The comprehensive 4age thread

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Raziel

Postby Raziel » June 30th, 2004, 6:23 pm

NickJr, I think he was really looking at the 4A-GE, the 3S-GTE has almost unlimited potential, like most Turbo engines, a few tweaks and 50 - 75 Bhp easy. Some upgrades and the sky is the limit.

Remember the 3S-GTE comes in several generations, towards the end they were making over 265bhp stock. Alot for a FWD application.

The 3S-GE is the non Turbo 2L (like in the Altezza) with VVTi, can tweak, but again to get big HP, add a turbo (kits are expensive), so I think the S-GTE is more sensible.

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » June 30th, 2004, 6:28 pm

It sounded like he was looking at the 3SGTE, but still good reading for anyone interested. On page 2 I have the text for the 4AG's, also some good reading

Raziel

Postby Raziel » June 30th, 2004, 6:52 pm

NickJr .... no doubt about the good reading ....

cdmg

Postby cdmg » July 1st, 2004, 12:17 am

Good info Raziel and Nick Jr. Nick, i was talkiong about the 4age 20v specifically. there is precious little information available online about modding it. I think that I will have to start scouring some Toyota forums.
Raziel, $300+ Cdn is not too bad for a 15 to 20HP gain.

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » July 1st, 2004, 1:44 am

cdmg wha plugs u runnin???? and what oil we runnin castrol synthec

daNdAdDa

Postby daNdAdDa » July 1st, 2004, 7:08 am

In my opinion , if u wanna get some serious HP from a 20 valver it's not worth the money you will have to put out....

a 3S would be the way to go and if u still wanna up the power that engine would not cost an arm and ah leg to upgrade.....

Raziel that site u posted not bad AT ALL pallie.....15 - 20 HP gains.....dat's pretty damn good........wonder if we could get a group buy goin for u 20 valvers...i have a friend who would definately be interested....

Postby AllTrac » July 1st, 2004, 9:40 am

THE BLACK TOP HEAD IS THE BEST DESIGN STOCK HEAD WHEN COMPARED TO ALL 4AGE STOCK HEADS!

Raziel

Postby Raziel » July 1st, 2004, 4:11 pm

Cdmg, the guy at Tedcomponents is actually really good to talk to, if you are looking at just moderate gains, done piece by piece (as budget allows) it's not bad.

Sully

Postby Sully » July 1st, 2004, 9:12 pm

How would the blacktop respond to a 25 wet shot? That would give you some of the performance increase you're looking for.

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » July 2nd, 2004, 1:00 am

i was thinkin like a 50 jed
but u may hadda retard timin a lil

Mitsu power

Postby Mitsu power » July 2nd, 2004, 2:26 pm

^^ the dam block has forge and oil cool pistons with beef up connecting rods high flow oil pump and a bullet proof block what allyuha takin about 25 - 50 shot is 100 t0 150 shot inn he ass :twisted:

NickJr.

Postby NickJr. » July 2nd, 2004, 4:42 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Yuh know how long turbot asking what plugs Sully and cdmg running and up to now neither one answer

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Dave » July 2nd, 2004, 4:44 pm

they probably have no idea Jr. :? :lol:

cdmg

Postby cdmg » July 2nd, 2004, 5:20 pm

Boy sorry about that. I recently replaced my plugs with Bosch Platinum plugs. I have the box in the car somewhere. I will try to find it and give you the part number. I got the plugs at Carboutique.

NickJr.

Postby NickJr. » July 2nd, 2004, 5:24 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Boy turbot is a good thing I highlight that for you yes. :lol: 8)

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » July 2nd, 2004, 5:57 pm

heheheh sully answer already

but meh cuz was runnin d platinum plugs and he find the origional denso's (spelling) worked better

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » July 2nd, 2004, 6:01 pm

Mitsu power wrote:^^ the dam block has forge and oil cool pistons with beef up connecting rods high flow oil pump and a bullet proof block what allyuha takin about 25 - 50 shot is 100 t0 150 shot inn he arse :twisted:

i know bout the oil cooled pistons and stuff but didn't know bout the beefed up rods and bullet proof block

save black top 20 valve we talkin bout here??
and what will you have to do to take a 100 shot ??
and could a automatic tranny handle that??

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » July 2nd, 2004, 6:06 pm

hmm for the 100 shot you have to get a bigget fuel pump?
and is the stock ignition enough to handle that?

Yeo

Postby Yeo » July 2nd, 2004, 7:16 pm

De auto-tranny is yuh weak spot...I suggest a tranny cooler or if yuh have real money, a Level 10 upgrade.....I wouldn't go over a 100 shot Steph. That way u still keep the reliability.

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » July 2nd, 2004, 7:40 pm

hmmmmm well we'd quicker go for the gearbox dan to spen to upgrade d auto
hmm a extra 75 hp or so not soundin too bad and a nitrous kit is about how much hmmm $3000 over there
and i sure u could get cheeper on ebay
not soundin too bad
would see if i could chain up my cuz to get a lil wet kit

Sully

Postby Sully » July 2nd, 2004, 8:14 pm

You could get a 50 wet shot for $1400us with a purge valve. Check the Nitrous Express systems, or for a simpler install, a Zex system.

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » July 2nd, 2004, 10:44 pm

jed i does see wet kits for 500 us from nx
1400 us das ROBBERY not even ig direct port sooo expencive
d only thing i doh think dey have d purge kit but we not into d rice flam thing we could jus use one lil spray and clean it out instead of that and save $$

daNdAdDa

Postby daNdAdDa » July 3rd, 2004, 11:55 am

yeh iz about $500 for ah 50-75 shot NX kit

wet shot too

Sully

Postby Sully » July 3rd, 2004, 1:25 pm

^^ What brand, and where are you getting that?

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » July 3rd, 2004, 1:35 pm

nitrous express NX
500 us would post a link for u

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » July 3rd, 2004, 2:53 pm

http://www.jcwhitney.com/autoparts/Prod ... ogId-10101

dis is a holly nos kit
doh hav time too look for d nx kit
499 us

Sully

Postby Sully » July 3rd, 2004, 6:07 pm

That holly system is a dry kit. The NX system for $500 is also a dry setup. I wouldn't suggest a 50 dry shot.

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » July 3rd, 2004, 6:29 pm

the wet shot by tha place is 600 us
same holly setup
but i have seen places where they sell the wet setup for 500
and u get it cheaper on ebay

blu-rolla
Location: either in sando, or sneakin out yuh back door as you reach home.

Postby blu-rolla » July 3rd, 2004, 8:43 pm

:shock: 600 US could more than get me turbo ready.

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » July 3rd, 2004, 11:30 pm

hmmmm
well go by yancee and price a nitrous kit nah and tell me if 600 us not soundin good

Return to “TOYOTA”