We have too much damn holidays

Re: We have too much damn holidays

Postby Rooki3 » June 2nd, 2010, 11:57 pm

buzz wrote:btw christmas is NOT a christian holiday :arrow:

its a holiday which is based in christendom, some sects of christianity believe christ wasn't born in december!!!

rossi

Postby rossi » June 3rd, 2010, 12:00 am

M_2nr wrote:I find indian arrival and emancipation holidays are a waste. Sorry but why you'd need a holiday for that?

Muslims get a holiday for Eid-ul-Fitr, when Eid-ul-Adha is the "bigger" one...

I disagree
The significance of Emancipation can NEVER be understated
Have one called 'National Trini Day' to cover all the other crap but I would not remove Emancipation Day

I think they should all stay.
National Trini Day??? yuh sure?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 3rd, 2010, 12:05 am

One time Republic day was removed and was put back -

To give the baptist their holiday - they remove Whit Monday (if my memory serves me correct -May 24th)

I still think they should remove Republic day as a national holiday

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 3rd, 2010, 12:08 am

vrampersad14 wrote:so from your point of view if Christians have 3 holidays, what if Hindus & Muslims were to ask for two more holidays each? :?

OHHH HELL FORQING NO!!! no more holidays - get rid some of what we have. No more addons!!!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 3rd, 2010, 12:10 am

Republic day is one of the most useless national holiday we have

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 3rd, 2010, 12:15 am

its the day we formed a republic between trinidad and tobago - woopidefuckingding!

Postby buzz » June 3rd, 2010, 12:17 am

Rooki3 wrote:
buzz wrote:btw christmas is NOT a christian holiday :arrow:

its a holiday which is based in christendom, some sects of christianity believe christ wasn't born in december!!!

not even man

its true origins date pretty far back

but even if we want to go the route of what it is today (or have become) almost everyone celebrates christmas, no matter religion etc...

so in an essence, while some christians say it was the birth of christ ( and many other great historical figures were said to be born on the 25th ) christmas was always more of a thanksgiving celebration than a religious observation...

yes i know there is a thansks giving day but thats a next set of drama pilgrim vs pagan yadda yadda that i can't care to remember right about now :|

Postby buzz » June 3rd, 2010, 12:21 am

independwha ?

was dat ?

embellishfrost

Postby embellishfrost » June 3rd, 2010, 12:35 am

civic minded wrote:actually i have my own business and every holiday is a loss in productivity - which i am sure your bosses also feel whenever there is a holiday

Don't put blame on the holidays because your business failing... :roll:

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 3rd, 2010, 12:37 am

Why does a religion even need a holiday?

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » June 3rd, 2010, 12:40 am

Fack that, some businesses lose out, and some gain.....how much more does the watering holes make when its a night before the holiday, the malls have more human traffic, and its double and triple time for some shift workers, so for those who believe it has a negative impact on businesses are thinking narrow.

This is a revolving argument that will have no end, but I am personally glad for the holidays, because I work very hard to make my money, and any rest time I can get, I will take.

embellishfrost

Postby embellishfrost » June 3rd, 2010, 12:43 am

drunkenscorpion wrote:Fack that, some businesses lose out, and some gain.....how much more does the watering holes make when its a night before the holiday, the malls have more human traffic, and its double and triple time for some shift workers, so for those who believe it has a negative impact on businesses are thinking narrow.

This is a revolving argument that will have no end, but I am personally glad for the holidays, because I work very hard to make my money, and any rest time I can get, I will take.

I agree!

Postby Rooki3 » June 3rd, 2010, 1:05 am

blame allyuh fellow lazy cheap arse trini businessmen

yup, they doh wanna pay workers double, so deh prefer to close up shop for the day!!!

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » June 3rd, 2010, 1:15 am

civic minded wrote:
TriniVdub wrote:
civic minded wrote:Tomorrow is Corpus Christi , monday was Indian Arrival Day - We have way too much holidays in Trinidad - And I think since we are a multiracial and multirelgious society then each of the major religions in Trinidad and Tobago should have 1 national holiday each
So right now
Hindus have Divali
Muslims have Eid
Christians have Easter, Corpus Christi, Christmas.

Since the majority of the population is Christians i think its only fair that we remove corpus christi as a national holiday leaving Christmas and Easter.

Now i am not disputing the fact that it is an important holiday to the Christian community but fair is fair....

Discuss

U do know that Christianity is comprised of several different variations of the religion right?
Christianity - catholic, pentecostal, protestant eastern orthodox, anglican, monophysite, Latter-day Saints, Evangelical, SDA's, AIC's, Jehovah Witnesses, just to name a few.

Therefore your little idea of 1 holiday for each would result in a lot more holidays if that were the case, so take a chill pill and relax ur cnut.

And apparently You dont know that Hinduism and Muslim have sects as well too!!
I know for the hindus there is the Divine Life Society , the Arya, Sanatan Dhuram , and so much i can't list here.
So catholics, pentecostals whatever - falls under Christanity!! Gezzz grow a brain nah!!

and you stop being a blasted cheap ass and stop complaining cause yuh have to pay ur dam employees dey minimum wage

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 3rd, 2010, 1:19 am

embellishfrost wrote:
civic minded wrote:actually i have my own business and every holiday is a loss in productivity - which i am sure your bosses also feel whenever there is a holiday

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 3rd, 2010, 1:21 am

and you stop being a blasted cheap ass and stop complaining cause yuh have to pay ur dam employees dey minimum wage

how old are you? 14? you can't be older than that. Cause if you were you would understand that minimum wage workers are paid per hour of how much they work. not how much they don't work - So guess what - Holiday = no money , Work = money -

do you understand that now??? or do i need to explain s l o w l y?
Last edited by civic minded on June 3rd, 2010, 1:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » June 3rd, 2010, 1:23 am

^^actually i'm 12, and looking for a summer job care to hire?

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » June 3rd, 2010, 1:24 am

civic minded wrote:
embellishfrost wrote:

'We have too much damn holidays'
shouldnt that be too many

embellishfrost

Postby embellishfrost » June 3rd, 2010, 1:43 am

civic minded wrote:
embellishfrost wrote:

That supposed to bother me?

I'm not the one crying a river because couple holidays bussing my business.

masterofmindz

Postby masterofmindz » June 3rd, 2010, 2:01 am

civic minded wrote:Tomorrow is Corpus Christi , monday was Indian Arrival Day - We have way too much holidays in Trinidad - And I think since we are a multiracial and multirelgious society then each of the major religions in Trinidad and Tobago should have 1 national holiday each
So right now
Hindus have Divali
Muslims have Eid

Since the majority of the population is Christians i think its only fair that we remove corpus christi as a national holiday leaving Christmas and Easter.

Now i am not disputing the fact that it is an important holiday to the Christian community but fair is fair....

Discuss

ahhh...UDFR Pallie!!!

leave we christians alone...KKK?

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » June 3rd, 2010, 2:05 am

civic minded, go to work later if it means so much to you. you are no better than anyone here if you stay home.

Odessy

Postby Odessy » June 3rd, 2010, 6:17 am

i tink money is the order of the day :lol:

ppl who have business open and let the employees go to the river or beach.

ppl must get holidays, or they guh go mad and hang themselves from ah tree jus like de man from caanings there. :lol: or beat there wife.

so i endorse more holidays and i too damn lazy to work typical tnt person :lol: :mrgreen:

and stop watching too much of inshan ishmael putting caca in ur heads :lol:

Postby ronsin1 » June 3rd, 2010, 6:41 am

I do agree we have to many public holidays

too much production is lost due to this

the typical trini mentality "aye holiday tomorrow time to get drunk"

Postby buzz » June 3rd, 2010, 7:31 am

Beers later ? ^ :|

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 3rd, 2010, 8:04 am

I am quite happy for all the holidays!!!!

Postby skylinechild » June 3rd, 2010, 8:16 am

So right now
Hindus have Divali
Muslims have Eid

Discuss

dont take this personal but on those days do you work or do u get the day off ????

just asking.....

Postby skylinechild » June 3rd, 2010, 8:30 am

Odessy wrote:i tink money is the order of the day :lol:

ppl who have business open and let the employees go to the river or beach.

ppl must get holidays, or they guh go mad and hang themselves from ah tree jus like de man from caanings there. :lol: or beat there wife.

so i endorse more holidays and i too damn lazy to work typical tnt person :lol: :mrgreen:

and stop watching too much of inshan ishmael putting caca in ur heads :lol:

forget all the other spelling errors...just the one in red.....

clearly the english language has failed you....

Postby Stephon. » June 3rd, 2010, 8:41 am

I don't mind holidays, but more than one in a week or even a month is counter productive.

Postby Damien » June 3rd, 2010, 9:44 am

Triple triple triple

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » June 3rd, 2010, 9:49 am

civic minded wrote:So to be fair lets give the Christians two holidays and other faiths 1 each.

So Christians choose 2 from - Christmas, Easter, Corpus Chirsti and Good Friday.

(Christmas is a christian holiday as it is regarded worldwide as the birthdate of Christ - therefore religious - and yes i know people will argue that it isn't but that's why i said REGARDED- and it is overall accepted so stop griping!)

man say let it be fair...den show blatant discrimination right afta yes.. brudda man, i eh know if on public holidays u does get less money on Charlotte street....but i strongly urge you to

..then

before someone