Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby M_2NR » July 27th, 2010, 9:03 pm

Is that firetruck up IPSW? *chupes*

S, how did it fix? for itself?

and holy sheet, [obvious] 3G's are so slow on iOS 4[/obvious]

i was showing dad something and literally stood there waiting... for things to load.

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 27th, 2010, 9:19 pm

Hey guys, I keep trying to restore my iphone but it wont, I keep getting errors (6,31xx,9 etc) and ive given up hope and lost pationence with the phone..

Anyone willing to do the restore for me? I dont mind paying as longst as I know my phone is in safe hands or can anyone show me a store in south i can get it done? I was told crowsnest?

Postby M_2NR » July 28th, 2010, 1:53 am

What f/w you restoring too?

Try a virgin 4.0.1 NOW. not next week NOW.

Apple started signing firmwares for even 3G's now.

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 28th, 2010, 8:37 am

Virgin is just using itunes to restore and not "shift+restore" right?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 28th, 2010, 11:28 am

Some time ago, Apple uploaded the CAD diagrams for potential iPhone, iPad or iPod case manufacturers. It took Core77 alotta time and patience to overlay them on the product photos, but they were worth waiting for.

Apple made the drawings available for anyone interested in building cases for their products, but when you download a file from their site you'll soon understand why Core77 felt the need to superimpose the measurements over the official product shots. These would make great desktop wallpapers—if your monitor was just 500 pixels wide, that is.

------

Safari 5's extension support just got a whole lot more useful this morning, as Apple's just released Safari 5.0.1, which enables the feature for end users, and opened its official Extension Gallery. Extensions can be installed from anywhere, but you might think of the Gallery as the App Store for browser add-ons -- and it seems decently stocked at launch, with notable entries from Amazon, eBay, Bing, MLB.com, the New York Times, and Twitter. We'd expect that number to grow over time, as extensions are apparently quite simply built in HTML5, CSS and JavaScript.

------

Oh sure, VoIP on the iPod touch is hardly breaking news these days, but what if you could actually slap on a regular SIM card and make calls on said device? That's what Yosion's appropriately named Apple Peel 520 claims to do. Powered by an Infineon baseband chip, this adapter not only offers voice calling and text messaging (presumably requiring a jailbroken iPod touch for the apps; GPRS not possible yet), but it also doubles up as an 800mAh battery and provides 4.5 hours of call time or 120 hours of standby juice. We're told this cheeky hack's coming out in China as early as this week for somewhere between ¥300 ($44) and ¥500 ($74), although the lack of an official website, full spec sheet or compatibility list means we'll have to remain skeptical with this potentially vaporware company.

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 28th, 2010, 11:46 am

2 things happening right now right fellas,

1. Im getting an error 6 and apple suggests
All of the steps in this article apply to resolve this issue. Following iTunes for Windows: Troubleshooting security software frequently resolves this error. There may be third-party software installed that modifies your default packet size in Windows by inserting a TcpWindowSize entry into your Registry. If your default packet size is set incorrectly it can cause this error. Contact the manufacturer of the software that installed the packet size modification for assistance.

IDK about packet size etc, help?

2. My iphone just has the bar thingy while being restored and it stopes like half-way through...

Help anyone?

Postby M_2NR » July 28th, 2010, 7:22 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Virgin is just using itunes to restore and not "shift+restore" right?

Yea u can do that. Make sure it is 4.0.1 eh... I like to download and keep the IPSW file though.

Try putting it in DFU Mode as well.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 28th, 2010, 7:50 pm

Some iPhone 3G owners who upgraded their phone to the latest iOS software have complained of slowness and shorter battery life. Apple now says it will be looking into the complaints.
That's according to what one spokesperson at the iPhone maker told The Wall Street Journal.
Since iOS 4 was released in mid-June, iPhone 3G owners have voiced problems with the phone seemingly grinding to a halt: slow keyboard response time, frozen unlock screens, and a battery that drains faster than with previous versions of the software.
One CNET reader told us, "The OS update has made my 2-year-old 3G massively slower in performing all tasks; it barely rings for 5 seconds before going to voice mail now! It freezes in typing, Web-browsing, and all other apps like it never did before iOS 4."
Apple's own support forums show hundreds of postings with similar complaints.
According to those customers on the support forum, Apple customer service has been telling 3G users to restore their iPhones to the factory settings, effectively downgrading their device to iOS 3.

------

It's no secret that iOS 4 kills the speed of some older iOS devices such as the iPhone 3G and 2nd generation iPod touch. The video below shows a neat trick that puts the speed back in your device.

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 29th, 2010, 7:17 am

M_2nr wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:Virgin is just using itunes to restore and not "shift+restore" right?

Yea u can do that. Make sure it is 4.0.1 eh... I like to download and keep the IPSW file though.

Now hear what going on, I keep getting error 6. I think its been DFUed, not 100%.

I using redsnow and everytime it just gives me a blank white screen.

Postby M_2NR » July 29th, 2010, 9:06 am

Solved my AppStore issue,

Problem = "Remove LaunchDaemons" Package was conflicting or removing something and now it works fine once it was removed.

kurpal_v2 wrote:
M_2nr wrote:

Now hear what going on, I keep getting error 6. I think its been DFUed, not 100%.

I using redsnow and everytime it just gives me a blank white screen.

:wtf:

You try removing files from:

C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Apple Computer\iTunes\iPhone Software Updates
?

Or try updating Java? Or try another PC?

Im thinking it's either the PC you using, or what you read up before, using an iPod Charger?

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 29th, 2010, 9:17 am

It could be my pc eh, cause since I bought the pc, it said its not genuine vista and the error I keep getting(6) poiints to a pc problem.

I have one pc but no internet on that, can I update without the internet, given Ive downloaded all the software?

Postby M_2NR » July 29th, 2010, 1:13 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:It could be my pc eh, cause since I bought the pc, it said its not genuine vista and the error I keep getting(6) poiints to a pc problem.

I have one pc but no internet on that, can I update without the internet, given Ive downloaded all the software?

in the past yes, not sure these days as they checking updates. But give it a try and see how it goes. :)

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 29th, 2010, 1:39 pm

Macworld shot the cover of their September 2010 issue covering the iPhone 4, with, you guessed it, an iPhone 4.

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » July 29th, 2010, 9:04 pm

Hey iPhone gurus, I have a question.

I have a 3GS, and live in Canada...jailbroken and unlocked...works fine here. When i visit Trini and put in my bmobile sim card the battery drains like hell...I mean rediculously low battery life...the phone will be dead in 15-20 minutes. I'm guessing the source is the SIM...any idea if I have some kind of outdated SIM possibly and TSTT has since updated it? it's a prepaid SIM and I have had it about 3 or 4 years now

JWT

Postby JWT » July 29th, 2010, 9:11 pm

yeah but we still waiting on the blasted crack 4 d fone

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » July 29th, 2010, 9:32 pm

R. Mutt wrote:Hey iPhone gurus, I have a question.

I have a 3GS, and live in Canada...jailbroken and unlocked...works fine here. When i visit Trini and put in my bmobile sim card the battery drains like hell...I mean rediculously low battery life...the phone will be dead in 15-20 minutes. I'm guessing the source is the SIM...any idea if I have some kind of outdated SIM possibly and TSTT has since updated it? it's a prepaid SIM and I have had it about 3 or 4 years now

Sum people ere hav sims much older than urs. U shud restore ur fone an re jailbreakit an unlock it.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 29th, 2010, 9:45 pm

After testing Apple's iPhone 4 against competing HTC and Nokia models in a remote area on the edge of Norwegian carrier Telenor's mobile coverage, the county's largest paper has concluded that its antenna design is "just as good and bad as competitors," rather than suffering any defect.

A report by Oslo's Verdens Gang, the country's largest online and printed newspaper, forwarded to AppleInsider by reader Torje Øivand Olsen, noted that the brouhaha surrounding "alleged antenna problems" of iPhone 4 was not evident in its own testing conducted in a remote part of the country.

The paper compared iPhone 4 against the HTC Wildfire, Nokia E71, and Apple's previous iPhone 3GS. It stated that all of the phones reacted similarly when gripped tightly (losing signal bars due to attenuation), but that all of the phones were able to sustain a conversation.

Both Nokia and HTC have responded to Antennagate with bold claims that signal drops experienced when a phone is held in a particular way are a problem unique to Apple, while at the same time warning users not to hold their own Nokia or HTC phones in such a way as to cause signal attenuation.

Worse in call quality, better in data service

VG reported that the sound quality on the two iPhone models was not as good, but that all the calls 'went smoothly.' However, when using the phones' data service to pull up a web page, the reporters said only the iPhone 4 'was close to having a stable connection,' successfully pulling up a page while the other models reported no service.

The paper suggested poor mobile networks may be the cause of the US reports of iPhone 4 antenna problems. It cited Amobil, a Norwegian mobile phone news site, as having 'tested the iPhone 4 thoroughly, without finding any evidence that it is improperly constructed. All modern mobile phones have integrated antennas, and it is normal that they are affected by how the phone is held,' VG said.

Amobil writer Finn Jarle Kvalheim added, 'Consumer Reports goes far in asserting that the problems do not have anything to with the mobile network. But it is a fact that mobile networks in Norway are much more robust than AT&T's network in the US.'

Olsen, who helped translate the story for AppleInsider, adds "I have myself tested the iPhone 4 and tried to replicate the signal loss close to one of Norway's major towns without being able to get even one less bar."

Apple will launch the new iPhone 4 in Norway tomorrow, along with Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, Hong Kong, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Singapore, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Postby M_2NR » July 29th, 2010, 10:11 pm

zcrugby wrote:
R. Mutt wrote:Hey iPhone gurus, I have a question.

Sum people ere hav sims much older than urs. U shud restore ur fone an re jailbreakit an unlock it.

both ways happened to my padna 3G, it was on 3.0 and well he needed to update to but he complaint of sh!tty battery and i mean lasting 5 hours.
I restored to 3.1.2 and it was solved.

When he went back up he was surprised as to how long it lasted. (he goes back to mid continent USA)

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 29th, 2010, 10:18 pm

I have what seems to be a major problem on my hands... Stupid 2G iphone screen partially working. My top 4 Apps is unresponsive to touch and this sheit is pissing me off because I can't access my "messages" icon. I tried a hard reset but still no luck. I've been reading that it could be a bad digitizer (screen), but it eh look like it worth it to go through all that stress to open up phone to change out a $100 screen, plus new battery etc while i'm in there one time. Any other recommendations to get this stuff working? I just need to figure out a way to move the "messages" icon to another location where the screen actually responds to touch. This iphone took a beating for 2yrs without problems. The longest any phone ever last me

Did they release a 4G unlock to the public yet? If so, then I'll end up buying one and have it unlock..

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 29th, 2010, 11:05 pm

YES!!!! Ok you BB loving kants, the Iphone strikes again!!!

I was able to rearrange my icons via itunes, so I put all the useless sheit to the non responsive section of the screen. I doh Sync my phone to regular so I eh know ah coulda do all that fancy sheit on ichunes.. I just save myself a bunch of money by switching to Geico and by Sync'n meh phone

Postby M_2NR » July 29th, 2010, 11:33 pm

RoTaRyBoYz, u can use this to create a blank Icon one the first row of each page.

http://iphonehelp.in/2009/01/08/iblank-create-blank-icons-on-iphones-springboard-via-cydia-free/

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 30th, 2010, 9:43 am

Here's hugely interesting: seems that in April, Apple dumped its previous location service partners, Google and Skyhook, preferring instead to use its own location databases.

Now, if you think about it, these databases must constitute at least in part some of the intellectual property Apple acquired with its Quattro purchase. That naturally boosted by iTunes and iPhone data gathering.

Apple's move to control its own harvest of location-based data makes complete sense too from the pov of a company tryiung to get iAds off the ground.

In a letter from Apple's chief legal beagle, Bruce Sewell, AAPL confirmed the changes (kudos to TechCrunch).

To provide the high quality products and services that its customers demand, Apple must have access to comprehensive location-based information. For devices running iPhone OS versions 1.1.3 to 3.1, Apple relied on (and still relies on) databases maintained by Google and Skyhook Wireless (“Skyhook”) to provide location-based services. Beginning with the iPhone OS version 3.2 released in April 2010, Apple relies on its own databases to provide location-based services and for diagnostic purposes. These databases must be updated continuously to account for, among other things, the ever-changing physical landscape, more innovative uses of mobile technology, and the increasing number of Apple’s customers. Apple has always taken great care to protect the privacy of its customers.

Apple is now in complete control of the location services on the iPhone (and iPad/iPod touch).

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 30th, 2010, 4:56 pm

If you live in the States and are dying to get an unlocked iPhone 4, prepare to be taunted by two bordering nations. It looks as though Apple will offer the iPhone 4, carrier unlocked, to Mexico via the Online Apple Store; Canada already has this option. The pricing on the unit has not yet been announced, but if history repeats itself it should be about $1,500 pesos above the price of the iPhone 3GS for an unlocked 16 GB iPhone 4. Currently the iPhone 3GS is on the Mexican Apple Online Store for $9,510.84 pesos (about $730 US). Anyone want to head to Tijuana and pick one of these bad boys up?

So lets see that makes it Canada, the UK, France & now Mexico to go for unlocked iPhone 3GSs & iPhone 4s.

iPhone 3GS (8GB) & iPhone 4 (16GB & 32GB) [converted to TTD] (respectively)
Image - $3373.79 - $4049.77 - $4787.21
Image - $4277.55 - $5184.15 - $6090.76
Image - $4130.51 - N/A - N/A
Image - $4157.01 - $4950.71 - $5942.83

------

One of the largest publications in Australia has found no major reception problems with Apple's newly released iPhone 4, while the problematic New Zealand launch was delayed a few hours.

Daily Telegraph: No reception issues

Stephen French, national technology writer for Australia's The Daily Telegraph, gave a glowing review to Apple's iPhone 4 on Friday. Using it for nearly a week, he has not dropped calls or noticed any impact on the device's performance.

The writer managed to replicate some of the signal issues experienced by users when covering the bottom left of the iPhone 4. However, it was not enough to hamper his experience with the smartphone.

French tested the Australian version of the iPhone 4 without a case on all of the country's four carriers that offer Apple's handset. The device was used on the Telstra, Optus, Vodafone and 3 networks in parts of Sydney with varying signal strengths.

"I tried the 'death grip' on the bottom left while making test calls in areas I knew to have weaker reception and the times I did manage to reduce the signal bars... my calls were still not affected," he wrote. "The worst thing that happened was a web page I was loading timed out but after refreshing it came up fine. I even managed to watch a YouTube video over 3G while in the 'death grip.'"

French said that call quality was improved over the iPhone 3GS, and he found that holding the handset in the "death grip" manner was unnatural.

"The iPhone 4 is not just a slight improvement over the iPhone 3GS, it is a massive jump," he said. "There are so many great enhancements across the board it will be hard for existing iPhone owners to resist and a great place to start for users who are new to the smartphone market."

New Zealand launch hits snag

iPhone 4 buyers who lined up overnight in New Zealandto purchase Apple's latest handset came away disappointed on Friday, as the launch was delayed a few hours. According to stuff.co.nz, the handset was eventually available through select Vodafone stores by midday.

The carrier would not comment on what caused an apparent delay of the launch, though some speculated it was caused by a shipping delay.

Though the morning launch was delayed, about 100 people lined up outside the Vodafone Lambton Quay store in Wellington about 4 hours later to purchase the iPhone 4. One customer reportedly referred to the launch as an "epic fail."

RoTaRyBoYz

2G iphone screen partially working

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 30th, 2010, 7:09 pm

The problem continues...

I successfully rearranged the icons, but forgot about the dial pad.. With the first few lines on my iphone not working, I'm unable to access #'s 1, 2 & 3 on my dial pad.. Ah dunno how the firetruck I'm supposed to make phone calls now. I'm afraid to do a system restore because I have tons of notes, physco horner woman text messages and other good sheit that I don't wanna lose. Seeing that I'm caught better a rock and a sweet pooce, WTF am I supposed to do to fix this problem?

All who say full restore say "I"

Postby M_2NR » July 30th, 2010, 7:12 pm

If it's hardware, restoring wont help.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 30th, 2010, 8:06 pm

^pressure... Ebay have "unlocked" 4G for $1000+ but at almost the same price of a small house, that wayyy out of my league. Is either I hush meh kant and fix this phone then get a Ipad with the extra money or ah just hush meh kant all together. My iphone took a beating. It was money well spent. BB, HTC, HP and all dem other sheit "smart" phones didn't even give me ah full year without cyapping out..

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 30th, 2010, 8:23 pm

i just saw an app on TV from Chase Bank - Take a pic of your check and click send - and it is deposit to your account!!!!!Could you imagine how helpful that could be if RBtt have that?? Wow!

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 30th, 2010, 8:37 pm

I myself was wondering if/when a local company would make an app.

Postby M_2NR » July 31st, 2010, 4:14 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:^pressure... Ebay have "unlocked" 4G for $1000+ but at almost the same price of a small house, that wayyy out of my league. Is either I hush meh kant and fix this phone then get a Ipad with the extra money or ah just hush meh kant all together. My iphone took a beating. It was money well spent. BB, HTC, HP and all dem other sheit "smart" phones didn't even give me ah full year without cyapping out..

take a visit to CAN (you in the US right?) and get one man. The i4 will be such an upgrade you will jizz :P

Boy... Apple stuff really are hit and miss TBH. Some take REL licks other i dunno. I've seen some 2G's.. jahhhh lol. But others give soo much issues. Thank God i never had that problem.
SRASC wrote:I myself was wondering if/when a local company would make an app.

Vision 2020. I dont think there is much scope for it though. There are local programmers but it will faster be out for a BB than a iPhone as we not "officially" supported :(

(i know u know this already, just info for others)

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 31st, 2010, 8:42 pm

BigBoss has announced the first iPhone 4 only Cydia app called SpringFlash.

Since the jailbreak is due very soon, I have created SpringFlash, the first iPhone 4 only Cydia app. SpringFlash is a springboard activator based LED flashlight for your iPhone 4. In short, you can have a touch of a button for a bright LED flashlight without hassling with unlocking your iPhone, closing your app, or even turning on your screen.

Once the comex jailbreak is released you will be able to install SpringFlash then go to the Settings App, Activator pane, choose the activation method of your choice and select Flashlight. "I am using short hold power, myself. It works very well."