What's the last good book yuh read??

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » January 27th, 2010, 10:30 am

I'm a Dean Koontz and Stephen King fan, so i read their stuff all the time...

but i mix it up with the odd author/title in between

Postby RBphoto » January 27th, 2010, 10:38 am

Anyone read Louis L'Amour?, who here read his westerns (maby the older heads might know what I am talking about). While everyone else was buying the hardy boy collection to be with the "In" crowd at school, I was reding my dad's stocks of westerns. We had quite a big library.

Postby crazybalhead » January 27th, 2010, 10:39 am

eurogirl wrote:I have a question ,

Do you all read same author's only ? or allyuh does mix it up ?! I'm not a big fan of following the same author over al ong peirod of time .

Coz sometimes I read 1 or 2 books by the same author and itsl ike nothing new same plot different name's locations etc ??

I dunno maybe its just me .

All kinda thing.

Postby crazybalhead » January 27th, 2010, 10:40 am

Crossdrilled, name sounds familiar. But can't really remember reading any titles.

Postby RBphoto » January 27th, 2010, 10:45 am

crazybalhead wrote:Crossdrilled, name sounds familiar. But can't really remember reading any titles.

Was still quite a popular authour, and RIK had displays up to the mid nineties with only his books. Kinda faded from the scene after Stephen King, Robert Ludlum and the renewed interest in the LOTR around 1992 (The Hardy boy bumper years).

Was into T.L. Rampa in them days too... :oops:

foots

Postby foots » January 27th, 2010, 10:51 am

I read a book called 'Life of Pi' the other day, by Yann Martel. The story is about a boy who somehow ends up in the middle of the pacific, in a lifeboat, with a tiger.

As outlandish as that sounds, when you read the book you keep wondering if it is a true story you reading, fus the author skillful wit the pen.

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » January 27th, 2010, 11:08 am

crossdrilled wrote:Anyone read Louis L'Amour?, who here read his westerns (maby the older heads might know what I am talking about). While everyone else was buying the hardy boy collection to be with the "In" crowd at school, I was reding my dad's stocks of westerns. We had quite a big library.

famous five FTW ! lol

devrat

Postby devrat » January 27th, 2010, 11:08 am

crossdrilled wrote:Anyone read Louis L'Amour?, who here read his westerns (maby the older heads might know what I am talking about). While everyone else was buying the hardy boy collection to be with the "In" crowd at school, I was reding my dad's stocks of westerns. We had quite a big library.

I use to do the same at school, my grandfather had a collection....in fact we still have the collection of L'Amour....still a good read for a change of pace.

Postby Razkal » January 27th, 2010, 11:13 am

The Elegant Universe - Brian Greene

want more science non-fiction to read please....local bookstores seem retarded with their selection :|

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 27th, 2010, 11:17 am

eurogirl wrote:I have a question ,

Do you all read same author's only ? or allyuh does mix it up ?! I'm not a big fan of following the same author over al ong peirod of time .

Coz sometimes I read 1 or 2 books by the same author and itsl ike nothing new same plot different name's locations etc ??

I dunno maybe its just me .

Yep.
Dan Brown's books have excellent plot points and storylines, BUT he is a bit predictable...

Postby Maserati » January 27th, 2010, 11:25 am

Yorkshirelass wrote:
Read Trinidad Noir last year if you looking for local authors - not bad but some of the stories kind of leave you like "huh?"

gosh the 1st article in it was ok
the others were just :? kinda embarrassing to say the least.

my g/f got me this 8-)

Postby Hook » January 27th, 2010, 11:38 am

crazybalhead wrote:
reiXmann wrote:The Horus Heresy - Legion by Dan Abnett

part of a series

Boy yuh should read Warlock. level gutsout in that book. :sick:

Kaywana Stock - John Lange (Michael Crichton)..level gutsout in THAT book.

But other than manuals and reports and the odd memo, I haven't read anything in a while yo.

Have a Kiyosaki and a T.L. Rampa I wanna get to...hopefully soon.

Oleander

Postby Oleander » January 27th, 2010, 12:13 pm

Lord of the Flies by William Golding
Hope Donahue's Beautiful Stranger: A Memoir of an Obsession with Perfection.
Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen

Building a collection of books by Paulo Coelho

Postby crazybalhead » January 27th, 2010, 12:14 pm

Ah find Cuelho kinda weird. he dabbled in some real sheit in the past. So far I've read four of his books. They are usually very short and simple.

Oleander

Postby Oleander » January 27th, 2010, 12:16 pm

Yup... The Alchemist is the best one.
His stuff is sort of enlightening

I have
The Alchemist
Veronika decides to Die
Eleven Munites
The Witch of Portabello
Brida
By the River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept
Last edited by Oleander on January 27th, 2010, 12:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby crazybalhead » January 27th, 2010, 12:17 pm

I not so sure nah. I take them with a pound of salt.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » January 27th, 2010, 12:22 pm

all the time... my dad has a large collection... some a those stories are really engrossing and you just sit there and read out the entire thing in one shot

Oleander

Postby Oleander » January 27th, 2010, 12:23 pm

LOL.... I guess a lot of readers would... his books are all far and apart from normal.

I was given about 6 John Grisham books anyone read his stuff?

Janet Fitch is awesome, she just has 3 books though I have 2
Paint it Black and White Oleander

Joyce Carol Oates is good too but not as captivating as I would like.

Oleander

Postby Oleander » January 27th, 2010, 12:35 pm

To make the collection interesting... I had bought and found some pretty light hearted books. Very short and cute.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » January 27th, 2010, 5:10 pm

Recently completed the collectionl, including his poetry collection 8-) 8-)

Alistair McLean as well. Goodbye California, and Golden Gate are two of the best ever

All recently read and i have most of their books as well:

David Eddings
Clive Cussler (NUMA Files are the best, the Oregon set, not so much)
Terry Goodkind
Brent Weeks (nice new fantasy author)
George Martin
Michael Crighton (Eaters Of The Dead was mess)
Robert Ludlum
Fredrick Forsyth (The Dogs Of War was best)
Nora Roberts
Jude Devereux
John Grisham
Jacqueline Carey
Shanon Drake
Raymond Feist
Sidney Sheldon
Robin Cook

Postby Maserati » January 27th, 2010, 5:33 pm

Oleander wrote:I was given about 6 John Grisham books anyone read his stuff?

yea they decent..

kiamotors

Postby kiamotors » January 27th, 2010, 6:10 pm

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Postby crazybalhead » January 28th, 2010, 8:34 am

Crossdrilled, know where I saw Louis' name, my father in law has a huge collection of books and noticed some there. maybe next time i go up I will take a reads.

Postby janfar » January 28th, 2010, 8:59 am

Oleander wrote:To make the collection interesting... I had bought and found some pretty light hearted books. Very short and cute.

The names and covers on these books remind me of Enid Blyton books back in the days.

Oleander

Postby Oleander » January 28th, 2010, 12:48 pm

Enid Blyton The Little Brownie House was bess

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » January 28th, 2010, 3:01 pm

Oleander wrote:Enid Blyton The Little Brownie House was bess

You sure read alot. :lol:

Re: What's the last good book yuh read??

Postby crazybalhead » June 21st, 2010, 10:03 am

Currently reading a collection of Poe short stories and Poetry. It's tough going, remember reading the fall of the House of Usher and the Gold Bug and others, but that man really mad yes.

Good stuff.

Postby Chimera » June 21st, 2010, 10:06 am

Son of Hamas is the last good book i've read.

Guh hadda post a picture of the kinda books I normally read though.

Chipz

Postby Chipz » June 21st, 2010, 11:05 am

I think was Boyo & Carla.....ent Vega?

Postby MG Man » June 21st, 2010, 11:12 am

"A Brief History Of Time" by Stephen Hawking

read it before, but decided to get my own copy off amazon..........having fun reading it again