Heaven, Hell and the after-life...

ACT DA FOOL

Postby ACT DA FOOL » April 28th, 2010, 9:37 am

Live the life you have been given.. forget the answers to those questions..
all will be revealed in time and if you cant wait.... 1lanate.... :|

Re: Heaven, Hell and the after-life...

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 28th, 2010, 9:37 am

zitanos wrote:So I was having a discussion the other day with some ppl about religion and heaven etc., coming out of that I had a few unanswered questions. So I'm asking the religious folks in here to educate me if they have answers on any of these.

1. Where do babies go when they die?

2. If heaven, then do they age in heaven, or do we all remain the same age in heaven that we were when we died?

3. I understand Hindu's believe in reincarnation, how does this work?

4. Are animals allowed in heaven?

5. The 72 virgins concept. Is this true? If so, seems to be a good thing for the man. What does the woman get out of it? And for married muslims, when the man die, does he and his wife separate in heaven, considering she most likely is no longer a virgin? (if so what becomes of her)

6. For believers of heaven, is there 1 heaven? or 1 for each religion?
If there is only 1, does jesus, allah (pbuh), and whoever else live side by side as multiple gods in heaven?

7. I know some christians believe, if you don't worship Jesus, you're not getting into heaven. What about the tribes in the amazon, or a baby who dies at birth, who never had the privilege about knowing about Jesus. What happens to them?

8. If you don't believe in heaven, or God... and you don't believe in hell where do you go?

9. Can heaven exist without hell? If so, then is it possible when you die, the only place to go is heaven? If not, then Heaven needs hell to exist, hence, so does that mean believers, should be thankful that hell exists?

10. If hell needs to exist, for heaven to exist. Then we need "bad" people, or non-believers on earth, for believers to be-able to go to heaven.?

Someone once raised the question, why did God put us on earth for such a short period of time. Imagine Most of us will spend 60-80yrs on earth, some babies spend a few seconds. Considering the length of time eternity in heaven is, 60-80 years or even in the case of the baby (a few seconds) is just a drop in the barrel when we consider the length of time which constitutes eternity. Are we really here for such a short time on earth ... to go to heaven and relax for the rest of time? (if so, sounds like a steal of a deal).

NB: I am not trying to offend any religion here. If I did, please let me know, and I apologize in advance. I'm hoping those of you with more knowledge in the respective religions can help us clarify some of these questions.
[/list]

Answers:

1. THe hospital is your safest bet. Dumping bodies on the side of the road has implications.

2. What is heaven?

3. Reincarnation is not hindu specific. It just means you might respawn as someone else after you get fragged. Makes team battles interesting.

4. What is heaven?

5. For a man to get 72 virgins, he must have done something really right. For a virgin to end up in that position, she must have done something really wrong.

6. What is heaven?

7. What is heaven?

8. See answer to #3: reincarnation

9. Hell is right here on Earth. But what is heaven?

10. Shun the non-believers.

zitanos

Postby zitanos » April 28th, 2010, 10:22 am

d spike wrote:
zitanos wrote:
trini mk5 wrote:zitanos, Are u a person who likes to read???
If so the best advice i could give you and im not joking is to read a book called The Problem Of Pain by C.S.LEWIS. Hopefully u will read it. An internet forum is really not the best place to get answers on the Religon...especially 2nr :|

Ok thanks ill check out the book.
And yeah, I don't expect 2nr to be my only place to get answers. It was merely one forum where I know alot of trini's hang out, hence, I was interested in seeing the point of views from the wider 2nr community.
Oh really? So this post is really meant to "stimulate discussion"? Have fun, I'll sit out on this one.

FYI, I will ask these to more religions folks (pastor's/imam's/pundits etc) in person. Since I believe they may probably be more knowledgeable on the matters.
Yuh t'ink? (Although I never thought of these people as 'religions folks'. :lol:)

Not really, I'm interested in getting perspectives from different ppl. As I doubt any 1 person will have the answers to all of these.

Everyone has their own views, and that does not make them wrong. The intent is not to bash or foster any discussion which would lead to people bashing anyone's religion or personal belief.

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » April 28th, 2010, 10:56 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
zitanos wrote:So I was having a discussion the other day with some ppl about religion and heaven etc., coming out of that I had a few unanswered questions. So I'm asking the religious folks in here to educate me if they have answers on any of these.

2. If heaven, then do they age in heaven, or do we all remain the same age in heaven that we were when we died?

5. The 72 virgins concept. Is this true? If so, seems to be a good thing for the man. What does the woman get out of it? And for married muslims, when the man die, does he and his wife separate in heaven, considering she most likely is no longer a virgin? (if so what becomes of her)

If there is only 1, does jesus, allah (pbuh), and whoever else live side by side as multiple gods in heaven?

7. I know some christians believe, if you don't worship Jesus, you're not getting into heaven. What about the tribes in the amazon, or a baby who dies at birth, who never had the privilege about knowing about Jesus. What happens to them?

8. If you don't believe in heaven, or God... and you don't believe in hell where do you go?

9. Can heaven exist without hell? If so, then is it possible when you die, the only place to go is heaven? If not, then Heaven needs hell to exist, hence, so does that mean believers, should be thankful that hell exists?

10. If hell needs to exist, for heaven to exist. Then we need "bad" people, or non-believers on earth, for believers to be-able to go to heaven.?

Someone once raised the question, why did God put us on earth for such a short period of time. Imagine Most of us will spend 60-80yrs on earth, some babies spend a few seconds. Considering the length of time eternity in heaven is, 60-80 years or even in the case of the baby (a few seconds) is just a drop in the barrel when we consider the length of time which constitutes eternity. Are we really here for such a short time on earth ... to go to heaven and relax for the rest of time? (if so, sounds like a steal of a deal).

NB: I am not trying to offend any religion here. If I did, please let me know, and I apologize in advance. I'm hoping those of you with more knowledge in the respective religions can help us clarify some of these questions.
[/list]

Answers:

1. THe hospital is your safest bet. Dumping bodies on the side of the road has implications.

2. What is heaven?

3. Reincarnation is not hindu specific. It just means you might respawn as someone else after you get fragged. Makes team battles interesting.

4. What is heaven?

5. For a man to get 72 virgins, he must have done something really right. For a virgin to end up in that position, she must have done something really wrong.

6. What is heaven?

7. What is heaven?

8. See answer to #3: reincarnation

9. Hell is right here on Earth. But what is heaven?

10. Shun the non-believers.

Postby crazybalhead » April 28th, 2010, 11:09 am

If they are not chritened they turn to Duenes, if they are christened they go to Moka (heaven)

In Heaven (Moka), we do not age, we visit venezuelan doctors who have found the fountain of youth in plastic surgery. They surgically reconstruct our sagging boobs and scrotums.

Reincarnation is a type of evaporated milk that has been passed through the system and comes out in the form of diarrhoea.

Yes, dogs and cats only, and certain syrians.

I don't know what concept you are talking about. There are no Muslims in Moka (heaven).

There is only one Moka. Who is Jesus and Allah? Are those the rotweillers my neighbour on heaven (Moka) owns???

All you need is money to get into heaven. That baby is now a duene.

You go to Lower Santa Cruz, with the rest of the poor people.

Heaven cannot exist without Hell (medford's gas station). Well It's either Moka, Lower Santa Cruz, or Medford's. Yes beleivers should be greatful, they need gas.

Bad people live in Lower Santa Cruz.

[/list]

Postby Ignorant Ignis » April 28th, 2010, 11:23 am

if there is no suffering and pain in haven (no std's) ...... wont 72 badesses be more fun than 72 virgins :?:

just asking :lol: :lol: :lol:

toyo682

Postby toyo682 » April 28th, 2010, 12:28 pm

Concerning your first question, I believe that it is the general Christian belief that they go to heaven, primarily because of what we call the age of accountability. That is, up to a certain age a human being does not really understand right from wrong. Whether they age or not I cannot say and it is really a question that can only be answered when you get there (that is if you do believe in heaven).

Being a believer in heaven and a Christian it is our belief that that there is one through God, existing in the Holy trinity Father, Son and Holy Spirit. In Christianity there is only one ruler in heaven that is God. There are many who believe that we all serve the same God no matter which religion we belong to. I guess that is a result of having free will and not being mindless robots. Therefore we can think, so I ask this question, why does every major religion believe in Jesus? Christians believe he is God, Hindus, Muslims, Buddhist, Jews etc believe that he was a good man/teacher or prophet. I do not see this with the gods of other religions. So what about this man Jesus that makes him worthy to be at least acknowledged in all major religions? there is a verse in the Bible that says at the mention of his name (Jesus) every knee shall bow and tongue confess that he is Lord.

Also if we are all on the way to the same destination, why do we have to take so many different parts? Why would God reveal himself by one name to certain people and another to others? They only people I know that do that are con men. Or maybe he is a schizophrenic (no offense to these people) God in the Bible says that he is the only God and worship him alone, make no images, or idols, but then goes to another people and reveals himself another way, He would have to be a unstable in his mind or we are being deceived???? Why would he make it easy for some and hard for others?

As a Christian yes I do believe that Christ is the only way, so what about people who have never heard the Gospel like the tribes in the Amazon (already answered the baby question hopefully). The Bible in Romans says that it is written on the heart of man to know God, that is why so many long to find something or some one higher that them. Also it says that all creation declares the glory of God. In essence if we look around we can see aspects that lead to God. For instance, the human body that has so many things that work well and are intricate, if one thing is out of line we feel the effects, yet many say this complex network came in to being by spontaneous chance. Would you believe me if I told you my pc just formed it self, how about the house I live in, or even my toaster. We see all these amazing things around us but we choose to believe that it was created by chance because that makes more sense than believing in a God we cannot see. Would it make more sense to believe that my TV formed itself rather than believing that a factory worker who I have never seen made it? Of course not. How many have ever seen a fish crawl out of the sea and grow legs. Just like us they know there is a God but choose to worship the creation rather than the creator, granted they may not know his name is Jesus, but eventually someone would get there to clear that up in light of God’s goodness. God reveals himself to those who seek to know him. If you still think it is not fair, the Bible says that Jesus will not return until the whole world hears the gospel, it is God's desire that all should know him, and that is why Christ died for every one, not some but all. There are many missionaries that have gone to these people and were killed without getting to say a word. If I send a messenger to you and you kill him, is it then my fault that you did not get the message. Many will try to say I did not know, but the truth is many do not want to believe or want to know.

The Bible is clear that there are only two destinations after death heaven or hell, there is no repentance after death. If I am a criminal who does not believe there is a prison, when I get caught I will go there regardless of if I believe in its existence. Further more Hell exist only for Satan and his demons, God did not create Hell for man, I guess the best way to describe it is being guilt by association. The sin of Satan was pride which caused him to reject God, when we indulge in sin we do the same thing, we side with Satan in rejecting God. I think there is something in law called being an accomplice, you are just as guilty as the one committing the crime.

However, if I am wrong, at the end of life and there is no Heaven or Hell I have loss nothing, but if I am right, I gain. If I am wrong I have lived a good life at least. No drinking or smoking so no chance of liver or lung disease, I don’t kill, steal, and cheat. I don’t sleep around so no chance of STDS etc, all I have done is a live a good life. Imagine a world where people really tried to live a good life, no crime etc, even if we Christians are wrong we have nothing to lose. There is more that can be explained but this post may never end.

Edited

Hope this makes it readable, sorry about that. :D
Last edited by toyo682 on April 28th, 2010, 1:22 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby DFC » April 28th, 2010, 12:36 pm

paragraphing would be nice.

spacing out your paragraphs would be nice too.

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » April 28th, 2010, 2:39 pm

toyo682
^^^^^
Don't you think that an all powerful being that can transform to anything
won't like to change their appearances sometimes..either to a beast
woman or man same goes for their name. I doubt you would walk around
as a woman who calls herself David....as for any one name
who gave the creator his name was it his creator and what was his creator's
name and his creator's creator's name....hmmmmm...cause surely
something or someone must have created the creator or did he just "drop" or started with a big bang....by the way some scientists say
the earth was formed in a big bang too eh.....

Oh yeah and how come god did not mention the dinosaurs and cavemen in the bible...... he left that chapter out or perhaps was lost by some careless
imbecile.... :(

d spike

Postby d spike » April 28th, 2010, 2:56 pm

zitanos wrote:
Not really, I'm interested in getting perspectives from different ppl. As I doubt any 1 person will have the answers to all of these.

You obviously don't know me. :lol: :lol: :lol:

d spike

Postby d spike » April 28th, 2010, 3:20 pm

lostboys crew wrote:toyo682
^^^^^
Don't you think that an all powerful being that can transform to anything
won't like to change their appearances sometimes..either to a beast
woman or man same goes for their name. I doubt you would walk around
as a woman who calls herself David....as for any one name
who gave the creator his name was it his creator and what was his creator's
name and his creator's creator's name....hmmmmm...cause surely
something or someone must have created the creator or did he just "drop" or started with a big bang....by the way some scientists say
the earth was formed in a big bang too eh.....

Oh yeah and how come god did not mention the dinosaurs and cavemen in the bible...... he left that chapter out or perhaps was lost by some careless
imbecile.... :(

Nah, Moses had to write all 5 books of the Torah (the first 5 books in the bible), or so we are told by the fundamentalists.
So God told Moses about the dinosaurs, and Moses just stared at him, not writing anything. "Well? What's the matter?" said God.
Moses: "You mean, like, really big lizards?"
God: "Well, yes, something like that."
Moses: "And some ate... plants, and some ate... other really big lizards..."
God: "Yes, yes, yes... why aren't you writing this?"
Moses (looking nervously over his shoulder):"Errrr, boss... what happened to these lizards?"
God: "An asteroid hit Earth and caused a fallout that wiped them out."
Moses:"What's an asteroid? What do you mean 'fallout'?"
God: "An asteroid is a massive chunk of rock and ice that flies through space. 'Fallout' is like, um, fire and ice falling from the sky, smoke everywhere, everything dying..."
Moses (sitting down and sweating visibly): "And this sort of thing can happen again?"
God (shrugging): Well, yeah, sort of... Not every day, you know..."
Moses (gibbering in fright): "And where were all the people in all this?"
God: Well, they lived in holes in the ground called caves and..."
Moses (losing it): "To hide from the lizards? and the big chunks of rock flying through the sky?"
God:Alright, calm down. I was kidding. You can't take a joke? Take deep breaths. Okay then... write this down: In the beginning, the spirit of God moved over the water..."
Moses (thinking while writing): Yeah, that's more like it...

vin123

Postby vin123 » April 28th, 2010, 3:33 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:if there is no suffering and pain in haven (no std's) ...... wont 72 badesses be more fun than 72 virgins :?:

just asking :lol: :lol: :lol:

this funny! lol :lol:

toyo682

Postby toyo682 » April 28th, 2010, 8:59 pm

lostboys crew,

While I do believe that an all powerful being can transform to anything or even change their name, it is not in the nature of God to do so. The essence of the Christian faith is the God reveals himself so that through such a revelation man can reenter a relationship with him. For Christians we believe that God made that way to redemption by sending Jesus to die for us. All we have to do is believe. Where as most other religions teach that we much do good, with hopes that we do enough to enter into heaven.

Well how much is enough? 2 good deeds 3? Most people misunderstand this truth in Christianity we don't do good works to get salvation but our good works are because of salvation. Part of being born again is having to love of God in our hearts, which then causes us to love other as he loves us, hence the good works. whole different concept. I am good to others because God was first good to me, not because I want God to be good to me.

So according to your concept God would be deceitful, providing an easy way for one group, while others have to work hard to earn salvation on their own. That makes God a capricious person, changing his mind all the time, that would not be cool. How about if your parents promised to buy you a car or something when you finish secondary school if you work hard and graduate with good passes, but the week before you graduate they changed their mind and said you can have it after you finish university, that would not be cool would it. Jesus never claimed to be a way but the way. If this spiritual thing worked according to your concept, then he would have said he is a way, since being God he would have known he made other ways.

Knowing who created God is not relevant for us to understand or have a relationship with God. So what, would you refuse a relationship with your parents if you did not know who your grandparents were? all you need to know is that they are your parents and existed before you and hence created you. Also there are things that are just beyond our understanding. He exist, He created only relevant info.

However, we must admit that a lot of the science in the Bible was written according to the understanding of that time, kind of what d spikes little monologue is getting too. You see it is easier to study backward (history) to have an understanding of then, since we are more at advance now. Could you imagine God trying to get Moses to understand what an Apple I-pod is. Hence even in school we study history to get a better understanding of where we are today and how we get there. Or did you study a subject called future in school?

PS the Bible in Job mentions the Leviathan and Behemoth which in their description sounds a lot like dinosaur like creatures.

Postby MG Man » April 28th, 2010, 10:32 pm

BUTTOCKS

d spike

Postby d spike » April 28th, 2010, 10:44 pm

toyo682 wrote:lostboys crew,

While I do believe that an all powerful being can transform to anything or even change their name, it is not in the nature of God to do so. The essence of the Christian faith is the God reveals himself so that through such a revelation man can reenter a relationship with him. For Christians we believe that God made that way to redemption by sending Jesus to die for us. All we have to do is believe. Where as most other religions teach that we much do good, with hopes that we do enough to enter into heaven.

Well how much is enough? 2 good deeds 3? Most people misunderstand this truth in Christianity we don't do good works to get salvation but our good works are because of salvation. Part of being born again is having to love of God in our hearts, which then causes us to love other as he loves us, hence the good works. whole different concept. I am good to others because God was first good to me, not because I want God to be good to me.

So according to your concept God would be deceitful, providing an easy way for one group, while others have to work hard to earn salvation on their own. That makes God a capricious person, changing his mind all the time, that would not be cool. How about if your parents promised to buy you a car or something when you finish secondary school if you work hard and graduate with good passes, but the week before you graduate they changed their mind and said you can have it after you finish university, that would not be cool would it. Jesus never claimed to be a way but the way. If this spiritual thing worked according to your concept, then he would have said he is a way, since being God he would have known he made other ways.

Whoa, whoa, whoa there boyo! These may be your ideas/understanding of the concept of 'Christian' salvation, but it isn't anywhere near what 'christians' believe - apart from whichever group you belong to, and that is assuming you understood what they taught you. Perhaps you should check with your teacher/pastor about what you just stated.

To put it simply, christians believe that Jesus' death made it possible for men to enter heaven IF they are found worthy. Thus good works are required. I might also point out that the desire and attempt to do good is what is required... the result of the act is something else. The idea is to create a mindset that guides one's actions.

As far as "Jesus being the way", let me just re-post something I had posted elsewhere:
One of the most important statements of Jesus is "I am the way, the truth and the life, no one can come to the Father except through me."
christians hold onto this statement like a banner at a football match, waving it in the face of non-christians ("we win! we win! we win!") when it actually means something far, far different, far more all-encompassing than the seemingly literal meaning of in-the-name-of Jesus-I-going-heaven stuff (taking scripture literally ALWAYS is a path of head-butting walls and stump-toe... but that's for another time).
Be rational. Jesus ain't no road... and literally going through someone isn't particularly pleasant... so obviously, Jesus was referring to following his teachings about himself - the path he laid out for us, goes to the Father. When we try to look at who Jesus is, he keeps showing us a concept, that of love. "He who loves me, obeys my commandments", "Love one another...", "Whatsoever you do to the least of my brothers, that you do unto me" and so forth.
Therefore, the path to God is through love. Doesn't matter what you call it, where you worship, (if you perform 'communal worship'), what name you call him by...
(Talk about discrimination! You claim he is the God of all men, yet you demand that he only be referred to by one name which came out of one culture among many?)

Do you really think that God, if he exists, bothers about what name you call him, if he loves you? I thought the whole point of monotheism is that there is only one Boss? A name only makes sense to us creatures, as it differentiates one from another. (When Moses asked his name, God put him in his place: "I am who is" - take dat in yuh waist, yuh too dam farse an outta place...)

The point of our existence here may very well be to learn to care for one another... one big, ant farm experiment to prove that love is supreme... In which case, even whether you believe in God or not is not really important - as the movie "Legion" showed, it's far more important that He believes in us... and our ability to love... to pick ourselves up from the mistakes that we make, to heal, to forgive... and to continue, striving in this reality to make the choices that we will be rewarded for in the next, and make this place a better place to live in, despite the turmoil, the earthquakes, the idiots, and the over-multiplicity of choices of underwear.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » April 28th, 2010, 10:53 pm

d spike wrote:
toyo682 wrote:lostboys crew,

Whoa, whoa, whoa there boyo! These may be your ideas/understanding of the concept of 'Christian' salvation, but it isn't anywhere near what 'christians' believe - apart from whichever group you belong to, and that is assuming you understood what they taught you. Perhaps you should check with your teacher/pastor about what you just stated.

To put it simply, christians believe that Jesus' death made it possible for men to enter heaven IF they are found worthy. Thus good works are required. I might also point out that the desire and attempt to do good is what is required... the result of the act is something else. The idea is to create a mindset that guides one's actions.

As far as "Jesus being the way", let me just re-post something I had posted elsewhere:
One of the most important statements of Jesus is "I am the way, the truth and the life, no one can come to the Father except through me."
christians hold onto this statement like a banner at a football match, waving it in the face of non-christians ("we win! we win! we win!") when it actually means something far, far different, far more all-encompassing than the seemingly literal meaning of in-the-name-of Jesus-I-going-heaven stuff (taking scripture literally ALWAYS is a path of head-butting walls and stump-toe... but that's for another time).
Be rational. Jesus ain't no road... and literally going through someone isn't particularly pleasant... so obviously, Jesus was referring to following his teachings about himself - the path he laid out for us, goes to the Father. When we try to look at who Jesus is, he keeps showing us a concept, that of love. "He who loves me, obeys my commandments", "Love one another...", "Whatsoever you do to the least of my brothers, that you do unto me" and so forth.
Therefore, the path to God is through love. Doesn't matter what you call it, where you worship, (if you perform 'communal worship'), what name you call him by...
(Talk about discrimination! You claim he is the God of all men, yet you demand that he only be referred to by one name which came out of one culture among many?)

Do you really think that God, if he exists, bothers about what name you call him, if he loves you? I thought the whole point of monotheism is that there is only one Boss? A name only makes sense to us creatures, as it differentiates one from another. (When Moses asked his name, God put him in his place: "I am who is" - take dat in yuh waist, yuh too dam farse an outta place...)

The point of our existence here may very well be to learn to care for one another... one big, ant farm experiment to prove that love is supreme... In which case, even whether you believe in God or not is not really important - as the movie "Legion" showed, it's far more important that He believes in us... and our ability to love... to pick ourselves up from the mistakes that we make, to heal, to forgive... and to continue, striving in this reality to make the choices that we will be rewarded for in the next, and make this place a better place to live in, despite the turmoil, the earthquakes, the idiots, and the over-multiplicity of choices of underwear.

d spike
the belief is that salvation is attained by two steps... confession and repentance

Postby Damien » April 28th, 2010, 10:58 pm

lola.308 wrote:
Damien wrote:btw where them 72 virgins from

did they specify if they were male or female virgins?
or are they assorted? :?

English hard to understand :roll:

d spike

Postby d spike » April 28th, 2010, 11:08 pm

...and?

Does this change something I said?

'Personal salvation' has fast become the focal point of many christians nowadays, thanks to the pushing of this concept by the new fundamentalists.
To believe in personal salvation is all well and good, but that cannot be the be-all-and-end-all of your religion... The mantra of "I am saved!" cannot be the focal point of the human relationship with the Creator - this is a very selfish viewpoint. To have a "personal relationship with God" is a good thing, but we were put here as a people, to achieve something as a people. (One reason why suicide is wrong.) Life is beautiful, but too short for an individual to achieve God's plan (if there is one) on his own. We each go through life, meeting far too many individuals, to interact fully with each... far too many problems and ills exist for any one of us to deal with - alone. We can run to a "God" for solace, but in every example of this, we are told that the answer lies within us as a people. We are "Christ" to each other - or whatever you want to call it.

We are called as a people to achieve something wonderful, over time (hence the reason for procreation) and this is what was meant for us.
The world isn't going to end in a fit of God's anger and frustration with our inability to do what's right (that would mean the Devil won and God failed, wouldn't it?) but when we succeed in doing our part in the Great Scheme of things/"God's plan".

Postby dougla_boy » April 28th, 2010, 11:13 pm

bout the dinosaurs, they were mentioned in the bible, google Christian Scientists and their research, should find on them

d spike

Postby d spike » April 28th, 2010, 11:22 pm

Wait. So if something isn't mentioned in the bible, it didn't exist?
If something is in the bible, that is proof that it DID exist?
Since when is scripture a science/history text?
Are we back in the Dark Ages?

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » April 28th, 2010, 11:24 pm

d spike wrote:...and?

Does this change something I said?

'Personal salvation' has fast become the focal point of many christians nowadays, thanks to the pushing of this concept by the new fundamentalists.
To believe in personal salvation is all well and good, but that cannot be the be-all-and-end-all of your religion... The mantra of "I am saved!" cannot be the focal point of the human relationship with the Creator - this is a very selfish viewpoint. To have a "personal relationship with God" is a good thing, but we were put here as a people, to achieve something as a people. (One reason why suicide is wrong.) Life is beautiful, but too short for an individual to achieve God's plan (if there is one) on his own. We each go through life, meeting far too many individuals, to interact fully with each... far too many problems and ills exist for any one of us to deal with - alone. We can run to a "God" for solace, but in every example of this, we are told that the answer lies within us as a people. We are "Christ" to each other - or whatever you want to call it.

We are called as a people to achieve something wonderful, over time (hence the reason for procreation) and this is what was meant for us.
The world isn't going to end in a fit of God's anger and frustration with our inability to do what's right (that would mean the Devil won and God failed, wouldn't it?) but when we succeed in doing our part in the Great Scheme of things/"God's plan".

oho lol that wasnt meant for you lol...i just get accustomed replying to your posts nuh....i mustbe getting old like you!

i agree with you say. i am also not a fundamentalist...

i believe salvation is a ongoing thing and being a christian is a ongoing journey. some people do think that right ah gone to church or ah baptized or a born again and ah have mih vip ticket to heaven. thats wrong

its all about what you do and how you interact with your fellow man and what good work and help you offer to those in need.

d spike

Postby d spike » April 28th, 2010, 11:47 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:
oho lol that wasnt meant for you lol...i just get accustomed replying to your posts nuh....i mustbe getting old like you!

i agree with you say. i am also not a fundamentalist...

i believe salvation is a ongoing thing and being a christian is a ongoing journey. some people do think that right ah gone to church or ah baptized or a born again and ah have mih vip ticket to heaven. thats wrong

its all about what you do and how you interact with your fellow man and what good work and help you offer to those in need.

Sorry lad, de safety catch on de old musket slips too easily dese days.
Quite right about salvation being a life journey. The whole "I'm saved! Beam me up Lord!" is a very self-centered thing, and fits perfectly into today's materialistic society - and none of them realise it! This lad actually believes he just has to say, "Lord, Lord..." and heaven awaits him, no action required, no batteries necessary.
Good grief... so heaven was created for name-droppers?

Postby DFC » April 28th, 2010, 11:54 pm

d spike

Postby d spike » April 29th, 2010, 12:15 am

I still am not too sure what the OP wants to achieve by this thread. Any religion would have answers for his questions... so the core of these queries is whatever was said in that discussion he had...
Unless he was never brought up in a religion (which is possible, but unlikely) how come he has these questions all of a sudden? That must have been one heck of a conversation, boy... :?:

toyo682

Postby toyo682 » April 29th, 2010, 1:19 am

d spike,

I am a bit confused, you say that the death of Jesus makes it possible to enter heaven (be saved in Christian words) if they are found worthy. I always thought that the blood of Jesus was shed so that we can become worthy, after all it is what we christian believe washes away or sins. Just to clear it up I am not a once save always saved believer. I sorry if I gave that impression, I was not trying to outline salvation I was really trying to say God is not capricious. But since you asked,

REPENTANCE Literally a change of mind, not about individual plans, intentions, or beliefs, but rather a change in one’s attitude about God. Such repentance accompanies saving faith in Christ (Acts 20:21). It is inconsistent and unintelligible to suppose that anyone could believe in Christ yet not repent. Repentance is such an important aspect of conversion that it is often stressed rather than saving faith, as when Christ said that there is joy in heaven among the angels over one sinner who repents (Lk 15:7). The apostles described the conversion of the Gentiles to Christ as God granting them “repentance unto lifeâ€
Last edited by toyo682 on April 29th, 2010, 2:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 29th, 2010, 1:39 am

this thread too hard....

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » April 29th, 2010, 1:44 am

[quote="toyo682"]d spike,

I am a bit confused, you say that the death of Jesus makes it possible to enter heaven (be saved in Christian words) if they are found worthy. I always thought that the blood of Jesus was shed so that we can become worthy, after all it is what we christian believe washes away or sins. Just to clear it up I am not a once save always saved believer. I sorry if I gave that impression, I was not trying to outline salvation I was really trying to say God is not capricious. But since you asked,

REPENTANCE Literally a change of mind, not about individual plans, intentions, or beliefs, but rather a change in one’s attitude about God. Such repentance accompanies saving faith in Christ (Acts 20:21). It is inconsistent and unintelligible to suppose that anyone could believe in Christ yet not repent. Repentance is such an important aspect of conversion that it is often stressed rather than saving faith, as when Christ said that there is joy in heaven among the angels over one sinner who repents (Lk 15:7). The apostles described the conversion of the Gentiles to Christ as God granting them “repentance unto lifeâ€

toyo682

Postby toyo682 » April 29th, 2010, 2:51 am

Sorry no link to send you too, I did not get this off the internet, the source is sited, both scholarly, both from my Library. As for my understanding of what I posted it is real good I would hope, I do have a BA in theology, which I studied for abroad. As for my ignorance, I studied Science and Religion at a secular university, where there was no possibility of the course be religiously bias. So I understand the whole evolution big bang stuff. It takes as much faith to believe in evolution as to believe in God. Oh I have studied other religions, and still continue to do so, most times by reading their own stuff and comparing it, rather than relaying on someone else to do it for me. I have a brain to think just like you.

As for my experiences of what I believe I have prayed with people an seen them delivered from drug addictions to medicinal drugs that doctors say they can never come off of. I have prayed for demon possessed people, I have prayed for people that doctors say they can't help. some personally and cooperatively . I have also prayed for people with no results. Maybe one day you should go down to the hospital where people are dying and the doctors or science can't help to tell them there is no hope or God. I have seen, heard, I have studied and I choose to believe plain and simple.

But like I said in my first post, if the Bible is wrong and Christianity is wrong and there is no heaven or hell, I have lost nothing.

zitanos

Postby zitanos » April 29th, 2010, 5:35 am

d spike wrote:I still am not too sure what the OP wants to achieve by this thread. Any religion would have answers for his questions... so the core of these queries is whatever was said in that discussion he had...
Unless he was never brought up in a religion (which is possible, but unlikely) how come he has these questions all of a sudden? That must have been one heck of a conversation, boy... :?:

Yes, most of these questions can be answered by an religion. The intent was to get more information (from each of the religions) as to what are the religion's views/answers for those questions.

Hopefully by learning more about how each religion view's we could try to gain a better level of understanding.

As for my religion, currently I see myself as agnostic, I was raised to Christian and Hindu parents, with Muslim Grandparents (Yes i know, moms converted to christianity...). Anyhow, I had the privilege when I was young to attend Church, Temple (on regular occasions) and Mosque now and then.

As for the conversation which lead to this. Was ole talking with some of my christian and muslim friends (can't rem how the talk ended up on religion).. and these were just of the few "i not sure nah" questions which we ended up with.

d spike

Postby d spike » April 29th, 2010, 6:51 am

toyo682 wrote:d spike,

Since you wish to refer to christian scripture, how do you explain what you posted about good works not being required, when in the letter from James it is very clearly stated that faith without action is dead? Check 2:14-26.

A BA in theology???? That isn't reflected in your posts, lad.