ANyone went CHAUD -reviews?

Postby pugboy » April 14th, 2010, 10:35 pm

don't worry, the grass is always greener on the other side
google "emperor's new clothes"

ABA Trading LTD wrote:*stands at side of the road in curepe and eats doubles in shame, dreaming of the days when i can afford to go to expensive restaurants*

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » April 14th, 2010, 11:09 pm

Dunno how "top class" restaurants could be charging less than places here, cos just last month at the MGM Grand, Las Vegas Entrees at L'Atelier de Joël Robuchon started at $65, and Steaks at Craftsteak started around $75

Why should Trinidad be any different?

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » April 14th, 2010, 11:39 pm

^^^like i said go check the websites of the restaurants i posted, look at there menus and look at the quality of the places and you'll see what i'm talking about, the dining places in trini cannot compare. Also having personally been to all i pointed out i can vouch for the service, food and prices.

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » April 15th, 2010, 12:56 am

i used to be afraid to go there cuz i cudnt pronounce d name.

now i go and be afraid to see the bill :oops:

Postby De Dragon » April 15th, 2010, 3:16 am

tr1ad wrote:yuh cud get d pepper

buh it eh hot

:? :?
So Chaud have pepper but it eh chaud?

Postby pugboy » April 15th, 2010, 7:02 am

it is difficult to compare apples with apples in restaurants for a variety of reasons
eg type of food, number of courses they serve and so on

the best you can do is go by zagat or michelin ratings

Thomas Keller's French Laundry which is a michelin 3 star place and requires reservation at least a year ahead
is $250 for a 13 item course

Kittles

Postby Kittles » April 15th, 2010, 3:54 pm

i went once - it was aiite.

valet parking was a nice touch... nothing was missin from my car lol

drinks were interesting

appetizer - one JUMBO shrimp thing if i remember correctly - it taste yukky!!

main course was duck - which wasnt horrible but didnt taste great either.

Service/decor/ ambiance was really nice.

after my below average meal i decided to skip dessert but they still brought us some complimentary chocolate truffles which was pretty nice of them.

maybe i caught them on a bad day or something but it was enough for me to not want to go there again - it wasnt worth the price to me.

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » April 15th, 2010, 3:56 pm

^^is any restaurant in trinidad ever worth the price :roll:

Postby crazybalhead » April 15th, 2010, 4:00 pm

TriniVdub wrote:^^is any restaurant in trinidad ever worth the price :roll:

YES!!!!!!!! Zanzibar! Excellent food, consistent service!

Postby pugboy » April 15th, 2010, 4:00 pm

Giulianos Italian used to be the best deal in town for authentic italian food cooked by the italian owner himself
you coulda get a first class meal for $50

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » April 15th, 2010, 11:20 pm

crazybalhead wrote:
TriniVdub wrote:^^is any restaurant in trinidad ever worth the price :roll:

YES!!!!!!!! Zanzibar! Excellent food, consistent service!

Steups!!!
Well said CBH

Zanzibar is good.
Jaffa was good too.
Battimamzelle - Excellent!!
Solimar - Outstanding!!!

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » April 16th, 2010, 12:08 am

boy i really need to open a restaurant down here yes, cause it seems no matter how ridiculous the price is for a plate of food, allyuh people happy as long as the service is good. :roll:

Shooter_boy_J

Postby Shooter_boy_J » April 16th, 2010, 11:35 am

TriniVdub wrote:boy i really need to open a restaurant down here yes, cause it seems no matter how ridiculous the price is for a plate of food, allyuh people happy as long as the service is good. :roll:

Pal talking from experience here! You heading down a road you dont want to go! but Pioneer still gay!

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » April 16th, 2010, 11:53 am

pioneer wrote:keep yuh poor ass quiet nah, sh1t

i can dream cant I?

**kicks stone and walks back to NHA house**

ryansouthman

Postby ryansouthman » April 16th, 2010, 12:48 pm

been there a couple of times, their pork is delicious.

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » April 22nd, 2010, 3:46 pm

so....

ah went... :|

1. food was really, REALLY good :)
2. service was extremely excellent :)
3. my wallet is a grand and change lighter :|
4. the price was worth it :D :D :D :D
5. yes, I did come here to post and boast :lol:

zcarz

Re: ANyone went CHAUD -reviews?

Postby zcarz » August 12th, 2012, 1:49 pm

thinking of going here tomorrow, is the quality still the same as when these reviews were posted? and can i have a decent meal (containing steak) now for around $450 or that won't be possible?

zcarz

Postby zcarz » August 15th, 2012, 3:51 pm

thanks for the help guys lol.. went last night.. was really fantastic, great service, pretty good atmosphere and worth the money. had for starters, the grilled octopus:

then for main course.. 10 oz tenderloin with sides .. every single thing on the plate very delicious:

and chocolate.. everything for dessert:

Postby rollingstock » August 15th, 2012, 7:01 pm

^ That last pic looks like someone rest some wet dogsheit on your plate :sick:

Sorry do not want, will keep my poor ass in KFC

Postby pugboy » August 15th, 2012, 7:12 pm

I not to sure about going to pay that kind of money for a steak and some boiled veggies,
I would rather try something more featuresome of the chef

zcarz

Postby zcarz » August 15th, 2012, 8:13 pm

hahaha RS that's what i thought when i saw it.. but it tastes far better than it looks. and yea pugboy maybe i should have tried something different but i didnt wanna be too adventurous and end up not liking it. just my opinion but i think it's worth it.. the octopus was 95, the steak was 300 and the dessert was 80.. not terrible.. i guess prime is more expensive

Postby rollingstock » August 15th, 2012, 8:28 pm

^ And yet you still put it in your mouth?

The caramel drizzle looks like a pre-epic diahhrea followed by the load :shock:

I admire your fortitude.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » August 15th, 2012, 8:31 pm

:lol: :lol: yea well like i say when in doubt, eat it out

Kiro_lee

Postby Kiro_lee » August 15th, 2012, 8:46 pm

Seems like there are quite a few men in here "walking on silk" I will stick to my occasional visits to TGI or Ruby and feel ah in ting.

mpower

Postby mpower » August 16th, 2012, 12:40 pm

good service, good food, butu should try Buzo in Pos.they are really good too.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_R ... obago.html

Postby mitsu_chick941 » August 16th, 2012, 2:03 pm

rollingstock wrote:^ And yet you still put it in your mouth?

The caramel drizzle looks like a pre-epic diahhrea followed by the load :shock:

I admire your fortitude.