below E... What about if there is a crisis and you are sheit out of fuel? Whats your situation then?

Also, pushing your tank too low cause a couple things that you may not want: disturbing the dregs in the tank and causing those to be sucked into the filters, etc... You also become less fuel efficent when the tank is low cause of the volatility... Not that great a point with diesels but still..

So again, I didnt mean to be mean, its just one of those things... that I find completely GHEY!

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 13th, 2010, 12:35 pm

*Phoenix* wrote:The man does just call it like he see it.. Yuh gotta love dat... Freaky.. doh worry bro... Even Ghay Diesel Boyz ride bikes too... LOL

:wtf:

closet coming out time?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 13th, 2010, 3:36 pm

^ well if that's your opinion, you're entitled to think what you like. No one can stop you from having your own POV sir.

No need to bash or flame. If you don't want to participate then you don't have to.

This forum is open to all members to make postings and participate in discussions. Only mods have the power to sensor user posts and remove material. Otherwise we're all equal users, whether new or old members.

Have a good weekend and drive safe everybody.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 13th, 2010, 7:18 pm

lighthammer, Freak brings up some valid points. with our poor diesel in Trini, pushing the limits of your tank can result in some problems. also, in the race to win, some ppl may leave their tanks so low that they cannot deal with emergencies properly.

I admit that he wasn't as diplomatic as he should have been......wait nah, I making excuses about lack of diplomacy? :?

as you were :mrgreen:

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 15th, 2010, 8:48 am

biggy82 wrote:lighthammer, Freak brings up some valid points. with our poor diesel in Trini, pushing the limits of your tank can result in some problems. also, in the race to win, some ppl may leave their tanks so low that they cannot deal with emergencies properly.

I admit that he wasn't as diplomatic as he should have been......wait nah, I making excuses about lack of diplomacy? :?

as you were :mrgreen:

Wait... if ah man cyar take talks, you cyar come on a Diesel Run eh...

Everybody in here get dey roast... including me...

If youall know me that is how I does get on with all yuh sometimes... But it aint mean nuttin...

But I support the points I made.

Anyways, like biggy say: "As you were..."

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 15th, 2010, 9:38 am

^^ nah it's not about the talks, i don't mind a lil' kix and whatnot. I know it's not a serious thing, and I respect you guys' opinions & advice everytime.

The points about drawing up the dregs on an empty tank and folks running out of diesel are valid, hopefully no one would end up going to such extreme measures and would exercise a tiny bit of common sense & go fill up the tank when it reach on "E" and not run the tank completely dry.
Anyway, for continuity's sake, I got 615km's on my frontier with the needle on 1/4 tank, went and filled up in Unipet St. Augustine (and forgot to take a pic of the miles - only remember as I was resetting the Odo).

My original point was in trying to see how far you could reach on a tank, one might pick up a few habits on improving fuel efficiency with daily driving - inspired by the Top Gear episode when they drove from France to North England on one tank of diesel each.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » August 16th, 2010, 4:58 am

so what if yuh instrument panel doh have a trip meter! :\

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 16th, 2010, 11:17 am

speedaholic wrote:so what if yuh instrument panel doh have a trip meter! :\

take start and stop odo readings :roll:

Postby Team Loco » August 16th, 2010, 4:13 pm

i think i could have gotton about 25kms more, but there wasnt a diesel station close by.

528kms. i usually get about 550kms
pre-turbo charging i would have to beg for 500kms. i guess the addition of the turbo has improved my mileage. plus the additional fuel compensator- aneroid may have contributed to this. i still believe some tuning is needed though
Last edited by Team Loco on August 16th, 2010, 4:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » August 16th, 2010, 4:13 pm

Mitsubishi Pajero with a 4d56 turbo engine, many times check cost to fillup against miles travelled and it averages at 3 miles for a dollar diesel.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 16th, 2010, 8:33 pm

TL - that's not bad at all, esp with the turbo dropped in.

What about tuning and calibrating the fuel pump, servicing the injectors, etc?

Postby Team Loco » August 16th, 2010, 10:51 pm

well, most of what you asked about is still outstanding. the aneroid was just dropped in and no proper tuning was done. i guess i am stalling since i am slowly accumulating parts and components for my water based intercooling project

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 17th, 2010, 12:48 pm

SR5 - 1kz-te

Approx 275km - 300km on half tank ~33 litres.

I never run it below quarter for reasons discussed above. Another consideration not mention is the capacity of the fuel tank (66 litres).

When it comes to fuel economy common rail rocks ... I've gotten over 350km on half tank of diesel with the diesel auto Sportage and that's driving in traffic.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 17th, 2010, 3:03 pm

sweeks wrote:SR5 - 1kz-te

Approx 275km - 300km on half tank ~33 litres.

I never run it below quarter for reasons discussed above. Another consideration not mention is the capacity of the fuel tank (66 litres).

When it comes to fuel economy common rail rocks ... I've gotten over 350km on half tank of diesel with the diesel auto Sportage and that's driving in traffic.

I am closer to your lower limit there sweeky... Last fillup calculate economy was 9.03km per litre. This includes some ridiculous traffic as I am back out to work :-(

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 23rd, 2010, 7:19 am

Forgot to take the pic of the needle before filling up - but it was just above "E" like in my first picture.
My fuel economy this week suffered a bit because I had to make a couple high-speed emergency runs from Sangre Grande into San Fernando.

Hoping this week I'll be able to drive a bit easier and hit my goal, which is to just be able to touch 700km's!!!

Spend $97 in diesel this fillup.

Postby AllTrac » August 24th, 2010, 6:14 pm

droppa wrote:My surf does ketch his arse to hit ah 400km with 80$ diesel, its 3.0 td, auto.....

she is real heavy...

pickups and more so, CRDi's will have a much better fuel efficiency.....

thats normal, when i had meh 2LTE surf was de same, between 350-400km.

My frontier get about 650KM to the tank

Postby AllTrac » August 24th, 2010, 6:20 pm

lighthammer wrote:Image

Forgot to take the pic of the needle before filling up - but it was just above "E" like in my first picture.
My fuel economy this week suffered a bit because I had to make a couple high-speed emergency runs from Sangre Grande into San Fernando.

Hoping this week I'll be able to drive a bit easier and hit my goal, which is to just be able to touch 700km's!!!

Spend $97 in diesel this fillup.

Hey i made 720km while driving on E, the light came on at 650km, i was surprised the van had that much in reserve, not really interested to find out exactly how much was left in the reserve lol

btw, Frontier 3.0lt 4x4

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 25th, 2010, 7:04 am

Hey i made 720km while driving on E, the light came on at 650km, i was surprised the van had that much in reserve, not really interested to find out exactly how much was left in the reserve lol

btw, Frontier 3.0lt 4x4

Not bad at all. I made 715km's once, and the fuel-low light was on. Had to drive slowly and carefully down to the NP station by the airport.

I'm trying to see if I can touch 700km on my 3.0L TDI frontier, but without the light coming on. Don't want to get the dregs in my tank into the engine.

So far it's just above the 1/2-way mark and it's reading 345km, I just might make it!!!

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”