buzz wrote:btw christmas is NOT a christian holiday
MG Man wrote:M_2nr wrote:I find indian arrival and emancipation holidays are a waste. Sorry but why you'd need a holiday for that?
Muslims get a holiday for Eid-ul-Fitr, when Eid-ul-Adha is the "bigger" one...
I disagree
The significance of Emancipation can NEVER be understated
Have one called 'National Trini Day' to cover all the other crap but I would not remove Emancipation Day
vrampersad14 wrote:so from your point of view if Christians have 3 holidays, what if Hindus & Muslims were to ask for two more holidays each?
Rooki3 wrote:buzz wrote:btw christmas is NOT a christian holiday
its a holiday which is based in christendom, some sects of christianity believe christ wasn't born in december!!!
civic minded wrote:actually i have my own business and every holiday is a loss in productivity - which i am sure your bosses also feel whenever there is a holiday
drunkenscorpion wrote:Fack that, some businesses lose out, and some gain.....how much more does the watering holes make when its a night before the holiday, the malls have more human traffic, and its double and triple time for some shift workers, so for those who believe it has a negative impact on businesses are thinking narrow.
This is a revolving argument that will have no end, but I am personally glad for the holidays, because I work very hard to make my money, and any rest time I can get, I will take.
blame allyuh fellow lazy cheap arse trini businessmen
civic minded wrote:TriniVdub wrote:civic minded wrote:Tomorrow is Corpus Christi , monday was Indian Arrival Day - We have way too much holidays in Trinidad - And I think since we are a multiracial and multirelgious society then each of the major religions in Trinidad and Tobago should have 1 national holiday each
So right now
Hindus have Divali
Muslims have Eid
Christians have Easter, Corpus Christi, Christmas.
Since the majority of the population is Christians i think its only fair that we remove corpus christi as a national holiday leaving Christmas and Easter.
Now i am not disputing the fact that it is an important holiday to the Christian community but fair is fair....
Discuss
U do know that Christianity is comprised of several different variations of the religion right?
Christianity - catholic, pentecostal, protestant eastern orthodox, anglican, monophysite, Latter-day Saints, Evangelical, SDA's, AIC's, Jehovah Witnesses, just to name a few.
Therefore your little idea of 1 holiday for each would result in a lot more holidays if that were the case, so take a chill pill and relax ur cnut.
And apparently You dont know that Hinduism and Muslim have sects as well too!!
I know for the hindus there is the Divine Life Society , the Arya, Sanatan Dhuram , and so much i can't list here.
So catholics, pentecostals whatever - falls under Christanity!! Gezzz grow a brain nah!!
embellishfrost wrote:civic minded wrote:actually i have my own business and every holiday is a loss in productivity - which i am sure your bosses also feel whenever there is a holiday
Don't put blame on the holidays because your business failing...
and you stop being a blasted cheap ass and stop complaining cause yuh have to pay ur dam employees dey minimum wage
civic minded wrote:embellishfrost wrote:civic minded wrote:actually i have my own business and every holiday is a loss in productivity - which i am sure your bosses also feel whenever there is a holiday
civic minded wrote:Tomorrow is Corpus Christi , monday was Indian Arrival Day - We have way too much holidays in Trinidad - And I think since we are a multiracial and multirelgious society then each of the major religions in Trinidad and Tobago should have 1 national holiday each
So right now
Hindus have Divali
Muslims have Eid
Since the majority of the population is Christians i think its only fair that we remove corpus christi as a national holiday leaving Christmas and Easter.
Now i am not disputing the fact that it is an important holiday to the Christian community but fair is fair....
Discuss
civic minded wrote:Tomorrow is Corpus Christi , monday was Indian Arrival Day - We have way too much holidays in Trinidad - And I think since we are a multiracial and multirelgious society then each of the major religions in Trinidad and Tobago should have 1 national holiday each
So right now
Hindus have Divali
Muslims have Eid
Discuss
Odessy wrote:i tink money is the order of the day![]()
ppl who have business open and let the employees go to the river or beach.
ppl must get holidays, or they guh go mad and hang themselves from ah tree jus like de man from caanings there.or beat there wife.
so i endorse more holidays and i too damn lazy to work typical tnt person![]()
and stop watching too much of inshan ishmael putting caca in ur heads
civic minded wrote:So to be fair lets give the Christians two holidays and other faiths 1 each.
So Christians choose 2 from - Christmas, Easter, Corpus Chirsti and Good Friday.
(Christmas is a christian holiday as it is regarded worldwide as the birthdate of Christ - therefore religious - and yes i know people will argue that it isn't but that's why i said REGARDED- and it is overall accepted so stop griping!)